Customer Reviews for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 of 9(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Review 1 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, NC
Date:January 6, 2014

A GOOD DECISION

Pros: does the important things well
Cons: none
Model Number: Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
"This TV is well-packaged. Easy to set-up, I easily went through the menu and installed everything including an external sound bar. The color and picture are striking.
The very next morning, when I turned on the set, I was excited to see that a message appeared and the TV updated its firmware by internet. (In the menu, I set it to Auto update the day before.) This is very important. Firmware for many Smart TVs must be updated initially by zipped files to a thumb drive from web download.
Hisense seems a good company. When doing my research on YouTube, I learned that this is the most popular Manufacturer in China. The digital sound, when passed through external speaker system and using optical connection, is crystal clear and highest quality. Just to feel safe, I had a nice chat with Hisense at their office in Georgia. Their technician was very kind, answered all my questions, and gave me great information. Also, I called COSTCO and learned that there have been over 50 sold in the US and none were returned for problems. Also, Costco's Concierge Service is the best with English speaking Techs in Florida.
This seems like a rock solid piece of equipment that you can depend on. The remote works well, with direct access to weather, Netflix, and YouTube. Also, I got the Square Trade/Costco 5year warranty for a small price. Simply stated, This TV is designed to do the important things well."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:December 27, 2013

A Must Buy - best value out there

Pros: trim bezels thin and light - hangs anywhere, ease and simple to use, best warranty and from costco, 1/2 price of anything else out there
Cons: people may not know who hisense is
Model Number: Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
"I had done a review but never showed up - so here's another after owning this TV for almost 3 weeks... it's a fantastic TV and still only half the cost of any 55" 4K TV out there, which is absolutely incredible. The TV works beautifully and if you can find 4K content the picture is mindblowing. Not a problem so far and it has the best warranty of any TV so I'm not worried. Take a seriously look if you are looking for 4K! Don't spend the extra money for "name brands"!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Date:December 16, 2013

Best value for the money!

Pros: 1/2 the price of any similar 55" 4k uhdtv, awesome performance - as good as any 4k tv, backed up by costco and best factory warranty, nice and quality design and built, thin bezels n light so can be hanged anywhere, very easy to setup and use
Cons: may hv to explain to the neighbor who hisense is, may get neighbor envy as ur neighbor spent $3000
Model Number: Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
"First saw this TV at my local Costco and there was a small crowd checking out the awesome picture quality and I was just as amazed. Not sure who Hisense is so I did some research and they are one of the biggest makers in the world and already make TVs for other brands. 2 year full warranty is best in the industry, plus I'd be buying from Costco and we all know Costco only sell high quality items and backs it up so I feel very confident. The price is 1/2 of the well-known brands for 4K UHDTV out there so it's a no brainer! With the money I saved it's like I can subscribed to Netflix for free for life! Had the TV now for a few days and everything works awesome, the picture is just out of this world - especially utilizing the true 4K capabilities - and all the Smart TV functions works smoothly. I was watching VUDU movies in minutes. I highly, highly recommend it!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northville, MI
Date:January 31, 2014

Great deal

Pros: price and 4k picture quality
Cons: no current 4k broadcasts to watch on regular tv
"We weren't. In the market for a new TV but when we saw this at our local store we were amazed at the picture quality.
After we got it home (the box is quite heavy) we were sad to learn that there is a difference in broadcast technology and only movies are available in 4k. Our fault for impulse buying without researching.
The picture is comparable to our other 1080 dp in current broadcast modes. Hoping it doesn't take years for carriers to upgrade to 4k."
Review 5 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, ca.
Date:January 27, 2014

pretty nice

"1/2 the cost of samsung® and sony®; maybe not as vivid but great for the price."
Review 6 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:December 7, 2013

4k on the cheap

Pros: picture 4k value
Cons: not a name brand here in the us
Model Number: 55xt880
"Purchased this a few days ago and am very happy. The demo loop they have in store is not preloaded, so dont expect to show native 4k content when you first fire it up. Hooked up my Oppo 103 Bluray player and watched Wolverine upscaled by the Oppo to 4k! You really can see a difference! Switched to my $100 Sony bluray, and you could see a noticeable drop in sharpness and detail compared to the Oppo. Nice thing too is that you can have your DirecTV, FIOS, or cable HDMI run thru the Oppo so you can upscale your television programming to 4k as well. Obviously not as good as the real thing or bluray for that matter, but still a noticeable upgrade. Overall, very happy so far... if you are on the fence, take a leap of faith. Backed by Costcos warranty and Squaretrade you can't wrong..."
33 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 10, 2014

Good TV

Pros: good appearance
Cons: tv remote rf
Model Number: 55T880UW
"I like the picture and features. But I had a large issue with this, The TV is radio frequency. So you cant use other remotes to control power or volume."
Review 8 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:April 10, 2014

Pixel Density isn't Everything

Pros: design is beautiful, great picture when still, decent sound, can't see pixels even 12" from tv
Cons: lots of artifacts when picture is moving, colors are off and not very adjustable, terrible input lag for gaming, very dim display regardless of settings, color seems compressed, flashlighting prevalent
Model Number: 55T880UW
"Well I decided to sell the Vizio I have hated for years now. I never thought the picture was all that bad but the fact that it would take 5 minutes to turn on and had previous issues with turning itself off I was ready to be gone with it. Plus I had been thinking larger lately.
The Hisense is a very sharp looking TV when it's turned off. It being thin and the super thin bezel makes the TV look great on the wall. The 4k feed they were running at Costco makes a compelling argument for the purchase but pixel density isn't everything.
It has a very clear picture when the image is still but the color, black levels and brightness are terrible. It feels like the color is compressed and I had to turn the screen pretty dark to make it look somewhat decent. If I tried to make the TV bright all the colors would wash out. I have probably spent 2 hours this week tweaking the colors and view settings. I knew something was really wrong when my wife stated, "yeah the Simpsons shouldn't look bright orange". I paused the screen and fooled with the settings for 10 minutes and could never get it to look right. The only three color settings you have are "cool", "warm" and "normal". The other settings helped but the set always looked dim and a little off.
I put on the basketball game and the amount of artifacts on fast moving object (say a guy running down the court) was extremely annoying. There is a setting I turned off where it extends the screen and that helped but I would not recommend this TV for watching sports.
Lastly, I decided to try playing Borderlands 2 on PS3 on it. The input lag was so bad I was getting my butt kicked up and down. I usually get my butt kicked in that game but this was excessive. It helped to turn some of the advance picture settings off but it was still bad enough it made playing the game almost unbearable.
This TV may be worth it if you are running a 4k feed and can pre-adjust said feed to make the color look right. I would also say if you never watch sports, nor play video games it might be OK. That is if you don't mind a set that isn't very bright or vivid.
I am giving it a 2 out of 5 because it's cheap for a 4k TV that has a very clear picture in slow moving scenes and it also looks really good while turned off, but that's about it for the good stuff.
This just wasn't a TV for me and I'll be returning it the next few days."
Review 9 for Hisense 55" Class 4K Smart LED Ultra HDTV 55T880UW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2014

You get what you pay for...

Pros: can produce good images, cheap
Cons: poor manufacturing quality, documentation has awkward english translations, proprietary remote control signal, not many analog inputs, apps are buggy (netflix), software in general is subpar
Model Number: 55T880UW
"I was compelled by the price and the reviews and purchased this unit. It is possible that I got a bad one but this is the first time I had issues with any TV that I have purchased. Soon after I had it set up the TV stopped connecting to the Internet which included getting the firmware that it needed. I was able to get that off the Hisense websites and do a manual installation. This eventually fixed the connectivity problem but the connection to Netflix regularly stalls. Also, the remote control uses a non-standard signal so if you have a universal remote you are back to using two remotes. The picture quality is mixed bag. It is sharp and handles a wide a variety of contrast levels very well in a scene (watched Avatar on blu-ray) It was an engaging experience. However, there is a visible shadowing at the edges. It can produce some great images, but there does seem to be production quality issues in the panel: light is visibly distributed unevenly across the full screen when a single color is displayed. Now the unit has developed an issue where clicking the remote volume up or down produces huge and unpredictable changes to the volume levels: 2-3 clicks up takes the volume to 100 and the same takes it to 0 in the other direction. Sometimes the volume will increment 1 or 2 units per click, sometimes it will 20 units or more. It is completely random.
I took a chance on this because of the excellent Costco return policy, which I will now be using. I wanted to like this unit, but it just won't let me."