Customer Reviews for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer

BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer

Phase Brew, a new-age brewer from BUNN, has been certified by the Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA). This certification signals that equipment has proven the ability to brew coffee to defined standards of quality, including: proper brew temperature, water to coffee contact time and proper extraction of coffee solubles. Unlike traditional drip machines, BUNN Phase Brew heats and holds water until it reaches the perfect brewing temperature. Only then is the water spray-released, not slow-dripped, over the coffee grounds to achieve ideal flavor extraction. This innovative Heat and Release Technology results in a perfect pot of coffee with richer flavor and amazing aroma. “The Golden Cup Certification is given exclusively to brewers that pass high scientific performance standards.  We are please to have tested and certified Phase Brew technology and applaud BUNN’s dedication to quality.”                     - Ric Rhinehart, SCAA (Specialty Coffee Association of America) President Features: Certified by the Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) Awarded SCAA Golden Cup Certification Heats and holds all of the water until it reaches the optimal temperature. Water is then spray-released, not slow dripped, over the coffee grounds to achieve ideal flavor extraction. Brews exceptional coffee using the 6-minute heating phase and four-minute brewing phase 6-minute heating phase + 4-minute brewing phase = 10 minutes to better coffee Programmable Auto-Start Black exterior finish with stainless steel accents Warmer shuts-off after heating phase is complete Time-to-Clean indicator based on brewer performance versus cycles run 8-cup (40 oz.) batch helps eliminate wasted coffee 3-year limited warranty Altitudes under 4,000 feet Dimensions: 8.75" W x 10.5" D x 15.5" H Includes: Thermal Carafe Cleaning Brush 25 Coffee Filters Model: 42600.0006
Average Customer Rating:
3.405 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
6
24 of 42(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Review 1 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:February 12, 2014

Great brewer

Model Number: Bunn Phase Brew HT
"After seeing this brewer recommended on CoffeeGeek, I bought it from Costco when I saw it advertised for a great price. In this review, I just wanted to address some of the common complaints I’ve seen around the web:
1. Leaky carafe: Maybe the carafes shipped with this model vary, but I haven't experienced this at all. The carafe pours very cleanly with no drips. To pour the last bit of coffee, it helps to remove the lid, but even then it doesn't drip. It’s true that it’s hard to get the last drops out of the carafe, but that hasn’t bothered me particularly.
2. Low brew temperature: Using a kitchen thermometer, I measured the water temp in the heating reservoir, and it got up to 200 degrees F, exactly as advertised. Also, the coffee in the carafe is some of the hottest I've had from a home coffee maker.
3. Durability: I've only had it a month so I can't really speak to this yet, but I'm hoping it lasts.
I also wanted to add a few notes about getting the best coffee from this brewer. After it heats the water, it brews fairly quickly, in about 4-minutes time. According to many of the experts, that's ideal, but you may need to adjust the amount of coffee or the grind you use to get the best cup.
If you use supermarket coffee, like Folgers, you may need to use more of it to slow down the brew time a little. Otherwise, your coffee might be week.
If you grind your own beans, you may need to use a finer grind setting to get a full-bodied brew. Just experiment a little, and you’ll be rewarded with a great cup of coffee."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:May 30, 2014

Worth the effort

Pros: great coffee every morning, thermal pot is sturdy and easy to clean, timer allows you to wake to waiting coffee, ideal size for 2 coffee drinkers
Cons: you need to brew at least 4 cups at a time, you need to be awake enough to line up lid arrows
Model Number: Bunn phase brew HT 8-cup thermal coffee brewer
"When I saw this coffee maker at a great price at CostCo I thought it would be worth a try, and it is. This is the best price I have seen on a maker that hits the "magic temperature and timing" for full flavor. I have been enjoying great coffee every morning for several weeks now. Here are my thoughts on some of the cons voiced in other reviews and which I have found to be non-issues. 1) Fails the second time you try to brew and gives you a time-to-clean message - yes this happened to me, so I read the manual and realized you need to pour in enough water - 4 cups or more - so I did and there have been no more failed brewings. This yields 2 to 3 mugs of coffee. 2) Pot shape and lid are frustrating. This also has an easy solution. Just make sure you line up the arrows when you twist on the lid, and test that it locked closed. You will have to turn the pot almost completely upside down to pour everything out, so a locked lid is essential. On the other hand, this design makes for a very sturdy and easy to clean pot (I have the thermal carafe). 3) It might take 10 minutes to brew. This isn't really a problem either. You can set the timer the night before (good strategy for groggy-morning types like myself). Or arrange your routine to make the coffee first and then take care of other tasks while it brews. In sum, the quality of the coffee and the price of the coffee maker are worth it. Good flavor, not too weak nor too strong, no lingering acidity, pleasant drinking temperature."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:February 14, 2014

Great Coffee, but...

Pros: excellent tasting hot coffee., did i mention...really really good coffee!
Cons: hot plate light goes off untouched!, hot plate stays hot after light is off!, water level window is opaque unusable!, carafe has no cup markings!
Model Number: HT model, Phase Brew 8 Cup
"Used daily for 1 week: Best yet in home brewed coffee, brews hot tasty coffee. However I have discovered few faults.
(We normally brew, pour and out the door thus no need to run a warmer for 2 hours)
#1 Warmer does not turn off by pushing switch as instructed, we have to unplug the power. Warmer light goes off shortly after brew completion but hot plate remains very hot (over 200 degrees).
#2 Water Level window is opaque and cannot be read under normal conditions! (We have used a flashlight shined in from the water filler opening) We use a measuring pitcher.. bit of a hassle..
#3 Carafe is very sturdy but pouring is a challenge that I'm still trying to master. Must be tilted high, etc., making it difficult to see your cup. Just a little annoying.
#4 Instructions include a beautiful multi language booklet that I would grade as an "F" for information. No mention of carafe top that has locks and has Arrows to indicate ??? Redo recommended Bunn!
Great Coffee at an excellent price from COSTCO.
Great coffee with drawbacks that may not concern some but could be a deal breaker for others. I do recommend this coffee maker with some reluctance.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Union City, CA
Date:January 4, 2014

Expectations exceeded!

Pros: programmable clock, great tasting coffee, stainless steel filter holder/tray, easy to fill the brewer with water
Cons: difficult to fill the carafe directly from fridge
"This is my first morning using the Bunn Phase Brew, and I loved it. The programmable clock worked great, even though I didn't preheat the carafe, the coffee was very hot an hour after initially brewing. The coffee tasted great, strong but not bitter! Set up was a breeze last night. This machine is very easy to fill and to see the water level. My only complaint is that the way the carafe is built (maybe all carafes out in the market), it makes it impossible to fill directly from the refrigerator door if you use filtered water. As a result, I have to use a separate measuring cup to fill the brewer. It's a minor inconvenience, but other than that it appears to be a great brewer. The carafe is also one of the smoothest pouring carafes I have ever used. If you have been researching this model on different sites, you'll see Costco is offering it at a substantial savings. For that reason, I think this is the best overall deal out there for a quality coffee brewer."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 28, 2014

Not happy

Pros: none
Cons: coffee goes cold fast in the carafe, spills all over when pouring, coffee tastes no better than other coffee makers
Model Number: BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
"I found the coffee to be no better or worse that the coffee from my old $15 coffee maker that I threw out the day this one arrived. I've always used top quality freshly ground beans. It is particular frustrating, too, when I go back for another cup and the coffee is completely cold.
The coffee spills all over the place when I try to pour into a cup. There may be a specific setting to twist the lid to to avoid this, but I'd have to get a magnifying glass out to figure it out.
I worry too about the plastic water reservoir that supposedly heats the water to a very high temperature and the potential leaching of plastic chemicals into the coffee. You'd think heating water to a high temp would increase the likelihood, but I'm no scientist.
I wish I could find a completely stainless steel coffee maker, including the reservoir.
I'm going back to a regular coffee maker."
Review 6 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:January 11, 2014

Defective

Pros: brew strength was great
Cons: takes a long time to heat water even for 1-2 cups
Model Number: BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal # 42600.0006
"I respect Bunn brand, so was excited to get this coffee maker. Brewed great the very first time. But alas, next time I tried to brew, it said "Heating water" for several minutes but nothing happened (water was still cold), then it shut itself off. Repeated this a few times, then I pulled the plug and plugged it again. It worked great and brewed, but same behavior from next brew onwards -- kept spinning, nothing happened, then shut itself off (tried this a few times). Obviously a defective product, returned it to local Costco. I am going with Mr.Coffee this time."
Review 7 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:February 10, 2014

Excellent!

Pros: great coffee with little hassle
Cons: um - none!
Model Number: 42600.0006
"My hubby loves coffee, but since his choice of coffee machine machine would cost a few thousand dollars (not!), we opted for something a lot more reasonable. It makes an excellent cup of coffee, and I find the operation painless. I love that it keeps the coffee warm for a while and that it has a stainless steel carafe rather than glass - I had been using a French Press but after the third one was broken, I decided it was time for something else. It is hassle free, makes great coffee and looks good. I am super happy! And my hubby likes it too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northridge, CA
Date:February 8, 2014

Tried coffee maker and @ all costs

Pros: pot opening perfect for cleaning no rust taste, nice and hot, no waste of coffee i actually use less, stays hot for hours, perfect amount of coffee for two people and a seco
Cons: no bad things to say
Model Number: BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
"Nothing compares to this coffee maker. Leakage can be stopped by watching arrow on lid. Coffee pot can be cleaned thoroughly and easily. Nice and Hot! Tested this on coffee that I know best Peets. Wow! love it. I have tried all coffee makers even other Bunn makers. This has to be the best. I am getting a back up because it is perfect. I have spent so much money and had such high hopes on other coffee makes, this one was to be just a interim coffee make till I found one that works well .. was I surprised .."
Review 9 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014

Broke after one day!

"The first day I used the Bunn unit, only made two cups of coffee. The next day, I tried to make the same amount, and it would not start. It then started flashing CLE which indicates to clean the unit. Cleaned it and also made sure the spray nozzle was clean and secure. Again, it would not start (or even heat water.) I called Bunn. It is my understanding there are sensors in this unit, and if something is "wrong," it won't start. Returned it to Costco and got a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Burlington, VT
Date:February 19, 2014

Not so great….

Pros: saturates all the grounds evenly….
Cons: cannot brew less than 20 oz. of water….
Model Number: HT
"Originally I bought this because I thought 'SCAA rated and only $70 bucks!? Sounded too good to be true - and it was. The main problem is with the thermal carafe. You have to heat a lot of water to preheat it properly and this wastes energy. And it's almost impossible to pour from its spout without spilling it. There is nothing in the manual about the 'pouring' issue and, thus, I will have to return it. Makes my Keurig brewer seem great…."
Review 11 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:KS
Date:February 17, 2014

Already returned it

Cons: terrible carafe design
"This coffee maker was a big disappointment. The carafe is a terrible design that is very difficult to fully empty. It's very inconvenient. A number of times we overflowed the carafe when brewing coffee. Not impressed at all. Was hoping that it would live up to its promise of brewing better tasting coffee but really made no difference. Also, this is specific to my kitchen, but the unit is too tall to fit under our cabinets."
Review 12 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:March 13, 2014

It does make good coffee

Pros: it looks nice, it fits under my cupboard
Cons: no way to keep coffee warm, hard to pour coffee without dribbles
Model Number: 42600.0006
"Coffee is hot when it's first made, but we can't figure out how to keep the warming unit on. If you are used to guzzling your coffee then this is for you. Not hot after 20 minutes, we do use milk so that does cool coffee down. I think I'll be taking it back to Costco. This is not as good as other Bunn coffee makers that we've had. Plus it's hard to pour coffee when it gets to the end, no matter how you turn the lid."
Review 13 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014

Bummer -- Stopped working on third use

Pros: brewing took 10 minutes but coffee was very good
Cons: stopped working after second use---frustrating
"The first time I used the coffeemaker I was extremely impressed. It took 10 minutes to brew the pot, but the coffee was delicious. The bad news is the third time I used the coffeemaker it would not work. I tried everything----referred to the manual, troubleshooting guide---the lights were on but the maker would not brew the coffee. Not sure what to do now----call Bunn or return to Costco. I'm disappointed."
Review 14 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:January 17, 2014

Good coffee

Pros: delicious hot coffee with pre-heated water
Cons: design of metal carafe does not empty completely., no cup markings on interior of carafe., provided manual was not clear for this model.
Model Number: HT PHASE BREW
"After reading all the specs I chose this Bunn maker for the pre heated water and metal carafe. The carafe design does not let you empty without inverting. After 5 days of use the unit has to be returned after notice to 'CLE' kept flashing and it tripped the GFI. Directions in manual was for glass carafe. Tech support was helpful with correct instructions and have sent a replacement that I will try again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014

Very Best

Pros: great tasting coffee!, it makes hot coffee!
Cons: maybe the recommended bunn filter?
Model Number: 42600.0006
"We love our Bunn Phase Brew® coffeemaker. We tried other coffeemakers and they do not make a hot cup of coffee. This is also a good looking pot - small in size to sit on the counter. It makes 8 cups which is great because we are coffee snobs and can make a 'fresh brew' more often. I don't understand the complaints. No problems with the pot, pouring, cleaning. I recommend it. No complaints here."
Review 16 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:April 10, 2014

Loyal Bunn coffee maker owner gives "thumbs down"

Pros: attractive, sturdy construction, excellent tasting coffee
Cons: drips/spills when pouring coffee, pot is too small
Model Number: Bunn Phase Brew HT 8c Thermal Coffee Brewer
"Because of years of excellent service and very good coffee, Bunn is our favorite coffeemaker; however, this model fails because of a poor design. It spills every time you pour coffee. Also, the pot is too small (holds just under 3 "mugs" of coffee). I am hoping Costco will carry one of the Velocity Brew models, as a pot of delicious coffee only takes a few minutes, and it is a full sized pot."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:May 16, 2014

Coffee good, but bad carafe design

Pros: excellent coffee
Cons: poor carafe design
Model Number: HT
"I brew 20 oz of water for coffee each morning. This is the minimum this machine will brew, and is the equivalent of two mugs of coffee. The problem is that in order to get the final few ounces of coffee out of the carafe, you must remove the lid and practically turn it upside down, usually getting some on the counter. On the plus side, the coffee is very smooth with no bitterness."
Review 18 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane Wa.
Date:April 1, 2014

Good fit for me

Pros: it being programable
Cons: warmer doesn't stay on a little longer
Model Number: Bunn Phase Brew
"I am very happy with my Bunn coffee maker. The coffee tastes very good. I like that I can program it to start before I get up in the morning. Another feature that works nice for me is that I can make 4,6, or 8 cups. The only negative I have to say is that I wish the warmer would stay on just a touch longer. All in all I am very happy with my coffee pot."
Review 19 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So. Oregon
Date:January 31, 2014

Carafe leaks

Pros: great tasting coffee and fast brew
Cons: leaks while pouring
Model Number: HT
"This coffeemaker made the best coffee until the 3rd or 4th pot and the carafe began to leak, when pouring, where the plastic meets the metal ... what a mess. We emailed Bunn and our issues were resolved as they are sending a new machine. We should receive it in 7-10 days. Hopefully Bunn has fixed the leaking problem on the new machine....."
Review 20 for BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avon Lake, OH
Date:February 7, 2014

Hot Coffee

Pros: simple to use and clean, popular coffee shop-like or better cup of coffee.
Cons: minimum of 20 oz cup per brew
Model Number: BUNN® Phase Brew® HT 8-cup Thermal Coffee Brewer
"The Bunn Phase Brew HT prodcues the best cup of coffee I've brewed at home. Why? Flavor and Heat. My recipe: 20 oz of filtered water, 1/3 cup of high quality beans burr ground for drip coffee just prior to brewing, 1 filter, press start. Result: Hot freshly brewed coffee with rich flavor similar or better than premium coffee shops."
1 2 3 next>>