Customer Reviews for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Omron® Fat Loss Monitor

Accurate and Consistent Readings in Seconds
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
32 of 39(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Review 1 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

Great body fat tester - highly recommended

Pros: easy to use and inexpensive
"I use this body fat monitor as a personal trainer and have found it to be very accurate when used according to directions. You must be standing up with your arms straight at a 90 degree angle. The directions state to not grip the monitor too tightly. You may press the start button several times to retest to be sure you get a consistent readout. This monitor is just as accurate as skin caliper testing and I highly recommend it to those looking for a way to test their body fat on their own - just follow the directions!"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Tx
Date:November 7, 2009

Works great when you follow the instructions.

Pros: works great when you follow the easy instructions., long battery life., multiple user settings.
"Product is easy to use. It can store several users settings. You input your weight and height, which can be broken down to 1/4 lb and .5 inch increments. It even has a setting for athletes vs. normal users. The product clearly states that you are to stand with your arms extended to get an accurate measurement."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, Ca
Date:February 28, 2010

Excellent Body Fat Monitor

Pros: accurate and easy to use
Cons: none
Model Number: HBF-306c
"I purchased this Monitor to help me keep track of my BMI and Body Fat, the product is excellent and very accurate. Please disregard those that talk about different readings. Of course if you drink water, eat or exercise and take measurements before and after, they will always vary, it is even disclosed in the instructions. I personally take my readings in the morning. Overall, this is an excellent device, try to hold the handles always the same way, with the same amount of pressure on the handles and you have your self an incredible product to help stay healthier."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2010

Excellent Product

Pros: durable accurate
Cons: none that i can think of
Model Number: HBF-306
"I've owned this identical Omron Product for 10 yrs and have used in on average about 2-3 times per week. This product is excellent, durable, and is, amazingly enough, still using the same batteries that came with it. It's a terriffic product for monitoring your BMI, body fat percentage, and will help in the maintenance of a healthy lifestyle. It stores 9 profiles so others in your family can use it too without having to re-enter their heighth, weight, age everytime they use it.. Highly recommended."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2010

great product

"I love this device. It is simple and easy to use if you follow the directions. The instruction booklet tells you when the best time of day is to use the device. At the health club that I work at, this is the device that we use to assess body fat (far easier than calipers and is in the same range of accuracy if used correctly)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 20, 2010

Accurate and Durable

"I bought this product six years ago after a personal trainer in a gym used it in an evaluation. It is very accurate when used properly (the instructions identify exactly how to stand/arms/etc to use it accurately). After six years, mine is still running strong without a single problem. Excellent product!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:seattle trainer
Date:October 21, 2010

inconsistant and inaccurate

Model Number: 448945
"Easy to use but inaccurate. Had my BF done in a Hydro tank (the most accurate method) and the Omron error was about 20%. #'s vary depending on time of day or day of the week, how you hold your arms etc.
Makes more sense to get accurate #'s less frequently than inaccurate #'s more frequently!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Washington, NY
Date:December 12, 2009

Works fine

Model Number: HBF-306P
"I agree with the reviewer who says this works well when used properly. It gives an accurate BMI and body fat % with no hassle."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:world citizen
Date:May 24, 2011

Fat Monitor not accurate

"I am REALLY disappointed in this product! The equation it (must) use to calculate body fat is heavily weighted to your age as opposed to accurately measuring the conductivity. It was disasterously inaccurate with my sons: it showed the heavier one with 4% and the rock solid one with 17%. It is NOT accurate. Don't waste your money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2010

Overall a good product

Model Number: HBF-306 (white)
"While the body fat % isn't wholly accurate, it is very useful in that it helps provide a baseline and the ability to check against your previous readings.
The one thing I wasn't happy with is the limited height/weight settings. I'm 6'8" and the device I have only goes up to 6'6" for height."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:North Royalton, Ohio
Date:July 10, 2011

A good calculator

Pros: it's cool to see your estimated body fat, inexpensive take it anywhere
Cons: it's just a calculation., it is not actually detecting your body fat.
"This product uses the numbers and information that you enter (weight, height, age, etc.) to give you a calculation of your body fat %. For example, when I enter my weight at a lower number, my body fat % is "detected" at a much lower number. I'm sure you can find some type of body fat calculator online that does the same thing."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley
Date:March 10, 2010

Very consistent day to day accuracy

Pros: easy to read and test., small and trip friendly., easy for guest use.
Cons: hope that plastic is durable.
Model Number: HBF 306 CN
"I've checked my B/Fat 4 or 5 times in the last weeks since we've bought it. It is always the same or within a point of the previous reading. I would recommend that this be used the way that you use your weight scale. Once or twice a week is great. Your weight shouldn't fluctuate a great amount over a week nor will you see a great difference in your BMI or B/F unless you are doing some massive training or weight loss program."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA.
Date:May 28, 2011

A good reference tool

Pros: accurate when you follow the directions
Model Number: HBF-306C
"I have been on a monitored weight loss program for two months. Every week I do a weigh-in, they measure fat%, muscle% and BMI. The numbers I get from this monitor are on par with the numbers my counselor gets. It helps to know that I am staying on track during the week.
Just follow the directions. Keep your arms straight. DO NOT BEND YOUR ELBOWS."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 16, 2010

Great Tool for Monitoring Fitness

Pros: consistent results, easy to use, great price for the quality
Model Number: Omron® Body Fat Monitor HBF-306C
"This is an excellent tool for monitoring your overall fitness progress. Setup and getting measurements are very simple. Just make sure you take measurements at the same time each day for consistent results. Also, you need to update your profile as it changes (your body weight, fitness level, etc.). Best price on the web found on Costco.com."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Valley, CA
Date:May 24, 2011

Excellent Purchase

Pros: multiple users, quick
"I had been looking around everywhere for the best price on one of these and everywhere I went they had the item more than I was willing to pay. I snatched up the chance to buy this item after I quickly compared the prices of other vendors and Costco had it cheaper!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:January 3, 2009

Range

Pros: readings in seconds
Cons: different readings in seconds
Model Number: hbf-360
"I bought product for the subheading advertised, "Accurate Readings...".
How accurate are they?
The body fat measurement changes in a 1-5% range depending if I am standing or sitting, holding the machine at full arm's length versus half, eye level versus chin level, holding it super tight versus a normal grip.
If you want to know the range of your body fat %, go ahead and buy.
If you want an accurate reading whether you're facing sun-up or sun-down, don't buy."
12 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

Very Helpful

Pros: easy to program
"I was a member of a national exercise club, and this same model was used to determine my body fat content. I'm using it to reach my weight loss goal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NE Washington state
Date:May 24, 2011

Seems to work well

Pros: reproducible results
"If you follow the directions the the device seems to produce very reproducible results (plus or minus about on digit past the decimal). How that relates to your actual percent fat; there is really no way to know without some other test.
For those with true athletic builds the BMI is an absolutely worthless measurement.
The monitor comes with two measurement schemes, one normal the other athlete. The normal runs to age 80, the athlete only goes to age sixty, so if you are over that age, and qualify by their athlete them must assume you are not you are not going to change all that much as you get older???"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:April 5, 2011

Useless - Save your money.

Pros: looks cool, you can pretend you're driving
Cons: not accurate, cheating yourself into thinking it works
"The people who says this thing is accurate is reading what others wrote and drinking the kool-aid. This unit will give you a range and can vary from one reading and immediate another one. Get a dunk tank test before a major commitment to exercise then after 6 months, get another dunk tank test to determine your fat loss. The good thing is this is from Costco so returning is easy."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Omron® Fat Loss Monitor
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:March 16, 2011

Easy to use

"I purchased this to track my progress of going to the gym and working with a trainer. Having used this several times at the gym with trainers in the past I always thought it would be difficult to work and operate, but that is so not true. This handheld device is so easy to work and operate. I love that it keeps your information saved in the built-in computer so you don't need to enter everything each time. It can save information for up to 9 people and also have a guest mode for you to change the information such as height, weight, etc."
1 2 next>>