Customer Reviews for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer

The Jiffy® J-2000 garment steamer provides the most gentle, safest and most efficient method to remove wrinkles from fabrics. The powerful action of steam penetrates the fibers, relaxes them and causes the wrinkles to release. Unlike ironing, the gentle method of steaming increases the life of clothing. Steaming breathes new life into fabrics; conversely, ironing crushes clothing fibers. Not to mention many people find that steaming is up to five times faster than conventional ironing.   Two-minute heat-up time   High-impact LEXAN® outer housing   6" wide plastic steam head   1300 watt heating element die cast in solid brass   All brass couplings   Low profile, easy-to-handle water reservoir   New "no spill" check valve cap for easy filling   Over 1.5 hours of steam per filling   Fusible link with automatic shut-off for safety   360-degree swivel casters for mobility   Color-coded high-temperature wiring     Some assembly required (wrench included)   UL, CSA, NOM, ANCE, TUV/GS and CE listed   Dimensions: 10.0" W x 14.5" L x 64.0" H   Weight: 18 lbs.   Made in the U.S.A.   For product-related questions, call 1-800-525-4339 Model: J-2000
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
37 of 42(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Review 1 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arkansas
Date:November 9, 2011

Hooked on the Jiffy Steamer!

Model Number: J-2000
"I had been looking for a garment steamer for a couple months and Costco has the Jiffy at the best price I’ve found. The shipping was included in the price, which was nice and it came to my front door in 3 days. The others steamers I looked at are about the same price, but the construction of the Jiffy is far superior. You can see that the Jiffy is built with sturdy parts and put together really well. Other steamers I looked at felt cheap and looked like toys compared to the Jiffy. The assembly took no time and we were up and steaming. It heats up and starts steaming in less than 2 minutes tops. It produces a lot of steam and really makes wrinkles disappear instantly. It only took a couple of shirts and slacks to get the steaming technique down perfectly. Now, everyone in the house literally steams every piece of clothing we wear. I’ve even gotten compliments on how “pulled together” our clothing always looks. It doesn’t give you a starched crisp crease like ironing would, but for most items, this isn’t necessary. Also, the steamer seams to fluff up the fibers in most clothes and make them look brand new from the store. We rarely use the iron or ironing board anymore. The Jiffy also removes nasty smells from sweaters/coats worn to restaurants or smoky bars without having to wash or dry-clean them. The initial cost of the steamer is high compared to even the nicest irons, but it is worth every penny. I am VERY happy with our purchase. I should have bought this years ago!"
Review 2 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:October 13, 2010

Really wanted to love this product and didn't

Pros: heats quickly, freshens clothes between wear
Cons: can't manually control steam on-demand
Model Number: J-2000
"I bought this garment steamer after my Steamfast SF-465 died on me just as the 1 year warranty expired. Although the Steamfast had the nice feature of controlling steam-on demand, it did stop working after 1 year of relatively low to average use and otherwise, worked about as well as the Jiffy J-2000. My sister raved about the Jiffy, so I went with it. At her suggestion, I bought the metal steam head attachment, which probably works better than the plastic (though not totally convinced). I'm not sure if I just haven't gotten the hang of steaming on a hanger, but I can't get my clothes to look as crisp as when I use a handheld steam iron. I even went so far as to buy the steamboard and still am not always happy with the results. Yes, it gets wrinkles out...yes, it's fast. It works fine when I want a cursory "freshening" up of garments but when I want my clothes looking perfect, I'm just not achieving what I can get with the DeLonghi PRO300 (yes, I bought an ironing system w/ pressurized boiler)...you can check out that review, if you're interested."
Review 3 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:March 7, 2011

Wonderful Purchase

Pros: fast steam, on wheels
Cons: awkward without steam board, steam board should be included
Model Number: J-2000
"It takes just a few minutes to master the art of steaming wrinkles out of clothing. At first I struggled a bit with collars, lapels and cuffs, but those days are behind me. My favorite aspect of the steamer versus an iron is putting the steam head inside each long sleeve and watching the wrinkles disappear without accidentally ironing in other wrinkles on the backside of the sleeve.
Although a hanger can be hung on the steam pole, I've found that a solid surface behind the object being steamed makes it easier. It is challenging to steam a hanging moving object (picture a swinging matador cape) so I recommend a steam board for a quicker job. Until finding a steam board, I improvised one by leaning my collapsed ironing board against the wall as a vertical surface. It worked temporarily until I found the steam board I wanted."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 28, 2011

Great steamer, poor quality control

Pros: sturdy build, plenty of steam, non-kink hose
Cons: leaks
"We tried out this new steamer a few days ago and were initially very impressed with the quality of the materials and with it's ability to generate copious amounts of steam. Much better than other brands we've purchased previously. However, after letting the unit sit with water still in the reservoir for a couple days we later discovered that it had leaked the entire contents of the reservoir onto our new laminate wood floor causing it to buckle. It's going to cost us hundreds to repair. The unit was leaking from the base but I'm not going to take it apart to see why. It's going back to the store. I may order a replacement since it does work well but will be careful to test it out in the garage first. Buyer beware!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:May 12, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: excellent quality, excellent performance, superior to an iron, gentle on clothes
Cons: iron now collecting dust
"I went with the example review title BECAUSE IT IS THE BEST PURCHASE EVER. Seriously, I love my Jiffy steamer. My high school job was pressing wedding gowns- and I learned to use a commercial sized jiffy steamer there. I've had this model for more than 8 years and it just keeps on performing. Dramatically cuts dry cleaning, clothes look immaculate, and it does so many things an iron can't- like sleeves and delicate fabrics. Plus, I've used this on curtains hung in place and for sewing. Much quicker than an iron, and with just a little practice, you can do sharp creases and pleats. I've given a lot of people this steamer as a gift, and I've told a lot of people about this steamer."
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, MI
Date:December 21, 2011

Best money spent in a long time!

Model Number: J-2000
"Just opened my new Jiffy steamer. Had it up and running in a couple of minutes. LOVE IT!! I've found my new calling in life! I'm steam pressing everything in the house, even my daughter's school blouses. It is so easy and kind of fun. I HATE ironing and now I'll never have to do it again. Plus, I'm going to save a TON by not having to send shirts out to be laundered and pressed. I never minded washing them. It was the ironing that I couldn't stand.
Wait...what's that noise? Oh, it's just my dry-cleaner crying. He's going to see a lot less of me (and my wallet) now! This thing is going to pay for itself in a couple of months! Awesome!"
Review 7 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:September 10, 2012

Jiffy steamer review

Pros: high quality construction, good steam flow
Cons: none yet, higher price
Model Number: J2000
"While only recently pruchased, very impressed with quality of construction that is very sturdy and won't tip. Heard complaints about wheels, but using unit on carpet and no issues. Though not a high volume of steam, it is consistent, quick producing steam with no dripping on clothes and more than adequate for shirts and suits. Seems much more solid than another brand's steamer that failed after about a year, despite only moderate at-home use. Went to every big box retailer looking for a steamer that would last. All seemed built-to-fail. I would highly recommend Jiffy's home steamer model if you are willing to pay a little more."
Review 8 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:July 18, 2010

Great idea, doesn't work

"I like the idea of steaming clothes from a hanger. Bought one. Brought it home used it 3-4 times and then it just stopped. Returned it. Waited a few months to see if different shipment may have different results. Bought a second one. Have tried to use this one three times, first time fine, second heated up the hose but no steam now after sitting for weeks worked ok the third time. Using the right water. Not sure what the problem is, directions are not clear on how to trouble shoot. Did extend the arm as label instructs. Not very hopeful that this one will be here long, doesn't look like it can handle one or two things a week."
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 7, 2012

Best in Class!

Model Number: J 2000
"I have had my steamer for more than two years. I use it almost daily. It has saved us hundreds, if not more on dry cleaning. My son has to wear a suit every day to work and I use it on everything too. If it is not working for you, please watch the instructional videos available on the internet and read the thousands of reviews on other websites for great tips. It was not meant to iron your shirts, but it will do everything else. Refresh sweaters and suits, great for anything you have to hang dry, great on tee shirt fabric. Also very quick in the morning! Best of all Made in the USA !"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsbugh, PA
Date:August 2, 2011

Jiffy Steamer

Pros: kills dust mites, drapery, delicate-laces
"Jiffy Steamers You will love them! If you have never owned one you should try one. I had a retail store and used on delicate antique dresses, silks, laces and things you would never iron. I bought one for my home as I have allergies and it kills dust mites. I would bring out my steamer and do my pillows, sofa, and drapes. Steam kill all those nasty dust mites!!! Stay allergy free every morning with your fresh clothes. All you allergy suffers will love having a steamer and your clothes will love you also as they never get burnt from the iron and look great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plano, Texas
Date:August 8, 2012

Really good clothing steamer

Pros: plenty of steam
Cons: hose get hot
Model Number: Jiffy -J2000
"I am impressed by the amount of steam, & it steams long enough that I able to all I finish all my clothes without refilling. Takes some getting use to, but once you get the hang of it, it's great. I do think I could do a better job if I had a steamer board, so I'm going to make one myself because of cost. Would have given 5 stars except hose gets very hot..you will have to learn not to brush your leg against it like I did. Didn't burn bad, but didn't feel very good, either! Overall, I still think it's the best steamer around for price."
Review 12 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Bloomfield, Mi.
Date:October 17, 2010

so far so good

Model Number: j-2000
"I have never owned a steamer before, this was very easy to put together and also to use. It's heavyduty and almost commercial grade. So easy to fill the water tank and push the button on, thats all you have to do. Steam starts working immediately, gets out most wrinkles out of almost all materials, the only fabric I had a hard time getting wrinkles out of was of linen which really needs to be pressed. It's great on my husbands suits to refresh without a trip to the cleaners. Would highly recommend to my friends."
Review 13 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:July 28, 2011

Disappointed

Model Number: Jiffy J-2000
"My wife and I were fairly disappointed with this purchase, and ended up returning the steamer after two or three uses. It worked well on one of my wife's silk dresses, but just about every other type of fabric we tried (cotton, wool, synthetics, etc) looked almost exactly as it had prior to steaming.
After giving this garment steamer a try I feel that the entire product category is a bit gimmicky. In my opinion, this is definitely not a replacement or even an acceptable substitute for an iron."
Review 14 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 20, 2010

Quite Good

"This steamer works fast and well. I also ordered another less expensive steamer from Costco.com (that appears to no longer be available) but it was bulkier and you had to hold down the handle switch while steaming. This Jiffy Steamer is tried and true with more commercial like components and blasts out a steady stream of hot steam making it pretty rapid to steam out wrinkles. If you are trying to look more professional and reduce your dry cleaning bills this steamer is a good choice."
Review 15 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2010

Jiffy J-2000 Steamer - Awesome Purchase

Model Number: J-2000
"I ordered this item about 7 weeks ago. It arrived promptly and I use it almost daily. It keeps my clothes (wool suits and silk tops) looking fresh and wrinkle free. I have not had to go to the dry cleaners since its arrival. My clothes smell fresh and look professional. The steamer has already paid for itself. I highly recommend this product to individuals who HATE ironing or who are looking for ways to save money (eliminate some dry cleaning expense)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:July 6, 2011

Works Amazing

Pros: gets hot fast, easy to use, great results
"I bought this steamer because I worked in retail many years ago and the commercial steamers are so much better than an iron. My sons are both college students that wear a lot of dress outfits and I do as well (now being in the corporate world) and I thought it would be great to have a steamer that would be easy to use and yet make our professional clothes look amazing. This did the job! It is easy to use yet everything is pressed immaculately!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 21, 2012

Very DIsappointing

Pros: much better construction & quality of unit, metal parts rather than plastic
Cons: stops steaming frequently, spews water on every piece
Model Number: Jiffy 2000
"Had Jiffy steamer for several years and loved it. After its demise I purchased the 2000 and am totally frustrated and will return today. It spews water much of the time. Almost finished a dress shirt and the front panel was soaked with a 4" streak of water. Water spots on everything and must lay around the room to dry before putting away. Also does not heat consistently as steam stops every couple of minutes and must wait for it to restart."
Review 18 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 18, 2010

Great time saver

Pros: fast & easy
Cons: no board to press clothes against
Model Number: J-2000
"This steamer is awesome. Beats ironing any day. I actually have no idea where my iron is now. This was one of my better purchases. My fiance, who hates ironing and would rather go to work in wrinkled dress pants and button up shirts, now steams all his clothes, by himself! My only beef with this steamer is that it doesn't come with a board to press the clothes against. But then again, I don't think other steamers come with one either."
Review 19 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mpls. MN
Date:April 14, 2011

Not bad

Pros: easy; quick
Cons: on difficult fabric
Model Number: J-2000
"I have never used a steamer before but it is pretty handy for fabrics that respond well to steam. It's good for a quick touch up, without having to pull out the iron and ironing board. For more intricate clothing, like ruffles, it isn't that easy. Maybe I need to use it more to get better at it. All in all, not a bad purchase. You really have to use a solid surface to get results. I just used my ironing board in an upright position."
Review 20 for Jiffy® J-2000 Garment Steamer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2011

should have bought one sooner

Cons: trying to find the jiffy decalcifying cleaner
Model Number: J-2000
"Bought this steamer after my conair steamer (also purchased from Costco) went kaput. I thought my conair one was pretty good but this one is the best- warms up fast and is very hot so my steaming time has been cut in half- debated between this one and the 4000 which is more commercial like but found the 15 + min warmup time to be a negative. A possible negative is having to track down where to buy the Jiffy decalcifying cleaner."
1 2 3 next>>