Customer Reviews for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System

Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System

Not available for shipment to the state of California For years, the only solutions to poor quality drinking water involved buying water by the gallon at the supermarket or paying expensive fees to deliver 40-pound bottles to your home. Now, systems with the same technology as water bottling plants can be installed right under your kitchen sink, providing you with gallons of water for pennies a day. While standard reverse osmosis systems waste 4 or more gallons per every gallon produced. The new patented "Zero Waste" reverse osmosis system wastes no water. This state of the art system reduces Arsenic(v), Cysts, Barium, Cadium, Chromium, Copper, Flouride, Lead, Radium 226/228, Selenium, TDS, and Turbidity. In addition, bad tastes and odors, such as chlorine, can be virtually eliminated from your drinking water along with unwanted chemicals and sediments, giving you fresh, healthy tasting water with every glass. Features: The only 100% efficient reverse osmosis system available today   Perfect for areas with higher water costs or low water pressure   Eliminates the need for air-gap faucets   Patented water conserving design   Requires 110V electrical outlet   Easy to install   Inexpensive to maintain   NSF certified   Tank Dimensions: 11"D X 16"H   Filter Dimensions: 18"L X 15"W X 6"H   Warranty: 1-year limited warranty Premier features high quality NSF certified reverse osmosis and filtration systems for your home or office. They are designed for easy installation and maintenance and are the same systems sold nationwide by professional installers. In addition, Premier sells a variety of filtration components which are compatible with many other reverse osmosis and filtration brands. Model: 500029 / 926518
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
(out of 39 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
29 of 39(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Review 1 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2014

Horrible product support

Model Number: ZRO-4
"System stopped working after 3 years. Called tech support day after day, put on hold for 1/2hour to an hour each time, never got a response. Left messages (polite) and sent emails. Is this how you run a business? I hope they go OUT of business! I've never run across a company like this. I'll trash this system and go with another company, but will encourage Costco to discontinue its association with Watts Premier."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 12, 2013

Great until it leaks in 3 years

"It is a great, or I should say the best home filter, until it starts to leak after 3 years. The water taste is superior. However when it starts to leak, I don't know how to deal with it. I tight the screw then it only stopped for weeks and then leaks again. I really like the RO filter, and zero waster of water, but hate the leaking!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sun City, AZ
Date:September 5, 2013

All about saving our water!

"The Zero Waste RO is the best thing since sliced bread. I read that a regular RO system wastes 10,000 gallons of water per year."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2012

Love it but...

Model Number: ZRO-4
"Purchased 3/8/2007. Noticed dampness under sink about a year ago, and recently a puddle. I never could figure out where the leak was, thought it was dishwasher but now I can see it is the booster pump for this product. Watts wants $170 for the replacement pump.
Undecided now on replacing with a new one from costco, getting a replacement pump elsewhere or looking for alternate brand.
Given the product lasted 5 years + cost of replacement filters, it was about $65 per year."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2012

Still working after 5 years

Pros: fast water replenishment, durability (5 years and going), no water down the drain
Cons: sound from pump if not installed correctly, may cause delay in getting hot water when needed
"We bought this system about 5 years ago at the same time we installed a water softener. The system works great and produces clean water quickly.
The system has an electric pump on it which is different than any other RO system that just uses the water pressure. The water supply line connects to the cold water and the water waste line to the hot. There is no connection to the drain like typical RO systems. The pump then forces the water through the filters and back into the hot water line. So no water goes down the drain, except that if the system is running and you need hot water then it takes longer to get hot water (so that water goes down the drain) because the cold water is being pushed into the hot water side by the pump. (a minor note: all RO systems produce waste water, or water that is not filtered. This water is typically sent down the drain whereas this system pumps it back into the hot water line instead).
Others have complained about noise and here's some information on that. If not installed correctly then it can be quite noisy. Since the system has an electric pump on it the pump can cause a vibration where it's mounted which will reverberate through your counters. This is a simple problem to solve. You must make sure it is securely fastened and not just hanging from screws. You also must make sure that the bottom of the filters are not toughing the side of the cabinet. Once we did this the sound from the RO system is inaudible unless you open the doors to the cabinet."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sedona, AZ
Date:January 13, 2012

This one works great

Pros: great water replenishment rate, no excess water use to produce this great water
Cons: could be qieter ...
Model Number: Watts Premier Zero Waste
"We've had this unit installed for ~ 6+ years with no problems and great flow. You need to keep up with basic filter changes over the year - but the actual cost of use, water regeneration has been great!
Not sure about the transformer issues some people have reported - important to be sure with all transformers near wet areas that there is no shorting, no ground faults etc.?
We isolated our unit to quiet the pump noise a bit... got to be sure that the pump isn't rattling against something...
Good instructions for install - a basic handy person can install it themselves if you already have a hole in your sing to use - its pretty clear installation."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, CA
Date:January 7, 2012

solid performer

"My pump leaked after 6+ years. I lubed up the o-ring of the pump and tightened up the casing and it worked great again... I replaced the membrane in the 7th year. The replacement filters are all very affordable, and not hard to change. Overall, it's a very low cost solid performer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 21, 2011

Great until it breaks

"This lasted two years. Spoke to Watts and went through the process of trying to find out what to replace. They said it was the plug. $50 later and as soon as the plug was replaced the pump went. Too many problems. Going back to a regular RO."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:May 30, 2011

Great except one thing

"We purchased this product in 2008. It has worked great for 3 years, until the same symptom happened to use. The dreaded leak from the pump. One other costco-er mentioned taking apart the pump and lubing up the o-ring. To be honest, I didn't find an o-ring in my unit, but a plasticky white triangular thing that looked like it was a seal of some sort. I cleaned the thing out first, then lubed it up, and now it works great again. So only 3 stars because it leaks after 3 years. If it didn't, It would have gotten 5 stars."
Review 10 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Orion, Mi.
Date:May 8, 2011

Stop Wasting Water!!!

Pros: no wasting water, great taste, large holding tank, quiet operation, easy to install, fast recovery
Model Number: Item # 722099
"Our other RO system that was about 8 yrs old had failed so while researching new RO systems I came to discover the amount of water that is simply sent down the drain. Even the best systems boast about a 3:1 ratio. No waste sends the unfiltered water back into the supply instead of down the drain. Sure, it is a little more, but water is certainly a resource that shouldn't be wasted. There are only a few systems that offer a 'no waste' product. Watts seemed to be the best choice for my family. And the water quality is excellent."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 7, 2011

Machine Gun Noise

Model Number: 50029
"Had this product for a few years now. I think it does what it supposed to since the filters that I replace appear pretty dirty. My biggest complaint about this unit is the machine gun noise that it makes when the tank is nearly full. I don't know if it's from air bubbles in the line/tank or just a bad relay switch. When the noise comes on we would have to manually switch off the unit. After a few days, we would inevitably forget that it had been off and only realize it when the water is at a trickle, at which point we would have to turn it on again and then wait for the noise. Repeat.
It is tedious, but I don't want to unhook and replace the unit because it appears fine otherwise. Either way, I'm not handy enough to diagnose and fix it."
Review 12 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Date:February 14, 2011

First filter change

Pros: saves!!
Cons: requires maintenance
Model Number: Watt's ZRO4
"Changed my first filter set. Wow the sediment filter proved the pudding.
Great unit saving $300 bottled water per year. Have run 1/4" water lines to fridge and bathroom.
(ZRO4 let the pump run a little to relieve pressure in filters. This will help loosening the filters.)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2011

Works great.

"I bought this item to replace an older reverse osmosis unit. The installation was fairly easy considering that working under a sink is never fun. Everything was labeled clearly and went together properly. The electric pump on this model makes the water flow from the dispenser much greater than my old unit. I 've been using this item for a week now and I am quite satisfied."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlingame, CA
Date:October 17, 2010

Best Value and reliable.

"Bought mine abut 3 years ago. Very reliable and easy hook up. I have my feeding my on-counter cold and hot water dispenser and ice maker."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:AZ.
Date:September 28, 2010

WORST RVERSE OSMOSIS SYSTEM EVER!!!!

"WE BOUGHT THIS AFTER OUR OLD ONE LASTED FOR 13 YRS... THIS ONE I THOUGHT WOULD BE GREAT!! NOT SO!!! THE FIRST FEW MONTHS IT WAS GOOD AND THEN HAD TO HAVE A TRANSFORMER REPLACED! ON WARRANTY. FINE. THEN 1 YR. LATER AGAIN THE TRANSFORMER IS BAD!!! CALLED THEY SENT ANOTHER ONE I HAD TO PAY FOR!! REDICULOUS!! IT WAS BAD!! HOOKED IT ALL UP AND WOULDN'T WORK. THEN WE DISCOVERED THE SELENOID WAS STICKING AND BURNING THEM UP!! AT THAT POINT I SAID TO HECK WITH THIS!! I LOVE COSTCO AS THEY ARE SOOOOOOO! GOOD ABOUT RETURNING PRODUCTS!!! THEY ARE MY FAVORITE COMPANY TO BUY FROM BECAUSE OF THIS!!! I BUY FURNITURE, CARPET, EVERYTHING FOR BATH REMODEL, TUB, VANITY'S, RECIRCULATING HOT WATER PUMP, ALL KINDS OF GOOD STUFF!!! SO I AM ORDERING ANOTHER RO SYSTEM JUST NOT THE ZERO WASTE ONE!! THEY CAN KEEP IT!!!"
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2010

Working well

Pros: working as advertised
Cons: ocassionally noisy
"I've had this unit installed for a bit over a year now. It's been working well. Initially thought I could use the power under the sink from the garbage dispossal but obviously that will not work as it's switched on and off! I had to run a short extension cord from the diswasher outlet. The plumbing was not a big deal for me. Went in as planned and not any issues. The pump makes a bit of noise but really can not hear it. The water that comes out is great. We use it obviously for all our drinking water but now looking to run a line over to the refrigerator to get ice that is fluoride free as well as the water.
For the reviewer who thought the filters were nearly impossible to change... obviously didn't read the manual. You have to remove the pressure in the system prior to filter removal or it will be impossible to remove. My filter has not plugged up or slowed down as some reported. Probably due to the quality of the water coming in.
My house has a hot water loop for instant hot water. By pumping the waste water into the hot water line for me was not an issue. No impact to the hot water delivery.
Only issue I have had is the pump will sometimes get bumped under the sink and then you can hear the pump noise a bit more if something is leaning up against it. Overall very pleased with the unit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:May 19, 2010

Best purchase

Pros: water does taste great!
Cons: i have no cons
"I have been using this product since 2002, and my old one just failed. I know products don't last forever but it work well while it was working. I saw some comments that the customer service is bad at Watts. My thoughts on that are that if they can't help you, Costco will. I never had a problem with Costco. If the product fails within one year and Watts can't help you, rip it out and return it to Costco, and buy a new one. You bought at Costco, and they will help. The product works great, and I have not had problems with it. The pump does fail, but hey they have to fail. product life is about three years."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:May 15, 2010

Great value.

"I have been using this for the last 1 year in a very busy household of 6 people. The quality of water is superior to any bottled water I have used. The unit has functioned well without any problems sofar. I have yet to change the filters so I cant say for the ease of the process.
Highly recommended for the value.
"
Review 19 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:san jose california
Date:May 1, 2010

terrible customer service

Model Number: watts zero waste RO system
"I bought this system at 8/2009 with the idea that we can save water, but it turn out a bad experience. First it's working fine, but recently the pump began making noise and also the tranformer turn hot, to the point that I have to turn off the unit to prevent overload the power circuit, contact Watts, get the anser after a week asking some normal stuff, reply tat email wait another 8 days still get no anwer. I do not know that how the company doing, but I begin losing patient with this company, I do not think that I will buy another product from this com pany."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Zero Waste Reverse Osmosis System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 5, 2010

Search for a better mouse trap

Model Number: ZRO-4
"Search for a better RO System. Water taste and quality are good when the system works. In past 4 years, I have spent way too much time again and again to fix it. Sometimes the flow is too slow. Sometimes it clogs. Now, it seems that either the pump or the transformer is dead. Watts told me today that I have to send the pump and the transformer to them for diagnosing which component has failed. Changing the filter requires tremendous strength. No kidding. I did it two times. It is no fun. I am in search of a different vendor's RO system."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>