Customer Reviews for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer

Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer

Take your index finger, put it on the center of your forehead, slide it horizontally in a straight line to your hairline. If you had the Exergen TemporalScanner Temporal Artery Thermometer in your hand, you would have taken the quickest and most accurate non-invasive temperature available.   New Smart Glow Features! A newly enhanced model based on user requests – at no additional cost! Soft Glow Display : Soft lighting for easy reading in any light.  Perfect for checking the temperature of a sleeping infant (or adult) in a darkened room. 8 Temperature Memory : Automatically retains the last 8 temperature readings for instant recall to check on fever progression. Programmable Beeper : Beeping sound indicating scanning can be turned off or on to avoid waking a sleeping child (or adult). The flashing LED facing the forehead while scanning turns off when the beeper is turned off. Programmable °F or °C : Select most convenient temperature scale. Elegant one-button programming and memory access. Features: Accurate Temperature with a gentle forehead scan #1 Best selling thermometer brand #1 Pediatrician preferred, recommended by physicians "Smartest Product of the Decade" Inc Magazine "One amazing thermometer" NY Times Recommended for the entire family Accuracy for all ages supported by more than 50 clinical studies Use on sleeping infant, or child with ear infection Probe covers not required Method of choice of Premier Hospitals 9V Battery included Protected by 10 US patents, made in USA Directions: Remove protective cap before use. Be sure lens is clean. If not, clean with cotton swab dipped in alcohol and let dry. Hold the thermometer as shown. Gently position the probe flush (flat) on the center of the forehead. Press and hold the SCAN button.   Lightly slide the thermometer across the forehead keeping the sensor flat and in contact with the skin until you reach the hairline. You will hear a beeping and a red light will blink to indicate a measurement is taking place. If perspiration is present, continue to hold button depressed, lift probe from forehead and touch the neck just behind the ear lobe.   Release the SCAN button and remove the thermometer from the head. Read the temperature on the display. Thermometer will shut off automatically after 30 seconds. To turn the thermometer off immediately, press and release the button quickly. Replace the protective cap on thermometer to protect the sensor when not in use. Used and Recommended by Thousands of Doctors and Nurses Exergen TemporalScanners are relied upon daily in thousands of hospitals in clinics, taking over a billion fast, accurate, non-invasive temperatures per year. More clinical studies support the accuracy of Exergen TemporalScanners than any other thermometer.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
11
58 of 75(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Review 1 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Arizona
Date:July 13, 2010

Awesome!

Pros: quick non-invasive most accurate, saves $ on probe covers anti-microbial head
"As a Registered Nurse, Health Care Unit Administrator, and mom, I learned of this thermometer at a professional trade show two years ago. Since then, my nurses only use the commercial model of the Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer. In our clinic, we have had nothing but positive feedback from both the healthcare professionals and the patients and we take temperatures on appx 10,000 people per year MINIMUM. When my home tympanic membrane (ear) thermometer died, I knew I only wanted an Exergen to replace it. While the ear thermometers beat the oral, rectal or forehead strip-style thermometers by far for my kids, the Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer is even more convenient and I know it is more accurate. I appreciate the silver ion impregnated head that gives me comfort I'm not spreading germs between my kids, my husband or myself and allows me to use it without having to pay for probe covers. This model is fast, easy to use, reliable and accurate. I could not recommend it more highly!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 8, 2013

only works for 2 years

Pros: worked perfectly for 2yrs
Cons: not worth a penny after that
Model Number: TAT2000-C
"At first, I loved this thermometer. I tested it against others, very accurate. 2 years later, it's off by as much as 5 degrees! Yes, I'm using it right - I have 2 years of proof. It's not that hard to keep flat against the head. But I keep trying it on all 4 kids this horrible flu season - new battery, cleaned head. I could tell my son was burning up just touching him, but this thing read 97.6 - 99.1 several tries in a row. Got out our trusty old glass rectal thermometer and he was 103.8! Since then, I've checked every flu w/ both thermomters, and this one hasn't been w/in 3 degrees of correct even once. For the cost of this thing, it should work a whole lot longer than 2 yrs. I'm returning it. After all, a glass one is only a few bucks and accurate for many lifetimes. I've read all the reviews, and it doesn't seem many of the positive reviews were posted long after purchase. So, this may ship broken or take a year or two to break, but the bottom line is, sooner or later it will be worthless."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 25, 2014

Seems to work fine on this 52 year old head.

Pros: fast easy accurate
Cons: a little pricey
Model Number: TAT-2000C
"No problems at all. Just picked this up yesterday due to low grade, post op fever I've been experiencing.
I found that placing the unit on my forehead, pressing the start button then simply rotating my head until the probe reaches the hairline works best when doing it myself.
I have measured myself several times over the last couple of days and even had my wife do it once to make sure it wasn't just the method I was using. In each case the readings did not vary by more than a couple of tenths. I even used it on my wife's head as a reference and she was at 98.4 while I was repeatedly at 100.3.
Bottom line, I'm convinced it works. I'm not sure what the issues are that some seem to be experiencing but maybe some units are simply duds."
Review 4 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer

Pros: easy return
Cons: not accurate
"Inaccurate readings. If I scanned artery on forehead to the left the reading would be several degrees different than the right artery scan. If I took several readings in a row it would read a different temperature each time, off by several degrees. I returned to Costco."
Review 5 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, VA
Date:August 11, 2011

Works well for us, Doctor uses too

Pros: easy to use, accurate, fast
"Got this when I was expecting first child. She is now almost 11 months old and thermometer still works fine. Our doctor's office uses this exact same thermometer as well. First time she was ever sick at about 4 months old we took her temp and it read 101.5. I panicked, kept taking it, and finally took a rectal just to be sure - yes, the rectal said almost the exact same temperature (within a couple of tenths of a degree). So for those that say rectal is better, I would disagree. We have "calibrated" it against rectal several times since then and it is always the same. For those that complain about fluctuating temperatures, I think that is primarily because of how you use it - the instructions say "Multiple temperatures taken over the same area in rapid succession will ultimately cool the area causing differences". So you aren't supposed to keep taking over and over again in the same spot, because you WILL see differences. Read the directions!!
A side bonus - my daughter loves this thing. She thinks it's hilarious, since it beeps and has a blinking light. Doesn't mind having her temp taken. Can't say the same for other thermometers!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, California
Date:March 4, 2009

DONT DO IT

"This product isn't accurate at all. I was so disappointed. I have four children and my youngest sees a metabolic specialist that uses the same thermometer so I was very optimistic. My son had a fever of 102.6 with the ear thermometer and 99 with this one. Huge difference to me when dealing with small children. I tried on many occasions to test it comparing it to different types of thermometers and on every occasion it failed! I would ask the other people that wrote rave reviews if they have ever tested it against any other thermometer. I am curious to know how it worked out for them? So from my own experience I would not recommend this product to anyone. I remain optimistic thinking maybe I received a defected one because the idea behind it is great since I have a child that hates to get his temperature taken. Good luck!"
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Escalon, CA
Date:March 10, 2014

So Great

Pros: anyone can use: easy fast accurate.
Cons: poor shipping
"Easy to handle, simple to use. Nice light up display. So much easier than asking a 3 year old to sit still for 3 min, you get a result in seconds( if you can catch them)."
Review 8 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 12, 2014

Works Well Until...

Pros: convenient, easy to read digital display, 9v battery
Cons: lacks illuminated display, broke after a few dozen actual uses
"This was a great product but should have lasted longer than five years since it sits on the shelf idle 99% of the year. It has an easy to read display (though not backlit) and is convenient to use. It stands up vertically during storage, so it doesn't take up a lot of space. Also, uses a 9V battery instead of smaller more expensive ones. As for why the two star rating, recently, when it was needed, the device would not turn on. I opened the battery compartment and noticed one of the battery terminals had broken loose from its weld rendering the device useless. I wrote to the company four weeks ago and did not receive any reply. We'll be going back to our Braun Termoscan."
Review 9 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009

May Take Some Practice..

Pros: easy to use, can take temp on a sleeping child
Cons: need to get the "hang" of it.
"We use the professional model of this thermometer in the recovery room. Its measurements are extremely accurate. I was excited to find a "home" version that didn't cost $150. I WAS concerned at first, because I, too couldn't seem to get an accurate measurement. What I found though, was that it just takes some practice in handling, swiping, etc. Once we got that down, our measurements were consistent and accurate."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NAPLES, FL
Date:February 27, 2014

Best Practical Purchase

Pros: fast and accurate temp.
Cons: none
Model Number: TAT-2000C Series EXERGEN
"The temporal Thermometer is an absolute MUST instrument to have at home, and it deliverS the most accurate and fast themp ever. I bought two extra units to give as a present to family and friends. They are delighted with them. A must to have at home, period."
Review 11 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hartford, CT
Date:December 11, 2010

A Must Have!

Pros: easy to use, user friendly, great price
"I have read some of the reviews that are posted about this product and I find it so hard to believe some people don't like this. I have been using this for over a year on my now 2 year old. It was such a battle to take her temp I wasted my money trying so many other types of thermometers. A friend of mine recommended this to me, after trying hers I got online right away to order my own. It is amazing, I think this is the ultimate baby shower gift because a lot of new moms are unaware of how great this is! You will save yourself and your child tons of frustration. My toddler doesn't even blink an eye now. I have not had issues with the temp being off, although like many other people I do check a few times after first initial use. As anther woman wrote it takes all but 20 seconds even if you do it 5 times in a row. So easy! The price is great, especially if you can get it in the store and not have to pay the shipping. I hope this review helps you."
Review 12 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atwater, California
Date:July 9, 2009

Been Using It For Three Years!!

Pros: fast and reliable
"When our daughter was born , I was frustrated with the other thermometers, and Costco carried this thermometer online. I purchased it (I had to pay for shipping and handling back then). It's been wonderful. I use it all the time!!! Your child has to be still to get an accurate reading, and make sure that it is flush to the forehead. Also, any hair will cause inaccurate readings This is my favorite gift to give for a baby shower. Forget the cute baby clothes, get a parent a gift that they will always use. Remember that a temperature is just a measurement. You want to see if the temp is going up or down. If it's rising rapidly, then you need to call your doctor. The other thermometers were not accurate. For little newborns, this is the way to go. I still use it to this day!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:December 28, 2013

Love the Accuracy, but stuck in Centigrade

Pros: easy to use. appears to be very accurate
Cons: cannot get device to read in farenheit degrees
Model Number: Temporal Scanner 2000C
"I purchased this product after years of frustration with various thermometers. The first night I needed it for a 5-year old coming down with the flu, I was very impressed with ease of use and apparent accuracy. It was great to monitor her fever without waking her, but the next morning the device switched from F to C degree readings. I have read and followed the directions to switch back, tried multiple times, it will not revert back. I have resorted to a C-F conversion chart on-line. The paperwork does include a customer service number, I certainly hope they will be able to help convert, or replace the item."
Review 14 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 30, 2010

So much better than *anaI* thermometers

Pros: so much better than the alternative
Cons: have to read instructions and practice a few times
"Seriously. When you consider the alternative. This thing is GREAT.
Yes. There's a slight learning curve, and we tend to swipe our child's head 4 or 5 times in a row to make sure the readings are consistent, but that takes about 20 seconds or less, total time.
No kicking legs, not crying child, no worrying about whether it's inserted to the right depth, not accidentally sticking it into an older child's mouth!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 26, 2009

An absolute MUST for every parent!

"This thermometer is the best! It is really easy to use, once you get the hang of it, and I have found it to be very accurate. I have tested it against other thermometers, and it has always been spot-on. I love that I can get a reading as accurate as a rectal reading without having to wake and/or undress my baby!
The only thing I think could improve the design is if the read-out were backlit, so you didn't have to turn on a light to see it. Not enough of a design flaw to drop my rating to 4 stars, though.
I will be purchasing 2 of these for upcoming baby shower gifts, and I will probably continue to give them in the future. Oh, and my friend is a pediatrician, and she owns one of these and uses it for her kids as well!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 12, 2011

Accurate

Pros: easy to use, accurate
Cons: not backlit
"My pediatrician uses a similar thermometer and they said it was the most accurate way to take a baby's temp. I've used it on my son and gotten accurate readings every time and also tested on myself to see if it would fluctuate. It didn't. It's so easy to use, I used to fight my son trying to keep him still for a reading but not anymore!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Provo, UT
Date:November 15, 2010

Works great for all ages

Pros: easy to use, accurate
"I wish I had one of these when my kids were really little. It measures temperatures consistently and easily (even my kids can take each others' temperatures). I can take the temperature of sleeping kids without hassle or waking them. I always have mine handy. I've never seen or used a better thermometer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Date:February 28, 2011

Made in USA

Pros: made in usa
"I really enjoy the ease of operation and the accuracy of the temperture device! I would not have bought this product if it wasn't made in the USA . A very fine therometer for use on babies. I even use it on the 4 year old!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2009

My doctor says no.

"I have two young children and after having read so many good reviews, I had hoped that this was going to be a very good product for my family. Unfortunately, it really isn’t very accurate at all. I personally used it recently when I had the flu. The temperature on the thermometer kept varying from 99.2 to 101.4 within seconds of trying to get a stable reading. I finally gave up and got a consistent 103.2 reading from my trusty glass thermometer. I read the directions carefully, so, I know I was doing it correctly. I returned the thermometer to Costco, since this product can easily miss a fever. I can’t take that chance with my children. I mentioned it to my doctor and he agreed."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boston, ma
Date:November 5, 2012

Great thermometer

Pros: easy fast accurate
Cons: none
"Easy to use, reliable, sanitary, consistent performance. compared to other high-tech thermometers that require you to line-up red dots, this is a simple device to use and read. readings are quick and easy. Occasional wiping of the sensor with rubbing alcohol is easy. The only design weakness is that the protective cover is easily misplaced and can come off easily. With proper storage, its not a big deal anyway, i suspect. Overall: great product: I bought three--one for home, one for the kids mother, one for summer home...no more inaccurate oral readings and worrying if the thermometer is clean..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>