Customer Reviews for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer

Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer

Take your index finger, put it on the center of your forehead, slide it horizontally in a straight line to your hairline. If you had the Exergen TemporalScanner Temporal Artery Thermometer in your hand, you would have taken the quickest and most accurate non-invasive temperature available.   New Smart Glow Features! A newly enhanced model based on user requests – at no additional cost! Soft Glow Display : Soft lighting for easy reading in any light.  Perfect for checking the temperature of a sleeping infant (or adult) in a darkened room. 8 Temperature Memory : Automatically retains the last 8 temperature readings for instant recall to check on fever progression. Programmable Beeper : Beeping sound indicating scanning can be turned off or on to avoid waking a sleeping child (or adult). The flashing LED facing the forehead while scanning turns off when the beeper is turned off. Programmable °F or °C : Select most convenient temperature scale. Elegant one-button programming and memory access. Features: Accurate Temperature with a gentle forehead scan #1 Best selling thermometer brand #1 Pediatrician preferred, recommended by physicians "Smartest Product of the Decade" Inc Magazine "One amazing thermometer" NY Times Recommended for the entire family Accuracy for all ages supported by more than 50 clinical studies Use on sleeping infant, or child with ear infection Probe covers not required Method of choice of Premier Hospitals 9V Battery included Protected by 10 US patents, made in USA Directions: Remove protective cap before use. Be sure lens is clean. If not, clean with cotton swab dipped in alcohol and let dry. Hold the thermometer as shown. Gently position the probe flush (flat) on the center of the forehead. Press and hold the SCAN button.   Lightly slide the thermometer across the forehead keeping the sensor flat and in contact with the skin until you reach the hairline. You will hear a beeping and a red light will blink to indicate a measurement is taking place. If perspiration is present, continue to hold button depressed, lift probe from forehead and touch the neck just behind the ear lobe.   Release the SCAN button and remove the thermometer from the head. Read the temperature on the display. Thermometer will shut off automatically after 30 seconds. To turn the thermometer off immediately, press and release the button quickly. Replace the protective cap on thermometer to protect the sensor when not in use. Used and Recommended by Thousands of Doctors and Nurses Exergen TemporalScanners are relied upon daily in thousands of hospitals in clinics, taking over a billion fast, accurate, non-invasive temperatures per year. More clinical studies support the accuracy of Exergen TemporalScanners than any other thermometer.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
(out of 74 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
59 of 74(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Review 1 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 18, 2014

Excellent, Accurate, Hospice & Physician Approved

Pros: once the proper technique is used it is excellent!
Cons: if head was round it would be easier to use.
Model Number: Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
"I already have one of this "exact" thermometer. I'm purchasing another for my new grand-baby on the way.
I was introduced to it by my 94 yr old mother-in-laws' geriatric doctor. He used the same "exact" thermometer in his practice & recommended it. I was her caregiver for 4 yrs in our home, as she had advanced Alzheimer's. When it came time for hospice, they also used the same "exact" thermometer.
*****It's very important to read all the instructions. This type of thermometer reads core temperature. The trick to get consistent readings is to make sure that the top head of the thermometer is flat against the forehead. If it ever loses contact without being flat against the forehead skin surface you will "always" get inaccurate & inconsistent readings. SO... Start in the center (middle-vertical & horizontal) of the forehead, press the top flat against the skin, then while keeping the button depressed, slowly slide it across the forehead, down the side of the temple, then along the side of the neck (where the artery is) then lift your finger off the button. This will give the correct accurate temperature. If you feel the need to check it again, do the same thing except to the other side as the temperature of the skin previously taken will be slightly cooler. This is how the hospice nurse instructed me to do it.
SO as long as the top remains flat against the skin "never leaving complete contact" & the button is continually depressed while "slowly" sliding it until you reach the end of the neck.... you should be successful every time...
ALSO...Be sure to read the temperature range listed in the instructions... That's important....
The main reason for inconsistency is due to not keeping the top flat against the forehead & skin...once it eve slightly loses contact it will be inaccurate..
If used properly you will find that it is an excellent thermometer. I trust it, if professional doctors recommend it, then it must be reliable....I love it.. It took a bit of practice...you'll get the hang of it. If there were any suggestions, I would ask them to revise the design to be a round ball so there isn't the concern of it lifting off the skin...other than that I love it.. Try out this technique before you decide to return it....
"
Review 2 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer

Pros: easy return
Cons: not accurate
"Inaccurate readings. If I scanned artery on forehead to the left the reading would be several degrees different than the right artery scan. If I took several readings in a row it would read a different temperature each time, off by several degrees. I returned to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Escalon, CA
Date:March 10, 2014

So Great

Pros: anyone can use: easy fast accurate.
Cons: poor shipping
"Easy to handle, simple to use. Nice light up display. So much easier than asking a 3 year old to sit still for 3 min, you get a result in seconds( if you can catch them)."
Review 4 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NAPLES, FL
Date:February 27, 2014

Best Practical Purchase

Pros: fast and accurate temp.
Cons: none
Model Number: TAT-2000C Series EXERGEN
"The temporal Thermometer is an absolute MUST instrument to have at home, and it deliverS the most accurate and fast themp ever. I bought two extra units to give as a present to family and friends. They are delighted with them. A must to have at home, period."
Review 5 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 25, 2014

Seems to work fine on this 52 year old head.

Pros: fast easy accurate
Cons: a little pricey
Model Number: TAT-2000C
"No problems at all. Just picked this up yesterday due to low grade, post op fever I've been experiencing.
I found that placing the unit on my forehead, pressing the start button then simply rotating my head until the probe reaches the hairline works best when doing it myself.
I have measured myself several times over the last couple of days and even had my wife do it once to make sure it wasn't just the method I was using. In each case the readings did not vary by more than a couple of tenths. I even used it on my wife's head as a reference and she was at 98.4 while I was repeatedly at 100.3.
Bottom line, I'm convinced it works. I'm not sure what the issues are that some seem to be experiencing but maybe some units are simply duds."
Review 6 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:February 12, 2014

Works Well Until...

Pros: convenient, easy to read digital display, 9v battery
Cons: lacks illuminated display, broke after a few dozen actual uses
"This was a great product but should have lasted longer than five years since it sits on the shelf idle 99% of the year. It has an easy to read display (though not backlit) and is convenient to use. It stands up vertically during storage, so it doesn't take up a lot of space. Also, uses a 9V battery instead of smaller more expensive ones. As for why the two star rating, recently, when it was needed, the device would not turn on. I opened the battery compartment and noticed one of the battery terminals had broken loose from its weld rendering the device useless. I wrote to the company four weeks ago and did not receive any reply. We'll be going back to our Braun Termoscan."
Review 7 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:December 28, 2013

Love the Accuracy, but stuck in Centigrade

Pros: easy to use. appears to be very accurate
Cons: cannot get device to read in farenheit degrees
Model Number: Temporal Scanner 2000C
"I purchased this product after years of frustration with various thermometers. The first night I needed it for a 5-year old coming down with the flu, I was very impressed with ease of use and apparent accuracy. It was great to monitor her fever without waking her, but the next morning the device switched from F to C degree readings. I have read and followed the directions to switch back, tried multiple times, it will not revert back. I have resorted to a C-F conversion chart on-line. The paperwork does include a customer service number, I certainly hope they will be able to help convert, or replace the item."
Review 8 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:October 14, 2013

A different way to do things.

"This is easy enough to use, just so very different than what we've always done before. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. It is NOT intuitive. We have had no trouble with accuracy it just takes some getting used to."
Review 9 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sun City West, Arizona
Date:September 27, 2013

Easy temperature taking

Pros: it does the job quickly and accuately
"I have wanted one of these for a long time and you offered it at a price I couldn't pass up. Everyone should have a good thermometer that is easy and quick to use."
Review 10 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:March 20, 2013

exergen temporal artery thermometer

Pros: quick and easy
Cons: kids sometimes dont hold still for contact of ther
"the thermometer worked well with my 3 and 1 year old. they did much better with this thermometer instead of the old ear thermo."
Review 11 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 11, 2013

It's Just OK

Cons: inaccurate
"I bought this model about 3 years ago. I doubted the readings I was getting. I brought it with me to kid's pediatrician appt. We compared readings to a better thermometer the pediatrican had. Exergen under-read by exactly 1 degree. I kept using it since I knew it was consistent in its inaccuracy. I had not had an occassion to use it for awhile until last month. As someone else noted in their review, it is now so inaccurate that it is worthless."
Review 12 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 8, 2013

only works for 2 years

Pros: worked perfectly for 2yrs
Cons: not worth a penny after that
Model Number: TAT2000-C
"At first, I loved this thermometer. I tested it against others, very accurate. 2 years later, it's off by as much as 5 degrees! Yes, I'm using it right - I have 2 years of proof. It's not that hard to keep flat against the head. But I keep trying it on all 4 kids this horrible flu season - new battery, cleaned head. I could tell my son was burning up just touching him, but this thing read 97.6 - 99.1 several tries in a row. Got out our trusty old glass rectal thermometer and he was 103.8! Since then, I've checked every flu w/ both thermomters, and this one hasn't been w/in 3 degrees of correct even once. For the cost of this thing, it should work a whole lot longer than 2 yrs. I'm returning it. After all, a glass one is only a few bucks and accurate for many lifetimes. I've read all the reviews, and it doesn't seem many of the positive reviews were posted long after purchase. So, this may ship broken or take a year or two to break, but the bottom line is, sooner or later it will be worthless."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:boston, ma
Date:November 5, 2012

Great thermometer

Pros: easy fast accurate
Cons: none
"Easy to use, reliable, sanitary, consistent performance. compared to other high-tech thermometers that require you to line-up red dots, this is a simple device to use and read. readings are quick and easy. Occasional wiping of the sensor with rubbing alcohol is easy. The only design weakness is that the protective cover is easily misplaced and can come off easily. With proper storage, its not a big deal anyway, i suspect. Overall: great product: I bought three--one for home, one for the kids mother, one for summer home...no more inaccurate oral readings and worrying if the thermometer is clean..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Farmington, Utah
Date:July 19, 2012

Great Product

Model Number: Exergen Thermometer
"I saw this on one of the ads. I ordered it and it has been wonderful. Easy to use and quality built.
Randy
"
Review 15 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA
Date:April 25, 2012

Don't bother with this thermometer

"I recently purchased the Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer and never felt comfortable with the readout. When I first used it, I compared the recorded temperature to a digital thermometer that we always felt was trustworthy. I took a number of readings of the Exergen thermometer at several different times over a short period of time and it gave vastly different results. I returned the product and went back to the digital."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:April 20, 2012

Excellant Thermometer

Pros: ease of use, silver ion microbial head, don't have to buy disposable plastic caps, don't have to remove hearing aids
Model Number: TAT 2000C
"We have a new grand baby and tried it on him and it worked like a charm. We have one that you use in the ear, but that would be so uncomfortable for him as his ear is so tiny. It was very accurate."
Review 17 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:April 10, 2012

Quick & Easy

Pros: non-invasive, simple even when child sleeps, quick, easy
Cons: temperatures vary +/- 3*, needs background light, no volume control for beep
"Easiest thermometer yet. No need to undress child or wake them in the night to take their temperature.
The beeping sound is a bit loud, although its never woken my child.
I wish there was a background light to read temperatures at night.
Curiously enough each time you take a temperature you get different readings (mine included, even when healthy). Not sure which is most accurate:highest, average or lowest?
I continue to use the monitor despite the cons as its extremely convenient."
Review 18 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:April 9, 2012

It's so EASY!

"Purchased one for my home and one for work (elementary school) it's so easy to use on our little ones here."
Review 19 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura county, ca
Date:March 13, 2012

Wish I had this when my kids were babies!

Pros: easy to use!
Cons: not backlit
"Best thermometer ever. After seeing the pediatrician use one of these, I have been wanting one. At under $30, I now have peace of mind. I can even take the kids' temps while they are sleeping!"
Review 20 for Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 12, 2011

Accurate

Pros: easy to use, accurate
Cons: not backlit
"My pediatrician uses a similar thermometer and they said it was the most accurate way to take a baby's temp. I've used it on my son and gotten accurate readings every time and also tested on myself to see if it would fluctuate. It didn't. It's so easy to use, I used to fight my son trying to keep him still for a reading but not anymore!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>