Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high quality great tasting water. This five-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Manifold five-stage, reverse osmosis, water filtration system   Innovative one-piece design   Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, TDS and turbidity   Includes a high capacity 3-gallon storage tank   Built with a high production thin film membrane   Provides bottled water quality   Can be easily connected to an ice maker   Easy to install and maintain   Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more   Tank Dimensions: 11" D x 16" H :   Filter Dimensions:16.5" LX 16.75" WX4.6" H   Three-year limited warranty Replacement filter Costco item #191483 on Costco.com Membrane Costco item #572035 on Costco.com Model:  WP-5
Average Customer Rating:
3.824 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
(out of 74 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
10
59 of 74(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NV
Date:March 2, 2014

Faucet is absolute garbage, RO system is ok

Pros: good water
Cons: garbage faucet design, accessory parts should be included
"This system is not hard to install, but be warned, it's a cheap setup. The faucet is absolute junk. If you have a garbage disposal, be aware that you'll need to buy the adapter to use the air gap drain. The faucet leaks easily and is just junk. Although you can buy a better faucet from another vendor - one that won't sporadically leak, why should you have to do so? Why should you need to replace parts from a new system? You shouldn't. So don't buy this garbage, get something better. Granted the price at Costco is tempting, but coming home to a flooded kitchen more than once will make you wish you had just sprung for a better system to begin with.
With that said, it does produce good tasting water. But the headache of mopping up your kitchen (and replacing anything electrical in the path of the water) is not worth it. You can sort of make the faucet work by letting the lever snap back and/or sealing the air gap hole. But these are things you should not have to do. So don't buy this garbage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:March 26, 2013

Watts Premier WP-5

Pros: 5 stages, more membrane seelctions
Cons: harder for filter replacement (comparing to ro-4), auto shutoff valve is hideen (ro-4 is outside)
Model Number: WP-5
"I have both RO-4 plus and WP-5 and I personally installed both of them at the same time. I put the WP-5 under the sink and RO-4 behind the refrigerator's ice maker. Even though WP-5 is a 5 stage filter, it has the same 25PPM reading as RO-4. Since I only installed them about 2 weeks ago, I am not sure which will be lasted longer/better in the future. However, I admit that RO-4 is much easier for maintenance (filters replacement etc) and has fewer connections (means possible leaks) than the WP-5. On the other hand, WP-5 has more options/selections on the membrane, such 24 gpd, 34 gpd, or 50gpd. WP-5 comes with 24 gpd (gallons per day) and RO-4 comes with 50 gpd.
The faucet is easy to install, but the air gap is very annoying. After a night of struggling with the noise, I sealed the air gap with the cutout part of the Foam gasket from the Drain Saddle. Since then, I could enjoy my quiet sleep every single night.
Overall, the taste of the water is great!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SEATTLE
Date:February 17, 2013

-D-O -N-O-T -B-U-Y

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: kitchen floor must withstand sporadic floods
Model Number: Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
"This is first product review ever
I am writing to have people avoid the issues we had: flooded kitchen TWICE
(sad if you have hardwood floors…)
I did see the reviews that lamented leaks, but thought it was operator install error
Hired licensed plumber, $300 install.
Started leaking from faucet after 2 week. First slow than ever faster. No adjustment fixed it, faucet was faulty. Leak got massive overnight, kitchen floor flooded
Called company they sent a new faucet, but did not want to refund plumber cost “it is designed to be installed by homeowner”
New faucet did not leak at first, then after 2 months same issue, small leak from faucet that grows at exponential rate. This time faster than before, so we did not uninstall before we had a second kitchen flood.
Water pressure in our house:70 psi.
YOU HAVE BEEN FORWARNED! THINK ABOUT YOUR KITCHEN FLOORING as you arrive in the morning from a flood.
I don’t know what the issues were, but all is made of the cheapest materials, plastic pipes, plastic connectors, plastic faucet."
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:July 14, 2009

Gets the job done but proprietary

Pros: good water quality, volume production is 24 gallons per day, good rejection of dissolves
Cons: membrane used is proprietary, production is low 24 gpd, non standard size final filter
Model Number: WP-5
"Pros:
Good water quality, volume production is 24 gallons per day. Watts certify and stands behind their product and performance.
This filter rejects dissolved solids very well. My tap is 200+ TDS and filter reduces down to 20's TDS.
Maintenance filters are avail from Costco, decent price.
Cons:
Non standard one piece manifold design,
the membrane used is proprietary, their are plenty of available membrane in this standardize industry. Membranes are a 2-5 year replacement though.
The carbon filter are 5micron where as some industry use a 1 micron for the second.
The final carbon GAC polish filter is semi proprietary, inlet is 3/8" outlet is 1/4", most filters avail are same size. So if you you either spare the trouble and get teh Watts final filter in the replacement bundle, or you get a 3/8" filter and a reducing fitting for the outlet to step down to 1/4".
"
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:April 14, 2014

My handyman really liked it

"good quality, easy to install, reliable brand name. The water tastes great."
Review 6 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 3, 2009

good product, but...

Pros: good product, inexpensive
Cons: need maintenance every 6-mo, sanitizing and cleaning is time consuming
"This is a very good product and inexpensive, but if you are lazy like me, you had better get the other model (kwik model) in the warehouse. The installation is easy, but the 6-mo and annual maintenance is somewhat time consuming compared to kwik model (though kwik model filters are pricey, only you need to do is changing filters without sanitizing or cleaning). I returned this and get the kwik model at the warehouse."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2008

Good system

"This is the first time I install an RO system. In the past we used PUR faucet filter, which costs at least 10 dollars every two months for the filter and only filters out a few chemicals. Although PUR advertises it as 3-stage, compared to this one, it is really like 1.5-stage. Although the initial cost of an RO system appears to be high, the filters have much longer life and you will get back even (compared to faucet filtration) in 5 years and you get a much better quality water.
This is the cheapest RO system I could find. It is WP-5. For a person with zero plumbing experience, it took me a while to understand the manual, which is generic. The installation took me 2 hours. (Ours came with a warning for not cutting the red tube but referring to a wrong page number in the manual.) I would give it five stars if manual could be improved.
I initially debated over the zero-waste version. But I realized our daily use of filtered water (for drinking and cooking) is probably less than a gallon per day per person. So this traditional RO system only wastes about 10 gallons per day for a family of three, which is little compared to the total household use of 100-200 gallons a day on average."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014

Manufacture Defect?

Pros: great water
Cons: will flood your kitchen
Model Number: WP-5
"I had an older Watts RO system for 10 years until the manifold developed a crack and need a new system so I got this one. The unit makes great H2O for cheap in the last year since the install. Fortunately, I installed a leak sensor under the sink because of the old system leaks. Well, the sensor paid of big time as this unit had a catastrophic failure of the threads to the filter housing causing a sudden massive water leak in the kitchen! There was no slow warning leak as the sensor would have picked it up. The filter housing was tilted to the side due to the threads giving way. I Always hand tightened the filter so can only assume that the plastic was bad. Unable to contact Watts as they don't answer the phone!"
Review 9 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Temecula Ca.
Date:October 31, 2008

great tasting water

Pros: gret for tea coffee etc.
"This unit is very easy to install, at least if you already have the hole in the sink for the faucet, if not, a little more work to drill it. But the payoff is great tasting water. Better then fridge water with a cartridge filter built in, and as good as good bottled water. (some bottled water is not always good!). If you can run a plastic hose to the fridge, then your cold water and ice cubes will taste great too!. the only thing is, if you have a costco store nearby, they may have a different model of this same unit, it costs more, but the advantage is that the filters are easier to replace. You would have to decide if the price difference is worth it to you. But you will be happy with the taste of the water."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale Arizona.
Date:February 21, 2014

TERRIBLE INSTALLATION DIRECTIONS

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: impossible to install with provided instructions, company never answsers the phone
"This is a good device once I paid $100 to have it installed. We tried to install it ourselves but the manual has incomplete instructions and the company Watts Premiere never answered the tech line so we could get a 'walk through' of the install. It is a very terrible manual and the online instructions are worse. Now that said the unit itself makes very good tasting water. I am happy to have an RO and this is a good brand but they should have directions of how to install because it would have been an easy install and saved us $100 had the instructions been complete."
Review 11 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011

Well designed, good product, one snag

"I bought this unit to replace a 7 year old Watts unit that has worked well during that time. This unit is a definite design improvement and installed easily and works great. There were one major and one minor issues however:
Minor - it would have been nice to have a plumbing diagram overview figure to refer to, but I could not find one. There is one on their web site, however.
Major - when I first pressurized the unit, there was a massive leak from one of the filter housing seals. It turns out that the o-ring was installed incorrectly at the factory. Re-positioning the o-ring correctly fixed the problem.
Now the unit works great and the all-in-one design really cleans up the mess under the sink."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:December 6, 2010

Garage Unit Replacement

Pros: easy install, water tastes great
Model Number: Watts Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
"In case you are looking for a review about installing the Watts unit to replace a professionally installed 5 stage unit in your garage......here it is.
I had a Watts 5 stage in my garage which is fed through my house (frig and kitchen sink) on pex tubing. It still worked fine but was due for a new membrane which costs about the same as an entire new system. It's funny how marketing works. When this unit arrived it was similar but slightly different in design from the one I was replacing. No worries....the installation was simple and I was up and operational in about an hour.
The water tastes great and now it's simple maintenance for the next 5 years. When the membrane is due to be replaced, I will get another system.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, MA
Date:November 12, 2008

Fine product; Watts has bad customer service

Pros: cheap
Cons: bad customer service from watts
"Bought this unit to get rid of salts in my city water that were killing moss and ferns in a large indoor garden in our lobby. Works fine, water doesn't kill the plants anymore. Easy installation, though the manual had quite a few errors in it. It produces more water than I need for the garden, so people in the building get drinking water from it as well, and it's immensely popular.
Unfortunately, after two months the unit stopped working.
Watts Premier has very poor customer service. I contacted them about the problem on several occasions. The hold times on the phone are about 15 minutes and they never reply to e-mails. Their Web site goes down frequently, too. The first person I talked to suggested I do one thing; the next person I talked to said "why would you do that, I have no idea?" Seems two of the carbon block filters gave out after only two months and 150 gallons of water (rated for 6 months and 1200 gallons). Presented this to Watts and they basically said "tough luck, buy new filters." Luckily filters aren't very expensive (especially from Costco, great price here on both the unit and the filters!).
For comparison, my city water has about 330 mg/L of total dissolved solids, some salts (3-5 grains of hardness) and a bit of iron. Those were the main things I was looking to remove from the water. I consider the water average, and was surprised that the filters gave up so soon."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lapeer , Mi. 48446
Date:February 22, 2014

LEAKS

Pros: none
Cons: would buy from some one else
"installed per instructions and leaks from the faucet where the air bleed is."
Review 15 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:December 13, 2009

Nice Unit, Noisy airgap faucet

Pros: great value
Cons: very irritating gurgle-hissing sound
Model Number: WP5
"I purchased essentially this same system in 2003 and has given great service for the past 6 years. It finally had such reduced water flow that I purchased this as a replacement as it was nearly the same price as a complete overhaul.
It was easy to install and I'm very satisfied with the overall quality of this system.
Unfortunately, we are also experiencing the extremely noisy, very irritating gurgle-hissing sound coming from the airgap faucet as the unit refills after each use. This goes on for over 30 minutes for one glass of water. Our prior unit refilled much more slowly I guess as it only made a very soft trickling sound."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Good performance. but quality may not be so good

Pros: works great, good performance, good taste of filtered water, easy to install
Cons: first filter cover broken after few day
Model Number: costco item 751466
"I bought this reverse osmosis water filter system to replace my existing one after 6 years of service. This system has some 1/4 inch tubes which are bigger than the old one, but I managed to connect them without leaks. However, after 3 days of service, the first filter tank cover burst open, causing water from the water intake to spill from the opening. I think the unit is damaged duiring shipping, or it was a bad unit during mnufactiure. Luickly I am a costco member, so I just retuirn the unit and purchase another one online.
When the filter is installed,, it works quite well without leaks, the amount of water stored in the water tank is enough for our daily use; And the filtered water taste great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose CA
Date:February 23, 2011

3 hours installation!

Cons: badly written manual, missing part
Model Number: WP-5
"I have been using counter top filter and it only took about 10 minutes for installation. Heard about the great RO filter and want to try it finally. It took me more than 3 hours! I wanted to give up and return the product when I hit some roadblocks a few times.
My biggest concern is that it requires me to drill a hole for the drainage. I didn't want to make any dangerous hole in my water system. Any leakage will be nightmare! If I knew that requirement, I would not buy this product. Still hoping that my hole does not do any potential damage.
One missing part in the package.
The tube is designed to have 4 colors but there are 9 tubes and joints. My another puzzle was why the number of tubes was not even. One single tube went into the water tank.
The user manual is very badly written.
- no big picture on the connection diagram. Only individual steps. Pictures are only in black and white with low resolution even at their website.
- terms are technical. I don't know those terms and hence do not known what to connect.
- manual covers multiple models and some steps are not applicable to my model. Confusing!
"
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:October 17, 2011

easy installation

Pros: easy installation
Cons: taller narrower tank would be a plus.
Model Number: WP-5
"last night I installed this unit in about 45 minutes at a slow leisurely pace. I found the instructions to be fairly simple. I experienced only one slight problem when the "adapt-a-valve" came out of the plastic a washer and black plastic insert came out and I experienced a leak when installing on my 3/8" cold water angle stop valve. Once I figured out how to reseat the washer the rest of the install when smoothly. I'll disconnect it tonight to better configure it under my small sink cabinet. After the 3 full tank rinses it requested (They require a couple of hours each) I have full pressure and good tasting water. My wife did all her homework and she's happy with it. When Mama's happy, the family is happy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 9, 2011

I fixed the leak!

Pros: great tasting water
Cons: faucet very prone to leaking
Model Number: WP-5
"After hooking up everything, I experienced a pretty good leak out the air hole. Here's how we fixed it: first, be sure to install with the air hole on the faucet pointing to the front...it's much easier to monitor that way for problems. Per the instructions, the black drain line was as short as possible, but was still leaking. Two things fixed it: 1. we enlarged the drilled drain line hole to the same size as the tubing (instructions have you drill a smaller hole than the tubing), 2. If you still have a leak, put your lips over the air hole on the faucet and BLOW. That will break any water surface tension that is causing the backup. Now it is working perfectly and no leak for 48 hours."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Klamath Falls, OR
Date:January 1, 2009

Good/Better Performance - Excellent Price

Pros: excellent price, easy installation, high output, low maintenance
Cons: water output acidic
Model Number: WP5
"I purchased my unit in 2005. It is the third RO system purchased from Costco. Having installed RO systems before, this one installed in about 1.5 hours.
We are on a private well that is high in iron so we change the input sediment filter about 2-3 times more often than the carbon filters which is a snap ~ about a 10 minute job including the sanitizing of the filter holder.
We use the water for all cooking, including our coffee, tea, etc. During the winter months, we also use the RO water for our humidifier which uses about 5-7 gals per day. The nice advantage of using the RO water in the humidifier is that we have not needed to change the humidifier filter yet after two full years of use.
We, too, have hooked up our refer ice maker to the RO system and enjoy the absence of any peculiar taste in the ice cubes.
Our well water is pretty good except for the high level of iron and manganese and without any objectionable taste or odor. Our well water is pH balanced and relatively soft but with trace elements of nitrates. For this reason alone we made the decision to use the RO water for cooking and drinking.
Our only objection to RO water is that in removing the elements it renders the water with a low pH which is not considered by some as healthy so we add small amounts of baking soda to our RO water to balance the pH.
Sure beats the cost of purchasing bottle water and I am secure in knowing that my RO water has not been setting in some warehouse for goodness knows how long and building up the bacteria count. When we go on short outings we even take several gallons of our RO water with us so we don't have to drink the public available water or purchase water at the exorbitant prices of $5+/gal.
From our personal experience I would not hesitate to recommend this model of RO system to anyone."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>