Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high quality great tasting water. This five-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Manifold five-stage, reverse osmosis, water filtration system   Innovative one-piece design   Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, TDS and turbidity   Includes a high capacity 3-gallon storage tank   Built with a high production thin film membrane   Provides bottled water quality   Can be easily connected to an ice maker   Easy to install and maintain   Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more   Tank Dimensions: 11" D x 16" H :   Filter Dimensions:16.5" LX 16.75" WX4.6" H   Three-year limited warranty Replacement filter Costco item #191483 on Costco.com Membrane Costco item #572035 on Costco.com Model:  WP-5
Average Customer Rating:
3.824 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
(out of 74 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
10
59 of 74(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:April 14, 2014

My handyman really liked it

"good quality, easy to install, reliable brand name. The water tastes great."
Review 2 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NV
Date:March 2, 2014

Faucet is absolute garbage, RO system is ok

Pros: good water
Cons: garbage faucet design, accessory parts should be included
"This system is not hard to install, but be warned, it's a cheap setup. The faucet is absolute junk. If you have a garbage disposal, be aware that you'll need to buy the adapter to use the air gap drain. The faucet leaks easily and is just junk. Although you can buy a better faucet from another vendor - one that won't sporadically leak, why should you have to do so? Why should you need to replace parts from a new system? You shouldn't. So don't buy this garbage, get something better. Granted the price at Costco is tempting, but coming home to a flooded kitchen more than once will make you wish you had just sprung for a better system to begin with.
With that said, it does produce good tasting water. But the headache of mopping up your kitchen (and replacing anything electrical in the path of the water) is not worth it. You can sort of make the faucet work by letting the lever snap back and/or sealing the air gap hole. But these are things you should not have to do. So don't buy this garbage."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014

Manufacture Defect?

Pros: great water
Cons: will flood your kitchen
Model Number: WP-5
"I had an older Watts RO system for 10 years until the manifold developed a crack and need a new system so I got this one. The unit makes great H2O for cheap in the last year since the install. Fortunately, I installed a leak sensor under the sink because of the old system leaks. Well, the sensor paid of big time as this unit had a catastrophic failure of the threads to the filter housing causing a sudden massive water leak in the kitchen! There was no slow warning leak as the sensor would have picked it up. The filter housing was tilted to the side due to the threads giving way. I Always hand tightened the filter so can only assume that the plastic was bad. Unable to contact Watts as they don't answer the phone!"
Review 4 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lapeer , Mi. 48446
Date:February 22, 2014

LEAKS

Pros: none
Cons: would buy from some one else
"installed per instructions and leaks from the faucet where the air bleed is."
Review 5 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale Arizona.
Date:February 21, 2014

TERRIBLE INSTALLATION DIRECTIONS

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: impossible to install with provided instructions, company never answsers the phone
"This is a good device once I paid $100 to have it installed. We tried to install it ourselves but the manual has incomplete instructions and the company Watts Premiere never answered the tech line so we could get a 'walk through' of the install. It is a very terrible manual and the online instructions are worse. Now that said the unit itself makes very good tasting water. I am happy to have an RO and this is a good brand but they should have directions of how to install because it would have been an easy install and saved us $100 had the instructions been complete."
Review 6 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ohio
Date:January 26, 2014
"Bought two of these one I have had for three years. A little tricky to install but most of these are. Good system no problems. I have a well with a iron removal system which compliments this well"
Review 7 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redlands, CA
Date:January 8, 2014

Manufacturing Design is Obscure-Don't Buy!

Pros: none -
Cons: manufacturing design as one unit is not good
Model Number: WP-50
"I have a whole Word document file with pictures, so I'll try to consolidate it. PROBLEMS WITH RO SYSTEM began 6 mos. after installation: PROBLEMS BEGAN END OF SEPT WITH REDUCED WATER FLOW FROM REFRIGERATOR DISPENSER:
WE NEVER HOOKED UP THE SINK FAUCET/DISPENSER, we didn't need/want to use it. 1. Water flow started slowing down end of Sept.; then really got ridiculously slow Oct 18th; on Nov 3 we replaced the dual water inlet valve on our refrigerator because since we had HAD 2 water leaks in our house with 3 months of each other and know that "sediment" occurs when water is restored... plus we replaced the polishing filter we have mounted behind refrigerator on Nov 4. But, system still slow. We carefully tried to remove the inside metal line within the long red flow restrictor tube to clean it, but it broke. We then replaced all 3 of the RO filters on Nov 11 but still no improvement, didn't work and we don't feel we should have to replace the MEMBRANE filter so soon (only 6 mos. old) so we called Premier Tech Support: 800-752-5582 "Aaron" Tech Support 11-14-13. He said we needed a new flow restrictor red tube $5.00 + 3.00 shipping from AZ. Aaron said to put some olive oil in next time. Coming by USPS. Order #1087551, CC9428; Model WP-50; Part #622055; we paid for it!
2. 800-752-5582 "Aaron" Tech Support 11-21-13 10:30am
When the new restrictor tube came, it was a short 5" not the same long, 51 inch red one that the Unit came with -Yes, he said they changed the design of the red tube water restrictor tube because the longer one was clogging up and breaking. (WHICH IT DID AND WE DID HAVE TO BUY A NEW ONE $8.00~~The COMPANY should have replaced THAT free, since THEY CHANGED THE DESIGN OF IT BECAUSE OF PROBLEMS WITH IT!!! AND, it was under warranty.)
To further troubleshoot Aaron said to do this:
1) put all filters on
2) measure how much water is coming from blue tube in 1 minute
2) measure how much water is coming from the disconnect tube to drain in 1 minute
Ratio should be 1 to 4 purified to waste; in other words: if 2 oz is coming in, than 8 oz coming down should be the measure.
His Ext. is 419521 (he said he'll be really busy until the end of the year not just on the phone). WHAT'S THAT about - we can't wait until AFTER the New Year to get this resolved! He said any technician can follow up with us. OUR UNIT IS MODEL WP-50, Serial Number: 11WPI - 301721 Watched two troubleshooting videos but this review instructions says I can't mention them.: We get 25 lbs of psi with 40 going in, but that was because it was in the morning (everyone using water pressure). Our main valve is set to 75psi. We were running dishwasher when he got 40, so we stopped dishwater. We know 40psi is borderline to needing a "pump". We are 25 feet from unit to refrigerator; from utility room wall at ceiling through wall to kitchen with 3/8 tubing. We should NOT need a booster pump.
We noted where the red tube leaves it's connected to a 1/4x3/8, 2 feet onto a 3/8 then to a 2" pipe drain for the washing machine.
3. 800-752-5582 Tech Support 11-21-13 12:45pm We called back, got "Anthony" Ext. 419522; reported to him that NO water came out of the blue tubing; and that 14 oz. came out of the red restrictor tubing the would normally go into the drain. Our water pressure was 70psi. He said to make sure the red restrictor tubing is coming directly out and not onto any other 3/8 tubing. We did that.
4. 800-752-5582 Tech Support 11-21-13 1:55pm We called back, reported to ANOTHER NEW TECH: "Kolby" that we connected the short 5" red restrictor tubing from the unit and measured water: from the blue tube: NOTHING . From the red: 1 and 2/3 Cup water; almost to the previous 14 oz line. Now What? He then explained we need to put the end with the tiny slot across of the red restrictor tube INTO the filter unit, not the other way around--which we had it - there were NO instructions when it came. Then measured and still no water coming from the blue tube. Then he had us take a screw driver and loosen each of the 4 bolts on the automatic shut off valve (ASO valve) a 1/4 turn with each bolt, like you do to wheel lug nuts... and when we hear a hissing sound of air, then retighten the bolts. Water started coming out, then when we tightened them back, again no water. Water was still off; so turned it on, then opened them up 1/4, then started measuring: got 1 cup; closed them down and only got 1 oz. He believes it's the autom. shut off valve that's defective, either gunked or the bladded is folder; and is sending us a NEW one. Order #1089295 and said to put it on per the schematic drawing we have; we told him we have a needle plug on the blue so it won't go to the refrigerator (yet), will wait overnight for the tank to fill, then will hook up to the refrigerator and will report back to him.
11-21-2013: Premier Tech Support "Kolby", Ext. 419551 is sending us THIS replacement part for resolution. PREMIER TECH SUPPORT REP "KODY" SENT (WITHOUT CHARGE) A NEW AUTOMATIC SHUT OFF VALVE TO INSTALL
Monday, Nov. 25, 2013
While awaiting the arrival of the NEW Valve, we took the current valve apart and off. There did not appear to be ANYTHING WRONG - no curled or torn bladder, nothing except as noted below. When the new valve came, "WE" put it together according to the specific instruction sheet. Then started the water - after 6 hours on STILL THERE WAS NO WATER THAT HAD ENTERED THE TANK!!! We did everything we could to resolve this issue! Way too much of our time to keep calling Premier Tech Support--could never get the same rep! DON’T BUY THIS BRAND OR MODEL UNIT! Not a good idea for them to have manufactured it in ONE UNIT, because if something goes wrong with ONE cylinder - you have to SCRAP the entire system!! WE TOOK IT BACK TO COSTCO AND THEY GAVE US A FULL REFUND! NOW WE’RE USING OUR 16 YR. OLD PREVIOUS REVERSE OSMOSIS SYSTEM, AFTER REPLACING THE CRACKED CYLINDERS AND IT’S GREAT! THE FLOW OF WATER COMING OUT OF THE REFRIGERATOR DISPENSER IS AMAZING!!!
"
Review 8 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 29, 2013

Best purchase and good filter.

Pros: easy installation.
Cons: none
Model Number: Premier WP-5
"The filter is very efficient, good quality and easy to install; at a very good price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 29, 2013

Good Product

Pros: installation directions customer services
Cons: time-intensive installation
Model Number: WP-5
"Complicated system, was worried I'd get started and have to call a plumber, but directions were thorough. Leave yourself some extra time to install, it's not plug-n-play. Had a small issue with one of the pieces. Watts handled the customer service professionally under warranty. Replacement filters are much more reasonably priced than my last system. The water volume is much better than my last system also.
Most importantly, the water tastes great!
Overall, very happy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:May 26, 2013

Satisfied in general.

Pros: great price.
Cons: just worry to get flood one day.
"I have use it for 3 years. Never had any incidents, leaks, breakages. Water tastes much better than before. I change filters every 5-6 month. The price is great. Local companies sell similar product for 2-3K. Just one thing is not good - it's not pleasant sound when the tank fills up. But I got used to it."
Review 11 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:March 26, 2013

Watts Premier WP-5

Pros: 5 stages, more membrane seelctions
Cons: harder for filter replacement (comparing to ro-4), auto shutoff valve is hideen (ro-4 is outside)
Model Number: WP-5
"I have both RO-4 plus and WP-5 and I personally installed both of them at the same time. I put the WP-5 under the sink and RO-4 behind the refrigerator's ice maker. Even though WP-5 is a 5 stage filter, it has the same 25PPM reading as RO-4. Since I only installed them about 2 weeks ago, I am not sure which will be lasted longer/better in the future. However, I admit that RO-4 is much easier for maintenance (filters replacement etc) and has fewer connections (means possible leaks) than the WP-5. On the other hand, WP-5 has more options/selections on the membrane, such 24 gpd, 34 gpd, or 50gpd. WP-5 comes with 24 gpd (gallons per day) and RO-4 comes with 50 gpd.
The faucet is easy to install, but the air gap is very annoying. After a night of struggling with the noise, I sealed the air gap with the cutout part of the Foam gasket from the Drain Saddle. Since then, I could enjoy my quiet sleep every single night.
Overall, the taste of the water is great!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dutchess County, NY
Date:March 7, 2013

Great service and great tasting water

Model Number: WP-5
"The WP-5 RO system was a little bit complicated to install due to our kitchen set up. It took about 8 hours and a couple trips to local hardware store before it was completed. There was a slight problem with the RO system which caused minor leakage. When we called Premier for support, the agent there was very helpful and immediately sent us a replacement unit. The water we get now from RO is great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SEATTLE
Date:February 17, 2013

-D-O -N-O-T -B-U-Y

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: kitchen floor must withstand sporadic floods
Model Number: Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
"This is first product review ever
I am writing to have people avoid the issues we had: flooded kitchen TWICE
(sad if you have hardwood floors…)
I did see the reviews that lamented leaks, but thought it was operator install error
Hired licensed plumber, $300 install.
Started leaking from faucet after 2 week. First slow than ever faster. No adjustment fixed it, faucet was faulty. Leak got massive overnight, kitchen floor flooded
Called company they sent a new faucet, but did not want to refund plumber cost “it is designed to be installed by homeowner”
New faucet did not leak at first, then after 2 months same issue, small leak from faucet that grows at exponential rate. This time faster than before, so we did not uninstall before we had a second kitchen flood.
Water pressure in our house:70 psi.
YOU HAVE BEEN FORWARNED! THINK ABOUT YOUR KITCHEN FLOORING as you arrive in the morning from a flood.
I don’t know what the issues were, but all is made of the cheapest materials, plastic pipes, plastic connectors, plastic faucet."
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:November 14, 2012

Easy installation

Pros: very easy too install..took about 90 minutes, this model filters radium which is what i required, better design than other similar priced ro systems, watts is well established in water purification
Cons: faucet is not as sturdy as i would like it to be
Model Number: Watts WP-5
"This is the second Watts Premier RO system I have purchased. The first one was similar and lasted over 8 years before the faucet failed due to wear so I bought the same system again. It worked very well for the entire time we owned it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 13, 2012

Very poor Quality faucet

Pros: low price
Cons: poor design faucet
Model Number: Watts 5 stage RO 149.99
"Unit leaked first day was installed, The air gap on faucet is defective design. Have WATTS send you a by pass kit for this, fixed the problem after 2 phone calls to tech support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Good performance. but quality may not be so good

Pros: works great, good performance, good taste of filtered water, easy to install
Cons: first filter cover broken after few day
Model Number: costco item 751466
"I bought this reverse osmosis water filter system to replace my existing one after 6 years of service. This system has some 1/4 inch tubes which are bigger than the old one, but I managed to connect them without leaks. However, after 3 days of service, the first filter tank cover burst open, causing water from the water intake to spill from the opening. I think the unit is damaged duiring shipping, or it was a bad unit during mnufactiure. Luickly I am a costco member, so I just retuirn the unit and purchase another one online.
When the filter is installed,, it works quite well without leaks, the amount of water stored in the water tank is enough for our daily use; And the filtered water taste great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 29, 2012

2nd System even better than 1st

Pros: easy to follow directions, easy to install, easy to use and maintain
Model Number: WP-5
"We had an earlier version of the Watts Premier 5-stage Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System and it was a terrific unit. Fresh, clean, filtered (5 times!) water on demand - what more could you and your family ask for?
After 10 years of reliable performance it was time to buy a new replacement system so we purchased the Model WP-5 from Costco online. I didn't bother with the express (faster) shipping as the unit arrived very quickly once it shipped via UPS (save your money).
The installation was even easier than the original system since this one has fewer hoses and hardware to deal with.
I highly recommend the Watts Premier 5-stage Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System to anyone and any family that drinks WATER."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Grove, UT
Date:August 28, 2012

Good product + value

Pros: simple to install, well-sealed (no leaks in the system itself)
Cons: may require a little improvisation
Model Number: Premier (item 751466)
"Some reviewers complained about the air gap faucet making a ton of sucking noise. This is by design and is required in California.
If you live anywhere else (check your local laws or consult a plumber), you may a) use another kind of non-air gap faucet, or b) bypass the drain tube directly into your sink's gooseneck. Both of these options will make the filtration system virtually silent.
The installation took me (non-pro, moderately handy) about 3 hours because I didn't realize I could avoid the air gap faucet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

Watts Premier R/O System- Dud

"Faucet and tubing connected to the tank were defective and leaking badly.
The faucet in this model was of poor quality.
You cant tell when to replace the filters.
I do not recommend this product
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern, CA
Date:July 24, 2012

Great product-poor instructions

Pros: great price-large tank
Cons: installation directions lacked clarity and order
Model Number: WP-5
"This is my second RO installation and I am pretty handy with tools. The installation directions could have been much better written and both the order of the steps and a few extra items of hardware (a shutoff valve from the storage tank) would have made it a much easier job. Making the connection from the tank to the faucet would have been so easy had the instructions directed one to do that BEFORE inserting it into the hole on the sink top. That connection leaked the first two times from beneath the sink."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>