Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high quality great tasting water. This five-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Manifold five-stage, reverse osmosis, water filtration system   Innovative one-piece design   Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, TDS and turbidity   Includes a high capacity 3-gallon storage tank   Built with a high production thin film membrane   Provides bottled water quality   Can be easily connected to an ice maker   Easy to install and maintain   Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more   Tank Dimensions: 11" D x 16" H :   Filter Dimensions:16.5" LX 16.75" WX4.6" H   Three-year limited warranty Replacement filter Costco item #191483 on Costco.com Membrane Costco item #572035 on Costco.com Model:  WP-5
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
(out of 77 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
9
62 of 77(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014

Worst product in 20 years of Costco shopping

Pros: none
Cons: loud, wastes water, terrible customer service
"As a Costco member for over 20 years I've relied on Costco offering only quality products - they missed on this one.
There is nothing good to say about this product. The water constantly runs, its loud, the filters are expensive and needed replacing in six months.
When calling customer service to ask if there was a problem - after three calls on hold in excess of 15 minutes - when finally getting though they were insistent that it was our water pressure. I said we had a well with a pressure gauge and asked if there could be another problem and was promptly hung up on.
Called the parent company, talked to a very nice person who explained there are many problems with "that division". Tried to put me in contact with appropriate division management and never heard back."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara CA
Date:September 14, 2014

Leaking Tap can be easily fixed

Pros: it's a great ro system
"The leaking tap is due to incorrect installation which can be easily fixed. I read the Premier troubleshooting page on their website and the tap leak is due to a loop or kink in the black drain line as the drain line must be a free-flowing straight downward line to the drain. It can also be a clog which you can unplug. I'm just a Realtor with a screwdriver and it's an easy fix."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carsbad Ca.
Date:September 5, 2014

very unhappy

Pros: great water
Cons: floods no custumer service at all
Model Number: RO PURE PLUS
"I have had RO's for over 20 years and love it. It will flood big time. Watts has the worlds worst customer service ever. We called 3 times to inquire about the floods we had from the faucet and each time we were put on hold for at least 2 hours with no answer until we gave up and hung up the phone on there web page you can send a email and get a case# I did that twice and they never get back to me, I am takeing it back to costco. I am talking about Wattspremier Customer Service not Costco. I came to the conclusion they will never get back to me. Costco should look into this matter since they carry Wattspremier products."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 19, 2014

Missing part, leaks

Pros: can't think of any.
Cons: leaks and mounting final filter.
Model Number: WP5
"I don't want to give Watts a bad name, BUT. The elbow for the pressure tank was missing. Purchased a brass elbow and quick disconnect to replace it. It leaked so I finally had to replace the quick disconnect with a compression fitting. Also had a bit of a time stopping other leakdks.
I am not a professional plumber but I have done a fair of plumbing over the years. This system was the most difficult I hav encountered to get sealed up.
Also, there is no provision to properly mount the final filter. I need to rig a method, likely some Velcro would suffice, but an oversight in the design.
If I need another RO system in the future I will look elsewhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St George, UT
Date:June 21, 2014

Nice Osmosis System

Pros: very reasonable price, easier install than most reverse osmosis systems, easy-to-understand instructions, quickly shipped via ups, contains all hardware for most installations, utilizes standard-size sediment and carbon filters, manufacturer offers free water analysis
Cons: no overview drawing of completed system, final filter is not housed in the main unit
Model Number: 10040488
"I like the fact that many of the plumbing connections you'd otherwise make are internal to the unit. And that it uses the large, standard sediment and carbon filters, as opposed to the smaller 'quick change' filters. The finished system works nicely. Price is lower than competing systems.
I don't see any problem with the faucet. I suspect the 'air gap' is what's caused leaks for some users. The manual doesn't explain that 'waste' water is created within the reverse-osmosis filter, and must be routed to the sink's drain. To avoid any potential backflow from the sink drain to the filter unit, this waste water is run through an 'air gap' contained within the faucet structure. The waste water is pushed uphill to the faucet housing, where it flows through the open-air 'air gap' then flows by gravity down the black tubing to the drain pipe. IF the black drain line or drain saddle were installed improperly or plugged (such as the hole was not drilled through the saddle into the drain pipe), the waste water from the system would back up and overflow onto the sinktop -- appearing as a faucet leak. Manufacturer cautions that debris from the disposer can clog the black drain line -- especially if that line has a low spot in it. I'd recommend mounting the saddle on the TOP of the drain pipe, in order to minimize the chance of debris from the sink drain clogging the black drain tube. Our previous system was installed in this manner for 18 years with no problem.
The only complaint I have so far is that the instructions do not contain a drawing of how the completed system is plumbed. So I had to read the written instructions several times to make certain I had it right. It's really not difficult, but without a drawing to guide you, you can't be too careful. If I had to install a second one, I could probably do it in 1/4 the time. I cannot speak about customer support, as so far I have not needed any."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ohia-un
Date:May 27, 2014

Premier RO Water Purifier

Pros: manifold is an improvement, hook-up more straight forward than old unit
Cons: no improvement is water output or quality in 12 yr, membrane undersized
Model Number: WP5
"I replaced a 12 year old Premier system with this one in the hopes that improvements had been made in the efficiency and serviceability. While there are more quick connects there could have been more. Instructions were mediocre with pages of words and a few poor pictures. A single page with a color-coded diagram would have been better and less confusing. Throughput is low and it places a tremendous burden on water pressure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:April 14, 2014

My handyman really liked it

"good quality, easy to install, reliable brand name. The water tastes great."
Review 8 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014

Manufacture Defect?

Pros: great water
Cons: will flood your kitchen
Model Number: WP-5
"I had an older Watts RO system for 10 years until the manifold developed a crack and need a new system so I got this one. The unit makes great H2O for cheap in the last year since the install. Fortunately, I installed a leak sensor under the sink because of the old system leaks. Well, the sensor paid of big time as this unit had a catastrophic failure of the threads to the filter housing causing a sudden massive water leak in the kitchen! There was no slow warning leak as the sensor would have picked it up. The filter housing was tilted to the side due to the threads giving way. I Always hand tightened the filter so can only assume that the plastic was bad. Unable to contact Watts as they don't answer the phone!"
Review 9 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lapeer , Mi. 48446
Date:February 22, 2014

LEAKS

Pros: none
Cons: would buy from some one else
"installed per instructions and leaks from the faucet where the air bleed is."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale Arizona.
Date:February 21, 2014

TERRIBLE INSTALLATION DIRECTIONS

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: impossible to install with provided instructions, company never answsers the phone
"This is a good device once I paid $100 to have it installed. We tried to install it ourselves but the manual has incomplete instructions and the company Watts Premiere never answered the tech line so we could get a 'walk through' of the install. It is a very terrible manual and the online instructions are worse. Now that said the unit itself makes very good tasting water. I am happy to have an RO and this is a good brand but they should have directions of how to install because it would have been an easy install and saved us $100 had the instructions been complete."
Review 11 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ohio
Date:January 26, 2014
"Bought two of these one I have had for three years. A little tricky to install but most of these are. Good system no problems. I have a well with a iron removal system which compliments this well"
Review 12 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redlands, CA
Date:January 8, 2014

Manufacturing Design is Obscure-Don't Buy!

Pros: none -
Cons: manufacturing design as one unit is not good
Model Number: WP-50
"I have a whole Word document file with pictures, so I'll try to consolidate it. PROBLEMS WITH RO SYSTEM began 6 mos. after installation: PROBLEMS BEGAN END OF SEPT WITH REDUCED WATER FLOW FROM REFRIGERATOR DISPENSER:
WE NEVER HOOKED UP THE SINK FAUCET/DISPENSER, we didn't need/want to use it. 1. Water flow started slowing down end of Sept.; then really got ridiculously slow Oct 18th; on Nov 3 we replaced the dual water inlet valve on our refrigerator because since we had HAD 2 water leaks in our house with 3 months of each other and know that "sediment" occurs when water is restored... plus we replaced the polishing filter we have mounted behind refrigerator on Nov 4. But, system still slow. We carefully tried to remove the inside metal line within the long red flow restrictor tube to clean it, but it broke. We then replaced all 3 of the RO filters on Nov 11 but still no improvement, didn't work and we don't feel we should have to replace the MEMBRANE filter so soon (only 6 mos. old) so we called Premier Tech Support: 800-752-5582 "Aaron" Tech Support 11-14-13. He said we needed a new flow restrictor red tube $5.00 + 3.00 shipping from AZ. Aaron said to put some olive oil in next time. Coming by USPS. Order #1087551, CC9428; Model WP-50; Part #622055; we paid for it!
2. 800-752-5582 "Aaron" Tech Support 11-21-13 10:30am
When the new restrictor tube came, it was a short 5" not the same long, 51 inch red one that the Unit came with -Yes, he said they changed the design of the red tube water restrictor tube because the longer one was clogging up and breaking. (WHICH IT DID AND WE DID HAVE TO BUY A NEW ONE $8.00~~The COMPANY should have replaced THAT free, since THEY CHANGED THE DESIGN OF IT BECAUSE OF PROBLEMS WITH IT!!! AND, it was under warranty.)
To further troubleshoot Aaron said to do this:
1) put all filters on
2) measure how much water is coming from blue tube in 1 minute
2) measure how much water is coming from the disconnect tube to drain in 1 minute
Ratio should be 1 to 4 purified to waste; in other words: if 2 oz is coming in, than 8 oz coming down should be the measure.
His Ext. is 419521 (he said he'll be really busy until the end of the year not just on the phone). WHAT'S THAT about - we can't wait until AFTER the New Year to get this resolved! He said any technician can follow up with us. OUR UNIT IS MODEL WP-50, Serial Number: 11WPI - 301721 Watched two troubleshooting videos but this review instructions says I can't mention them.: We get 25 lbs of psi with 40 going in, but that was because it was in the morning (everyone using water pressure). Our main valve is set to 75psi. We were running dishwasher when he got 40, so we stopped dishwater. We know 40psi is borderline to needing a "pump". We are 25 feet from unit to refrigerator; from utility room wall at ceiling through wall to kitchen with 3/8 tubing. We should NOT need a booster pump.
We noted where the red tube leaves it's connected to a 1/4x3/8, 2 feet onto a 3/8 then to a 2" pipe drain for the washing machine.
3. 800-752-5582 Tech Support 11-21-13 12:45pm We called back, got "Anthony" Ext. 419522; reported to him that NO water came out of the blue tubing; and that 14 oz. came out of the red restrictor tubing the would normally go into the drain. Our water pressure was 70psi. He said to make sure the red restrictor tubing is coming directly out and not onto any other 3/8 tubing. We did that.
4. 800-752-5582 Tech Support 11-21-13 1:55pm We called back, reported to ANOTHER NEW TECH: "Kolby" that we connected the short 5" red restrictor tubing from the unit and measured water: from the blue tube: NOTHING . From the red: 1 and 2/3 Cup water; almost to the previous 14 oz line. Now What? He then explained we need to put the end with the tiny slot across of the red restrictor tube INTO the filter unit, not the other way around--which we had it - there were NO instructions when it came. Then measured and still no water coming from the blue tube. Then he had us take a screw driver and loosen each of the 4 bolts on the automatic shut off valve (ASO valve) a 1/4 turn with each bolt, like you do to wheel lug nuts... and when we hear a hissing sound of air, then retighten the bolts. Water started coming out, then when we tightened them back, again no water. Water was still off; so turned it on, then opened them up 1/4, then started measuring: got 1 cup; closed them down and only got 1 oz. He believes it's the autom. shut off valve that's defective, either gunked or the bladded is folder; and is sending us a NEW one. Order #1089295 and said to put it on per the schematic drawing we have; we told him we have a needle plug on the blue so it won't go to the refrigerator (yet), will wait overnight for the tank to fill, then will hook up to the refrigerator and will report back to him.
11-21-2013: Premier Tech Support "Kolby", Ext. 419551 is sending us THIS replacement part for resolution. PREMIER TECH SUPPORT REP "KODY" SENT (WITHOUT CHARGE) A NEW AUTOMATIC SHUT OFF VALVE TO INSTALL
Monday, Nov. 25, 2013
While awaiting the arrival of the NEW Valve, we took the current valve apart and off. There did not appear to be ANYTHING WRONG - no curled or torn bladder, nothing except as noted below. When the new valve came, "WE" put it together according to the specific instruction sheet. Then started the water - after 6 hours on STILL THERE WAS NO WATER THAT HAD ENTERED THE TANK!!! We did everything we could to resolve this issue! Way too much of our time to keep calling Premier Tech Support--could never get the same rep! DON’T BUY THIS BRAND OR MODEL UNIT! Not a good idea for them to have manufactured it in ONE UNIT, because if something goes wrong with ONE cylinder - you have to SCRAP the entire system!! WE TOOK IT BACK TO COSTCO AND THEY GAVE US A FULL REFUND! NOW WE’RE USING OUR 16 YR. OLD PREVIOUS REVERSE OSMOSIS SYSTEM, AFTER REPLACING THE CRACKED CYLINDERS AND IT’S GREAT! THE FLOW OF WATER COMING OUT OF THE REFRIGERATOR DISPENSER IS AMAZING!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 29, 2013

Best purchase and good filter.

Pros: easy installation.
Cons: none
Model Number: Premier WP-5
"The filter is very efficient, good quality and easy to install; at a very good price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 29, 2013

Good Product

Pros: installation directions customer services
Cons: time-intensive installation
Model Number: WP-5
"Complicated system, was worried I'd get started and have to call a plumber, but directions were thorough. Leave yourself some extra time to install, it's not plug-n-play. Had a small issue with one of the pieces. Watts handled the customer service professionally under warranty. Replacement filters are much more reasonably priced than my last system. The water volume is much better than my last system also.
Most importantly, the water tastes great!
Overall, very happy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:May 26, 2013

Satisfied in general.

Pros: great price.
Cons: just worry to get flood one day.
"I have use it for 3 years. Never had any incidents, leaks, breakages. Water tastes much better than before. I change filters every 5-6 month. The price is great. Local companies sell similar product for 2-3K. Just one thing is not good - it's not pleasant sound when the tank fills up. But I got used to it."
Review 16 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:March 26, 2013

Watts Premier WP-5

Pros: 5 stages, more membrane seelctions
Cons: harder for filter replacement (comparing to ro-4), auto shutoff valve is hideen (ro-4 is outside)
Model Number: WP-5
"I have both RO-4 plus and WP-5 and I personally installed both of them at the same time. I put the WP-5 under the sink and RO-4 behind the refrigerator's ice maker. Even though WP-5 is a 5 stage filter, it has the same 25PPM reading as RO-4. Since I only installed them about 2 weeks ago, I am not sure which will be lasted longer/better in the future. However, I admit that RO-4 is much easier for maintenance (filters replacement etc) and has fewer connections (means possible leaks) than the WP-5. On the other hand, WP-5 has more options/selections on the membrane, such 24 gpd, 34 gpd, or 50gpd. WP-5 comes with 24 gpd (gallons per day) and RO-4 comes with 50 gpd.
The faucet is easy to install, but the air gap is very annoying. After a night of struggling with the noise, I sealed the air gap with the cutout part of the Foam gasket from the Drain Saddle. Since then, I could enjoy my quiet sleep every single night.
Overall, the taste of the water is great!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dutchess County, NY
Date:March 7, 2013

Great service and great tasting water

Model Number: WP-5
"The WP-5 RO system was a little bit complicated to install due to our kitchen set up. It took about 8 hours and a couple trips to local hardware store before it was completed. There was a slight problem with the RO system which caused minor leakage. When we called Premier for support, the agent there was very helpful and immediately sent us a replacement unit. The water we get now from RO is great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:November 14, 2012

Easy installation

Pros: very easy too install..took about 90 minutes, this model filters radium which is what i required, better design than other similar priced ro systems, watts is well established in water purification
Cons: faucet is not as sturdy as i would like it to be
Model Number: Watts WP-5
"This is the second Watts Premier RO system I have purchased. The first one was similar and lasted over 8 years before the faucet failed due to wear so I bought the same system again. It worked very well for the entire time we owned it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 13, 2012

Very poor Quality faucet

Pros: low price
Cons: poor design faucet
Model Number: Watts 5 stage RO 149.99
"Unit leaked first day was installed, The air gap on faucet is defective design. Have WATTS send you a by pass kit for this, fixed the problem after 2 phone calls to tech support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Good performance. but quality may not be so good

Pros: works great, good performance, good taste of filtered water, easy to install
Cons: first filter cover broken after few day
Model Number: costco item 751466
"I bought this reverse osmosis water filter system to replace my existing one after 6 years of service. This system has some 1/4 inch tubes which are bigger than the old one, but I managed to connect them without leaks. However, after 3 days of service, the first filter tank cover burst open, causing water from the water intake to spill from the opening. I think the unit is damaged duiring shipping, or it was a bad unit during mnufactiure. Luickly I am a costco member, so I just retuirn the unit and purchase another one online.
When the filter is installed,, it works quite well without leaks, the amount of water stored in the water tank is enough for our daily use; And the filtered water taste great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>