Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high quality great tasting water. This five-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Manifold five-stage, reverse osmosis, water filtration system   Innovative one-piece design   Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, TDS and turbidity   Includes a high capacity 3-gallon storage tank   Built with a high production thin film membrane   Provides bottled water quality   Can be easily connected to an ice maker   Easy to install and maintain   Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more   Tank Dimensions: 11" D x 16" H :   Filter Dimensions:16.5" LX 16.75" WX4.6" H   Three-year limited warranty Replacement filter Costco item #191483 on Costco.com Membrane Costco item #572035 on Costco.com Model:  WP-5
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
(out of 77 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
9
62 of 77(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Review 41 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:May 29, 2013

Good Product

Pros: installation directions customer services
Cons: time-intensive installation
Model Number: WP-5
"Complicated system, was worried I'd get started and have to call a plumber, but directions were thorough. Leave yourself some extra time to install, it's not plug-n-play. Had a small issue with one of the pieces. Watts handled the customer service professionally under warranty. Replacement filters are much more reasonably priced than my last system. The water volume is much better than my last system also.
Most importantly, the water tastes great!
Overall, very happy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:no. Calif.
Date:August 3, 2010

Great system, BUT find one without air gap

Pros: great water taste
Cons: very noisy
Model Number: ro std5
"We have used Watts/Premier R/O systems for 18 years at least.
Having installed at least 4 in 2 houses over the years.
We have always been very happy with them until this NEW one with air gap, noises that drive a person crazy........Like other people reviewing here!
WHY would they CHANGE a perfectly good system and to this noisy gurgling thing? Had the plumber not already installed it I woudl send it back and see if the older model is still available.
Heads up............
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern, CA
Date:July 24, 2012

Great product-poor instructions

Pros: great price-large tank
Cons: installation directions lacked clarity and order
Model Number: WP-5
"This is my second RO installation and I am pretty handy with tools. The installation directions could have been much better written and both the order of the steps and a few extra items of hardware (a shutoff valve from the storage tank) would have made it a much easier job. Making the connection from the tank to the faucet would have been so easy had the instructions directed one to do that BEFORE inserting it into the hole on the sink top. That connection leaked the first two times from beneath the sink."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Grove, UT
Date:August 28, 2012

Good product + value

Pros: simple to install, well-sealed (no leaks in the system itself)
Cons: may require a little improvisation
Model Number: Premier (item 751466)
"Some reviewers complained about the air gap faucet making a ton of sucking noise. This is by design and is required in California.
If you live anywhere else (check your local laws or consult a plumber), you may a) use another kind of non-air gap faucet, or b) bypass the drain tube directly into your sink's gooseneck. Both of these options will make the filtration system virtually silent.
The installation took me (non-pro, moderately handy) about 3 hours because I didn't realize I could avoid the air gap faucet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Aloharetta, GA
Date:February 25, 2011

New Watts 5 Stage not as nice as old unit

Pros: economical easy installation
Cons: faucet way too loud, faucet quality could be better
"Installation was straight forward and everything was provided as well as clear instructions. My complaint is in the fountain/faucet that is provided. The black handle is very stiff and not as nice as the previous generation (which I currently have installed in a different house). Watts seems to have cheaped out on the new faucet. My other major complaint is that the air gap faucet is EXTREMELY loud when the tank is filling. Its almost unacceptably loud. Im not sure why this is the case as my last unit was whisper quiet when it was filling."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, az
Date:August 15, 2011

Quick, easy, works great

Pros: purchased through costco, inexpensive filters also sold at costco
Cons: none
Model Number: 751466
"I looked at several RO systems online and none of them stood out as being better than any other (except the kinetico if you can afford it). I was skeptical of this system after reviewing the comments but decided to give it a try. After taking a look at the instructions, and seeing how easy it is to install, I can only assume that watts corrected many of the problems that others had commented on. Install was quick, not a single problem, the system works great and haven't had a single leak. The faucet is tight in the sink. I don't have a single complaint!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale Arizona.
Date:February 21, 2014

TERRIBLE INSTALLATION DIRECTIONS

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: impossible to install with provided instructions, company never answsers the phone
"This is a good device once I paid $100 to have it installed. We tried to install it ourselves but the manual has incomplete instructions and the company Watts Premiere never answered the tech line so we could get a 'walk through' of the install. It is a very terrible manual and the online instructions are worse. Now that said the unit itself makes very good tasting water. I am happy to have an RO and this is a good brand but they should have directions of how to install because it would have been an easy install and saved us $100 had the instructions been complete."
Review 48 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:March 13, 2009

Hard Water

Pros: clear ice cubes & good coffee.
Cons: kitchen might need by pass from softner.
Model Number: 5 stage
"We bought a 2nd home in Vegas and the water was really hard. We installed a softner we bought from Costco and the Watts Reverse System as well. The water quality has really turned around. You have to read and reread the directions, and the hardest part is drilling the iron sink.
I believe that the sediment filter needed changing after 2 weeks due to it taking the salt out of the softened water. I have iqnored it so far and am waiting the 6 months before changing as the water quality remains good.
This product made our water drinkable and makes for a good pot of coffee."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Date:November 23, 2010

Best R/O for this price or 4 times the price

Model Number: One Piece Manifold (WP-5) Reverse Osmosis System
"I have used the following from Watts:
A. RO pure (RO-4):
B. Filter Pure 3 Stage Water Filtration System
But this "Watts Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System 5-stage", C,
is the best of all three, in term of water qualify.
A. and B may have ease of change of filters, but it does not weigh over drinking/taste qualify.
I used to have a R/O cost four-time the price of this "5-stage" system; and qualify is about equal.
If you really want to complain,
- the faucet is a bit too small
- plastic insert-tube is not usable, too small; have to use metal insert-tube for both places.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cold Mountain Country
Date:March 17, 2012

Great product ` careless packaging

Pros: good quality
Cons: poor packing
"The handyman says this unit is excellent and that it was easy to assemble....with two exceptions: the kit did not have a part that allowed for a garbage disposer (required a special clamp) which delayed the job while I ordered the part. After it arrived and was installed, the poor guy got to the very end...and the last piece was not included in the kit!! We called the manufacturer and they're shipping it. He's about to go on vacation so hope the part comes in tomorrow's mail. This job took portions of three separate days to complete b/c of packaging. Otherwise...a great product!"
Review 51 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:May 16, 2011

8 years later and we needed a new one

Pros: easy to maintain, replacement filters are cheap and easy to get
Cons: the faucit could be better
"I was thrilled to find this system was still available at Costco. I bought the same system ( Watts Premier 5 stage, but different model #) 8 years ago and we loved it. So - I just ordered a brand new one here. Sure, I could have replaced the filters on the old one (which is pretty easy) , but the membrane was also due for replacement. Also the faucet leaked a bit ( as noted in other reviews) and I suspect that the tank was starting to leak. So with all that said, it is much more cost effective to by a whole new unit than to buy all the parts. This product earned my loyalty, at least hopefully, for the next eight years."
Review 52 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carsbad Ca.
Date:September 5, 2014

very unhappy

Pros: great water
Cons: floods no custumer service at all
Model Number: RO PURE PLUS
"I have had RO's for over 20 years and love it. It will flood big time. Watts has the worlds worst customer service ever. We called 3 times to inquire about the floods we had from the faucet and each time we were put on hold for at least 2 hours with no answer until we gave up and hung up the phone on there web page you can send a email and get a case# I did that twice and they never get back to me, I am takeing it back to costco. I am talking about Wattspremier Customer Service not Costco. I came to the conclusion they will never get back to me. Costco should look into this matter since they carry Wattspremier products."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:December 13, 2009

Nice Unit, Noisy airgap faucet

Pros: great value
Cons: very irritating gurgle-hissing sound
Model Number: WP5
"I purchased essentially this same system in 2003 and has given great service for the past 6 years. It finally had such reduced water flow that I purchased this as a replacement as it was nearly the same price as a complete overhaul.
It was easy to install and I'm very satisfied with the overall quality of this system.
Unfortunately, we are also experiencing the extremely noisy, very irritating gurgle-hissing sound coming from the airgap faucet as the unit refills after each use. This goes on for over 30 minutes for one glass of water. Our prior unit refilled much more slowly I guess as it only made a very soft trickling sound."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 19, 2014

Missing part, leaks

Pros: can't think of any.
Cons: leaks and mounting final filter.
Model Number: WP5
"I don't want to give Watts a bad name, BUT. The elbow for the pressure tank was missing. Purchased a brass elbow and quick disconnect to replace it. It leaked so I finally had to replace the quick disconnect with a compression fitting. Also had a bit of a time stopping other leakdks.
I am not a professional plumber but I have done a fair of plumbing over the years. This system was the most difficult I hav encountered to get sealed up.
Also, there is no provision to properly mount the final filter. I need to rig a method, likely some Velcro would suffice, but an oversight in the design.
If I need another RO system in the future I will look elsewhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 9, 2011

I fixed the leak!

Pros: great tasting water
Cons: faucet very prone to leaking
Model Number: WP-5
"After hooking up everything, I experienced a pretty good leak out the air hole. Here's how we fixed it: first, be sure to install with the air hole on the faucet pointing to the front...it's much easier to monitor that way for problems. Per the instructions, the black drain line was as short as possible, but was still leaking. Two things fixed it: 1. we enlarged the drilled drain line hole to the same size as the tubing (instructions have you drill a smaller hole than the tubing), 2. If you still have a leak, put your lips over the air hole on the faucet and BLOW. That will break any water surface tension that is causing the backup. Now it is working perfectly and no leak for 48 hours."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011

Well designed, good product, one snag

"I bought this unit to replace a 7 year old Watts unit that has worked well during that time. This unit is a definite design improvement and installed easily and works great. There were one major and one minor issues however:
Minor - it would have been nice to have a plumbing diagram overview figure to refer to, but I could not find one. There is one on their web site, however.
Major - when I first pressurized the unit, there was a massive leak from one of the filter housing seals. It turns out that the o-ring was installed incorrectly at the factory. Re-positioning the o-ring correctly fixed the problem.
Now the unit works great and the all-in-one design really cleans up the mess under the sink."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Good performance. but quality may not be so good

Pros: works great, good performance, good taste of filtered water, easy to install
Cons: first filter cover broken after few day
Model Number: costco item 751466
"I bought this reverse osmosis water filter system to replace my existing one after 6 years of service. This system has some 1/4 inch tubes which are bigger than the old one, but I managed to connect them without leaks. However, after 3 days of service, the first filter tank cover burst open, causing water from the water intake to spill from the opening. I think the unit is damaged duiring shipping, or it was a bad unit during mnufactiure. Luickly I am a costco member, so I just retuirn the unit and purchase another one online.
When the filter is installed,, it works quite well without leaks, the amount of water stored in the water tank is enough for our daily use; And the filtered water taste great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:October 17, 2011

easy installation

Pros: easy installation
Cons: taller narrower tank would be a plus.
Model Number: WP-5
"last night I installed this unit in about 45 minutes at a slow leisurely pace. I found the instructions to be fairly simple. I experienced only one slight problem when the "adapt-a-valve" came out of the plastic a washer and black plastic insert came out and I experienced a leak when installing on my 3/8" cold water angle stop valve. Once I figured out how to reseat the washer the rest of the install when smoothly. I'll disconnect it tonight to better configure it under my small sink cabinet. After the 3 full tank rinses it requested (They require a couple of hours each) I have full pressure and good tasting water. My wife did all her homework and she's happy with it. When Mama's happy, the family is happy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Temecula Ca.
Date:October 31, 2008

great tasting water

Pros: gret for tea coffee etc.
"This unit is very easy to install, at least if you already have the hole in the sink for the faucet, if not, a little more work to drill it. But the payoff is great tasting water. Better then fridge water with a cartridge filter built in, and as good as good bottled water. (some bottled water is not always good!). If you can run a plastic hose to the fridge, then your cold water and ice cubes will taste great too!. the only thing is, if you have a costco store nearby, they may have a different model of this same unit, it costs more, but the advantage is that the filters are easier to replace. You would have to decide if the price difference is worth it to you. But you will be happy with the taste of the water."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014

Manufacture Defect?

Pros: great water
Cons: will flood your kitchen
Model Number: WP-5
"I had an older Watts RO system for 10 years until the manifold developed a crack and need a new system so I got this one. The unit makes great H2O for cheap in the last year since the install. Fortunately, I installed a leak sensor under the sink because of the old system leaks. Well, the sensor paid of big time as this unit had a catastrophic failure of the threads to the filter housing causing a sudden massive water leak in the kitchen! There was no slow warning leak as the sensor would have picked it up. The filter housing was tilted to the side due to the threads giving way. I Always hand tightened the filter so can only assume that the plastic was bad. Unable to contact Watts as they don't answer the phone!"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>