Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high quality great tasting water. This five-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Manifold five-stage, reverse osmosis, water filtration system   Innovative one-piece design   Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, TDS and turbidity   Includes a high capacity 3-gallon storage tank   Built with a high production thin film membrane   Provides bottled water quality   Can be easily connected to an ice maker   Easy to install and maintain   Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more   Tank Dimensions: 11" D x 16" H :   Filter Dimensions:16.5" LX 16.75" WX4.6" H   Three-year limited warranty Replacement filter Costco item #191483 on Costco.com Membrane Costco item #572035 on Costco.com Model:  WP-5
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
(out of 76 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
9
61 of 76(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Review 41 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:June 25, 2011

Upgrade!

Pros: water taste, water smell, ease of installation, filter availability, value, premier phone support, always costco customer support
"I live in Florida and the water here does not taste good. If you have been to a Florida beach hotel, you knowl My second RO began to make noise as if backwashing too much. After reading all I could on-line, including Consumer Reports, I decided against a RO and went for a nice filter system. This would mean no more back washing the RO membrane and a simpler system. But immediately I, and especially my wife, did not like the taste, and even somehow, the texture of the water. When we compare unfiltered and filter water, we could tell a difference, but after a week we decided it was not going to work for us. So I ordered the Premier RO from Costco. I was concerned because we wanted to use our existing water spout, and the Premier came with a spout which had a line for the drain. My spout did not. I called Premier and was told I could simply run the drain hose to the same place I had my earlier RO drain. So the entire installation took less than 30 minutes! We have been using it now for about a month and are very pleased. I went ahead a purchased an extra set of filters that are all needed for a year. This set of filters does not include the membrane filter that is needed after two years, but I checked and they are easily available and not too expensive.
Another satisfying Costco purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:August 3, 2011

Great water

Model Number: Premier 5-stage RO system
"It took our handyman almost 3 hours to install. It took longer because he needed to connect it to the refrigerator. Now we have great tasting water and ice."
Review 43 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, az
Date:August 15, 2011

Quick, easy, works great

Pros: purchased through costco, inexpensive filters also sold at costco
Cons: none
Model Number: 751466
"I looked at several RO systems online and none of them stood out as being better than any other (except the kinetico if you can afford it). I was skeptical of this system after reviewing the comments but decided to give it a try. After taking a look at the instructions, and seeing how easy it is to install, I can only assume that watts corrected many of the problems that others had commented on. Install was quick, not a single problem, the system works great and haven't had a single leak. The faucet is tight in the sink. I don't have a single complaint!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2011

Good value

Pros: good value
Cons: none
"Water taste is excellent I had some bypass issues with the water flush but I called customer service at Watts and they took care of everything. As usual Costco shipped
quickly and are great to deal with. This is my 2nd water filtration system I do know a little about them.
"
Review 45 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Bay, CA
Date:September 9, 2011

Second or third one I have purchased.

Model Number: WP=5
"I love this water filtration systems. They are easy to install and work wonderfully. The only issue I have is getting replacement filters through Costco...couldn't find the ones for my system. Will keep looking though."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Santa Margarita CA
Date:September 29, 2011

Exellent Purchase

"Installation could not have been any easier. Water tastes great. No complaints here. Just take your time and it will be done in a couple of hours"
Review 47 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:September 30, 2011

Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Model Number: Wp4V
"I have been a loyal owner of this system for 25 years and found it to of the best costruction and water quality over any other like unit. The price is right too.."
Review 48 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Yorba Linda, Ca.
Date:October 1, 2011

Good Tasting Water

Pros: great tasting water
Cons: see info below
Model Number: WP5
"So far so good. A couple of hang ups with the installation instructions. Also, the membrane has leaked since the installation. (the membrane was pre-installed from the factory) I have reseated it and still a bit of a leak. Manufacturer is sending a new gasket, otherwise will have to send the membrane housing back. :(
It is also noisy with a gurgling when refilling tank. Unit that was replaced was silent.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:October 17, 2011

easy installation

Pros: easy installation
Cons: taller narrower tank would be a plus.
Model Number: WP-5
"last night I installed this unit in about 45 minutes at a slow leisurely pace. I found the instructions to be fairly simple. I experienced only one slight problem when the "adapt-a-valve" came out of the plastic a washer and black plastic insert came out and I experienced a leak when installing on my 3/8" cold water angle stop valve. Once I figured out how to reseat the washer the rest of the install when smoothly. I'll disconnect it tonight to better configure it under my small sink cabinet. After the 3 full tank rinses it requested (They require a couple of hours each) I have full pressure and good tasting water. My wife did all her homework and she's happy with it. When Mama's happy, the family is happy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Grove Utah
Date:November 30, 2011

My addition (at top) to the past review

Model Number: CP-V4 RO filter
"This is very helpful. I found two handy tools. First, an infants mucous removal device (bulb syringe) works great for BLOWING in the Vent hole no matter what position it is installed (you can also use it to force water down the drain tube), and Second, my local appliance parts store (Mending Shed Orem UT) sells a drinking straw cleaning brush (2.95) which I attached a coat hanger to make the handle longer, fit perfectly to clean out drain tube from below without removing from the faucet end,and it worked perfectly.
Smasty wrote "After hooking up everything, I experienced a pretty good leak out the air hole. Here's how we fixed it: first, be sure to install with the air hole on the faucet pointing to the front...it's much easier to monitor that way for problems. Per the instructions, the black drain line was as short as possible, but was still leaking. Two things fixed it: 1. we enlarged the drilled drain line hole to the same size as the tubing (instructions have you drill a smaller hole than the tubing), 2. If you still have a leak, put your lips over the air hole on the faucet and BLOW. That will break any water surface tension that is causing the backup. Now it is working perfectly and no leak for 48 hours.""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:February 3, 2012

Check Filter Housings Prior to Installation

Model Number: WP-5
"Warning: use the supplied plastic wrench to ensure all the filter housings are snug to the manifold before turning on the water. One of the filter housings was loose from the factory - resulting in a mess that could have been avoided."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cold Mountain Country
Date:March 17, 2012

Great product ` careless packaging

Pros: good quality
Cons: poor packing
"The handyman says this unit is excellent and that it was easy to assemble....with two exceptions: the kit did not have a part that allowed for a garbage disposer (required a special clamp) which delayed the job while I ordered the part. After it arrived and was installed, the poor guy got to the very end...and the last piece was not included in the kit!! We called the manufacturer and they're shipping it. He's about to go on vacation so hope the part comes in tomorrow's mail. This job took portions of three separate days to complete b/c of packaging. Otherwise...a great product!"
Review 53 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:simi valley, CA
Date:July 17, 2012

for a non-handyman, and "white wash"

Pros: ez installation if yo don't mind work in smal spa, i am no lab but i know cl was removed
Cons: instruction makes a little confusion
"BTW, the "white washer" already in the T joint!!!!
Just bought a house, install it by myself, not a handy man, took me about 3 hrs to finish, 48 hrs later, no leaking and water taste much better, no more taste of Chlorine!
I was trying to complain about that white washer in the wrong side of the T joint, but maybe it was me to connect that T joint reversed...I am going to check it after I get home,"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern, CA
Date:July 24, 2012

Great product-poor instructions

Pros: great price-large tank
Cons: installation directions lacked clarity and order
Model Number: WP-5
"This is my second RO installation and I am pretty handy with tools. The installation directions could have been much better written and both the order of the steps and a few extra items of hardware (a shutoff valve from the storage tank) would have made it a much easier job. Making the connection from the tank to the faucet would have been so easy had the instructions directed one to do that BEFORE inserting it into the hole on the sink top. That connection leaked the first two times from beneath the sink."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

Watts Premier R/O System- Dud

"Faucet and tubing connected to the tank were defective and leaking badly.
The faucet in this model was of poor quality.
You cant tell when to replace the filters.
I do not recommend this product
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pleasant Grove, UT
Date:August 28, 2012

Good product + value

Pros: simple to install, well-sealed (no leaks in the system itself)
Cons: may require a little improvisation
Model Number: Premier (item 751466)
"Some reviewers complained about the air gap faucet making a ton of sucking noise. This is by design and is required in California.
If you live anywhere else (check your local laws or consult a plumber), you may a) use another kind of non-air gap faucet, or b) bypass the drain tube directly into your sink's gooseneck. Both of these options will make the filtration system virtually silent.
The installation took me (non-pro, moderately handy) about 3 hours because I didn't realize I could avoid the air gap faucet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 29, 2012

2nd System even better than 1st

Pros: easy to follow directions, easy to install, easy to use and maintain
Model Number: WP-5
"We had an earlier version of the Watts Premier 5-stage Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System and it was a terrific unit. Fresh, clean, filtered (5 times!) water on demand - what more could you and your family ask for?
After 10 years of reliable performance it was time to buy a new replacement system so we purchased the Model WP-5 from Costco online. I didn't bother with the express (faster) shipping as the unit arrived very quickly once it shipped via UPS (save your money).
The installation was even easier than the original system since this one has fewer hoses and hardware to deal with.
I highly recommend the Watts Premier 5-stage Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System to anyone and any family that drinks WATER."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 11, 2012

Good performance. but quality may not be so good

Pros: works great, good performance, good taste of filtered water, easy to install
Cons: first filter cover broken after few day
Model Number: costco item 751466
"I bought this reverse osmosis water filter system to replace my existing one after 6 years of service. This system has some 1/4 inch tubes which are bigger than the old one, but I managed to connect them without leaks. However, after 3 days of service, the first filter tank cover burst open, causing water from the water intake to spill from the opening. I think the unit is damaged duiring shipping, or it was a bad unit during mnufactiure. Luickly I am a costco member, so I just retuirn the unit and purchase another one online.
When the filter is installed,, it works quite well without leaks, the amount of water stored in the water tank is enough for our daily use; And the filtered water taste great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 13, 2012

Very poor Quality faucet

Pros: low price
Cons: poor design faucet
Model Number: Watts 5 stage RO 149.99
"Unit leaked first day was installed, The air gap on faucet is defective design. Have WATTS send you a by pass kit for this, fixed the problem after 2 phone calls to tech support."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Premier Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:November 14, 2012

Easy installation

Pros: very easy too install..took about 90 minutes, this model filters radium which is what i required, better design than other similar priced ro systems, watts is well established in water purification
Cons: faucet is not as sturdy as i would like it to be
Model Number: Watts WP-5
"This is the second Watts Premier RO system I have purchased. The first one was similar and lasted over 8 years before the faucet failed due to wear so I bought the same system again. It worked very well for the entire time we owned it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>