Customer Reviews for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets

Lowers cholesterol naturally and may reduce the risk of heart disease. Clinically Proven Even if you watch your diet and exercise regularly it may not be enough to lower your cholesterol to heart healthy levels. That's where Nature Made CholestOff can help. Over a million people have chosen CholestOff as part of a plan to lower cholesterol. CholestOff contains an all-natural drug free blend of plant sterols and stanols, called Reducol™.  Reducol has been clinically studied and proven to prevent the absorption of dietary sources of cholesterol to help lower levels of both total and LDL ("bad") cholesterol. Over 100 clinical studies have demonstrated the effectiveness of sterols and stanols (also called phytonutrients) for lowering cholesterol levels when taken in conjunction with a healthy diet and exercise plan. CholestOff is a safe and effective for promoting healthy cholesterol levels and may be a great alternative to prescription drugs for individuals with mild to moderately elevated levels. While CholestOff may be safely combined with medication designed to lower high cholesterol, patients on such prescription regimens are encouraged to talk to their health care professional before adding CholestOff.   CholestOff provides the extra 1.8 grams of plant sterols and stanols daily that many Americans need to reach National Institutes of Health (NIH) Therapeutic Lifestyle Changes (TLC) Guidelines. These guidelines include 2 grams of plant sterols and stanols per day. The average Western (American) diet only provides 0.2 grams per day, which is only 10% of the sterols and stanols suggested by the NIH to reduce cholesterol.   †These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.   Nature Made Wellness Rewards SM Costco shoppers who become members of the Nature Made Wellness Advisor have the benefit of Wellness Rewards Points toward $7 Costco Rebate Checks good on any purchase at Costco. Simply bank the Wellness Rewards code found on the package to begin earning points. How it works; Buy - Every Nature Made supplement you purchase can be banked in your Wellness Rewards account. Each product has a Wellness Rewards point value.   Bank - Log into your Wellness Rewards Account, enter the Wellness Rewards code or the UPC and Lot Number found on the package to bank your points.    Redeem - Check your total. Once you accumulate 500 points or more, you qualify to receive by mail a $7 Costco Rebate Check good on any purchase at Costco. Sign up now at Naturemade.com by clicking on the Wellness Rewards tab. Be sure to choose Costco as your preferred retailer. Suggested Use: Take two caplets two times daily with a glass of water or other beverage before meals. For optimal effectiveness, take this product between 15 and 30 minutes before eating a meal. Supplement Facts: Serving Size: 2 Caplets Servings Per Container - 120 Amount Per Serving - % Daily Value Sodium 15 mg - Less than 1%, Plant sterols/stanols 900 mg - *. *Daily Value not established. Ingredients: Plant Sterols/Stanols (Pine Tree), Tribasic Calcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Croscarmellose Sodium, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Silica, Silicon Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, Titanium Dioxide (artificial color), Polyethylene Glycol, Triethyl Citrate Polysorbate 80, Sodium Citrate.   No Artificial Flavors. No Preservatives. No Yeast, Starch or Gluten.   Caution: Not for use by pregnant or lactating women, or young children. Check with your physician before beginning use of CholestOff if you are currently using medications to lower your cholesterol.   Keep bottle tightly closed. Store in a cool, dry place, out of reach of children.   **The average reduction in LDL cholesterol in seven clinical studies of 3 weeks or longer supporting Reducol™ was 1.4%-24.4%. Changes in diet alone resulted in 8.9% reduction in LDL.
Average Customer Rating:
4.314 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
(out of 35 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
31 of 35(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Review 1 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Farmington Hills, MI
Date:March 29, 2011
Pros: very inexpensive, no side effects that i noticed, not a statin drug and does not require liver tests
Cons: often tough to time 15-30 mins before meals
"I have been monitoring my cholesterol since 2005 when my doctor told me I had an elevated level. I did not want to follow my doctor's recommendation to use medication, especially considering the potential impact on my liver, etc. I knew there were several natural approaches I could try. I have taken a very controlled approach to address the issue and measure results, and this supplement had a major impact.
In the next couple of years, I reduced my fat intake dramatically, avoiding things I love to eat (cheese!). I've never been an exercise nut, but I play Wallyball for 2 hours per week for over 25 years, and I am active outside when the winter months are not keeping me hiding inside. None of that had a dramatic effect. My cholesterol has always been over 200 (average = 222) from 2005 - 2010.
18 months ago I decided to make several changes to my diet by eating the following on a regular basis: oatmeal (almost daily), more fruits and veggies, walnuts, green olives, olive oil and fish. I also only ate cheese on weekends, and limited my consumption of red meats. Well, I did that for 15 months before a recheck revealed that my LDL and total cholesterol were the 3rd highest ever, but the major difference was that my HDL (good cholesterol) increased from 55 to 70, and my triglycerides went from an average of 74 to 47! That was very good news, and it brought down my ratio to 3.3, the best level up to that time.
Because my LDL still wasn't budging, I decided to try Cholestoff. I used it as described, twice a day from 15 to 30 minutes before meals. Maybe 4 times per week I would forget to take the pills before going out to eat. I used it for 3 full months before another blood test. I did not make any other changes to my diet or exercise, because I really wanted to know what this would do all by itself, and my next approach would have been red yeast rice. My wife made the comment that having to schedule my meals probably reduced my food intake, and that may have been true sometimes, but I noticed that I actually found myself eating cheese and red meat more frequently thinking the Cholestoff maybe would prevent the cholesterol absorption. I'm serious, although I've never had a terrible diet, I wanted to see if this product could help give me some relief in terms of eating things I really enjoy (in moderation). I was ready for some bad numbers because of that. I was very pleasantly surprised when my doctor called me this morning and said, "whatever you are doing, keep it up".
My numbers were:
Dec 2010 before Cholestoff: HDL = 70, LDL = 148, Total Chol = 232, Triglycerides = 72, Ratio = 3.3
Mar 2011 after Cholestoff: HDL = 64 (2nd best ever), LDL = 125 (best ever), Total Chol = 198 (best ever), Triglycerides = 47 (best ever), Ratio = 3.1 (best ever)
I think that's awesome. I still want to know more about the safety of the product, and I am going to my Urologist to see what he says about the Calcium additives since I suffer from Calcium Oxalate kidney stones, but I plan to continue taking it and see what next year's numbers bring. I also want to increase my exercise for the next round as I should."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2011

Cholesterol at 130 and dropping...

Pros: natural, zero side-effects
"My diet has remained the same over the past 3 years, as has my activity level, and I've seen my total cholesterol drop from 170 to 160 to 130 at each of my annual physicals. Each of these drops was in the LDL (unhealthy) cholesterol levels and my HDL (healthy) cholesterol levels remained the same.
The 170-to-160 drop was after taking Cholestoff intermittently, a couple months on, a couple months off. The 160-to-130 drop was after I started taking Cholestoff on a daily basis, 2x @ 30 minutes before breakfast and 2x @ 30 minutes before dinner.
Totally natural, sterols and stanols are stereoisomers of cholesterol (in short, they have the same molecular structure, so they crowd the cholesterol receptors). Pop a couple before a meal at home or before going out for burgers w/ family/friends.
Amazing product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville, GA
Date:January 7, 2009

Excellent Product

"I purchased this item 3 times and saw a significant drop in my cholesterol. My doctor was very please when she saw me 6 months later."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010

238 to167

"12/31 I got the unexpected results that my cholesterol was 238 (VAP test results). I was shocked because I eat right and exercise faithfully. Friends will tell you that I have great habits.My doctor paired me with a dietician who recommended that I take a stanol/stearol. I went into action and took Cholestoff. a statin, and Niacin. When I went back to my dr. 3 mos later, I got another VAP test and my cholesterol was 167. My doctor was shocked. He commented that he had never seen results this dramatic. Needless to say, I am going to continue with what works for me. I hope you have the same great results!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oroville, CA
Date:December 19, 2009

No help in my cholesterol numbers

Model Number: Lot 13696
"I have been taking CholestOff for 8 months now and I have seen no change in my cholesterol--as a matter of fact, it has gone up! I walk 4 miles everyday (hills), and I was just tested and my cholesterol level was 286! I am now taking a statin to get my cholesterol down--the doctor was not happy with me and felt CholestOff was a waste of money. I agree."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DVM in Colorado
Date:January 21, 2009

Effective

"My MD suggested Cholest-Off. I took 1 tablet before every meal that was relatively high in cholesterol and made no other dietary modifications. After 2 months chol went from 249 to 219. Remains to be seen, but seems like it worked."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 3, 2011
"Cholestoff , together with watching my daily cholesterol & fat intake has lowered my cholesterol from 250s to below 200 for the last 3 yrs. Yeah, cholest off!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:June 5, 2010

works great

"I've been taking this for the past 4 yrs., & together with watching my diet & some walking my overall cholesterol has gone from 258 to 191"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:goodyear, az
Date:February 24, 2010

Very good for BPH

Pros: works for my bph, very affordable
"I was diagnosed with mildly enlarged prostate 2 years ago.
i started taking flomax and avodart (prescription medications) that significantly improved my bph sysmptoms. However, i cannot tolerate the side effects. I gradually stopped and switched to Saw palmetto for about 6 months. Unfortunately, i noticed that my BPH sysmptoms are getting worse to the point that i thought of going back to flomax/avodart.
Fortunately, i saw Cholestoff and tried it. It is supposed to reduced dietary cholesterol, but also good for BPH (beta-sitosterol is a major component of plant sterols).
I hope cholestoff continue working for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:January 19, 2011

Went from 299 to 164 in 6 months (Nuff Said)

Pros: lowers cholesterol naturally.
Cons: you have to take 15 to 30 minutes before a meal.
"The first 3 months after finding out my Cholesterol was a surprising 299, I used this product. I also started eating a healthy diet which included a bowl of Oatmeal everyday and exercising more often. My number dropped to 178 in those 3 months. I continued for another 3 months and went down to 164. I don't think Cholest-Off will bring down Cholesterol all by itself (It's not a miracle product, it's a great supplement), but I do think that you have to be 100% committed to bringing your numbers down in order for this product to work for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu Hawaii
Date:January 22, 2009

Safer than Prescribed

"My wife needs cholesterol control according to tests. A few of her friends and coworkers have suffered liver damage from prescribed medication. She refused prescribed meds because of this and has been taking Cholest -Off and Nature Made's other pill for dealing with the genetic side of cholesterol production. She also eats 1/3 C of steel-cut oatmeal each morning, limits fat intake, eats no beef, and jogs 7 miles , one to two days a week.."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, UT
Date:March 13, 2012

Good addition to heart-healthy diet

Pros: buy at costco
"If you're looking to lower your cholesterol, this might be a good addition to your daily diet. You take it 15 minutes before you eat. It gives you the all the good things from fruits and veggies which help drop cholesterol levels. Add a good diet plus exercise and I think the combination should pay off."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Green Valley, AZ
Date:November 19, 2010

Preferred to statin drugs

Model Number: n/a
"Due to side effects my husband is unable to take statins. For the past 3 or more years, he has used Choles-off religiously. His lipid levels are all within reasons and his cholesterol is at 200 or below. His cardiologist and regular internist have approved his using Cholest-off. We will keep on using this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:February 20, 2012

Works as claimed

"I've been using this product for about 8 years. Several months after I started using it my total cholesterol decreased by about 16%. No obvious side-effects noted. Combining this drug with exercise and a good diet you may be able to avoid the statin drugs and their well-documented side effects."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 8, 2010

Really works.

"I have been using this product for many years. I also take Lipitor. By adding Cholest-Off, my cholesterol has dropped well below what it was with Lipitor alone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:October 12, 2011

Great Product

Pros: works as advertised
"This product has made a great difference in lowering my cholesterol. It is easy to take and since I cannot take statins a good alternative."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2010

Did not work for me

"I tried this product in hopes of lowering my cholesterol from 240 to a more healthy range. I am healthy, eat a healthy diet and exercise regularly. I believe my high count is inherited. I took this product for 2 months as prescribed and saw no change in my cholesterol at all. Based on that, I will try a different product."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 2, 2010

Works great for my wife

"My wife got excellent results from taking Cholestoff. I am on statins because my body produces excess cholesterol and and cholestoff won't be as effective. Try it for yourself and see if it works for you."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 26, 2011

IT REALLY WORKS

"3 months ago my Total Cholesterol was 296 and was not excited to start Lipator since I am 28 years and high cholesterol is naturally produce and runs in the family...so I started to take this in July 2011 and today Sept 2011 my Total cholesterol is 239...can't wait to see what it will be in 3 more months....this really works and i did experience gas and stomach pain but that went away after 2 weeks. VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT!"
Review 20 for Nature Made® Cholest-Off, 240 Caplets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:January 11, 2010

Didn't work for me, may work for you

"Just like Jayes, didn't work for me either. My triglycerides went up after using Cholest-Off for 9 months. Now trying slo-niacin to lower cholesterol/triglycerides. Statin would be next step after niacin.
Since there is actually some credible science and testing for this product, I assume I am just a 'non-responder' to this product. Talk to your Dr and give it a try."
1 2 next>>