Customer Reviews for Brother 1034D Serger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother 1034D Serger

Easy Lay-in Threading
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 19(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother 1034D Serger
Review 1 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:January 18, 2009

I am so glad I bought this!

Pros: inexpensive, plenty of basic stitches
Model Number: Brother 1034 D
"My Mom sewed a lot while I was growing up - and I have always had the basic skills - but I have only recently started to sew in earnest. After completing a few projects (and really enjoying the sewing) I started to look into buying a serger. I didn't really want to make a big investment, so I zeroed in on a few machines - including this one. A lot of online research showed that MOST people who bought this machine loved it. A few seemed to have gotten wierd machines that wouldn't work right. Costco's risk-free return policy convinced me to give it a shot. I am so glad I did! The machine came pre-threaded, so I got to try out some stitches and adjust tension settings before ever having to try threading it. And the threading wasn't hard at all. Just follow the manual and the instructional video. If you are looking for a basic machine, this could be it. And since Costco will even return your shipping fee if you don't like it - what do have to lose?"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 27, 2009

I got a bad machine

Model Number: 1034D
"I have had this serger since Christmas, so about 7 months. I have taken it out several times trying to get this to work properly with even stiches. I have 2 small children and my time with it has been choppy, I haven't had time to devote hours to figuring out how it works. This weekend I had hours... and I spent it all being frustrated. It is easy to thread and I believe I have it threaded correctly. I tried several types of stiches and they all end up with the lower looper thread being completely uneven. Some stiches are so much looser than others without changing the tension, then some stiches will bunch up together for no reason at all. I changed the thread, material, tensions, and needles to no avail. I have come to the conclusion finally that it isn't me with the problem, it is my machine.
After spending so much time learning the ins and outs of this machine, I'm going to give the model another try - I am assuming costco will take it back nicely and I will order another from costco.com.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:long island, ny
Date:April 21, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 1034D
"Having never touched a serger before, I was more than a little apprehensive to try this one. I received it about 2 weeks ago and only used it because my sewing machine is in the shop and I had to complete a project. I was surprised how easy it is to operate. The manual is very basic and not very descriptive, but the video is quite helpful. In a matter of minutes I was serging like a pro. I used the 4-thread overlock and then got the nerve to try the 3 thread narrow overlock. Perfect! The threading looked confusing, so I avoided it at first by tying on new thread to the original thread. I was forced to re-thread the machine after I broke a thread (my own fault). Success! Be sure to follow the threading instructions exactly.
My sister bought a second hand machine for more than 3 times the price, and hers doesn't do anything more or better than this one. For the price you can't go wrong! Add to that the Costco return policy and you've got a winner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake In The Hills, Il.
Date:January 29, 2009

Glad I Made This Purchase!

Pros: very reasonable price
Model Number: 1034D
"This machine sews like a dream. My other machine broke and was too old to fix. I figured I'd take a chance on this machine & I'm glad I did! It has been that best thing that I have done in a while! The CD's that came with it are very easy to understand. You'll be serging in no time at all. I highly recommend this serger."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:May 31, 2009

Great Machine!

Model Number: 1034D
"This seems to be a great machine! I am a professional seamstress and for years I have only bought and used the Singer brand serger. After some disappointments with the Singer machine, I thought I would try Brother after reading the great reviews. Well, the Brother machine is better than expected, quiet, great stitch, many useful accessories. Even a cd, so anyone new to the sergers will be fully instructed.I would buy this same machine again!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 15, 2009

I'll have it forever

Model Number: 1034D
"Great machine. I've never used a Serger before but I found it easy to thread, use, clean, care for, understand and love. It's solid and well built. Very pleased with this purchase."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elkridge, MD
Date:March 15, 2009

This is a wonderful little machine

Pros: easy to thread, great instruction dvd's
Model Number: Brother 1034D Serger
"This is my first serger, and I am a beginer in sewing. This is so easy to use and a breeze to thread. If you fear threading of a serger, fear not! I love this little thing, it doesn't do everything but then those machines cost well over $1,000."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:May 2, 2009

Excellent Serger

Pros: great price, easy to use
Model Number: 1034
"Great serger to start with and easy to thread. Convenient to take with me. Performs well. Good that it uses regular sewing needles and regular thread if you can't afford serger thread."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:washington state
Date:February 5, 2009

excellent value

Model Number: 1034d
"after 25 yrs, I finally had to let my old serger go. this machine is easy to thread and set tension. It handled my first project, light wt crepe, with ease. It's a real deal, just like everything @ Costco!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:February 13, 2010

Love this machine!

Pros: easy to thread and use.
Cons: instructions on cd for computer only.
Model Number: 1034D Brother's Serger
"I bought this Serger from Costco over a year ago and I do sew a lot. This was my second serger, the first being another brand. This one by far is the better of the two and was so much cheaper. Very easy to use and thread. Makes clothes look so much nicer to serge them too. Costco always stands behind what they sell so I knew it was well worth a chance to try this one. I'm so glad I did. My daughter enjoyed sewing on it so much, she got one for herself. She ordered it on last Tuesday and got it Friday."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manassas, VA
Date:April 6, 2010

I have gotten 2 defective sergers

Model Number: Brother 1034D
"My husband bought me this serger for Christmas and the presser foot seemed a little loose and moved slightly side to side. It worked for about an hour of serging and then the needle hit the presser foot (I think that the vibration of the machine made the foot loosen even more) and it didn't work anymore. I returned that one and decided to order it again a month later hoping it was just chance that I had gotten a defective one. Well, the 2nd one didn't even sew at all! When I pressed the foot pedal it just made a sound like a vacuum cleaner and nothing moved.
This may be a good serger when it works, but I cannot recommend buying it. Even with Costco's great return policy, it's a hassle to have to keep returning them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston Rocks
Date:April 28, 2010

Fabulous - Especially for the cost.

"Is a great little machine.
Took some time and patience to learn to thread it. It came with colored thread which was helpful following where the thread goes and a video that was also very helpful.
I am very pleased with this machine.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Date:January 7, 2010

Mac Users Don't Buy

Model Number: 1034D
"I was so excited to get this machine and use the instructional disc to learn how to do something beside straight stitching.
The Instructional disc is only good on a Windows PC and I have Mac's. I was relieved to see that it said the instructional disc was available on video if I called.
So I called - no longer available. "Why," I asked, "Isn't this on a DVD that EVERYONE could use?" "Sorry."
I'm returning it to Costco. It might be a great machine, with many options, but I'll never know."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:July 12, 2010

Love My Serger

Pros: great value, easy to operate, compact and portable
Cons: instructional cd could be better, instruction manual could be better
Model Number: Brother 1034D Serger
"I started using my machine right out of the box. I was working with a nylon spandex material that has a 4 way stretch and this machine is the perfect one to make nice professional looking seams that are strong and stretch with the fabric.
I did run of the thread that was included and it did take me quite a few tries to get it threaded properly. The CD that’s included doesn’t really show a close up of the proper way to thread the machine but between reading & re-reading the manual and watching the CD several times I was able to successfully thread the machine on my own.
This is a fabulous machine and a great value."
Review 15 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:spokane
Date:January 19, 2010

works

"Works good. But haven't use extensively.
PRO: easy to thread, good accessories except for the tinny brush, good info on additional CD on extending usage of different stitches, compact
CON: CD of instructions are horrible. Can barely see anything. (2 different CDs). Not DVD. Need to be ran on laptop to watch. waste basket is tinny, brush is tinny.
But overall for the money, works great, serge fast, (notice that when serge too fast with sheer fabric, it gathered and not straight, but other fabric okay). Happy over all except for the CDs."
Review 16 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:March 30, 2010

got a defective machine

Pros: good value
Cons: this particular machine didn't work
Model Number: Brother 1043D Serger
"Everything looks great about this machine, and when I took it out of the box it appeared fairly simple to use and learn about. Unfortunately the machine I received has a defect, when I press the presser foot, it sounds like the motor is running, but none of the parts move. So, I am taking this one back with Costco's excellent return policy, and ordering another one in hopes it will work. It has wonderful reviews on many internet sites, and I'm willing to try it again for the value.
I will review again when I try the new machine.
"
Review 17 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010

excellent machine

"so this was a present for my bday, i sew alot and never had a serger well this is my first and i have to say it is the most excellent machine i've had. the cds and book helped imensely and recommended to my mom who also sews and loved it. actually thinking of buying another one jst to keep. excellent sewing machine!"
Review 18 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010

not happy

Model Number: 1034-D
"I'm sure that overall this serger is a good product for the price. However, I received a faulty product. The instructor in my serger class was unable to get some of the stitches to work. It's probably due to bad tension disks. I will try again. If the second works properly then I will re-review."
Review 19 for Brother 1034D Serger
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Duluth, GA
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: price, much easier to thread than my previous serger.
Cons: more plastic than my previous serger., very small trimmings catcher
"I've only used my serger for a couple of small projects but for the price I'm pleased. Only gave it 4 stars because I haven't used all of it's features yet."