Customer Reviews for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set

Couteau Series Expanded Knife Block
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
0
10 of 15(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Review 1 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 26, 2010

Kitchen knives should not rust

Pros: variety, price
Cons: rust
Model Number: Item # 777159
"This set of kitchen knives offers a nice variety of different types and sizes. The single and critical flaw is that these knives rust. Let me point out that I treat my kitchen knives well and have several utility knives (incl. Henckels) that are 15+ years old and have never shown signs of rust. I always hand wash kitchen knives, and immediately dry them, and store them in a woodblock or drawer. There are now two knives of this set that show rust near the end of the handle. I will return the knives shortly."
Review 2 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:October 31, 2010

Great knives for a great price

Cons: no steak knives!!
"I have had these for two years going and love them. I consider myself a gadget guy and like to buy quality things. For the cost these are great. Yes, they need shaprening, as any knife will from time to time. A simple 2 stage sharpener with the steel and ceramic discs you pull the knive through works just great. For those comparing these to the top of the line Henkels knives, no they are not that but I'm not going to spennd $200+ on a single knife anyway! A simiple search on their site tells you the diffference in their lines.
I hand wash and dry and no rust in 2 years.
If I had to find a 'con', it would be that there are a few knives I don't use much, but I wouldn't have known that at the time. Next time, if these ever get replaced, I'll buy just the two or three that I use all the time and have money left for steak knives!
"
Review 3 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento CA
Date:October 23, 2010

Good buy

Pros: a very good set of knifes
Cons: did not come with sisors
"I have been using these knifes for three years some times washed in dish washer. I have never seen rust my set was made in spain. they keep a good edge for a long time hone them before each use is a good practice."
Review 4 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:October 1, 2010

Good quality

Pros: love the handles
Cons: none so far
"I took my other JA Henckels set (10 years old) to a second home and bought these to replace those. They were very sharp, cut nicely, and clean easily. In fact, I find these handles smoother and more streamlined than my previous set, and easier to clean this way especially where the blade integrates into the handle--seems less likely to harbor bacteria. They are weighted well and feel good in the hand. I am a fan of JA Henckels knives. No rusting either with either set---don't know why previous reviewers had issue with that???? Maybe they weren't handwashing them? Even my old set has held up nicely. The only issue I had with one was that I stuck it in dishwasher and handle separated partially, but I still use it and it was my fault. ALWAYS HANDWASH."
Review 5 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:July 7, 2010

Why did I wait so long?

Pros: just the best ever ;-)
Cons: if there are any i haven't found them.
"These are wonderful knives - they stay sharp (and are easy to sharpen when needed) and clean up beautifully. They do just as good a job in slicing ripe tomatoes really thin as they do in cutting barbecued flank steak across the grain. My only complaint is with myself: I've been using an accumulation of second-rate knives for years and the difference is like night and day! I bought mine as a Christmas present from me to me 5 or 6 years ago and it's the best present ever!"
Review 6 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI.
Date:January 6, 2010

Great Knives

"We purchased these knives to replace out Chicago Cutlery set. They are great knives. Extremely sharp, so be careful.
Great assortment of knives for different purposes. We do receommend these knives."
Review 7 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:GA
Date:October 22, 2009

Rust Problems

Pros: extremely sharp
Cons: rust rust and more rust
"I purchased my set about a couple of week ago, and noticed the rust spots only after one week of use. I tried to polish them with Stainless Steel Polish, and they did not go away. I thought I just happened to buy a bad set, and got another one yesterday. After reading the other similar review about rust, I am taking this set back to the store!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:September 25, 2009

so-so

Pros: sharp, many choices
Cons: rust, more rust
"I'be bought 3 sets of these and they have always rusted! The most recent one had rust spots within 1 month. I dry them seperately and never put in the dishwasher. I am dissapointed"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2009

Good value

"I have used these knives for about 6 months and really like them. They are well-balanced and feel good in my hand. There are much more expensive knives around, but for the price, these are wonderful. They are easy to sharpen with the sharpening steel, and I don't have a problem with keeping their edge."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009

international set

"I purchased this set with full confidence in the excellent reputation that Henckels has earned. I was dismayed to learn that the "international" line is NOT made in Germany, but is outsourced, and is far inferior to the premiere line made in Germany. I was very careful with my set, washing them by hand according to instructions, and drying them thoroughly before placing them back in the block yet after only one month, there was a rust spot on one of the knives. In this case, I would not recommend trusting the Henckels name....it's a bit deceptive."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Elsinore, CA
Date:May 7, 2009

Really Good

"I am very pleased with the knives. I have been needing a set for a while and these really do a good job. There are kind of too many open spaces in the block and I wish the set came with steak knives, but hey, they're 150 bucks. They need to be sharpened VERY often. This set is great for someone who wants great knives, but doesn't want to pay 500 for the wustofs. 4.5 of 5."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 11, 2008

Quality and Value

"These are amazing knives. The factory edge needs to be honed before using for the first time. We use a simple sharpner with ceramic discs and pull the knives through it on a regular basis.
All high end knives need some minimal mantainance to keep them supersharp. My wife never liked using the sharpening steel, but a simple sharpener does the trick.
The knives that are made of harder steel are more difficult to sharpen this way, and would probably require an electric sharpner."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La jolla, CA
Date:October 29, 2008

Great set of knives comparable to Wusthof

"I love my Wusthof knives for their balance and sturdy nature. The Henckels are comparable. Each piece in this set works extremely well in cutting vegetables, meats, chicken, fish, etc. I am very happy with this set and would highly recommend it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 27, 2008

Disappointed

"Though usually very satisfied with Costco products, this knife set has been a disappointment due to the need to frequently sharpen the knives, they don't hold an edge. If you purchase this set, then also purchase the Chef's Choice electric sharpener."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for J.A. Henckels International 10-piece Forged Knife Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:October 23, 2008

Awesome Knives

"The knives do the work. Nicely balanced. High quality. Great for the cooking enthusiast. Highly recommended!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.