Customer Reviews for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping

The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping

Before placing an order for Standard Delivery, you must call Universal Casket Company directly at 866-458-2800, or your order will not process.  (This customer service number is staffed by qualified representatives who will be able to answer any product, shipping and delivery questions.)  Standard Delivery orders must be placed by 11 a.m. Eastern Time. A casket ordered for standard delivery will arrive by 5 p.m. (your local time) within three business days (Monday –Friday, excluding holidays).  For example: if an order is placed on Monday by 11 a.m. EST, the casket will be delivered on Wednesday by 5 p.m. (your local time);  however, if the order is placed on Monday at 11:01 a.m., EST, the casket will deliver by Thursday.  Standard delivery times may vary in certain areas. It is the purchaser's responsibility to notify the funeral home of your order within 1 business day. Currently, caskets can only be purchased from and shipped to addresses in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington,  West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Your bill to and ship to addresses must both be in the list of states above for your order to be valid. Choosing a casket is a very personal and important decision. Families should choose a casket based on their own preferences and the personality of their loved one. We believe we offer a selection that will allow everyone to find something appropriate. The Universal Casket Company has been serving the funeral industry for over 60 years. They manufacture according to premium standards and features that meet or exceed caskets typically sold in funeral homes. Universal Casket is devoted to quality assurance and complete satisfaction for your peace of mind.   Material: 18 gauge steel   Finish: Painted lilac   Design: Square corner, gasketed casket   THERE IS NO SCIENTIFIC OR OTHER EVIDENCE THAT ANY CASKET WITH A SEALING DEVICE WILL PRESERVE HUMAN REMAINS   Interior: Nude crepe   Embroidered Mother theme head panel   Silver colored stationary handles with floral decal appliqués   Adjustable bed and mattress   Memorial and record tube   Interior width at body sides: 24"   Interior length at body sides: 79"   Exterior width of casket: 28"   Exterior length of casket: 84"   Exterior height of casket: 24"   Weight: 220 lbs. Model: 0090
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 of 47(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Review 1 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:November 3, 2014

Excellent Choice

Pros: quality and price
Cons: no e-mail confirmation for delivery
Model Number: The Mother Casket
"I purchased this casket for my Mother's burial. When I spoke with the representative, he instructed me that I could order it standard shipment and save money (since I ordered early). It was much better looking in person. The color is sort of a mauve color with beautiful roses painted on the oval portions which support/attach the handle. Very tasteful, very nice, and much less expensive than what the mortuary wanted to charge me. I received many compliments, but most importantly, my sister and I preferred this one to any of the others we viewed by the mortuary (which began at $3,000 and up). Everything went smoothly, and even the funeral director was impressed."
Review 2 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 1, 2014

The Mother Casket

Pros: very high quality, shipping was key & it arrived just as advertised., much nicer than the photos depicted.
Cons: costco needs to provide much better pictures.
"Like others here, the need for ordering this casket was immediate. Online, the casket looked perfect for my Grandmother. I ordered it on a Monday and it was at the funeral home by Wednesday afternoon just as advertised. When I first got to see it, it was actually much nicer than I expected it to be based on the photos . I can sum it up by saying that this casket was perfect for my Grandmother and would have picked it no matter what the cost. Tip: For better pictures than what Costco has, Universal Casket Company has their own website."
Review 3 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jackson Heights, Queens, New York
Date:August 5, 2014

Mother Casket

Pros: thank you costco.
Model Number: 810233
"My dear mother passed away at the young age of 93, the Mother casket was beautiful, she looked so relaxed. The funeral home had a simillar casket for an addtional $2500., and it was ordered on a Wed. morning abd was there by Friday. Thank you Costco, it helped make her funeral affordable."
Review 4 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT- Mesquite, NV
Date:June 26, 2014

Would buy again

Pros: delivered as promised beautiful excellent quality
Cons: none
Model Number: 0090
"I saw this casket on the Costco website a few weeks before ordering. When I needed to order it, it was no longer available on line. When I called Universal to order a different one, they told me it was in stock and Costco just needed to update their system. I ordered it on a Monday morning (standard shipping)and it was delivered by 4 on Wednesday. One of the employees at the funeral home tried to talk me out of ordering it saying I wouldn't save money and would have to drive 90 miles to pick it up. Since I had researched this previously, I knew better and bought it as planned through Costco. Margie at Universal was so nice and walked me through the entire process. She gave me the number for Costco to order it over the phone since it wasn't showing available online. Costco was very helpful. The casket was beautiful and perfect for my Mom. It was more than 1/2 the price of what the funeral home wanted. I would highly recommend this product to all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2014

Buy a casket from Costco? Absolutely yes!

Pros: excellent quality, beautiful details, exceptional price
Cons: none
"The funeral home tried to talk us into getting a casket through them but the cost for one comparable was more than double so we opted for Costco. We were so happy we did. The casket was delivered on time, it was beautiful and well made. We will definitely order all future caskets from Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brick NJ
Date:March 8, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: great buy
Cons: see review about funeral home
Model Number: Mother
"Buying mail-order in a time of grief is not easy. Anxiety for all that could go wrong would prompt most people to opt to pay double the price for the funeral director to handle it. Everything went smoothly except the local funeral parlor would not accept delivery unless I inspected it on arrival. Fortunately I was within ten minutes of the funeral home and it was delivered in perfect condition. The manufacturer told me what the funeral home was doing was illegal. Everything worked out fine for me."
Review 7 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 22, 2014

If you are reading this than just buy it!!!!

Pros: delivered as promised, exceeded expectations, very nice people to deal with
"Without a doubt one of the best purchases I have ever made on Costco.com Funerals are not fun, funeral parlors tend to overcharge for caskets and most people do not realize there are other options. I am telling you, without a doubt, the smoothest and easiest transaction and the casket arrived as promised. It is so much nicer than the pictures show. Many many compliments. It was so beautiful we decided to have an open casket."
Review 8 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:January 1, 2014

Better than expected

Pros: price - ease of order - quality of casket
Cons: none
Model Number: 810223 Mother casket
"My mother had passed in Utah and her funeral was in Texas. It was close to Christmas, so we planned her funeral between Christmas and New Years. This casket was just beautiful. I was late ordering, after 11 AM eastern, plus there was bad weather in the shipping area. The casket shipped on Tuesday and arrived on Saturday, standard shipping, to a small town in west Texas. So make sure you order before 11 AM eastern time and you DO NEED TO CALL THEM to conclude order. Everyone commented how gorgeous the casket was. Considering all the travel costs for family from Utah to Texas it was nice to save $2,500 on a casket"
Review 9 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:March 10, 2013

Beautiful.

Cons: none!
"I am so happy with this purchase. It's not everyday you have to shop for a casket for your loved one so I'm thankful that Costco has made it so easy for this kind of shopping. Universal Casket Company called me right back and answered all of my questions with total compassion. It came on time to the funeral home with no issues at all. So many people told us how beautiful my mom's casket was. Don't look anywhere else, just buy this, trust me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas
Date:February 9, 2013

The Genius of Costco

Pros: fast delivery, costco service, quality, price
Cons: not a one
Model Number: Mother Casket
"Another hearty vote of confidence for this product. Do the right thing when the time comes, get 1st class quality and save money as well. Even the funeral director was astounded!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:The Ozarks, MO
Date:December 21, 2012

Awesome

Pros: great quality, beautiful extra touches, excellent price
Cons: none
Model Number: 810223
"When our mother passed away recently, I showed my sisters "The Mother Casket" on-line. None of us could believe how incredible it looked for the price. We viewed it at the funeral home after it was delivered, and were blown away by the quality. All we heard at the funeral was how beautiful it was. The staff at Universal were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure everything went smoothly."
Review 12 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 14, 2012

Beautiful, quality casket at a great price!

Pros: price and quality, ease of ordering
Cons: none
Model Number: Mother casket
"We ordered "The Mother" casket back in January, 2012 for my mother-in-laws funeral. We were really pleased with the casket and the price. We definitely saved a lot of money and didn't sacrifice quality or looks at all. It was beautiful and the whole process was very easy. We would definitely use Universal Casket Co. through Costco again should we ever need to."
Review 13 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Antioch, CA.
Date:October 16, 2012

Great Casket- Beautiful

Pros: ease of service
Model Number: Mother Casket
"The mother casket is a beautiful casket and the price was outstanding. I paid 1,400 with expediate shipping and the comparible casket at the funeral home would have been about 4,500. Not only was the saving great, the quality was fantastic. This casket is great for a mother or grandmother. It was easy to order and the employee at Universial Casket was very helpful."
Review 14 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Independence, Mo
Date:September 5, 2012

A relief of a great product and service

Pros: gorgeous, affordible
Model Number: The Mother Casket
"My grandma was in hospice and we knew she didnt have long. We started planning the service before she had passed. With all the high costs for a funeral we knew we couldnt afford one from the funeral home. I remembered hearing Costco sold these and was able to get online and find a perfect match for my grandma. The quality is amazing and the picture doesn't show it's true beauty. Our funeral director told us we were smart to do our homework and buy the one we did. If we would have bought through them it would have been about 4,000. He said the quality is very high and suprised it came from costco. Thank you for a beautiful final resting place for my grandma."
Review 15 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 17, 2012

Completely Satisfied

Pros: cost, color is beautiful
Cons: the lid squeaked
Model Number: 810223
"I had to purchase this casket the day my mother passed away. The order process was very easy and the person who assisted me at Costco was very helpful. The casket was everything I expected. It was beautiful. My family was impressed at how nice it was for the price. I absolutely can recommend buying this casket. It does not make sense to spend more money than necessary. Another thing to consider is this casket is 18gauge metal and many caskets are made out of the thinner 20 gauge."
Review 16 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 15, 2012

Mother Casket - Excellent purchase

Pros: all positives!!!
"I purchased a casket through Costco and the Universal Casket Company when my mother passed away last month. It was delivered on time with no problems, and it was the most beautiful casket ever.
I would highly recommend Universal Casket Company. They were so helpful.
They even contacted the truck driver to be sure that the casket would arrive to the funeral home on time."
Review 17 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:May 4, 2012

Stunning

Pros: price shipping quality, embroided "mother" on head panel, universal were very helpful....
Cons: memorial and record tube were not included, according to the funeral home, but certainly not a big deal
Model Number: Mother Casket
"It's hard to describe a casket as stunning but for our mother she looked beautiful in this one. It met our expectation and more. The color, the decal roses and the quality was perfect. I never hestitated to order because I'm rarely disappointed in Costo and their partners. Would highly recommend, in a heartbeat. Price was right and the standard shipping was almost as quick as the expediated shipping. Ordered monday, they were calling about delivery by Wed afternoon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Malibu
Date:January 24, 2012

Beautiful!

Pros: looks every bit as good as the $5000 one!
"The photograph does not do this coffin justice. It was gorgeous. The description of "decals" of roses on the hinges does not do it justice either. I thought they might look like stickers; the decals were beautiful; really looked like the roses had been painted on the hinges. Even the manager of the mortuary said that it was beautiful. My mother paid $5,000 for a similar casket for my father, 6 years ago! It is a shame that mortuaries take such advantage of the bereaved! I think that my Mom would have been delighted with the purchase. She looked lovely with the lilac color of the casket. The delivery was exactly as promised, as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, Mo
Date:January 20, 2012

I will purchase again

Pros: the cost difference was significant
Cons: none
"I was a little apprehensive buying a casket on line, especially after the mortuary told me that if there was any damage that they would not be responsible and they would have to use whatever was delivered. I was able to speak with the owner of the company who promised and delivered a flawless casket at the exact time the he said it would be delivered. I would recommend this company to anyone. ."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose,CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Very Beautiful

Pros: quality, price, ease of ordering
Model Number: 0090
"I purchased this casket for my mother and I just can't say enough about it. It was really a beautiful casket. It was very feminine with the lovely roses and embroidery. Everyone who saw it remarked how lovely it was. It was in perfect condition with no delivery problems. I had to change the delivery address on the day after I ordered it and the customer service people were great. No problem, they took care of it. It was a very easy process during a stressful time. I would recommend this casket and company to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>