Customer Reviews for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping

The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping

Before placing an order for Standard Delivery, you must call Universal Casket Company directly at 866-458-2800, or your order will not process.  (This customer service number is staffed by qualified representatives who will be able to answer any product, shipping and delivery questions.)  Standard Delivery orders must be placed by 11 a.m. Eastern Time. A casket ordered for standard delivery will arrive by 5 p.m. (your local time) within three business days (Monday –Friday, excluding holidays).  For example: if an order is placed on Monday by 11 a.m. EST, the casket will be delivered on Wednesday by 5 p.m. (your local time);  however, if the order is placed on Monday at 11:01 a.m., EST, the casket will deliver by Thursday.  Standard delivery times may vary in certain areas. It is the purchaser's responsibility to notify the funeral home of your order within 1 business day. Currently, caskets can only be purchased from and shipped to addresses in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington,  West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Your bill to and ship to addresses must both be in the list of states above for your order to be valid. Choosing a casket is a very personal and important decision. Families should choose a casket based on their own preferences and the personality of their loved one. We believe we offer a selection that will allow everyone to find something appropriate. The Universal Casket Company has been serving the funeral industry for over 60 years. They manufacture according to premium standards and features that meet or exceed caskets typically sold in funeral homes. Universal Casket is devoted to quality assurance and complete satisfaction for your peace of mind.   Material: 18 gauge steel   Finish: Painted lilac   Design: Square corner, gasketed casket   THERE IS NO SCIENTIFIC OR OTHER EVIDENCE THAT ANY CASKET WITH A SEALING DEVICE WILL PRESERVE HUMAN REMAINS   Interior: Nude crepe   Embroidered Mother theme head panel   Silver colored stationary handles with floral decal appliqués   Adjustable bed and mattress   Memorial and record tube   Interior width at body sides: 24"   Interior length at body sides: 79"   Exterior width of casket: 28"   Exterior length of casket: 84"   Exterior height of casket: 24"   Weight: 220 lbs. Model: 0090
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Review 1 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA
Date:November 1, 2011

Lovely company to work with & saved $$

Pros: compassionate service, very pretty casket
"This casket is very pretty outside and inside. It was delivered the afternoon of the order. I spoke with a lovely lady in Ohio at Universal Casket and she assured me it would arrive in plenty of time for my mother's service.
The mortuary was familiar with the BRING YOUR OWN CASKET (BYOC) --although they did not tell me when the casket had arrived. I'm sure they were not pleased to lose the profit but they made plenty with itemizing everything instead of my going with the package deal. The whole experience of making arrangements is not pleasant and to have a sort of swarmy presentation when you are especially vulnerable is unforgivable.
TAKE A STRONG FRIEND WITH YOU who will insist on negotiating everything.
I saved several $1,000 even with the mortuary's itemizing instead of the package casket and services deal. Also I felt my frugal mom would have been very PROUD OF ME FOR SAVING THE MONEY.
Everyone was very impressed with the idea of a Costco casket.
It was a lovely shade of pink. THANK YOU COSTCO."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit,MI.
Date:April 27, 2011

Thank you Costco for being there.

Model Number: Item # 810223
"Our mother passed away in December 2010. Needless to say, it was a very emotional and difficult time for our family. When it came time for making funeral arrangements I recalled seeing caskets for sale at Costco. We decided to purchase the beautiful “Mother Casket” after reading all 11 reviews with a score of 5 out of 5 stars. We were concerned that the casket would not arrive on time. The operator at the 1-800 number was awesome. She reassured me that it would arrive on time, and it did! Everyone who attended the funeral commented positively on how beautiful the casket looked. Pricing was very good, and was better in every way compared to a comparable product that the funeral director had to offer. While at Costco to pay for the casket, the male employee at the register passed along his heartfelt condolences to our family. You were there at a time we really needed you, and you didn't let us down.. Thank You Costco for offering a beautiful product along with professional and friendly service…it is very much appreciated ."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV and Hartford, CT
Date:February 24, 2011

Great product, terrific service

Pros: very affordable, beautiful, great customer service
"I have never been disappointed with Costco's services and products, but when it came right down to choosing a casket for my mother-in-law online, I was very hesitant. I called Universal ahead of time and they very patiently answered all my questions and walked us through every step of the way from then on. They even made special calls to the truck driver to assure the delivery to the funeral home which keeps strange hours.
We had enough expenses to worry about during this trying time but we didn't want to seem "cheap". Well, rest assured, this product is as good as or better than anything we saw at the funeral home for much more money. Many people, including the funeral home staff, commented on what a lovely casket it was. All of the family felt it was beautiful tribute to my husband's mother and we were very happy with every step of the process.
Don't hesitate to make further use of the great products and services Costco provides."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brick NJ
Date:March 8, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: great buy
Cons: see review about funeral home
Model Number: Mother
"Buying mail-order in a time of grief is not easy. Anxiety for all that could go wrong would prompt most people to opt to pay double the price for the funeral director to handle it. Everything went smoothly except the local funeral parlor would not accept delivery unless I inspected it on arrival. Fortunately I was within ten minutes of the funeral home and it was delivered in perfect condition. The manufacturer told me what the funeral home was doing was illegal. Everything worked out fine for me."
Review 5 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seatlte, WA
Date:June 2, 2010

The perfect purple casket

"Beautiful casket at an amazing value, but the best part of the whole experience were the people I dealt with at Universal Casket and Costco.com. Compassionate, caring and great customer service. It arrived the next day, and we were 350 miles from Seattle. The people at the funeral homes could take a lesson."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:January 22, 2014

If you are reading this than just buy it!!!!

Pros: delivered as promised, exceeded expectations, very nice people to deal with
"Without a doubt one of the best purchases I have ever made on Costco.com Funerals are not fun, funeral parlors tend to overcharge for caskets and most people do not realize there are other options. I am telling you, without a doubt, the smoothest and easiest transaction and the casket arrived as promised. It is so much nicer than the pictures show. Many many compliments. It was so beautiful we decided to have an open casket."
Review 7 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 27, 2010

Absolutely Perfect!

Pros: rich color, excellent value, excellent quality, fast delivery
"I looked at the prior reviews before purchasing this for my mother. They were all glowing recommendations. I can promise you that they are all accurate and true!! If I could give this 10 stars, I would! It is absolutely beautiful, of the highest quality, and definitely at LEAST 1/3 cost of comparable caskets sold at the funeral home.
And the service was fast! I just did the regular order (not expedited). I placed the order on Thurs afternoon, and it was delivered on Monday.
My only problem was that the casket company didn't update me when the casket was shipped. So I was concerned that the status was "In fulfillment" for 3 business days. But the good Customer Service folks at Costco.com got in touch with the casket company and found out that it was not only shipped, but delivered."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2010

Beautiful Casket

"This really is a beautiful casket. It is even nicer in person. Everyone at the funeral commented on it. Having it delivered was very easy. The funeral home had never received a casket from Costco before and they were nervous about the process. But it was delivered exactly like stated and everything went very smooth. The funeral director later told me he could not have provided such a nice casket for less that $4500."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:January 1, 2014

Better than expected

Pros: price - ease of order - quality of casket
Cons: none
Model Number: 810223 Mother casket
"My mother had passed in Utah and her funeral was in Texas. It was close to Christmas, so we planned her funeral between Christmas and New Years. This casket was just beautiful. I was late ordering, after 11 AM eastern, plus there was bad weather in the shipping area. The casket shipped on Tuesday and arrived on Saturday, standard shipping, to a small town in west Texas. So make sure you order before 11 AM eastern time and you DO NEED TO CALL THEM to conclude order. Everyone commented how gorgeous the casket was. Considering all the travel costs for family from Utah to Texas it was nice to save $2,500 on a casket"
Review 10 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca.
Date:November 5, 2010

Very Nice

Model Number: Mother's Casket
"Contacted the Casket Company on a Monday. I live in California and the Casket was delivered by the afternoon. The people I delt with were extremely professional and helpful.
The Casket is similar to the ones the funeral homes here sell for $4000.00. The quailty impecable the service outstanding."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Date:August 19, 2010

Beautiful Casket for Mom

"We purchased this casket for our beloved mother and we were pleasantly surprised as to how detailed and beautiful it was. The soft and subtle details, the beautiful color tone - this casket is much more beautiful in person. The shipping time was timely and the price is excellent. Thank-you COSTCO for helping out during a difficult time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:March 10, 2013

Beautiful.

Cons: none!
"I am so happy with this purchase. It's not everyday you have to shop for a casket for your loved one so I'm thankful that Costco has made it so easy for this kind of shopping. Universal Casket Company called me right back and answered all of my questions with total compassion. It came on time to the funeral home with no issues at all. So many people told us how beautiful my mom's casket was. Don't look anywhere else, just buy this, trust me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

What the funeral home won't tell you...

"Funeral homes make a great amount of money selling caskets and hate the fact that Costco sells these. These are top quality at a very good price. Some funeral homes will require that someone from the family be there when they are delivered the casket to ensure there is no damage. They try to make you not want to purchase it by making it difficult but don't fall into this trap. Great purchase great quality quick shipping. This is from someone who has connections within the funeral industry."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, Mo
Date:January 20, 2012

I will purchase again

Pros: the cost difference was significant
Cons: none
"I was a little apprehensive buying a casket on line, especially after the mortuary told me that if there was any damage that they would not be responsible and they would have to use whatever was delivered. I was able to speak with the owner of the company who promised and delivered a flawless casket at the exact time the he said it would be delivered. I would recommend this company to anyone. ."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2010

The Mother Casket

"The casket was beautiful, beyond expectations. The service and delivery were exceptional! The cost cheaper than anywhere else."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Malibu
Date:January 24, 2012

Beautiful!

Pros: looks every bit as good as the $5000 one!
"The photograph does not do this coffin justice. It was gorgeous. The description of "decals" of roses on the hinges does not do it justice either. I thought they might look like stickers; the decals were beautiful; really looked like the roses had been painted on the hinges. Even the manager of the mortuary said that it was beautiful. My mother paid $5,000 for a similar casket for my father, 6 years ago! It is a shame that mortuaries take such advantage of the bereaved! I think that my Mom would have been delighted with the purchase. She looked lovely with the lilac color of the casket. The delivery was exactly as promised, as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:April 5, 2011

Great pricing!

Pros: price, quality, delivery speed
Cons: on website the casket looks silver but its pinkish, tracking process could have been improved, customer service rep was not the best, she sounded irritated when i would call to inquire, about the delivery, costco website tracking is not updated live
Model Number: The Mother Casket
"The casket was beautiful. I ordered the casket standard shipping on a Monday after the cutoff time and it was still delivered by Wednesday afternoon, not bad at all. This casket was for my grandmother who passed away at the age of 96 just a month ago. I know she would have loved this casket. Everyone complimented on how perfect it was; it truly made her feel and look peaceful. The price was extremely reasonable, especially since the funeral home would have sold this for over $2,500. I would recommend this casket to anyone looking for quality and economic price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose,CA
Date:November 9, 2011

Very Beautiful

Pros: quality, price, ease of ordering
Model Number: 0090
"I purchased this casket for my mother and I just can't say enough about it. It was really a beautiful casket. It was very feminine with the lovely roses and embroidery. Everyone who saw it remarked how lovely it was. It was in perfect condition with no delivery problems. I had to change the delivery address on the day after I ordered it and the customer service people were great. No problem, they took care of it. It was a very easy process during a stressful time. I would recommend this casket and company to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:August 7, 2010

Beautiful

"I purchased this for my Grandmother's funeral in North Dakota in October 2008. The company was terrific and fast, time was short and it made it in time. I looked though the book at the funeral home and none were as ornate and perfect as this one. It is absolutely beautiful and unbelievably (well not since it is a Costco connection) it was at least 1/3 the price of anywhere else for the quality and beauty. The detailing is gorgeous, it was admired by all. It made the most difficult day a little easier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Mother Casket by Universal - Standard Shipping
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:April 7, 2011

Beautiful Casket

Pros: quality & service
Model Number: The Mother Casket
"I ordered this casket for my mother's burial. The casket was even more beautiful than I had imagined even though I had seen the pictures first. This casket was truly a tribute to my mom. The customer service people at the casket company were very warm, understanding and efficient. The casket was delivered exactly as planned. They have distribution warehouses in different locations throughout the country so it didn't need to come a long distance. We couldn't have been more satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>