Customer Reviews for Premier Whole House Water Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Premier Whole House Water Filter

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Review 1 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:March 31, 2009

Cleaner water

Model Number: 853809
"The system works great. 20 micron filter is a better choice though once the replacements are used."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:April 18, 2010

This is an excellent product

"I have purchased (3) of the Watts Premier Whole House Water Filters. I would reccommend using (2) unions and (2) Shut-off valves with the installation. The unions will allow a quick switchout should that ever become necessary. The shut-off valves will allow you to keep the main water line connected and bypassed when the filter is in use, the 2nd shut-off will allow you to by-pass the filter ( for servicing if a need arises) This is where 1st shut -off come into use. This takes a part time plumber 1 1/2 - 2 hours."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:September 4, 2010

Much less expensive than Home Depot

Pros: very good value less expensive than hd.
"The GE sold at Home depot is very similar, but does not have brass threaded sleeves for the fittings to fit into. This is a better product and should be more durable. It would have been nice if they had packaged compression fittings with the units to allow for a quick installation. There are available, but when purchase individually they cost about 4x the amount that it would have cost to just include them in the kit."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton Vermont
Date:July 25, 2010

Excellent housing

Pros: bypass valve, top quality, clear housing
"Very high quality housings, better than many similar ones I have installed, and a very good price. Bypass valve is a must have, allows you to change the filter without all the water in the pipes draining out while your at it thus avoiding making a bigger mess."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rocky Mountains
Date:September 15, 2010

Great with one oversight

Pros: doesn't affect waterflow, compact and easy to install, great quality, reversible can be mounted with flow l-r or r-l
Cons: no bracket included
"This item works well and was easy to install. Make sure you use at least 6 teflon tape wraps on each fitting, 9 is better or buy the thick stuff.
This thing is not set up for a bracket though! I used two 4" 90deg shelf brackets (cost 2 bucks at hardware store) and two zip straps to secure the item. Works very well! I have PEX pipe but if you are securing copper pipe to the brackets, ensure that you put some rubber between the bracket and the pipe to prevent galvanic corrosion."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waldorf, MD
Date:December 20, 2010

Good Quality Filter

Pros: durable
"We looked at many different filters and this one is one of the best. The stainless steel threaded holes are very durable. It immediately traps the sediments and within days, the filter starts to turn a brownish color! It's amazing to see what we've been using all along. It says that the filters are universal, so you can use other brands if you like. Works as advertised."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010

Disappointed

Model Number: Watts # 853809
"I purchased 2 of these units to replace a pair of filters I installed 10 years ago. One of my existing filters began to leak from the top pressure release valve. I have three ball valves. One allows water flow to the house prior to the filters, the second precedes the filters, and the third valve follows the filters. Thank goodness, I am able to work on the filter line without disrupting water flow to my house. Getting all four connections leak free at the same time was next to impossible. Again and again, one or more would start to leak. I'd add more plumbers tape and re-tighten. All would seem okay. Several hours later another leak. I'd repeat my repair. Note these filters do not have a pressure relief valve. Water sprays everywhere any time a canister is loosened. Finally all seemed well. After one entire dry week, having not touched the system at all, one of the units began dripping where the canister screws into the top. I gave up. I bought two GE whole house filters from XX ($40 each) and installed them ( about 45 minutes). Four weeks have passed and not one drip. Just for perspective, my husband and I have been Costco shoppers for 30 years. These filters are our first return."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:May 16, 2010

Get it!!!!!

Pros: feel good not to buy water bottles
Cons: fitting 1' instead of 3/4", because most inline is 1"
Model Number: 853809
"Water taste good! easy to instal but need basic plumbing skill!! Save money!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Snellvill, Ga
Date:June 28, 2011

Premier Whole House Water Filter

Pros: stainless steel threads, see thru casing, by-pass valve, great value
Cons: challenge to install, lacks proposed installation options
Model Number: 853809
"I you're handy and want an in expense pre-filter for your house, you've come to the right place. Eases the loads on a main whole house filter and easy to see when it needs to be changed. Installation is a challenge for the uninitiated as it take the proper valving and plumbing to do a dry, leak free job. Excellent stainless steel threading for in and out ports. Help when going to copper or PVC."
Review 10 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 25, 2011

This filter works perfectly!

Pros: work like champ
"I bought 2 of these set up series(call my friend a plumping pro to installed),been used for 1 weak now, the water tasted sweet-clean,noted after 1 weak of using the first filter turn to yellow color meaning it works,at my work we used this filter for engine flush machine(automotive) and it stay last,buy it and thanks Cosco."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:October 19, 2011

Design Flaw?

Model Number: WHLD
"Filter bowl cracks after one to two years of service; even with reduced water pressure which is well within manufacturer's specifications."
Review 12 for Premier Whole House Water Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san diego CA
Date:May 11, 2010

Real Deal

Pros: easy to instal
"just to the point,well made,good price and easy instalation if you know basic plumbing"