Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz

Price per ounce: $.35
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
(out of 74 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
66 of 74(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bayonne, NJ
Date:November 6, 2008

Incredible price!

Pros: great price
"Right now I use Similac for my infant. I tried switching to the Kirkland formula because the price is incredIble! He was able to taste the difference and would not take the Kirkland formula. So today I did 1 scoop of similac and 1 scoop of Kirkland and he took it with no problem. So little by little I'm going to add more kirkland and lessen the similac, to where it's striclty kirland formula that is going into the bottle. I think babies are just used to what they've been fed and sometime a change of taste is not something they like.
I also asked my pediatrician if using the Kirkland would be okay, and she said yes with no hesitation. She even thought the price was great.
I know when my daughter was an infant I tried to switch from Enfamil ready to feed to Enfamil powder and she wanted nothing to do w/ the powder formula. But once she started jar food, I was able to successfully switch to powder.
This is an excellent price for TWO cans of powdered formula."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis Minnesota
Date:January 24, 2009

caviar quality, tunafish price

"I bought this for my third child who is 8 months old. He is sensitive and has not had much luck on anything other than similac sensitive, so i was hesitant to try this,because of the price i thought it was just too cheap to be good. But since we have 2 kids in diapers, and have to make every buck stretch as far as possible I bought it, you just can't beat the price. I used one can at home and brought one to daycare. The daycare lady after 2 days told me he has not even once vomited or been gassy sinced I brought over the new formula. As for at home, it was the same, he was not gassy at all and had not spit up even once! one can lasted me 12 days and this is with a baby who drinks 8 oz at a time! I wish I had this formula with my other 2 kids. Consider me converted. I have used this brand ever since and have bought some for friend's with new babies as well. They are just as delighted. Good, great, wonderful formula, at an amazing price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI
Date:February 11, 2010

We love the savings!!!!

Pros: the best off brand formula on the market!, high levels of dha/ara, happy baby!
Cons: foamy
"Wow...let me start out by saying wow! Both of my babies have been lactose intolerant and were on similac sensitive until 6 months. My first daughter went from similac sensitive to regular similac....I was never brave enough or informed enough to buy the costco brand (i shamefully admit). My second baby born in july of 09 just turned 6 months. I decided to put her on the Kirkland brand infant formula (since by 6 months you can try if they were lactose intolerant) and wow...she loooves it! Its funny because she could be on WIC which only provides enfamil, but enfamil never sat well with my children. Long story short guys....Kirkland infant formula is comparable to similac and if you do your research it has the same amount of DHA and ARA as Enfamil if that is what you are after, which is more than the similac brand! I was told that similac actually makes Kirkland's formula, but in the event i was misinformed you can always ask at costco! We looove costco and recommend it to everyone! Their diapers rock too!"
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:March 12, 2009

Pediatrician Recommended it!

"Being a 1st time mom you automatically get the most expensive assuming that is going to be the best of the best for your new bundle of joy, so I wouldn't have even thought to try or look at it until our pediatrician recommended it so I thought I would try it. It is a great product & my son has not had any problems with spitting up or gas as he did with other formulas (as all babies are different - may not be the case for everyone!). The price per ounce was a SHOCKER comparitvely speaking to the other brands - so I almost second guessed it thinking maybe I was not giving my son the best possible start. But, this formula has turned out to be great! It is a little foamier then most but I have found to counteract that, as long as you put the water in first - I didn't have any more of a problem then any other formula! Really enjoyed this (and the savings, especially in the economic downturn we are in now) product and would highly recommend it. I've noticed the warehouses (or atleast mine) charge almost $4 more than online? But besides that - NO COMPLAINTS!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:southern california
Date:July 30, 2009

Tastes better than Enfamil version

"We used this formula for our baby when we ran out of the enfamil version that was given to us at the hospital. We love kirkland products for the most part so naturally we decided to try the formula. If it weren't for the fact that the baby got constipated and gassy on this type of formula, we probably would have continued to feed her the kirkland formula. It tastes sweeter than the enfamil version (that one tasted to metallic). Another thing, this powder is very messy (you have to wash your hands before preparing bottle of course so your hands are not 100% dry and the powder would clump and stick to your fingers). Also, it didn't seem to mix well by stirring so we had to shake the bottle very hard and that created lots of foamy bubbles. I don't know if thats why she got so gassy. Had to use mylicon drops every day (even with the regular enfamil). If your child isn't prone to being gassy I say go for it. The messy powder is not a huge deal- just dry hands thoroughly. We ended up switching to Enfamil Gentlease- I wish Kirkland made a version of that one!"
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 28, 2008

Great Product & Value

Pros: great value, comparable to big brand names
"I used this product for one year for my son and was very pleased. My sister recommended it after her pediatrician suggested she try it in place of Infamil Lipil and I'm glad she did. My son is 18 months, healthy (no infections yet & 90+ percentile) and developing normally. I will use this formula again.
My son did have a little trouble with constipation while using the formula but my pediatrician suggested 1 tablespoon prune juice mixed with 1 tablespoon water twice a day and that worked well for him. I recently found out from a friend, who uses the same pediatrician I do, that our pediatrician is suggesting other formulas if your child has constipation problems with the Costco formula. My thought is, if the prune juice works why spend all that money trying other formulas.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wickenburg, AZ
Date:June 17, 2009

Definitely recommend!

"I am so glad I found this product. I've always been satisfied with the Kirkland brand, so I decided to give this product a try. My daughter is four months old and had been getting mostly breastmilk with one feeding of formula every day. I decided to go to all formula about two weeks ago (supply went down when I went back to work).
I had been giving my daughter Similac Advance, but when we went to all formula, I couldn't believe the price difference between KS and Similac. My cousin recommended KS to me as she has been using it for her daughter who is now 2 months old.
My daughter loves the taste and her burps are no where near as stinky as they were with Similac. The only thing I would say is that she got a little constipated about 3 days into the switch. Our pediatrician says that is pretty normal whenever a switch in formula is made and it can take up to 3 weeks for their bodies to adjust. He told me to just give her an ounce of water mixed w/1 teaspoon of Karo Corn Syrup once a day for a week and see how her BM are. I've been doing that and the constipation has gone away."
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jacinto, CA
Date:September 30, 2009

Best purchase ever

"mother of a 3 mth old. have been using kirkland formula for 2 months now and its GREAT! At first I breastfed then when my child was 6 wks old I was put on medication that can harm my baby so I had to switch him to a formula. Knowing how expensive formula was and with the economy, I did some research on this formula before I gave it to my son. He took very well to it. It is very foamy and it does cause gas. I was giving my son Mylicon and it did help but he would still be gassy. So what I started doing, which is a little more work, I take out as much foam with a spoon then I pour the formula into a bottle called "Dr. Brown". After a few days my son has not had any gas problems. I recommend if you have a baby that is inpatient when its feeding time that you make the formula and refrigerate it. It's good for 24 hours. I totally recommend this formula!"
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, Or
Date:January 19, 2009

Great Value

"I have found Kirkland formula to be a wonderful value. My son does well on it and you get twice the amount for less than the price of one name brand can! The only problem that I had with the formula was that it seemed to bubble a lot. My son would start out drinking his bottle, no bubbles. By the time he was finished there was a bottle full of foam. I started putting 2 or 3 generic brand Mylicon drops in each bottle and haven't had a problems since and an added bonus my son doesn't have gas issues since I already took care of that when making the bottle. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:August 14, 2009

Dissapointing

Pros: price
Cons: very foamy, no probiotics
"I guess you get what you pay for. I really wanted to like this formula because I am a huge fan of Kirkland products and Costco in general, not to mention the ridiculously cheap price. The formula is very foamy which I don't understand because the other formulas I have used have no foam at all - Enfamil Lipil and Good Start. My baby was extremely fussy and gassy on this formula. My pediatrician suggested a switch and within the day she was better. I think it's time for Kirkland to improve this product and maybe offer some more varieties, like gentle and soy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: smells good, inexpensive, easy on babies with digestive problems, has all the nutrients and more the baby needs
Cons: no cons
"This is an amazing product. I was a bit worried to try it at first b/c my baby had terrible acid reflux and some lactose senstivity since she was born. She was always on the Similac Soy Brand. However, her Dr said that after 6 months they start to outgrow some of these digestive issues, so I gave this a try. My daughter loved it from the start and had no problems adapting to this formula. It has all the great nutrients of the Similac Soy, but we have saved ourselves hundreds of dollars with the Kirkland Brand. Costco has a great return policy, so it is worth a try. It even smells much better then the Similac Soy, which has a terrible smell. There is some foam, but my daugther had no problems with this and I would trade the foam any day for the horrible smell of the other brand. Try this brand, you will not be disappointed!"
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

Mix 2/3 Costco with 1/3 Similac

"As with other reviewers, our baby immediately had constipation issues upon switching to the Kirkland brand. After some experimentation, we now mix Similac Advance in with the Kirkland formula (1 to 3 ratio), and she is just as normal as she was when she was 100% Similac. We have been on this routine since about 3 weeks of age and she is now almost 4 months. It's great to not have to bear the expense of feeding her exclusively Similac, and still knowing she is getting all the same nutrients."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:May 4, 2009

Worth it all the way around!!

Pros: price
Cons: foamy
"When I came to grips with not being able to breastfeed I did a lot of research on formulas. I read hundreds of reviews and was amazed at the product and price! After trying this formula for a few days I will never use anything else. My baby loves it and her tummy problems have been a lot better. Yes it is a little foamy but a little drop of Mylicon takes them completely away and it again helps her tummy problems. The price is too good to pass up and the product itself is great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Litchfield Park, AZ
Date:November 12, 2008

Awesome!

"I have two sons, 3 year old and 16 month old. They both were given this formula until they reached one and I switched to milk. They both tolerated it just fine and my youngest actually preferred this to the name brand formula's. Excellent price for those of us struggling in this economy and you have to love that Costco will take it back if you have an issue with it. I am pregnant with #3 and if he does not take well to breastfeeding he will be on this formula as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Allen, TX
Date:June 29, 2009

Another Quality Kirkland's product

Pros: price, quality equal to name brands
Cons: foamy
"I am a very price and quality driven shopper, but when it comes to my kids, I am more quality driven. That said this product is just as quality as the popular name brand formulas as far as ingredients, but a fraction of the price. You get 2 for under the price of one of the name brands.
If I had to find a con to this product it would be the tendency to be foamy. I have found that microwaving the water for about 25 seconds prior to mixing helps.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008

Didn't work for us

"We started out on Similac, but switched to Kirkland because of price. The water, according to the directions, needs to be warm when you mix the formula. We noticed caking and clumping with just room temperature water. We switched back to Similac after our daughter became constipated. She was miserable. She's better now that we switched back. We may try Kirkland again later on, when she's a little older."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2009

Exceptional value

"My breastfed daughter made an easy transition to formula/bottle feeding using this formula. It does foam up more than the Similac I tried, but it doesn't stink as much as Similac. If the foam bothers you, simply add one drop of baby anti-gas medicine (simethicone) to the water before you add the formula. No foam, no bubbles! At Costco's price, you can't beat this deal!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:October 25, 2008

Incredible Value- Don't waste your money on others

"The Kirkland Formula is an incredible value and the smart purchase for any parent. The nutritional value is the same as the brand names without the wasted money on advertising. Compare the labels yourself and check with your pediatrician who will most likely confirm. My daughter is in the 98+% for height and is obviously growing well on this formula."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:December 23, 2009

Not for us!

"My son was breastfed for the first 7 months and then we switched him to Similac Advance but then we found this product and loved the price and it seemed to compare pretty closely to the Similac. For the first month and a half it was fine but then he started getting EXTREMELY constipated. It was hard to pin point the problem because he was starting all kinds of new foods and I never thought it could be the formula because he had been having it for so long. I was running out of options so I came on here and read the reviews and noticed there were a few other people that complained of constipation as well so I thought it's worth a try let's switch him back to the Similac Advance. Within a day he was back to normal! It's a great product but not for us! I'm happy to have my happy baby back!"
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009

Compared lots

"Due to recurrent mastitis, I switched my breastfed daughter to this at about 4 months, and she does great on it. I exhaustively researched this formula and others before deciding which to use. With my first baby who was always constipated, I used Enfamil lipil, Similac, Isomil, and finally Nutramigen, and this formula is no foamier than many of those in my opinion. I have always added 1 tiny drop of Mylicon to the water before shaking it and that solves the foam/gas issues from almost any formula. This formula stinks less than Similac, has as much DHA/ARA as Enfamil Lipil, and NO PALM OIL or palm olein like Similac. Palm oil was shown to reduce bone calcification up to 8% in some recent studies. It is nutritionally equivalent otherwise, and no, it doesn't have pre-biotics, but comparing apples to apples (regular Enfamil lipil or Similac to this), you can't beat the price or the quality! It would be great to see Costco add prebiotics or offer a second formula with them... I would pay a little more for that, but my baby got the benefits of breastmilk (with beneficial bacteria & prebiotics to establish a healthy gut flora) exclusively for 4 months and now gets plain yogurt since 6 months of age."
1 2 3 4 next>>