Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz

Price per ounce: $.35
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
(out of 74 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
66 of 74(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: smells good, inexpensive, easy on babies with digestive problems, has all the nutrients and more the baby needs
Cons: no cons
"This is an amazing product. I was a bit worried to try it at first b/c my baby had terrible acid reflux and some lactose senstivity since she was born. She was always on the Similac Soy Brand. However, her Dr said that after 6 months they start to outgrow some of these digestive issues, so I gave this a try. My daughter loved it from the start and had no problems adapting to this formula. It has all the great nutrients of the Similac Soy, but we have saved ourselves hundreds of dollars with the Kirkland Brand. Costco has a great return policy, so it is worth a try. It even smells much better then the Similac Soy, which has a terrible smell. There is some foam, but my daugther had no problems with this and I would trade the foam any day for the horrible smell of the other brand. Try this brand, you will not be disappointed!"
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 23, 2010

Good price

Cons: may cause constipation
"We switched our 4 month old son to this formula after consulting our pediatrician. She advised us that all formulas are regulated by the FDA and that it was fine to use Kirkland brand.
Thankfully, our son did not have any issues with the transition and he took to it immediately.
The only drawback is that he does seem to get a little constipated, but I am not sure if it can be solely attributed to the formula.
Overall we have been pleased."
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 12, 2010

Great product, great price

"I have my 3 week old son on this formula, and so far we have had no problems at all. It is foamy when I shake it to mix it up with the water, but that isn't a problem...especially for the price. Overall, this is a great buy."
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ely, MN
Date:March 11, 2010

Great formula, great price!

Pros: great price, very comparable to similac advance
Cons: foamy
"I am a Costo loyalist and love all their products, mostly. This is a great formula at a great price that is very comparable to Similac Advance. We were using Similac Advance for my son and transitioned to this formula with no problems.
This formula is definitely more foamy than Similac Advance if you shake it to mix it. The key I have found is to use a formula mixing pitcher, such as a Dr. Brown's formula mixing pitcher, and then let it sit for a minute or two. I pour the formula into a BPA-free Nalgene bottle by tilting it and then pouring the formula in...kind of like how you would pour a can of soda (or beer) into a cup to reduce the foam. Voila! No foam (or very little of it)!"
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Metro Detroit
Date:February 16, 2010

Worked wonderfully!

"I never once doubted my choice to use this formula for my first child. He never had any issues with it, and I enjoyed not spending every last dime feeding him! The only thing I slightly didn't like was that it foamed quite a bit during mixing and feeding, but that one thing was NOT nearly enough to keep me from using it. I recommend this formula to all my friends!"
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI
Date:February 11, 2010

We love the savings!!!!

Pros: the best off brand formula on the market!, high levels of dha/ara, happy baby!
Cons: foamy
"Wow...let me start out by saying wow! Both of my babies have been lactose intolerant and were on similac sensitive until 6 months. My first daughter went from similac sensitive to regular similac....I was never brave enough or informed enough to buy the costco brand (i shamefully admit). My second baby born in july of 09 just turned 6 months. I decided to put her on the Kirkland brand infant formula (since by 6 months you can try if they were lactose intolerant) and wow...she loooves it! Its funny because she could be on WIC which only provides enfamil, but enfamil never sat well with my children. Long story short guys....Kirkland infant formula is comparable to similac and if you do your research it has the same amount of DHA and ARA as Enfamil if that is what you are after, which is more than the similac brand! I was told that similac actually makes Kirkland's formula, but in the event i was misinformed you can always ask at costco! We looove costco and recommend it to everyone! Their diapers rock too!"
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2010

Awesome

Pros: cheapest, works well
Cons: none
"My friend fed her son this formula for 1 whole year. The boy grows up smart and healthy, and so does my 7 month old son. I've been using a Dr Browns formula mixer to mix 38 onces of milk for him once a day. There's no bubbles or clump whatsoever. So far no constipated problem with my son at all."
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:January 17, 2010

great product

"My son started on Similac and we switched to the Kirkland brand when he was about 2 months old - he loves the Kirkland brand and the price can't be beat. The product does foam a little, but adding a small amount of rice cereal clears up the foam instantly! My son is now 9 months old and very healthy. He still loves the Kirkland formula! Thanks Costco!!!"
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2010

foaming idea

"I have been using this formula and just thought i'd check out the reviews. My son does very well on this. he started with similac and transitioned to costco brand very easily.
Yes it foams more and can clump. I use a hand blender to mix which gets rid of the clumps but yes does make it foam, so i pour it into his bottle like i'd pour a beer, using the side to slowly pour getting the bubbles out. and pour slowly. this works perfect.
But i also loved the ideas of some to mix similac into it as well to decrease if constipated.
Thanks Costco for making a great priced formula!!
"
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fontana,CA
Date:January 8, 2010

Great product!

"This formula is great, the price is unbelievable! When we first found out about it, we were skeptical to purchase for our newborn son. We consulted with our doctor who said that this formula was good. The constipation probably happens with most babies on formula. Our baby has grown up to be a very healthy and strong one year old! We figured the other formulas charge what they do to cover all their advertising. Thanks Costco!"
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 1, 2010

Great Formula

Pros: great price
"On the recommendation of friends we tried the Kirkland brand and have been very satisfied! Our daughter sucks it down. We have had no problems with constipation (though I will say she is 50/50 breastfed/formula). The foaming problem is fixed by letting the bottle stand for a few minutes before feeding, though my daughter could care less about the foam."
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 30, 2009

Great product @ incredible price

Pros: great price
Cons: cant finish the container in a month
"As with all Costco products, this one is a great product @ incredible price.
My friend who is a Costco member used to buy Similac before but when I told her about this she switched to this product.
The only problem I have with this product is the size of the container.
I hybrid feed my son and so dont use the contents within a month of opening;so almost always end up throwing 25% of product(still cheaper to throw than buy other brand product).
Wish costco did something about the size of container.
"
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

Mix 2/3 Costco with 1/3 Similac

"As with other reviewers, our baby immediately had constipation issues upon switching to the Kirkland brand. After some experimentation, we now mix Similac Advance in with the Kirkland formula (1 to 3 ratio), and she is just as normal as she was when she was 100% Similac. We have been on this routine since about 3 weeks of age and she is now almost 4 months. It's great to not have to bear the expense of feeding her exclusively Similac, and still knowing she is getting all the same nutrients."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:December 23, 2009

Not for us!

"My son was breastfed for the first 7 months and then we switched him to Similac Advance but then we found this product and loved the price and it seemed to compare pretty closely to the Similac. For the first month and a half it was fine but then he started getting EXTREMELY constipated. It was hard to pin point the problem because he was starting all kinds of new foods and I never thought it could be the formula because he had been having it for so long. I was running out of options so I came on here and read the reviews and noticed there were a few other people that complained of constipation as well so I thought it's worth a try let's switch him back to the Similac Advance. Within a day he was back to normal! It's a great product but not for us! I'm happy to have my happy baby back!"
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:December 17, 2009

Upset my baby

Pros: price
Cons: upset baby's tummy
"First of all I love Costco and its Kirkland products, but this one I wouldn't recommend! It really upset my baby's stomach, I'm guessing gas."
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2009

Great product!

"This has worked great for us - we have been using it for over 11 months now. I agree with the previous poster, to fix the foam 'problem', just let the bottle sit a few minutes. This formula requires a bit more shaking than Enfamil or Similac to get the powder and water mixed properly, but if you shake good enough it's fine. The texture/mixing is the only difference I can tell, and for the price it is very much worth it."
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

great price, baby likes it, fixed the foam

"I switched my baby from similac advance to kirkland based on my sister's recommendation. my baby (6 months old) liked the taste immediately. To get rid of the foam, just mix the bottle in advance (needs to sit for 5 minutes or so for the bubbles to go away)."
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:December 4, 2009

Foam problem solved!

Pros: cheap, no constipation
Cons: foamy
"I have been looking for a good formula for my twins since weaning them off of breast milk. My daughter has spit-up issues and has a very sensitive tummy (both babies get constipated easily). I have tried Similac sensitive (spit-up, foamed like crazy, major lumps), the Allimentium (MAJOR spit-up and horrible taste and smell, foam, lumps), Nestle Good Start (BAD constipation). I really wanted to try Costco's formula but read that it foamed real bad. So, since the Good Start didn't foam, I decided to mix the 2 fomulas and IT WORKED. The Costco formula isn't foamy at all (can you tell I am happy???)
Here's my mix: 3 parts Costco Formula and 1 part Nestle Good Start. Basically 1/4 of the formula mix is the Good Start (don't shake vigorously)."
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009

Too much foaming.

Cons: too much foaming, doesn't dissolve completely
"This formula foams too much and doesn't dissolve entirely. My child still has bits of undissolved powder in the nipple when they are done eating. Definitely a formulation problem. Enfamil doesn't foam at all and the difference between them is very apparent."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ Infant Formula w/Iron 2/25.7 oz
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura CA
Date:November 12, 2009

Excellent Value!

Cons: non-recycleable container
"Twins!
Need I say more?
Both babies took to this right away. No fussing, gas or anything else.
Excellent for the money...."
1 2 3 4 next>>