Customer Reviews for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity

With Marble Top
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 18(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Review 1 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, Va
Date:February 14, 2009

Nice but

Pros: well built, priced well, shipped/arrived quickly
Cons: damaged during shipping, backordered replacment backsplash
"Well we certainly looked high and low for a suitable vanity to meet our needs. This Decolav unit was shipped quickly and appeared to be securely wrapped. The price point for this vanity is much better than those that need to be special ordered from the major vendors. For the most part we are pleased with the unit, the marble top is great along with the espresso finish. The "distressing" is a bit weird though, there is no actual distressing on the overall unit but "white lines" that appear of the edges of the cabinet and p ull out drawers". As another reviewer noted, a black sharpie will fix that just fine! Again, by far the unit is well made, quality and "heavy." As you can probably guess, the backplash was somehow cut in half during shipping which is hard to believe given the thickness of the marble backsplash and how well the unit was packed. There also appeared to be some really minor damage on the lower back portion of the unit, which is completely not an issue for us. We did call Costco right away who contacted Decolav. Much to our dismay, the backsplash is on backorder into April. Obviously, this really impacts the intstall as the unit is to be secured to the wall with the backsplash. Meaning we are going to have to have our "contractor" come back out later on in April! Overall we like the unit, the quality etc... the backordered backsplash is an inconvience!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2009

Great Find and Great Value

Model Number: DECOLAV Antiqued Expresso
"We have been looking for a vanity for a few months. The cost of most of them have been too much money for what we were not looking for. Most of the styles were too contemporary or too country. We were shopping at the Gilroy Costco just doing our normal shopping and we found this model here. It was exactly what we were looking for! The price was perfect and it was in stock. We loaded it up in our Explorer, some how, and brought it home. The quality is OK and it was easy to install. Like I said, we have been looking for a double sink vanity and Costco had the best price.
Thanks Costco!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 27, 2009

Great for the price!

Pros: price/value, sink quality, look/style
Cons: damaged, lame distressing
"This really is a great piece! The sinks are wonderful, marble is nice, the construction is good.
Cons -
1. Delivery/Damage - it came quick but the marble top was damaged! a nick and a long scratch - nothing tooo too bad, but why should i settle for a damaged vanity? It was very frustrating dealing w the manf. - they insisted that it was out of stock and would take a month+ to get a new one delivered (i see now another post had this same issue - and i am starting to think its just a bloy to get you to just keep it with the damage). I ended up getting 10% off after proofing that it was damaged - a bit of a hassle.
2. As others says, the "distressing" is rather lame - but its not noticable. I just think they'd be better to skip that part all together.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arcata, California
Date:December 30, 2008

Disappointing

Pros: shipped quickly!, packaged well!
Cons: white marble top is very grey, antiqued finish looks like stripes!
Model Number: not sure
"This product was shipped very quickly and packaged very well!!! I was disappointed in the "White" marble top. It is more grey than white making it look somewhat outdated. Also, the "antiqued" finish is not antiqued at all, rather it looks stripped and very uniform in the places they tried to make it look antiqued. In fact it is so hideous looking that I tried to fill in the white stripes with sharpie (black pen) and it looks much better. I am not a very picky person and I love most costco products, but this was not up to the style and quality level I was expecting."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco CA
Date:January 17, 2011

Looks good, smells bad!

Pros: well made good marble top
Cons: smells of solvent even after 1 year, no backsplash, distressed look makes it look "funky"
"Bought this unit over a year ago, goes well with our decor, well made, but price is a little high for one without backsplash. Got another unit 72" at Costco store for cheaper with backsplash. Big problem with this unit (and I am making a complaint about this) is that the unit smells of a strong solvent, something that was used in the paint. It is giving us headaches and I will be removing from bathroom!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:February 5, 2009

Good vanity for the price

"Very fast shipping and packaged well. Vanity is more black than espresso and uniformed distressed spots that don't quite look antique. However, good solid top and construction for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern New Jersey
Date:May 5, 2010

Not Perfect but amazing for the price

Pros: luxurious marble top
Cons: cheeseball "faux antiquing"
"Like other posters said, the color is black not espresso and the "antiquing" is a bit too evenly spaced and looks silly, nothing a furniture repair pen couldn't fix though. Drawer slides are a bit slow and sticky, but no big deal.
Delivery was not 3-5 weeks as the listing says, instead it took only eight days!!! Super well crated and packed
The top is the best part. Super thick, carrera marble that looks really high end.
Considering what comparable vanities sell for at DIY home stores and bath specialty stores, this is an absolute steal at this price. A similar custom fabricated top alone would cost more than this entire vanity."
Review 8 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:January 17, 2009

Wrong Color, Poor Finish

"The color is actually Black, not Espresso as claimed. I called Decolav to see if maybe there was a mistake, but they kept insisting that Black = Espresso. The finish is painted such that the wood grain is not visible.
The "antiqued" finished is actually just long small gouges taken out of the various corners, creating the striping effect noted by another reviewer.
Matching cabinet was received broken. It appeared that the glass door had been installed prior to shipment and had been ripped out of the hinges.
The wood itself seems substantial and sturdy."
Review 9 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 7, 2010

Very nice vanity!

"This vanity is definitely black in color, as are a lot of other "espresso" colored items. So definitely do not buy this if you are wanting a vanity with any hint of a darkish brown color, as you will be disappointed.
That said, I bought this expecting it to be black and am very happy with it. The sinks are quite large and the marble top is an excellent quality. It is an amazing value for the price! The only improvement that I would have wanted would have been soft closing cabinets and drawers."
Review 10 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 13, 2009

Fabulous Vanity

"We ordered this vanity because we couldn't find anything that we liked in the local area where we were building our house. It was a GREAT purchase!!! The vanity is perfect......it has just the right about of distressing on the paint and turned out better than the picture! We love it!!!"
Review 11 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:September 24, 2009

Loved It

"We had this vanity in our previous home & just loved it. As a matter of fact it was one of the main selling points when we sold our home. The new owners bought because they loved the master bath! Wish we had a place for it here."
Review 12 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Longmeadow, MA
Date:February 15, 2010

Very good purchase

Cons: had to buy a backsplash.
"Great vanity. Love the color, love the destressing. The marble top is beautiful. Did have to get a backsplash sparately, because it didn't come with one. Easy to match up, but it was $100 extra. Make sure you seal the marble."
Review 13 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2010

Bath Vanity

"We love our new vanity. It was just what we were looking for. The color the size, great mable top. The very Best price we could have found. Only thing missing was a back splash, but not a problem. Love......it!"
Review 14 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Suburban Philadelphia, PA
Date:January 7, 2009

Great value, sturdy construction.

Pros: great value, strong construction, beautiful sinks and countertop, costco's dedication to customer satisfaction
Cons: finish more distressed than expected, backsplash cracked during transit, long shipping time
"I found vanities in simlar styles in stores and on other websites. Most were priced between $1,500 and $3,000 without a countertop and sinks.
We are remodeling our master bathroom in a house we only intend to live in for another 3-5 years. If this was a long-term residence we would have sprung for a more expensive, solid wood vanity but we are trying to maximize our return on the home. We did not expect to like the marble top on this vanity and already had plans to replace with a darker granite. However, once the vanity arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and appearance of the marble top. The undermount sinks are very attractive, too.
Construction is sturdy, finish is nice, drawer and cabinet hardware looks great. Large drawers and ample cabinet space.
A couple notes: Distressed finish is more prominent than I had expected. Every 6 inches or so there is a distressed area. Looks good but will probably be tough to match another piece of furniture like a linen cabinet. Delivery time was right on schedule, maybe even a week early. Vanity comes packed in a large crate. If the box and crate look unscathed your vanity is probably in good shape. I stopped home during lunch to accept the delivery so opening the whole thing while the delivery company was there was not an option. After unpacking the entire vanity I noticed the backsplash was packaged separately on top and wrapped in foam. However, when I picked it up (61" long) it was broken in 3 pieces.
I contacted Costco and they promised a reply within a few days. I heard from them today and they are having the vendor send a replacement backsplash immediately. I am pleased, as usual, with Costco's customer service and recommend this purchase to anyone looking to spruce up their bathroom without breaking the budget."
Review 15 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stamford, CT
Date:September 8, 2009

great for price

Pros: really nice heavy marble top
"It's a really nice piece of furniture. It's black with a little white faux distressing. My space was exactly 60", so I had to have it cut, but it really looks custom now."
Review 16 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2010

Wrong Color

Pros: well made
Cons: not as described
"This is a well made vanity, but agree with the other reviews. It is not Espresso it is BLACK! The antiquing is too uniform but I can live with it. The countertop is nice."
Review 17 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:May 14, 2010

Great Purchase

Pros: great price well made and beautiful marble
Cons: distress finish (but easily fixed)
"Fast shipping; less than 2 weeks! The vanity is well made, great price and I love the thick carrera marble."
Review 18 for DECOLAV Antiqued Espresso Finish Double Vanity
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:February 9, 2011

good from far, far from good

"I'll separate my issues into 2 main groups, shipping and product quality.
Shipping:
Product arrived damaged due to poor handling during shipping. The shipper/shipping company only used a partial pallet which left part of the vanity unsupported. This lead the shipping crate to come appart and ultimately to a broken marble top. All appeared normal from the outside but once all the packing material came of, the damage was revealed.
I'll add that the overall rating was not affected by the shipping deficiencies.
Product quality:
1) Marble top was thick and bowls were nice but the marble had a flat finish and a lot of scratches/tooling marks. The top is 61" wide by the way, not 60".
2) The cabinet was made of solid wood and MDF. In many places the screws/fasteners were pulled out of the MDF probably due to the poor shipping procedures. Either way, screw fasteners and MDF aren't a strong joint.
3) Drawers/drawer slides are junk. They were difficult to open/close and keep on the tracks even without any contents in the drawer.
4) Finish - besides the super cheesy "distressed finish", the "espresso" was a black enamel or thermofoil style finish (i.e. cured on rather than painted/stained). In several places, the finish was blistering off revealing unprimed, unsealed wood or MDF below. You don't need much of an imagination to guess what this will look like in a damp bathroom a few years from now.
Regarding the super cheesy distressed finish, I'm not sure what others had but mine had white marks predictably located around the perimeter of all the drawers, doors and cabinet face frames. When I say predictably, it looks like someone used a ruler to add the "distress" marks at even intervals and even sizes around the piece. And why white? Aren't most distressed finishes actually showing the wood underneath the paint? In this case, it looks like its showing the primer underneath the paint except the blisters showed there was no primer!
Anyway, nice thing is Costco took this back without a fuss so they get 5 stars for customer service."