Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver

Kills 99% of Targeted Airborne Bacteria
Average Customer Rating:
3.674 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
7
36 of 49(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Review 1 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dearborn Heights, MI
Date:January 25, 2012

Not sure yet

Pros: quiet, stylish
Cons: light might be too strong
Model Number: UV-C Room Air Sanitizer EV-9-102
"A friend of mine told me about this product and how much it really helped him breathe better. so I gave it a shot and ordered one since I have a lot of allergy problem. I put it in the bedroom and after 2 hours I can smile the fresh air, that night I slept much better than before and after a week of using it I actually can say it works. but unfortunately after 10 day the light bulb burned which is not supposed to happened I call customer care and they are sending me a replacement one without any question, they were very professional about it. Since that night I am back to my old nights of turning and tossing"
Review 2 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2011

Bulbs don't last over a month

Pros: did what it said it would do but bulb doesn't last
Cons: lights start flickering within the first month
Model Number: Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
"I ordered the first Germ Guardian from Costco.com, loved the clean smell when coming in the house but the bulb didn't last a month, ordered a second one, same thing. I am returning them ASAP."
Review 3 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 16, 2011

Great Idea.......but!

Pros: eliminates odors cleans the air
Cons: bulbs don't last...
"I purchased one of these three years ago. I loved what it did: Odors disappeared, Allergy symptoms reduced, it was safe to run 24/7.
After the first year the bulb burned out. I ordered two new bulbs, and the first one lasted less than a week, and the second worked about a month.
I had to put it away for a while so that I could save up for more bulbs. i saw a review that someone had called the manufacturer, so I called. The rep was a little curt, but agreed to send a new bulb, the new bulb lasted a week, and my next call went unanswered at the manufacturer's number......I tried for three days.
I love the product....I just wish the bulbs were reliable.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:October 24, 2011

Bulbs don't last

Cons: expensive bulbs burn out quick
"Bought three of these last Christmas. I have an older verzion at the cabin that has been going strong 3 years.
The bulbs last 4 months. Father in law returned his after 1 month. I contacted Germ Guardian to send me more bulbs, which they did twice. But they all three burn out at four months. Not good. Returned all three last week. I give up!
"
Review 5 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2011

Haven't been able to try it very well

"I purchases this on 01/28/2011 by may (within 4 months) the light bulb didn'd work, it started to blink once I put the machine on, I left it on 24/7 at high per instructions. my son has asthma so i hoped this will help. the customer service rep wasn't all friendly but promised to send me replacement bulbs at no cost, since they are suppose to last 8-12 months. iam currently waiting for the bulb in order to try it again"
Review 6 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wa
Date:August 23, 2011

Really works. Best purchase ever.

"I purchased this 3 years ago when my boy was 4, he was sick a lot. I look for everything I could to help my boy not to get sick. Finally came across this one. I just replaced a bulb yesterday and this is my third bulb in the past 3 years. Each bulb last a year. I leave it on high and on all the time. Every time my husband replaced the bulb, it has a lot of dust, nasty stuff inside and you just need to clean it and put a new one in. When I first used, I don't like the light, too bright at night, but you can just get a big book let it stand up cover the light. After several years of used, boy only sick like once a year and very healthy."
Review 7 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaufort, SC
Date:July 17, 2011

Great Idea...But

Pros: does not off gas ozone!
Cons: bulb burns out in a short time
"I like everything about this Germ Guardian product except that the bulb burned out within two months. The bulb warranty is for one year but I ended up returning the product because I didn't want to be bothered with getting a replacement bulb every two months."
Review 8 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montville, NJ
Date:February 6, 2011

I have 3 units

Pros: seems to control odors well., can be left unattended to run continuously, seems to work removing musty smells., company very responsive replacing a defective unit, bulbs easy to change as well as filter
Cons: bulbs burn out quickly, filter needs to be cleaned/changed periodically
Model Number: Silver - Item# 156799
"Bought the first one because of musty smell in a finished basement room which later needed professional mold remediation. However I brought it shortly afterward to my mom's sick room. We did not notice the usual sick-room smells when in use. After a few months the bulb went out , I replaced the bulb then the fan went out. The company replaced that unit and then that bulb went out. In spite of those issues I bought 2 more and these are used in my finished basement. The smells are gone and the smokey smell after using the fireplace was removed in a couple of days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:February 1, 2011

Seems to do what it says

"We've used this filter for about two weeks and it appears to be doing everything it claims, even killing the odors. We put this in our little boys room, which smells like a little boys room, all you parents know what I'm talking about, now it smells fresh as can be! Not quite as "whisper" quiet as I had hoped, it has a small fan inside to circulate the air, so it sounds like a small fan circulating air. Although still really quite. It does have lights on it, not quite as bright as a night light but great for little kids. I would purchase this product again."
Review 10 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:mv, ma
Date:January 3, 2011

a very good deal

Model Number: germ guardian uv-c air sanitizer
"this unit is extremely well made, but even on the lowest setting, the fan is still too noisy to operate it in the bedroom at night. highest fan speed during the day is not an issue.
have been running it 24/7 as recommended.
air seems fresher, even with 3 dogs in the house.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Date:November 17, 2010

Good buy

Pros: looks good low noise
Cons: no information about safety
"I bought this item 2 weeks ago. I am using it for my baby's room. The carpet in wet whether stinks (from the previous tenant). I try to get rid of the bad smell and at the same time to kill the eventual mold and mildew. I think it does a good job. It changes the room odor and hopefully sanitize. I did not check it in humid whether yet."
Review 12 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:November 17, 2010

Great purchase

Pros: elliminates odors
"I liked this item so much I bought two.
One for the Day Care Room and one for the Dogs room. It really made a difference in the odor of the rooms. There were some days that the day care room smelled as bad as the dogs room. Now, they both smell the same all the time, clean. I haven't had it long enough to know if it has made a difference in preventing the spread of cold and flus.
"
Review 13 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:October 15, 2010

Alien Technology from the Future

Pros: alien technology from the future, actually cleans the air and reduces odors
Cons: the lights and fan noise may bother some people.
Model Number: Germ Guardian UV-C Air Sanitizer
"This thing looks like it came from the future, perhaps a warp core from the Star Trek Enterprise. The stainless steel design with blue accent lighting are mesmerizing, making this an instant conversation piece. You'll find yourself parroting the product literature in a robotic voice with comments like "UV light kills 99.9% of airborne flu germs." Your friends will be amazed as they discover that this futuristic--perhaps alien--device has seemingly transferred advanced scientific knowledge of air purification telepathically into your cerebral cortex.
I have a mold problem in my basement due to a slow water leak. This was causing me to cough a lot at night. Since installing the Germ Guardian, I don't cough as much at night and the house doesn't smell as musty."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 11, 2010

Whisper Quiet

"Maybe, if you work next to Jet Engines at full throttle all day.
Cannot have it turned on at night if you sleep, at any speed.
Best in a room without people and doors closed, let her go full speed.
Really for about $3.00 more manufacturing cost, they could have used a near silent fan. My best guess > 30 db, conservative."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:October 5, 2010

Bulbs don't last

Pros: works
Cons: 8000 hour bulb life a hoax
"It works when it works.
I have 2 and the bulb seems to last about a month or two.
They really need to sell replacement bulbs in 4 packs and be more realistic about longevity. Maybe 1500 hours would be more accurate - at $30 a pop!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa.
Date:September 22, 2010

Does not control odors

Pros: seems sturdy
Cons: does not control odor, strange looking everyone asks what it is
"I bought this for 2 reasons, my sons room is musty and it says it will kill mold spores, not sure if it is doing that or not, but it is not getting rid of or even lowering the amount of the musty smell. The room seems exactly the same, it has been 2 weeks. It is a very small room, it should have made a difference if it worked. Not sure if it is killing anything, can't measure, but if you want this for odor control, try something else! I am thinking of taking this back."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010

Excellent customer service

"I also had a challenge that the first bulb in my germ guardian went out quickly. Their customer service is wonderful. Mailed me out replacement immediately. The unit is now chugging away... air smells much better and I feel that the room is much healthier with it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:miami,florida
Date:March 26, 2010

very good but

Model Number: EV-9-102
"I like it alot its always on but if you think to change the bulbs once a year like they said,its wrong.WE need to change the bulbs at least twice a year..But no sikness in our house...Great buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santee, CA
Date:March 25, 2010

Awesome

"This UV air sanitizer cleans the air and definately helps with my allergies. It also gets rid of the odor of my dog."
Review 20 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:March 22, 2010

Disappointed

"We bought four of these Germ Guardian's. My middle son has allergies and my newborn seems to have sensitivities to mold and dust as well. So, we thought we'd give this product a try. Well I know it doesn't claim to be a miracle working but we still got really sick and the allergies symptoms were still lingering. The real downfall was when the lights started to flicker on 2 of them--after 3 WEEKS. I never called the company, I wish I did because the claim for the bulb to last a year isn't correct information. I guess if they are wrong about that I questioned the product altogether."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>