Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver

Kills 99% of Targeted Airborne Bacteria
Average Customer Rating:
3.674 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
(out of 49 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
7
36 of 49(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Review 1 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:long island, NY
Date:January 9, 2009

good enough for Mayo Clinic

Pros: works well and attractive
"Bought my first one at Mayo Clinic when I was there for surgery. Used it in the hotel room. Brought it home and plugged it in. That was a year ago and it's still working. I saw a difference in my air and feel safer with people coming and going. I have pets and I smoke, bad girl. Mine are the stainless color. I now have three and will get more. I also have four of the small ones in bathrooms. I don't notice the noise others speak of. I usually have soft music on. A good trade if I did. I notice there is a filter on top of the bulb area, and it was pretty clogged, so it might pay to clean that once a month or so , takes one screw and two minutes. I think that will help it be more efficient, and may make the bulbs last longer. I love them. If they use them at Mayo that's good enough for me. I wish all doctors offices had them. I also love the 'night light' effect of the blue light. I need a couple more. It doesn't have the ozone smell, had those and found they irritated my lungs, and didn't last at all. UV light is highly efficient at disinfecting and safe. get one you'll love it."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Florida
Date:October 23, 2009

Very effective unit

Pros: the blue light tells me it is working.
Cons: would love to see a larger unit
"It uses UV-C bulbs that are proven to kill bacteria, virus, etc.. They are relatively quiet and the fan runs slow. The slower the air flow over the bulb, the more effective the kill rate. We have used these for over 3 years. I agree, these bulbs last 4-6 months, I resolved the cost by buying only the replacement USHIO bulbs for around $10 on line."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, Colorado
Date:October 26, 2009

I think they are great!

"I bought 2 of these three years ago. I really only use them during the cold months (7 months out of the year) and my first bulb finally went out. I have no complaints. The fan runs a little loudly, but not enough to be bothersome. When I clean them out - 2-3 times/season - I am totally grossed out by the horrible smelling debris and do the job outside or in the garage. I picture the debris as all those germs it killed. I keep one running in the family room, then the other in the bedroom that needs it most at the time."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 26, 2008

good idea but poor design

Pros: probably kills germs
Cons: loud, bulb burnt too fast, too big
"1. The bulb burnt only after 2.5 months of use despite 1 year expectation. 2. The fan is too loud, it is only practical to use the device at the lowest speed, which means it is only good for tiny spaces and forget about keeping it in a bedroom, it is too noisy. 3. Note the size, it is not a small machine. It does take some real estate in a room."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 30, 2009

Bulbs don't last

Pros: manufacturer's customer service has been great., quieter than the hepa filter equipped saintizers
Cons: bulb replacement makes the unit expensive
Model Number: Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
"In the first three (3) months I had to replace the bulb in each of the three (3) units I purchased. In the first six (6) months I had to replace the bulb twice (2x) in two (2) of the units. Fortunately the manufacturer has been willing to replace the bulbs free of charge thus far. They claim they had a bad batch of bulbs and this is the reason why they have failed. Hopefully this is true and these replacement bulbs will last a year as the manufacturer claims."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il
Date:May 22, 2009

I LOVE these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Model Number: 2 Big Silver Models and 2 small ones
"I have 2 BIG MODELS, and getting a 3rd. I have one in the bedroom, and it is odorless and pristine smelling! (keep door closed at night)
I have one in the basement, as mold is a REAL killer. If I lived in Florida, I'd have one in every room, as we have a brother who died of a mold infection in his lungs. My units are workhorses and I have no problems with them. I also have 2 smaller ones in 2 bathrooms. (cats, you know!) Why not kill a germ without chemicals? Try one, you will love it, but keep the door closed a day to see the air quality difference. No more changing dusty filters! Yippee! I would never be without this product.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Modesto,CA
Date:November 3, 2008

like germs, there's good and bad

Pros: works great for a time
Cons: does not stand the test of time
"I have 3 non-working units. 2 worked great for about a year. Then i changed bulbs. Could not get them to work.. So got a new one which worked for about 4 months. None have worked with new bulbs. I thought i may have installed wrong, but i did not. I love how it works, when it did. But the product is more a disposable unit . To high a price for throw away. I bought several small units and they work great. And have worked for over a year."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:February 12, 2009

Very disappointed

Model Number: EV9102
"I had this product for only about 8 weeks when the red light began flickering signaling the bulb needed to be replaced. Now, just a few weeks later, the fan no longer runs. Additionally, when I took it apart to replace the bulb, I noticed that the receptable for the only screw was plastic and it had snapped off at some point in time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa Bay area, FL
Date:January 24, 2010

Working for me

Model Number: Germ Guardian Silver
"I bought 3 of these units: 1 for my son who is immuno-compromised and his wife who is pregnant. So far neither have had colds or flu since I bought these in August. The bulb did flicker and I gave him a replacement bulb I bought ahead of time after reading the previous posts. I suspect it has to do with his cats' fur and their not cleaning the filter.
As a school teacher, I am exposed to sneezing, coughing children everyday. I put one in my classroom in August and I have NOT been sick this school year at all! The kids think it is a big coffee maker :-) I put the 3rd in my family room and again none of us has been sick. My husband works at an airport and is exposed to the public and he has not even had sniffles. So I am going to say, for me it works and I am going to buy one for my new grandson's room.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Date:June 7, 2009

Bulb life is wrong

"I purchased two units and run them continuously. The bulb life is stated to be one year (8000 hrs), One unit's bulb lasted 3 months, and the other unit's bulb died after 4 months. However, they are very effective in killing germs."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 25, 2009

Not the Best

Pros: might work
Cons: loud, might not work
"It's louder than my fan and air filter and has suspect efficacy. You would be better off washing your hands instead of buying this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:January 14, 2010

Good, except the bulb

"Got this santizer in November, and felt like the air was immediately more crisp. Sickness?? We were probably less sick at first, then everyone still got colds, so I'm not sure-there are a lot of other rooms in the house, and I have two toddlers).
But, the bulb is already flickering which I read is the sign it needs to be replced. This should be under warranty, so I am hoping for a quick resolve.
It is quiet enough (you can turn down the fan speed when you sleep, if you'd like).
So, all in all, it might be a 4 or 5 star rating, if the bulb weren't already dying."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:October 15, 2010

Alien Technology from the Future

Pros: alien technology from the future, actually cleans the air and reduces odors
Cons: the lights and fan noise may bother some people.
Model Number: Germ Guardian UV-C Air Sanitizer
"This thing looks like it came from the future, perhaps a warp core from the Star Trek Enterprise. The stainless steel design with blue accent lighting are mesmerizing, making this an instant conversation piece. You'll find yourself parroting the product literature in a robotic voice with comments like "UV light kills 99.9% of airborne flu germs." Your friends will be amazed as they discover that this futuristic--perhaps alien--device has seemingly transferred advanced scientific knowledge of air purification telepathically into your cerebral cortex.
I have a mold problem in my basement due to a slow water leak. This was causing me to cough a lot at night. Since installing the Germ Guardian, I don't cough as much at night and the house doesn't smell as musty."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:March 22, 2010

Disappointed

"We bought four of these Germ Guardian's. My middle son has allergies and my newborn seems to have sensitivities to mold and dust as well. So, we thought we'd give this product a try. Well I know it doesn't claim to be a miracle working but we still got really sick and the allergies symptoms were still lingering. The real downfall was when the lights started to flicker on 2 of them--after 3 WEEKS. I never called the company, I wish I did because the claim for the bulb to last a year isn't correct information. I guess if they are wrong about that I questioned the product altogether."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:November 3, 2009

Save your money

Cons: very poor preformance as rated by the maker.
Model Number: EV-901-2
"I bought mine about 12 months ago. They said that the bulb would last around 8,000 hours. Well, the second one just burned out and at $30.00 a hit for replacements, it's over for me, to the trash!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:October 27, 2008

Good Product - Lousy Fans

Pros: works without needing a filter
Cons: cheap fan motors
"The product works as described. We have three of these units. The first one we ordered still works great. The other two (in the white color) make a constant rattling noise. We had one replaced and it makes the same noise. The fan that moves the air inside is cheap. You can notice the difference immediately. Thanks goodness for the Costco warranty."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East LA
Date:November 18, 2009

Good product

"We bought this unit in 2008 and in about 4 months the bulb went out. We call the customer service, they replacement for free. It work great, my kid have less allegy and flu since I put this unit in thier room I did save my medical bill.
The noise is a little loud at the begining but after a few days, my boys got use to it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010

Excellent customer service

"I also had a challenge that the first bulb in my germ guardian went out quickly. Their customer service is wonderful. Mailed me out replacement immediately. The unit is now chugging away... air smells much better and I feel that the room is much healthier with it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:October 5, 2010

Bulbs don't last

Pros: works
Cons: 8000 hour bulb life a hoax
"It works when it works.
I have 2 and the bulb seems to last about a month or two.
They really need to sell replacement bulbs in 4 packs and be more realistic about longevity. Maybe 1500 hours would be more accurate - at $30 a pop!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Germ Guardian® UV-C Air Sanitizer - Silver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:miami,florida
Date:March 26, 2010

very good but

Model Number: EV-9-102
"I like it alot its always on but if you think to change the bulbs once a year like they said,its wrong.WE need to change the bulbs at least twice a year..But no sikness in our house...Great buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>