Customer Reviews for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer

Yields 11 Cups of Cooked Rice
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Review 1 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Date:May 31, 2009

Excellant Rice Cooker with Warmer!

Pros: winner w/healthy rice, so easy to operate
Model Number: Tiger 5.5 cup rice cooker model # JAG-B10U
"So here's the scoop on this rice maker, I live in Hawaii and rice here reigns supreme, if you don't know how to cook it, well........you're not a serious cook. Anyway I can cook white perfect sticky rice, but for health reasons we switched to brown rice. well brown does not cook as white, and no matter what recipe I tried I could get my family to eat brown or wild rice. I happened upon the reviews for this rice cooker and according to the high ratings for brown rice, I decided to give it a try. Making the rice is too simple if you can read and measure thats it. I was hesitate at first when I saw the batch of brown rice, but when my picky, never eats brown rice daughter actually had a second helping, I was blown away :)) it came out perfect, not too dry or not overcooked. My brown rice even has wild rice mixed in with it. I do not usually write reviews, but I had to for this rice cooker, it's a cinch to clean just a word of caution: do not ever use the scrubby side of the sponge, it'll scratch the teflon coating, and the rice which I tested and left in the warmer for the max about of time, cleaned up like a dream. Ths product is a winner in my book, and believe me we locals in Hawaii take our rice very seriously."
Happy in Paradise, Birdie
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2009

too small, but makes great rice

Pros: makes great rice!
Cons: too small
"If I had known that the 5.5 cup capacity only applies to white rice, I would not have bought this model. If you are cooking brown rice, the maximum capacity is 3.5 cups. I'm returning it and getting the bigger version.
Also, the owner's manual says that the timer is powered by a lithium-ion battery which will last 4 or 5 years, but when it dies, you can't replace the battery youself-- you have to take it to a service center. The rice cooker will still work without the battery, but the timer/ clock won't.
Having said all of that, it really does make excellent rice."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:March 3, 2009

Better Than Zojirushi Rice Cooker

Model Number: JAG-B10U
"I have used the Tiger 5.5-cup rice cooker for about two weeks. I am very happy about it. First of all, it is the right size for my family. Secondly, it is easier to clean than the 10-cup Zojirushi Micom Fuzzy Rice Cooker that I owned before the Tiger rice cooker. Thirdly, it keeps my rice soft for 3 days. At the third day, the rice is not as soft as it was in the first day, but still soft enough. The rice didn't change color, either. My rice changed to brown in the second day when I used the Zojirushi rice cooker.
I am very happy with this rice cooker so far."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:June 22, 2011

Multi-Role Regular/Sweet Rice Cooker and more.

"It got premeasured marks for Regular/Brown/Sweet Rice and other recipes, make it extremely easy to cook Sweet Rice and other non-regular rice. Perfect Rice Cook. Love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2011

Great Buy

"This rice cooker is really good. It cooks and keeps th rice very good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:September 1, 2010

Love this Great Cooker

"I must say I really love this cooker. It has the brown rice option which allows me to cook brown rice without having to soak the rice over night like I had to before. I also use the timer a lot -- you set the time the rice should be cooked and it will do it for you. Another nice feature is that, the timer operates with a separate battery so even if there is power outage, the timer you set will not be lost and it will cook at the correct time!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:May 5, 2010

Great Rice Cooker

Pros: easy timer feature
Cons: unable to take inner lid off to wash but no biggie
"I use this everyday, and makes perfect rice everytime. Timer feature is excellent for busy mom like myself. Wash, Timer, and Go. I am from Japan, so I have had few rice cookers. Tiger product is very well known and reliable kitchen product. Most of us only make white rice, so we don't use much of other features. 5.5 cups size rests nicely on my small kitchen counters. I used to have 10cups since I have sushi parties often, but 5.5 is good size for family of 5."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:March 26, 2010

Great Product at Great Price

Pros: taste of rice, a lot of rice options, easy to use
Model Number: Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
"Before I made the purchase I did a lot of research on rice cooker and found that Tiger rice cooker had great reviews. Then, I shopped around for a good price and found Costco had the lowest price for the Tiger rice cooker.
After using this rice cooker for the past 8 months, we are very pleased with this rice cooker. The taste of rice is definitely better than my last rice cooker. Also, this cooker is very easy to use and has a lot of good options for different types of rice. The warner works really well. Rice is still warm hours after it has been cooked.
Highly recommend this great product with a great price from Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:May 6, 2009

Best value rice cooker with brown rice function

Cons: need bigger size for larger gatherings
"The best rice cooker with a brown rice function that I've used so far.
Rice is so fluffy."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cupertino, CA
Date:April 25, 2009

JAG-10B

"One word - Awesome. I have never used Zojirushi, but after using this I couldn't justify buying it over this which is almost $60 cheaper."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2010

A cup is 6 oz! Max brown rice = 2.5 American cups

Model Number: Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
"After all the reviews talking about how much rice this 5.5 "cup" rice maker can make, I thought for-sure it would handle the 3 cups of brown rice I'd like to make for a meal. (My current, large, rice maker isn't really up to the task.)
Wrong.
The max for *brown* rice is 3.5 "cups", which is just about 2.5 American 8-oz cups.
I'm returning this one and going for the 10 "cup" one.
"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:michigan
Date:July 13, 2011

Tiger rice cooker

Model Number: jagb10u
"The jasmine rice came out really good but the sticky rice did not cook all the way through. I am not exactly sure how to make a perfect sticky rice from this rice cooker. When I cook for the first time, I did not soak the rice and it was not done I had to put some more water and cook it again. The second time,I soak the rice before I cook, it came out wet.It does not say in the instruction how to cook a perfect sticky rice. (soak the rice first or don't have to) I think it will be very good if it says more details for each kind of rice about how to cook a perfect rice in the instruction.Because I did not know,I kind of have a hard time to figured out."
Review 13 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2011
"Good product. Compares well with other cookers that costs much more."
Review 14 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2011

Easy to use and great results

"Never owned a reice cooker before but this was easy to use and I love the programming feature which allows me to leave in the a.m. and have perfectly cooked rice when I get home in the evening."
Review 15 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 18, 2011

A Healthy Choice

Pros: nonstick surface is easy to clean.
Cons: could use a vegetable steaming basket.
Model Number: Item # 164219
"Surpasses my old low tech rice cooker in features and quality of the rice cooked. Makes perfect brown rices. Have tried with arbio, brown jasmine, brown basmati, and mixed rices. Makes perfect steel cut oats (chopped oats rather than pressed oats) and reconstitutes a variety of dried fruits for a healthy breakfast. Nice size for an individual or a couple."
Review 16 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:March 11, 2011

Excellent Quality and Versatility

"Love this Rice Cooker! Great for brown rice, white rice and my new favorite, steel cut oatmeal. Timer is very helpful, especially for setting up oatmeal at night to be ready for breakfast the next morning. Keep warm function works perfectly and doesn't burn your rice. Highly recommended"
Review 17 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 26, 2011

How'd I Live Without It???

Pros: costco return policy if you don't like it., costco price., tiger brand reputation for rice cookers., easy operation.
Cons: internal lid does not detach for cleaning., battery is not user replaceable.
Model Number: JAG-B10U
"First rice cooker owned EVER! I always laughed at others who used one. I mean who can't cook rice in a pot or microwave? Well, I've been trying to eat healthier, so I have been trying to eat oatmeal for breakfast. Since trying steel cut oatmeal, nothing else will do, but it takes too long to cook in the morning. So, I tried using a slow cooker, which works, but for a single serving, my 2qt slow cooker was still too big and getting too hot, so the oatmeal was getting stuck to the sides. I could have tried using a smaller slow cooker, but I had read about people using these micom rice cookers with excellent results, so I took the plunge. Kinda expensive to make oatmeal, but I really liked the timer feature where I can set the time I want the finished product ready. With the slow cooker, I had to plug it into a wall timer so it would start at the right time. Well, whaddaya know, (with overnight soaking) it makes a perfect single serving of steel cut oatmeal, and I have never had such PERFECT rice at home before! It is also the easiest way to make rice - now I understand why people use these things. Just wished Costco offered the model with a detachable internal lid. When I make oatmeal, it bubbles up and gets on the inside lid. I sponge it clean, but it would be easier at the sink. The steam vent is detachable and easy to seperate and clean. I don't have the issue when I make rice. As others have stated, the internal battery is not user replaceable, but it is only used when the machine is unplugged, so I leave it plugged it. Saved a lot of money buying from Costco, too!"
Review 18 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

Model Number: JAG-B10U
"I have purchased several rice cookers in the past, however, this rice cooker is superior to all others.The rice comes out really fluffy. The menu buttons are great. It takes the guess work out of cooking rice, especially brown rice. If you want your rice to cook and be ready for dinner and you're not home, there is a timer feature which allows you to set the cook start time. Then there's the keep warm feature which is priceless. Besides, it's compact."
Review 19 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2010

Great Rice cooker

Pros: rice lasts a lot longer than cheap rice cookers, cooks rice perfectly, has countdown and alarm for when rice is cooked
Cons: countdown when it's closer to cooked not from beg.
"I've seen these at asian grocery stores. Even at the big chains, these would be A LOT more expensive than for how much costco sells them. We are asian and rice is a staple. We got this as a wedding present and have enjoyed it thoroughly.
This has been great for two and the occasional 1 or two more guests staying over. If you have a bigger family and if you eat rice 3 meals a day, you may want
the bigger version.
"
Review 20 for Tiger 5.5-cup Rice Cooker/Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:June 29, 2010

A lot better than the cheap ones

Pros: well-made, compact, good value
"I've used it about 5 times so far, and the quality of rice is much better than our previous rice cooker. The dual-timers are a neat feature, no doubt a result of Asian families making 2 batches of rice daily, for breakfast/lunch and dinner.
I will start putting a bit less water than I usually do, because the rice has been a bit overcooked once or twice. That's not the rice maker's fault, obviously.
It does take longer to make rice in this cooker compared to our previous one, but the product is much better. The key to good rice is slow cooking.
Now I look forward to eating brown rice. It comes out so tender and delicious."
1 2 next>>