Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer

Includes: Secrets of Power Juicing Book and Recipes for Healthy Living Book
Average Customer Rating:
3.511 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
30 of 45(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Review 1 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:December 14, 2009

Excellent Value

"I have been juicing consistently for the last 10 years and have gone through 5 or 6 juicers along the way.
I have used this particular juicer for the last 5 years and have been more than impressed.
The first PowerJuicer that I purchased did have an issue with the part in which the blade threads on. This is partly my fault and partly a minor design flaw. It is a plastic screw/bolt type fixture and because I was overtightening, it stripped the plastic over time. I had actually used the juicer for approximately 1 year prior to this happening. Fortunately, our good friends at Costco allowed me to trade it in for the exact same juicer, (which they had since upgraded).
I have had the current PowerJuicer for about 2 years and use it 2-4 times per day. That is alot of wear and tear!
I have experienced a bit of slow-down while juicing some harder vegetables such as carrots, but much of this has to deal with the amount of force that the operator applies during the juicing process.
The hopper is a nice size and will allow several larger carrots, whole apples, (smaller apples).
I have juiced everything from melons, (and their rinds), to apples and carrots with virtually no problems
I could not disagree more with other reviewers who state that it is difficult to clean. I find it quite easy. I often times put a plastic bag in the waste chamber to eliminate one part of the process. Produce prep time is very reasonable.
Overall, a very good machine at a modest price.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Audubon,PA
Date:December 8, 2009

Not strong & stopped working after few uses

Pros: quite
Cons: constant jams not good for beets and carrots, not strongcord is inconveniently placedstalls, does not come with a juice ja
"I bought this product a month ago after watching the Advertisement on TV and reading reviews of several users from costco and other websites.
Initially the piece worked fine for apples, pears,celery. I had to cut carrots and beets into small chunks and this was fine with me.
seemed to work fine until few days.
Then,I always had problems with Carrots and beets not juicing well. I had to cut them into very smaller pieces and constantly had to get them unstuck in order to juice well. Often times, the engine will completely stop and have to take it apart to get the jammed fruits out.
Occasionally, the juicer makes burrr....sound when u add carrots and beets pieces and it splatters on counter top. Most of the pulp got stuck in the top part of the machine.
I thought it was a defective piece and exchanged it with a new one and this new one was worse. Atleast the first one gave me some juice but the new one would constantly stop or completely stop and have to take it apart to get the jammed fruits out.For carrots and beets
the engine will stop or spit the fruits out of the chute at times instead of directing the fruits to the center of the blade.
Overall, it was tough to juice when the juicer is not giving good results. I am happy that for some people atleast its working well. I am returning mine.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:November 20, 2009

O.K., but you probably could do better

Pros: looks good, quiet motor, does the job, lasts long time
Cons: not stainless on inside, cheap plastic parts, difficult to clean, stalls on carrots, spout too low
Model Number: MT-1000
"I have used this every day for 4-5 years, so I am qualified to make a judgement. I juice carrots, apples, celery, and limes together every morning. I have to nurse the carrots through or it jams. I have to be very careful with setup or it splatters on counter. Cleanup is messy, especially the little gasket on the spout. The plastic parts inside show wear (am I eating plastic?). My next juicer (soon) will be all stainless inside and out and easier to clean"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 5, 2009

Excellent Juicer! highly recommended

Pros: works great easy to clean, very good for your health as long as you use it!
Cons: not truly stainless steel.
"My wife and I have had this juicer for about 10 months now. We use it at least once or twice a day, so we have a lot of experience now to comment on. We have juiced apples, carrots, pears, all kinds of fruits and greens like spinach, kale, collard greens, mustard greens, dandelion greens, red swiss chard, red beets, garlic, ginger, limes and lemons, oranges. I could go on and on. It has benefitted us tremendously to have raw living juices in our diet. I've lost 20 pounds. And I wasn't even trying.
Clean-up is a snap. About 5 minutes. Just do it right away before the stuff hardens inside. We put a plastic bag in the pulp bin and it saves having to wash it out. The pulp makes great compost to enrich your garden.
Several of our family members have bought this juicer after seeing ours, and they all like it. You just have to learn how to use it. Every machine has it's operating limits. Try to jam stuff through too quickly or too much at once and yes, you can jam it up and make it stop. READ the directions, take your time and learn how the machine works, and you'll be fine. Go slow at first and learn the machine's capabilities. It's not rocket science.
My only complaint is that it isn't truly stainless steel. It looks like stainless but it's all plastic inside. But what do you expect for $89.00? This same juicer is $149 on the infomercial, plus shipping! You want all stainless, you'll pay $400 on up. You can even buy replacement parts on the website (not costco, but Jack LaLane's) when you wear them out.
I'm very glad to have this juicer. For the money, it's one of the best purchases I've made for our health."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2009

too much work

"did a decent job juicing but the CLEANUP IS NOT WORTH THE EFFORT. Too many parts, blade a pain to unlock and relock, takes up the sink twice and then the entire counter to go through the process. You have to clean after EACH use or the pulp hardens like concrete. Buy the Breville instead."
Review 6 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:September 27, 2009

worst appliance I ever purchased.

Model Number: From Costco Jack Lalane Juicer.
"First of all, let me say I read the instructions and reread them when I could not get it to work. I tryed apples and a carrot. The apples clogged it as well as the carrot. It made a horrific mess getting it unclogged. It took me about 15 mins to get about 4 ounces of juice and another 30 to clean up the mess. I had to take it apart so many times to unclog it that I finally did not get it back together well, (from frustration) and it sprayed everywhere. I have many appliances. Some I love, some just ok. This is the first one I have packed up and returned within an hour of opening it. My husband was assisting, and he was just as disgusted with it as I was. We are both the kind of people who can do almost anything so it is hard to believe we just couldn;t follow instructions. Maybe we got a lemon but it would be hard to convince me."
Review 7 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Coast
Date:August 31, 2009
"I have had this unit for about two years now and it is used at least six days a week, so I guess I can give a pretty good review after reading all the others.
My morning juice regiment usually consists of 1-2 carrots, one granny smith apple, 1-2 stalks of Celery, two handful of grapes with stems, 1-2 ounces of Ginger root, one tomato, sometimes I put in parsley or wheat grass, a 3/4" slice of pineapple, one orange and any other fruit I might have laying around.
I core my apples. Grapes I throw in with stems. Oranges are peeled. Ginger is tossed in with the skin. I remove the pineapple rind.
Pros - I can honestly say I have never had an issue with Carrots stopping the unit, and that’s putting two in at a time. The only way I could even see this unit stopping is if I forced the carrot’s through by excessive down pressure.
The comments about pulp spraying out all over the place is because people don’t have the pulp holder secured in place. There is a lip on the discharge cover that the pulp holder fits into. If you don’t have that properly set up then you get pulp all over the place. Duhhhahhhh Read the instructions people!!!
Unit is relatively easy to take apart and clean. About five minutes. First rinse off all the pulp and then clean with soap and water and then air dry. You will need a brush to clean the grinder disc. A sponge just gets eaten up. The spout comes out very easily and the rubber stopper is removed by pulling it out. PS: I use a two cup measuring cup to discharge the juice into. When reinstalling the stopper you need to make sure it is pulled through completely and the tab that holds it in place is all the way through, otherwise it falls out, as others have mentioned.
Con’s - The stainless steel finish is a joke. It’s stainless finish on plastic. Mine is wearing off everywhere and now has made the unit look like something out of garage sale. (if it was not for this flaw I would have given it 5 stars)
Thank god for Costco’s liberal return policy. Mine will probably go back shortly.
Ginger root has a tendency to clog the cutting disc, so I make sure that I add something with high liquid content, grapes, tomatoes, etc.. when I juice ginger. Seems to solve the problem."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009

Very happy with this purchase!

"I had been looking into getting a juicer for a couple weeks now. I looked into several brands and read reviews. As nice as it would be to get the top of the line I was not prepared to pay $400 for a juicer. I ended up purchasing the Jack La Lanne juicer from Costco. Best price for it out there.
I have been very happy with my purchase. It does what it says it will, it is easy to clean and does not take a long time to clean. I timed myself and cleaning it top to bottom(well) took me 5 mins. I read quite a few negative comments about this juicer but what product is there not a complaint about. Someone always has to complain. So far I have made carrot juice(they did not jam up if you use the pusher like you are supposed too), cucumber juice, strawberry juice(my fav so far), pear juice, tomato juice and celery juice and the Jack La Lanne Juicer has done its job everytime.
I recommend for anyone out there who does purchase one 'read the manual' before operating. It has instructions and if you follow them this will make some great juice for you.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San diego CA
Date:April 29, 2009

Do Not Buy!!

Pros: looks good on counter., quite motor
Cons: motor stalls on simple tasks like carrots., too many steps for cleanup., juice spout is located to low on machine., does not come with a juice jar.
Model Number: JLSS
"This product was a total disapointment. I had it for two days and was shocked at how poor it performed. It actually would stall and jam on one carrot. I have an old moulinex juicer that I used for years, and it never stalled or jamed on one carrot. Also, clen up has way to may steps to perform compared to other juicers. My advice to you is do not buy, and my advice to Costco is to get it out of your stores. Total waste of time. Trust me when I say, "You Will return It". I took it back and exchanged it for the Oster Juicer #3167. Much better machine and for half the price. This one really works!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach, Florida
Date:April 22, 2009

This is an excellent product

Model Number: SSMT1000 ITEM 108709
"Okay I am a male I am loving this product. I saw it on TV and only reason I bought it was because Costo back it up. I thought if costo sell it is because the product is very good. anyways I thought if it is not good simply would return it. So far it goes as good as expected. As a matter of fact I went today to buy another one for my mother to give it to her as a birthday present. I just call the store in sample florida and they told me will have it by friday. Any ways before I was concerned because I sew some reviews with some negatives comments. but this product is definetelly good. now My wife is trying to make the muffins as of now, cause the good thing you could use all the pulp to make healty muffing, delicious soup, dressings and many other things.... Also the product come 85 % put togheter I would say 95%, it is like a remote only thing you have to do is put the battery inside.... so pretty easy ..... Loving it and highly recomend it.... An the cleaning is so easy... it has a brush that cleans the filter perfectly.... this is a great product...."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cupertino, CA
Date:April 22, 2009

Great Juicer

Model Number: Model SSMT1000
"Very easy to clean. The machine come a part and is easy to wash all the parts. Motor is whisper quiet. Had no problems juicing carrots. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a heavy duty juicer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:April 21, 2009

Do not go for this

Model Number: Deluxe
"I have brought it & tried juicing apple..which got stuck...then tried carrot ...got stuck again...always have to stop in between to remove those stuck pieces...very disappointing.
The 3 times I used, left me frustrated...So returned.
Do not go for it...there are better products like Breville
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:honolulu hawaii
Date:April 18, 2009

love this,,,, so do kids

Model Number: as shown
"i was wondering after reading some other reviews about the power,, after getting one I've come to the conclusion that those who have trouble probably didn't read the instructions on how to juice, some things like carrots are slightly more difficult, i've not had any issues with mine, and clean up is a snap, 5 minutes at the most by hand.
now i can get my kids to have their veggies and like them too. if your really creative get an osterizer too to make smoothies. also motor is very quiet, a definet plus.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:April 17, 2009

faulty piece

Model Number: 108709
"i agree with the below review. i had only used my juicer about 10 times when the clear/white rubber piece on the dispenser fell off. because it is inserted into the metal piece, it basically gets chopped off by the metal when you wash it. poor design. also, it seems like a minor part but without it the juice runs through the hole and all over the base and on your countertop. the company needs to take responsibility for this design flaw and offer a replacement piece at no charge!"
Review 15 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 9, 2009

Good juicer, problem w/customer service

Pros: fast juice
Cons: manufacturer disinterested
"I love this juicer that I've been using almost every day since I bought it a few weeks ago. This morning the little rubber piece in the spout disappeared and when I called customer service they said they couldn't help me because I bought it from Costco, not from them. They did sell me an entire new spout mechanism, but refused to log my complaint, saying that if it was in fact a design flaw, they would have had many complaints already."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Valencia, CA
Date:March 31, 2009

Not strong enough & stopped working after 3 uses

"Always had problems with Carrots not juicing well. I had to cut them into smaller pieces and constantly had to get them unstuck in order to juice well. Often times, the engine will completely stop and have to take it apart to get the jammed fruits out.
It finally stopped working after only using for 3 times."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:March 30, 2009

Worse juicer I ever purchased

"I bought this juicer mainly for orange juice & am returning it. I don't know if they're all like this or I got a lemon but it's sure not what the infomercials says. I had juice spilling out from everywhere, the pulp was discarding out one side which got jammed, I had to take it apart after every 6 or so oranges to clean it. What a pain."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2009

Excellant product

Model Number: Jack lalanne
"This is the first juicer I have owned, and it worked perfect. Cleaning this juicer is easy and took less than five minutes. Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:March 28, 2009

Great juicer!

Model Number: I felt the drive plate should have lasted longer.
"Had my juicer for about 6 years and never had any problems. We used it to juice tomatoes from our garden and worked it hard. The plastic drive plate cracked and eventually broke but the motor was still good. I am replacing it with another Jack Lalanne."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Converse, TX
Date:March 21, 2009

Awesome Juicer

Pros: extracts juice well, generates lots of pulp for other uses, easy to clean
Cons: spout is a little low
"I have had a Jack LaLane juice for 5 or 6 years. This is the best juicer I have ever owned. It does a great job of extracting the juice from fruits and veggies; I have even juiced spinach, celery and the harder variety of pears! I have never had a problem with items jamming in the juicer as others have mentioned. I juice a lot of carrots and haven't had one jam or caused the machine to slow yet. Of course you cannot juice soft items like bananas, but it is hardly an inconvenience. And, some items such as kiwi or citrus you should peal which isn't a problem either since you normally wouldn't eat that anyway.
Cleaning is pretty easy. It takes only 5-10 minutes to take apart and clean. It also comes with cleaning tools to help make the job a little easier.
If I could make changes to the juicer I would put the power cord on the opposite side--opposite of the power switch. It would also be handy to have the spout a little highter. The current design works fine with the catch cup that comes with the juicer or a 4 cup measuring cup, but it would be nice to be able to put a glass under the spout."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>