Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer

Includes: Secrets of Power Juicing Book and Recipes for Healthy Living Book
Average Customer Rating:
3.511 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
(out of 45 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
30 of 45(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Review 1 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009

Very happy with this purchase!

"I had been looking into getting a juicer for a couple weeks now. I looked into several brands and read reviews. As nice as it would be to get the top of the line I was not prepared to pay $400 for a juicer. I ended up purchasing the Jack La Lanne juicer from Costco. Best price for it out there.
I have been very happy with my purchase. It does what it says it will, it is easy to clean and does not take a long time to clean. I timed myself and cleaning it top to bottom(well) took me 5 mins. I read quite a few negative comments about this juicer but what product is there not a complaint about. Someone always has to complain. So far I have made carrot juice(they did not jam up if you use the pusher like you are supposed too), cucumber juice, strawberry juice(my fav so far), pear juice, tomato juice and celery juice and the Jack La Lanne Juicer has done its job everytime.
I recommend for anyone out there who does purchase one 'read the manual' before operating. It has instructions and if you follow them this will make some great juice for you.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ca.
Date:January 9, 2009

If you want great juice, buy this juicer!

"My husband just received this juicer for a holiday gift. We have used it every since and love it. We did a lot of research on this juicer before requesting it as his gift. Many of the reviewers on this,and other sites that sell it, were for the most part very favorable. For those of you that had mechanical problems, you got a lemon!. For those reviewers that state that it is hard to clean, make sure to clean as soon as you have used it washing with very hot water. My husband has it down to 3 minutes to take apart and have cleaned. Also add a plastic bag (produce style) to the bucket. Freeze the pulp in those bags and use to bake and make baby food. That way you have used the full potential of your fruits. Better for us, better for the planet. We made apple juice with one large red apple for our 2 year old nephew and he said "Yum" when he drank it. Costco is the best place to shop for everything! They stand behind their products like no other store out there!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach, Florida
Date:April 22, 2009

This is an excellent product

Model Number: SSMT1000 ITEM 108709
"Okay I am a male I am loving this product. I saw it on TV and only reason I bought it was because Costo back it up. I thought if costo sell it is because the product is very good. anyways I thought if it is not good simply would return it. So far it goes as good as expected. As a matter of fact I went today to buy another one for my mother to give it to her as a birthday present. I just call the store in sample florida and they told me will have it by friday. Any ways before I was concerned because I sew some reviews with some negatives comments. but this product is definetelly good. now My wife is trying to make the muffins as of now, cause the good thing you could use all the pulp to make healty muffing, delicious soup, dressings and many other things.... Also the product come 85 % put togheter I would say 95%, it is like a remote only thing you have to do is put the battery inside.... so pretty easy ..... Loving it and highly recomend it.... An the cleaning is so easy... it has a brush that cleans the filter perfectly.... this is a great product...."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Converse, TX
Date:March 21, 2009

Awesome Juicer

Pros: extracts juice well, generates lots of pulp for other uses, easy to clean
Cons: spout is a little low
"I have had a Jack LaLane juice for 5 or 6 years. This is the best juicer I have ever owned. It does a great job of extracting the juice from fruits and veggies; I have even juiced spinach, celery and the harder variety of pears! I have never had a problem with items jamming in the juicer as others have mentioned. I juice a lot of carrots and haven't had one jam or caused the machine to slow yet. Of course you cannot juice soft items like bananas, but it is hardly an inconvenience. And, some items such as kiwi or citrus you should peal which isn't a problem either since you normally wouldn't eat that anyway.
Cleaning is pretty easy. It takes only 5-10 minutes to take apart and clean. It also comes with cleaning tools to help make the job a little easier.
If I could make changes to the juicer I would put the power cord on the opposite side--opposite of the power switch. It would also be handy to have the spout a little highter. The current design works fine with the catch cup that comes with the juicer or a 4 cup measuring cup, but it would be nice to be able to put a glass under the spout."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:October 25, 2008

Good stuff!

Pros: healthy fresh juice
Cons: not fun to clean
"I've had other juicers before and this is the best so far. Nice and quiet but very powerfull. It does a great job. It claims that you get more juice than other juicers and I would have to agree. The pulp at times is almost dry. I'ts amazing. The family has had fun trying new combinations. We love pineapple, apple orange, carrot juice YUM
I gave it 4 stars cuz I hate to clean it. :)
"
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:November 20, 2009

O.K., but you probably could do better

Pros: looks good, quiet motor, does the job, lasts long time
Cons: not stainless on inside, cheap plastic parts, difficult to clean, stalls on carrots, spout too low
Model Number: MT-1000
"I have used this every day for 4-5 years, so I am qualified to make a judgement. I juice carrots, apples, celery, and limes together every morning. I have to nurse the carrots through or it jams. I have to be very careful with setup or it splatters on counter. Cleanup is messy, especially the little gasket on the spout. The plastic parts inside show wear (am I eating plastic?). My next juicer (soon) will be all stainless inside and out and easier to clean"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2009

Is this returnable!?!?!?!?

"I saw the infomercial last night and wanted one. I was thrilled when I found out how cheap costco was selling them.
This was an absolute crushing disappointment. I expected the infomercial to be an exaggeration, but this product shocked me.
On the commercial they make apple juice, and then show that a tiny amount of bone dry pulp has landed into the easy to clean plastic bin.
WRONG!!! WRONG!!! WRONG!!!!
What actually happens is a huge amount of soaking wet pulp explodes EVERYWHERE! Including out the sides of the machine! Only about 50% of the pulp ever makes it into the plastic bin.
You are not supposed to get the base wet, yet gunk gets all over it. It has a bunch of nooks and cranies that are very hard to clean.
I played around with this for a few hours. I tried it exactly like the instructions say and it didn't matter.
It literally takes an hour to get this piece of junk clean, or you will have a major bacteria farm in your kitchen!"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toms River, NJ
Date:March 1, 2009

Don't Buy Jack LaLanne Juicer

"Just tired it out brand new with Costco's own carrots. The carrots jam and stall the motor! The satinless steel is just a wrapper on the plastic juicer. I'd be ashamed to call it stainless steel or 'power' for that matter. I'll return it tomorrow, don't waste your gas and time like I did. I know why they call it Jack LaLanne--you need his arms to get a carrot through this thing."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Coast
Date:August 31, 2009
"I have had this unit for about two years now and it is used at least six days a week, so I guess I can give a pretty good review after reading all the others.
My morning juice regiment usually consists of 1-2 carrots, one granny smith apple, 1-2 stalks of Celery, two handful of grapes with stems, 1-2 ounces of Ginger root, one tomato, sometimes I put in parsley or wheat grass, a 3/4" slice of pineapple, one orange and any other fruit I might have laying around.
I core my apples. Grapes I throw in with stems. Oranges are peeled. Ginger is tossed in with the skin. I remove the pineapple rind.
Pros - I can honestly say I have never had an issue with Carrots stopping the unit, and that’s putting two in at a time. The only way I could even see this unit stopping is if I forced the carrot’s through by excessive down pressure.
The comments about pulp spraying out all over the place is because people don’t have the pulp holder secured in place. There is a lip on the discharge cover that the pulp holder fits into. If you don’t have that properly set up then you get pulp all over the place. Duhhhahhhh Read the instructions people!!!
Unit is relatively easy to take apart and clean. About five minutes. First rinse off all the pulp and then clean with soap and water and then air dry. You will need a brush to clean the grinder disc. A sponge just gets eaten up. The spout comes out very easily and the rubber stopper is removed by pulling it out. PS: I use a two cup measuring cup to discharge the juice into. When reinstalling the stopper you need to make sure it is pulled through completely and the tab that holds it in place is all the way through, otherwise it falls out, as others have mentioned.
Con’s - The stainless steel finish is a joke. It’s stainless finish on plastic. Mine is wearing off everywhere and now has made the unit look like something out of garage sale. (if it was not for this flaw I would have given it 5 stars)
Thank god for Costco’s liberal return policy. Mine will probably go back shortly.
Ginger root has a tendency to clog the cutting disc, so I make sure that I add something with high liquid content, grapes, tomatoes, etc.. when I juice ginger. Seems to solve the problem."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:December 14, 2009

Excellent Value

"I have been juicing consistently for the last 10 years and have gone through 5 or 6 juicers along the way.
I have used this particular juicer for the last 5 years and have been more than impressed.
The first PowerJuicer that I purchased did have an issue with the part in which the blade threads on. This is partly my fault and partly a minor design flaw. It is a plastic screw/bolt type fixture and because I was overtightening, it stripped the plastic over time. I had actually used the juicer for approximately 1 year prior to this happening. Fortunately, our good friends at Costco allowed me to trade it in for the exact same juicer, (which they had since upgraded).
I have had the current PowerJuicer for about 2 years and use it 2-4 times per day. That is alot of wear and tear!
I have experienced a bit of slow-down while juicing some harder vegetables such as carrots, but much of this has to deal with the amount of force that the operator applies during the juicing process.
The hopper is a nice size and will allow several larger carrots, whole apples, (smaller apples).
I have juiced everything from melons, (and their rinds), to apples and carrots with virtually no problems
I could not disagree more with other reviewers who state that it is difficult to clean. I find it quite easy. I often times put a plastic bag in the waste chamber to eliminate one part of the process. Produce prep time is very reasonable.
Overall, a very good machine at a modest price.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:January 11, 2009

Love the juicer but it is not dishwasher safe!

Pros: makes great juice and leaves the pulp dry.
Cons: not dishwasher safe!
"My husband gave me this juicer for Christmas. I loved making juice with it for 2 days. The third day I made juice, then decided to put it in the dishwasher instead of hand washing it. The strainer got bent out of shape so the next time I tried to use it it made a loud noise and left black plastic pieces in the juice.
I will have to return it and get a new one. I defiantly want the same product again but I will only wash it by hand from now on. I'm glad he bought it from Costco so that it will not be a problem.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 25, 2008

My first juicer and I LUV it!

Pros: not a drop of liquid left in pulp., easy to use.
Cons: not dishwasher safe!!, sometimes carrots get stuck & machine stops.
"I love this juicer, but only bad thing was that it said that it is dishwasher safe. Unfortunately, it is not! The little basket that catches the pulp got bent out of shape & the piece that pushes the veggies & fruit looks like a balloon now. I guess it's not heat resistant & that part got deformed & now gets stuck. Now I have to return it & get a new one. I will have to wash it by hand from now on."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:November 2, 2008

Great Product after making mistakes

Pros: powerful, less waste
Cons: when i purchased in feb at costco price was quite, higher
"Found easier to clean if you use a small plastic bag in the pulp container. Also carrots really stain."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Landenberg, PA
Date:October 27, 2008

I recommend

"My 8 months baby loves it! I use it everyday, and it's easy to clean; not fun, but easy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:January 25, 2009

Greatest Gift Ever!

Model Number: Exact as pictured
"This juicer is perfect. It is easy to use and easy to clean. In 10 minutes you can go from washing fruit to having the juicer cleaned on the draining board ready for tomorrow! I have not put mine in the dishwasher, hand washing right after use is so fast, and they even provide a scrub brush (I use it for the filter). No small pieces to figure out either. I scrubbed and cored/peeled the fruit and used the pulp for the most amazing muffins! the pulp was so dry that I added a little of the apple juice back in first. I made apple/orange/cantalope/carrot muffins and my 5 & 8 year old loved them! I did not add sugar or fat. The juice is so delicious, the combinations are endless, your kids won't even notice that you added in healthy greens. They come home from school and ask to juice. A small glass of juice is like a meal, so filling! I think this juicer is great for someone who seeks a healthy lifestyle."
Review 16 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:honolulu hawaii
Date:April 18, 2009

love this,,,, so do kids

Model Number: as shown
"i was wondering after reading some other reviews about the power,, after getting one I've come to the conclusion that those who have trouble probably didn't read the instructions on how to juice, some things like carrots are slightly more difficult, i've not had any issues with mine, and clean up is a snap, 5 minutes at the most by hand.
now i can get my kids to have their veggies and like them too. if your really creative get an osterizer too to make smoothies. also motor is very quiet, a definet plus.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Burlingame, CA
Date:March 19, 2009

Not for hard fruits or roots

Pros: quiet
Cons: not strong enough, not fast enough
Model Number: Model 1000
"It is certainly quiet but not strong enough for hard fruits. Carrots won't juice well or any strong fiber for that matter (Beet, Celery roots, etc). Often times, the engine will completely stop and have to take it apart to get the jammed fruits out. The chute does not direct the fruits to the center of the blade. Normally they would have "fins", otherwise, when the carrots are 3", they will fall side way and jam the blade.
The separable blade is a poor design choice as it introduces you to another tool to keep handy for unscrewing the blade. Cleaning is as good or as bad as many other juicer, basically what you would expect.
This was supposed to be my wife's birthday gift and I think I managed to just frustrate her. Juicing became a one hour ordeal for just two cups!
I am planning to return it to Costco and get another juicer. A good juicer is 1,000-1,500 Revolution Per Minute (RPM), Jack LaLanne Juicer is only 3,600 which may be only suitable for soft fruits. Other juicers have two settings, low speed for soft fruits and high speed for tougher fruits. Speed is also important for higher centrifugal force of the rotating mesh to extract more juice. Higher speed juicer may be noisier but at least will take half the time to finish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:March 30, 2009

Worse juicer I ever purchased

"I bought this juicer mainly for orange juice & am returning it. I don't know if they're all like this or I got a lemon but it's sure not what the infomercials says. I had juice spilling out from everywhere, the pulp was discarding out one side which got jammed, I had to take it apart after every 6 or so oranges to clean it. What a pain."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Valencia, CA
Date:March 31, 2009

Not strong enough & stopped working after 3 uses

"Always had problems with Carrots not juicing well. I had to cut them into smaller pieces and constantly had to get them unstuck in order to juice well. Often times, the engine will completely stop and have to take it apart to get the jammed fruits out.
It finally stopped working after only using for 3 times."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Jack LaLanne Stainless Steel Power Juicer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2009

One complaint

"Juices everything great but carrots. I tried to juice enough carrots to get three cups of pulp for an included recipe but had to give up after taking 20 minutes to get one cup. If other people are juicing carrots easily (I even tried cutting into small pieces), I'd like to know how."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>