Customer Reviews for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets

Slo-Niacin® Tablets support a healthy heart^† Slo-Niacin® is a niacin supplement with nicotinic acid that is clinically proven to support good cholesterol (HDL)^† Slo-Niacin® can help maintain good choleterol (HDL) within the normal range^† Polygel® system designed to minimize flushing. Slo-Niacin® Tablets can help maintain good cholesterol (HDL) within the normal range.†^ With a unique polygel® controlled-release system, Slo-Niacin® Tablets gradually deliver nicotinic acid into the body and are designed to help reduce the incidence of flushing that is sometimes associated with niacin use.   †This statement has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. ^Data on file. Upsher Smith Laboratories, Inc. Directions: Adults: one Slo-Niacin® Tablet morning or evening, or as directed by a physician. Before using 500 mg daily or more, consult a physician. Note: Slo-Niacin® Tablets may be broken on the score line, but should not be crushed or chewed. The inactive matrix of the tablet is not absorbed and may be excreted intact in the stool. Supplement Facts: Serving Size: 1 Tablet Amount Per Serving - % Daily Value: Niacin, USP (nicotinic acid) 500 mg - 2500%. Other Ingredients: Hypromellose, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Silicon Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, Glyceryl Behenate, Red 40. Caution: Niacin may cause temporary flushing, itching and tingling, feelings of warmth and headache, particularly when beginning, increasing amount or changing brand of niacin. These effects seldom require discontinuing niacin use. Skin rash, upset stomach, and low blood pressure when standing are less common symptoms; if they persist, contact a physician. Warnings: Slo-Niacin® Tablets should not be used by persons with a known sensitivity or allergy to niacin. Persons with heart disease, particularly those who have recurrent chest pain (angina) or who recently suffered a heart attack, should take niacin only under the supervision of a physician. Persons taking high blood pressure or cholesterol-lowering drugs should contact a physician before taking niacin because of possible interactions. Case reports of myopathy (unexplained muscle related complaints, including discomfort, weakness, or tenderness) have been documented with the use of HMG-CoA Reductase Inhibitors in combination with lipid-altering doses of niacin therapy (greater than or equal to 1 gram of niacin per day). Do not take niacin unless recommended by and taken under the supervision of a physician if you have any of the following conditions: gallbladder disease, gout, arterial bleeding, glaucoma, diabetes, impaired liver function, peptic ulcer, pregnancy or lactating women. Increased uric acid and glucose levels and abnormal liver function tests have been reported in persons taking daily doses of 500 mg or more of niacin. Discontinue use and consult a physician immediately if any of the following symptoms occur: persistent flu-like symptoms (nausea, vomiting, a general "not well" feeling); loss of appetite; a decrease in urine output associated with dark colored urine; muscle discomfort such as tender, swollen muscles or muscle weakness; irregular heartbeat; or cloudy or blurry vision. Keep out of reach of children.
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
3
25 of 32(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Review 1 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013

So Far So Good

Pros: good quality brand, easy to swallow
Cons: minor side effects
"Based on some research with niacin, I began using this product to augment my current statins. Upon my tests at the end of this year, I'll determine if it will improve my health or not."
Review 2 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 29, 2013

Great Value

Pros: cannot beat costco value.
"Use of this product was to avoid Rx. And has functioned as good or better then the Rx. My condition is checked yearly and has improved nearly every time. Would recommend this to anyone with same condition."
Review 3 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 27, 2013

GREAT PRODUCT

"This is doing exactly what I had hoped. My physician originally had me on an Rx variant until I showed him this and we decided to try it. It works great, costs a lot less than the the Rx variant and Costco has the best price in this."
Review 4 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, California
Date:August 24, 2013

Triglycerides from 296 to 153 in 3 months

Pros: natural
"My MD wanted me to start a statin but I asked if there was something natural to try first. She recommended Niacin. So in three month recheck my cholesterol and triglycerides were both down. This product has not caused any flush either."
Review 5 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:June 21, 2013

Niacin Comments In General

"In all of the research material I've read, it says that the slow-release formulas are less effective in lower cholesterol than the "straight" non-release pills. I also found taking the pills on a full stomach and being a little active (not sitting down) helps mitigate the side effects."
Review 6 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:March 5, 2013

Less cost than co-payment

Pros: it works
Cons: flush
"This is prescribed by Dr. for cholesterol or triglycerides. It's less money than the prescription. I don't mind the flush much. There IS a flush though."
Review 7 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:November 25, 2012

Flush(ed) them down the toilet

Pros: price
Cons: flushing flushing flushing
"I use a couple of different products to help with my cholesterol levels so I am unsure as to how effective this product was. I can tell you that the 20-25 times that I took this product, three times the flushing was so severe that people I work with thought I was having a medical emergency. I always took the Slo Niacin after lunch, so maybe the suggestion about taking it right before bed would have worked for me. I guess I'll never know, because I "flushed" the remainder of the product. I preferred the product Costco sold before Slo Niacin."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 13, 2012

Great for Adult Acne

"I take it daily and it keeps my adult acne away. I do experience flushing if I eat a lot of foods with niacin, like peanut butter. On days I eat a lot of foods with niacin I only take half a pill. The pills are easy to break in half."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver CO
Date:July 18, 2012

Not so Slo-niacin

Cons: lousy product
"Caused skin flush everytime I took it. Liked the product costco had before in the white gel caps."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2012

Great product great price

Pros: works as well as a niacin perscription
Cons: none
"I use these 500 mg Slo-Niacine as perscribed by my Doctor and they have been doing their job for 3 years now. The price for the quanity is great also because in most other outlets quanities are reduced from 150 to 100 tabs per bottle but the price remained the same."
Review 11 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pinetop, AZ
Date:July 17, 2012

Better than a prescription

"My husband and I both take this product to lower cholestrol instead of taking a prescription. He takes 1500 mg and I take 1000 mg. We take the tablets before bed so we are hopefully asleep if the "flushing" occurs. I think a lot of woman are already used to that anyway! My husband started out with 1 tablet, and slowly built up to 3 tablets. I started with 1, then eventually 2 tablets. Our blood work shows we've had great results using this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winston-Salem, N.C.
Date:July 13, 2012

Good Product

Pros: good test results
Cons: rare minor side effects, very rare substantial flushing
Model Number: 500mg. tablets
"I have used this product for over a year and like the results that I see on my lab tests. I take two tablets of Slo-Niacin 30 minutes after I take two regular (325mg.) aspirin and as long as I stick to this regimen I am fine. However, if I wait too long after I take the aspirin to take the Slo-Niacin I sometimes feel some minor symptoms of the "flushing" that can occur. About once every three or four months I mess up the schedule and get the full blown "flushing" that is more severe than the "flushing" that I experienced on Niaspan. When this happens I just "ride with it" knowing that it only lasts a short while (usually 15-30 minutes) and although it is painful and unpleasant, I have been through it before and know that it will be over soon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Macomb, MI
Date:July 3, 2012

Great Cholesterol Lowering Product

Pros: easy to take
Cons: occasional flushing
"Purchased this product for my 76yo father who cannot tolerate statin cholesterol lowering drugs as myself. Zetia alone did not lower cholesterol to acceptable range but coupled with 1000mg/day of the Slo-Niacin produced great results!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 30, 2012

sometimes strong flushing

Pros: great price
Cons: red dye in produc
"I have purchased this product a couple of times. So far haven't seen significant cholesterol results yet. Will give Niacin more time to see if it works, but may buy different brand next time since this product contains red dye. I wish companies would use natural coloring if they must add coloring.
I have noticed that I must take this product right after eating to have less chance of flushing. My dr says eating an apple and triscut helps reduce flushing....the pectin makes the difference.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:May 31, 2012

To Flush or not Flush?

Pros: does what it claims it does
Cons: can make you flush if taken on an empty stomach
"I have used Slo-Niacin for over a year now. I have read through the reviews here on Costco.com. In my experience, this product is consistent. And by consistent, I mean that it does what it is advertised to do. The In-Consistency is caused by YOUR habit. If you take it with food or without food. If you take it without food and an aspirin, or if you take it with food and an aspirin all make a significant difference on whether or not this product will cause you to flush. In addition, you need to consider your bodies own unique chemistry and any other medications/supplements you are taking.
For me, this product works best if I take it with food and an aspirin. I rarely notice a flush when I follow this protocol. If I take it on an empty stomach, then I feel the flush feeling that some of the other reviewers have described.
I highly recommend this product! If you struggle with High Cholesterol then you should definitely give Slo-Niacin a try.
My final suggestion, break the pill in half. Take one half twice daily for a week. Then try one pill once a day for a week. Then try two pills per day for week three. Make sure that you take it on a full stomach with an aspirin.
**I am not a medical professional. You should consult a medical professional when starting any new diet or supplement regiment.**"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:April 1, 2012

Big Time Niacin RUSH!

Pros: it is definitely niacin.
Cons: massive niacin "rush"
"I've been taking Niacin for over 12 years. I tried this product because I ran out of my usual Niacin product. Never again.
I know what a Niacin "rush" is and it is not pleasant. The "rush" from this product is off the chart. I felt like my skin was on fire. My heart rate accelerated from its normal 70 to over 130. The rush took more than 2 hours to wash through my system. There is nothing "controlled" about the release of niacin as far as I could tell... maybe a little delay? This was the worst niacin rush I have ever experienced. Never again.
I recommend using some other slow or low-rush Niacin product"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:January 27, 2012

Slo-Niacin

Cons: i never seem to catch it on sale
"What's there to say? It's been a steady purchase for me since 1991 when I was diagnosed with hyperlipidemia. It works like its supposed to, and doesn't cause me to have hot flashes that some of the other products cause."
Review 18 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:southern Oregon
Date:November 29, 2011

works for me

Pros: it keeps my hdl where it's suppose to be
Cons: it does give me a flush once in a while
"I have been using this product for many years as recommended by my doctor."
Review 19 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anacortes, WA
Date:November 29, 2011

Easy to Live with

Pros: no flashes
Cons: wish they came in 1000 mg pills
"I have been taking 2000 mg of Slo Niacin for 3 or 4 years. Unlike the very expensive prescription verson, Slo Niacin does not have any side effects........at least for me."
Review 20 for Slo-Niacin® 500 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 2, 2011

Good results

"I take 80mg Simvastatin and 100mg Slo Niacin a day. Before starting the Niacin my Triglycerides were high. My numbers now are:
Cholesterol 124
Triglyceride 112
HDL 54
LDL 48
Originally I took Niaspan to control my Triglycerides but at over $600 for a 90 day supply I switched to Slo Niacin. My lab results did not change at all and I saved a lot of money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>