Customer Reviews for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree

Mahogany Finish
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
13 of 17(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Review 1 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fullereton, CA
Date:November 3, 2008

Needs a bit more refining

"This cat tree looks beautiful in the living room but my ragdoll is afraid of it because it wiggles when she tries to use it. The pieces didn't fit together as well as I thought they would and we had to buy screws to reattach the carpeting strip on the side. I think it really needs to be placed in a corner or against the wall to keep it steady. Neither of my cats use it...they are sticking with their 2 multi-level carpeted cat trees (also from Costco)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2008

cats LOVE it!!!, materials fair, had it 3 years

"As others have noted, putting it together is tricky and hard if doing it alone. Wood is too soft and so screws strip out (scratching carpet screws lasted about 1 month - liquid nails and new screws helped - wish I had thought to reinstall it higher as they tend to scratch high as well as on it). I wish they had used better wood when they made this. The first one I had to return because the some of the base was warped. Not all pieces in the base fit together cleanly either. This thing is HEAVY so this was no small problem. The second one was better, but not perfect (still some fit problems, but nothing was warped and I managed to make it go together without modifications). The poor materials/craftsmanship is the primary reason why I lowered the number of stars.
Took the cats about a week to get used to the swaying. I had to put them on it multiple times, hold them down and pet them while on it at first along with putting catnip on it. If I could hold them down long enough for them to settle down they stayed. One cat was used to it in several hours the other two took closer to a week. They'd bolt every time it swayed at first. Now that they are used to it they ABSOLUTELY LOVE it. It is in use at least daily (and nightly) for hours.
I have three cats (18 pounds, 12 pounds and a 14 pound maine coon cat) all of whom fight over the top shelf (sometimes two of them share the top shelf), and usually there is at least one cat, if not more, on it. I have it where they can both look out a window and see into more than one room in the house which, of course, suits their desire to be lazy while being able to keep track of what is happening indoors and out.
Like someone else noted they won't use the cubby. They don't seem to sit on the padded shelf either (probably because it isn't high up - they tend to use just the top two shelves and if all three want to use it at once, someone generally gets shoved off if no one is willing to share the top shelf).
I have had this for about 3 years now. It scratches easily and so the wood is looking a bit battle worn (they tend to scratch above the scratching pad as well as on it and if I were to put it on again I'd put it up higher) but the scratching pad and carpet on the shelves are both holding up well. Shelves wobble a bit now (screws in the supports are starting to strip due to the soft wood) and I have had to reinforce them a bit (not hard to do and looks OK).
I'd buy this again even with the flaws because it is nicer to look at than the carpet trees and the cats love it. I just wish they'd use higher quality materials."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tulsa, OK
Date:November 23, 2008

Practical & Stylish

Pros: looks great. cats love it!
Cons: wasn't the easiest to put together
"I purchased my Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree two years ago and would buy it again in a heartbeat; it looks great and functions fabulously. Toby, Suzi, Meesh, Tami, Will & Dexter, ranging in size from five to eighteen pounds, all give it the big paws up. The slight sway of the tower doesn’t slow them down at all, I think that movement probably mimics what it would feel like in nature climbing trees and branches. It is used constantly for lounging, playing, chasing, scratching, sleeping, etc…Two years of constant use and it still looks brand new. The only maintenance I’ve had to do is tighten the screws of the lowest cantilevered platform. Quality product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, WA
Date:January 3, 2009

My Maine Coons love this tree

Pros: easy to clean with the vacuum
Cons: carpet does not fit the two platforms perfectly
Model Number: 11119976
"Purchased the Luxury cat tree almost 3 years ago, and except for snags in the carpeting from heavy use, it looks brand-new. My cats love it, and don't mind at all that it wiggles as they claim the top spot. They are two 19-lb. Maine Coons, so this tree can take heavy cats. Female cat loves the cubbyhole. Cats who don't like the cubby might have a problem with the position of the hole, not the cubby itself. Husband had no trouble assembling it. If you have a sewing machine, it's easy to make a comfy slipcover for the cushion on top of the cubby."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:June 4, 2009

Great Improvements

Pros: cool look nice finish
"I recently bought this product and found it quite stable, so I was confused why people who bought years ago were commenting otherwise. After speaking with the manufacturer apparently they have added a bunch of improvements which included a stablizer bar to prevent swaying and adjustable feet for uneven floors. They also said the new version has carpet that's velcro'd on for easy replacement. I guess they listened to customer feedback! My cats couldn't be happier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 13, 2009

Purrrfect Cat Tree

Pros: beautiful to look at, solid components, cats favourite perch
Cons: is not easily put together
"Not being a fan of the stereotypical carpeted cat trees, this immediately caught my eye. It looks like a piece of art. I bought the mahogany finish, which is a deep red-brown. There is short nap berber carpeting on the shelves and a large coordinating jute scratching pad on one side. The tree is heavy, so tipping is not an issue. Both the finish and components are exceptionally done. More like a piece of fine furniture, this cat tree is totally worth the money. Our four cats adore it as a scratching post and perch for daytime naps or bird watching out the window. It is also employed in a game of chase quite frequently. Purchased in September 2008, it is as solid and great looking as when we put it together. Don't hesitate to buy this great piece."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:November 6, 2008

Disappointing

"I was very excited to get this stylish kitty condo. My husband and I spent hours putting it together one evening (it is not easy). Much to our disappointment, the cats hated it as it was very wobbly (as a prior reviewer also stated). While they are not nearly as stylish, we may have to stick with the classic carpeted version. Thank goodness for Costco's excellent return policy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:January 21, 2010

Cannot recommend

Pros: unique, stylish design (on the drawing board), replaceability of fabric components
Cons: cheap finish materials, poor workmanship, overwhelming outgassing odor
Model Number: 11119976
"I will preface this by saying that I have been living with cats my entire adult life and have purchased more than my share of feline furniture. My requirements are simple: anything I give my cats must be safe, non-toxic, cleanable, sturdy, long lasting and fun. If it happens to be aesthetically pleasing to the humans, that is an added bonus. Props to the designers of this piece for attempting to accomplish the latter. Sadly, however, while an intriguing looking design this cat tree is lacking in several departments.
Reviews regarding this item's complicated assembly proved accurate in our case as did the ones stipulating the product's instability which, although the base is secure, is unavoidable due to the combination of the curved design and the flimsy materials. The tower portion is much too flexible.The product details refer to this as "sturdy design built to give, not tip over". However in my opinion the ratio of "give" to "sturdy" is much higher than practical or safe for jumping and roughhousing.
The sprayed "mahogany" finish, not our first choice but the only one available at the time we ordered, is thin, cheap, uneven and--in one place--reveals the white spackle used, inexplicably, to disguise the edge grain of the plywood (is the plywood supposed to be a secret?). Given the purpose for which this piece is intended, that of unbridled climbing, scratching and playing, it would likely take very little time before this finish/spackle mix and whatever toxicity it contains would begin to chip, flake off and end up being ingested.
Several previous reviews note very little interest in the bottom cubby portion of the tree (which is not on this particular unit "carpeted") and no wonder if their trees are equipped as this one is with "replaceable fabric covered cushions". The cheap foam padding inside the similarly budget grade fleece covers which sit both on and inside the cubby are outgassing so fiercely my eyes began to burn just from being in the same room; I can only imagine how much more caustic it would be to a cat's acute senses. Yes, one could simply discard the cushions and make do without however the inclusion of a clearly allergenic and potentially toxic element in the construction of this piece makes me wonder what other feline-unfriendly choices were made in its production.
While I'm very grateful for Costco's superb returns policy I do wish they'd looked a bit more closely at this one before deciding to stock it at all."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Muncie, IN
Date:May 20, 2010

Not recomended

Pros: stylish
Cons: horable quality
Model Number: [11119976
"I should have listened to the other reviews; the quality of this “furniture” is horrible, really bad. The finish is bad, the workmanship is really bad, pieces don’t fit together good and we couldn’t get one bolt to fit in the receiving nut. There are large gaps between pieces. We will hide this “furniture” in our bedroom, not worthy at all to be in any room with nice furniture.
Like a previous review, I question Costco staff on this one; this is not a good value. I love Costco and trust the things you sell, but this item is bad news. The staff should open a box, put it together and see first hand.
Trust this is helpful,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:January 10, 2009

Kittens and cats love it

"We just got this cat tree a couple of days ago, and our four cats love it. After reading the other reviews, I was afraid it would be hard to assemble, but my husband and I had no problems following the instructions. Our two kittens took to it immediately, and our two older cats were on it within a couple of hours. The swaying doesn't bother any of them. The kittens love to chase each other up and down the tree, and then nap on the top. I know that it's going to get a lot of use!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:December 20, 2008

Best Kat Tree

Pros: no more cleaning fabric trees of cat hair
"No more hair to worry about".My cats love this tree. It is stable and my cats are always flying around it. They fight over the top "seat". It is positioned in front of a window so they can see the world, and passerbys can point at them. I have large cats, one is a Maine Coon cat.
I have just ordered the smaller version of this in chocolate. Can't wait to get it. A friend puts these together for me. He said they are easy to put together. Thank goodness for him!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:August 23, 2009

Kenny LOVES it!!!

"This is the best looking cat tree that I have found. I wanted something nice that suits my decor and also serves functionally for my dear cat that is truly a center point of my life! He loves it and in sleeps on it frequently throughout the day. Sturdy and beautiful, my guests also love it and comment on it. I highly recommend it.
It stays very clean and the fabric doesn't collect much hair, which also is easily removed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:June 3, 2010

Had it a long time now

Pros: easy to clean, good looking, fits in corners walls anywhere
Cons: cats will fight over this!
"We bought this 6 years ago and it is still in excellent condition. Recently we had to tighten down some bolts that were getting loose but that seems normal and was easy to adjust. Everybody comments on what a cool piece of furniture this cat tree is! My Cats love it and fight over who gets the "top seat"."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

Best idea ever but...

Pros: great unique style, easy to keep clean
Cons: challenging to put together
"Wobbles as two other reviewers stated. My 12 pound cat did get over it and now loves the top shelf. However, if she was much bigger, she would fall off while napping : ) Also its not easy to assemble like mfg says, esp for one person. I am pretty handy (for a girl) but handed this off to a friend who is quite handy...we ended up with the hide away opening on the wrong side (did not undo it all since screws would have stripped). As for quality, I assume these will be better than my mfg. outlet puchase made last fall when Costco was sold out. If not, you can take it back to Costco with their great return policy. Luckily guests are not looking at it close up. Looks great for a distance."
Review 15 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:November 5, 2008

Great Product!

"This product is so much better than the fur magnets on the market. I really like the wood finish. My cat Felix loves to lay on top and watch me from above. I really like the quality."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:December 14, 2008

Stylish Improvement

Pros: great looking design, for multiple cats
"We purchased this tree last year (birch) and at first thought it would be a bit too Asian/Zen in design but it actually looks awesome with our mid-century modern furniture. The tree is in the window and we often see people walking by pointing into our window at the tree as there is usually one or more cat perched on it and watching the world go by. All three cats love it--they vary in weight from 8 to 11 pounds and we haven't had any structural issues. There is always a battle for the "top" position. Oddly enough, none of the cats will use the little box/hiding area so I just store their toys in it."
Review 17 for The Refined Feline Luxury Cat Tree
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, California
Date:July 22, 2010

Awesome cat tree sculpture

Pros: everything!
Cons: none
"Beautiful, quality piece of furniture!! Piece fits right in with our antique furniture and travertine floor. Both our 4 yr old large 14 lb Angora cat, and 5 month old bengal kitten love it. Woven carpet pads used to cushion platforms are easy to remove and brush, Built in stablizers keep tree well ancored. Takes alittle patience to assemble sculpture with curved sides but well worth the effort. You will never want a "generic, carpet tree" again. Cost of this tree sculpture was $150 less than any other source."