Customer Reviews for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum

Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
40 of 47(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Review 1 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest
Date:May 11, 2012

Great all around vac

"Great vacuum for a great price. It is a little loud, but works great for picking up the dog hair on floor/carpets. Lightweight with a nice heavy duty long cord. Great buy."
Review 2 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:February 21, 2012

Commercial machine for home use

Pros: strong suction, light weight, looong cord
Cons: noisy, only one bag included
"Arrived quickly, assembly a no brainer, and works as advertised. Yes, it is loud. Yes, it is powerful. Used on rugs and floors, with a slider adjustment on the front to change brush height.
Super long cord is a big plus.
I am 4' 10" and 85#, yet I can lift and carry it, unlike my tank type behemoth.
Only reason for lack of 5th star - no additional bags included.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 17, 2012

Great Vacuum

Pros: very easy assembly
Model Number: HVRC1404
"We have thrown away two different "tunnel" type vacuums in the last three years. To many problems and would constantly clog. Finally went back to this bagged model and am amazed how well it cleans. Also very light weight and 30 ft. cord is a plus. Was delivered in less than 24hrs. from the time ordered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:February 13, 2012

Awful

"This vacuum was easy to put together. It's incredibly loud (must put dogs outside) and on hard floors it sucks up bits and them spits smaller bits out the back. If you are barefoot when vacuuming, this is painful, and you still have dirt on your floor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2012

Much better than the fancy vacuums

Pros: light, good suction, simple machine, good price
Cons: no attachments included
"Went through two of the standard vacuums with their fancy features (self-propelled, dusting brushes, other attachments, brush roll control, anti-allergen, bagless, etc.) very quickly. Both of them developed problems soon and were heavy and difficult to handle.
This looked like an old-fashioned vacuum I owned 20 years ago with not much that could go wrong. Also saw the janitors in my office building use these and the carpets were clean and machines probably were used more in one day than I use one in a year.
So I bought it and am very happy with it. It's noisy but picks up everything in its path and is very light and easy to carry up and down the stairs. The cord is also very long. The best part is that it does one thing very well and there isn't that much to go wrong.
It doesn't come with attachments but you can buy them separately. I plan on using the ones that came with my now broken vacuum. While using attachments, raising the handle lifts the brush off the carpet but doesn't stop it. But then that's one less mechanism to break."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cool Colorado
Date:January 28, 2012

Traditional Vacuum

Pros: a real vacuum
Cons: none
"The Oreck motor failed after ten years and this is a great reasonably priced replacement. It arrived the day after the order was placed.
IT DOESN'T LOOK LIKE AN ALIEN FROM OUTER SPACE.
It makes our old Oreck look like a toy and out-performs it 100%.."
Review 7 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2011

good for the price

Pros: cleans well
Cons: very noisy
"I ordered this item and received a sealed box with no documentation. I took it back and reordered another which was OK. The vacuum cleans well and is not as heavy as most though heavier than an Oreck - which I currently own. The reason for 4 vs. 5 stars is the noise. It is loud - very loud. Other than that it cleans well and the bag looks easy to remove and replace. I'd buy another."
Review 8 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2011

Really great purchase for the price!

Pros: powerful brush and suction, cord length, cleans hard floors as well as carpet!
"It might be a little louder than the new Oreck I just sent back, but it's SO nice to see the carpet actually clean when I go over it. The super long cord is awesome, not having to play fetch and plug every half a room is nicer than I'd realized. I found it easy to put together, I just had to read and follow the instructions exactly but I'm sure there are easier units too.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it sometimes gives a little kickback instead of sucking up everything. Biggest test was a handful of small, round kitty food on the floor, it got 90%+ of it, but kicked some forward and or back but still, such a great cleaner.
I'd definitely buy it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:October 30, 2011

Perfect for college student in apartment

Pros: replaceable bags, great suction, long durable cord, easy to put together
Cons: no separate tools for hard to reach places
"I purchased this vacuum for my son when he moved into an apartment at college this fall. He had not vacuumed for the first 6 weeks! My husband and I easily put the vacuum together. It has great suction and you could hear it sucking up weeks of snack food and grit from the carpet. It has a long cord so you don't need to keep moving to a new plug. It appears very durable. I definitely prefer a vacuum with a replaceable bag (vs cleaning out a separate compartment). This was easy to put together, worked great and not complicated for a college student (or anyone) to use. I read concerns about the noise...it really is not too bad. Normal for a durable upright that has a job to do."
Review 10 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:southern california
Date:October 25, 2011

pretty easy!

Pros: light!
Cons: no attachments
"I had been unhappy with my vacumn a long time and wanted something new but didn't want to spend a lot of money. I totally confused myself trying to do research on-line because the reviews were all mixed. I needed something light weight and this had a ton of reviews with a really high average rating. I ordered this on a Monday afternoon and when I got home from work Tuesday it was already there! My husband put it together and it works great- HUGE improvement to only have to vacumn areas once and not have to lug a huge heavy vacumn up and down the stairs!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011

some reservations

Pros: it is lightweight and comes with a long cord
"While the vacuum works well, it was difficult to assemble and is extremely loud. Matter a fact, it is so loud that I would not recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:River Grove Illinois
Date:August 24, 2011
Cons: none
Model Number: S2220
"Bought it for my wife, she totally loves it. lightweight and easy ro manuver. Very pleased."
Review 13 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2011

great vacuum!

Pros: cost, lightweight
Cons: loud
"Love this machine! Yes, it's loud, but unless you have a sleeping baby in the house, who cares! It works on hard floors as well as carpet and is light weight. I ordered it one day and received it the next. What great service!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Morgan Hill, CA
Date:August 12, 2011

Hoover not so good

"I bought this Hoover upright thinking the commercial lightweight would give it an extra edge..... Well this vacuum did not pick up the dirt in the carpet, it blew dust everywhere and the brush would always clog with hair and lint. I returned the Hoover to Costco and they kindly gave me a refund with no questions asked.... Got love COSTCO for that. I did purchase another vacuum that COSTCO did not carry and it was the "K" brand and it is much better suited for my needs. Good luck!"
Review 15 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Arlington, Texas
Date:August 10, 2011

Good price for a lightweight floor vac

Pros: lightweight, simple to use, good price
Cons: body parts not as sturdy as i might like, a bit difficult to assemble
Model Number: C1404
"I was looking for a simple-to-use, lightweight floor vacuum to replace my broken weighs-a-ton multi-purpose vac. I already had purchased a lightweight tank vac for general-purpose cleaning. Now I wanted one for area rugs.
This vac appears to be just what I want. It's quite light in weight and simple to operate, has a long, heavy-duty power cord, a heavy-duty power brush, good suction, adjustable height, and nothing else -- very simple. Right off the bat I found it effective in cleaning area rugs of varying pile depths; and it didn't wear me out pushing it around or carrying it.
Some assembly was required, and a couple of the "easy click-together" parts weren't actually that easy to click. But I got it done. Generally I am happy with my purchase.
"
Review 16 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chino Valley, AZ
Date:July 25, 2011

Good utility vac

Pros: light weight, lots of power, has a port for attachments
"Nothing fancy, no lights, or attachments. But it cleans carpet and tile great. Lots of power. Very light weight, easy to move around. Pick it up with one hand. We use it in a medical clinic and it picks up lots of dirt, but does it quickly, don't have to go over spots several times."
Review 17 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2011

Best of Both Worlds

"I was surprised that this lightweight vacuum works equally well on hardwood floors/ceramic tile as it does on carpet--In my opinion, it is hard to find an upright vacuum that works well on hardwood floors. The fact that I do not have to go over the same area more than once is amazing! It is easy to carry from floor to floor and is relatively narrow making it easier to vacuum around furniture. The only negative so far is its lack of cleaning attachments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2011

Quit working after using twice

"Vacuum worked well the 1st time I used it. I was happy but tonight I tried to vacuum and it just kept stopping during use. When I turned it off by the switch it stayed on?? I am returning it tomorrow. Seems very cheaply made for the price."
Review 19 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 11, 2011

Good Upright Vacuum, Good Value

Pros: good suction, lightweight, long cord, bagged
Model Number: HVRC1404
"This is a good vacuum at a good price. The suction is very good and it picks up particles and human hair on both carpet and bare floors. It is loud but no more than any other vacuum. I like the long cord so I don't have to move the plug to do each room. I also like that it is a bagged vacuum so I don't have to deal with emptying it and having dirt and dust fly all over the place, and the bags are inexpensive.
I decided on a basic vacuum without attachments after reading reviews of other vacuums with attachments. I didn't want to deal with attachments and/or the hose falling off while vacuuming. I never used the them anyways when I had a vacuum with the attachments. Besides I have a hand vacuum for small jobs or other situations where a tool might be needed. From what I understand, you can purchase attachments for this vacuum though.
I like that the vacuum is lightweight since I am a small person. My boyfriend's initial impression was that it would not be good vacuum, because he thought it was too light and cheap due to the plastic. He changed his mind though after he tried it on his high pile carpet."
Review 20 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:May 13, 2011

excellent deal

Pros: price
Cons: loud
"Ordered&shippedto my door in three days.assembly is quick& easy.great suction.but very loud"
1 2 3 next>>