Customer Reviews for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum

Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
40 of 47(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Review 1 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2012

Much better than the fancy vacuums

Pros: light, good suction, simple machine, good price
Cons: no attachments included
"Went through two of the standard vacuums with their fancy features (self-propelled, dusting brushes, other attachments, brush roll control, anti-allergen, bagless, etc.) very quickly. Both of them developed problems soon and were heavy and difficult to handle.
This looked like an old-fashioned vacuum I owned 20 years ago with not much that could go wrong. Also saw the janitors in my office building use these and the carpets were clean and machines probably were used more in one day than I use one in a year.
So I bought it and am very happy with it. It's noisy but picks up everything in its path and is very light and easy to carry up and down the stairs. The cord is also very long. The best part is that it does one thing very well and there isn't that much to go wrong.
It doesn't come with attachments but you can buy them separately. I plan on using the ones that came with my now broken vacuum. While using attachments, raising the handle lifts the brush off the carpet but doesn't stop it. But then that's one less mechanism to break."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prescott, AZ
Date:September 9, 2009

Excellent Choice

Pros: great suction, great edge cleaning
Cons: slightly heavier than the oreck
Model Number: Hoover C1404 Commerical Lightweight Vacuum
"We replaced our old Oreck Commercial Upright - this vacuum picked up lint and thread from a quilter customer's floor which our Oreck could not pick up. It continues to pick up even with the bag close to the fill line, something else our Oreck was not doing. We clean 2-3 houses a day and strongly recommend this item."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico/Paradise, CA
Date:October 3, 2009

Great Commercial Vacuum

Model Number: Model: HVRC1404
"Thank you to the first review on this Vacuum. I was searching for a vacuum for my cleaning service as well, either to expensive, heavy or bulky or to inexpensive to last. I was a little nervous ordering on line and not holding it or trying it out, but with Costco's return policy I felt at ease. After a few minutes of puting it together I vacuumed my own living room and was quite impressed that it was light weight and great suction. It is wonderful to have a cord with some length when working. Definitely making my cleaning alot easier."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Meridian, Idaho
Date:January 7, 2010

Great For Home Use Too!

Pros: lightweight, powerful suction, easily assembled, sturdy construction, easily maneuvered, long cord
Cons: handle vibrations not absorbed
Model Number: HVRC1404
"After buying many expensive vacuums for home use that ended up lasting only a year or two, I decided to try a commercial vacuum without bells or whistles. This works SO much better! It's very lightweight to push and maneuvers so much more easily because of the narrower base (12").
When my husband got home, he thought I had the carpets professionally done. They are so soft. It cleaned high traffic areas in a few passes that my old vacuum couldn't even touch.
I like that it has a hand tool outlet on it, so that I can separately purchase hand tools to use w/this vacuum.
Also it only took a few minutes to assemble, yet it feels very sturdy.
It has a furniture guard to help prevent scuffing up furniture, baseboards, etc.
There are only two things that I'm not completely thrilled with. First is a safety feature- the brush roll does not stop when the base is lifted. If children or animals are nearby it's something good to be aware of.
Secondly, this vacuum is very powerful, but the handle doesn't have great shock absorption. Your hand definitely feels the vibrations after you're done vacuuming. I'm considering wrapping the handle to help with that."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:January 8, 2010

Excellent for Elderly

Pros: easy to manuever, large disposable bag
Cons: no accessories
Model Number: HVRC1404
"This machine is very lightweight, and has great suction--alone with large disposable bags. I am elderly and needed the lightest, best machine without alot of accessories to haul around, and this one fits the bill. You don't need to have a business to own it. Nice long cord, too. If you are looking for your last vacuum, this is it!!!Buy it, and you won't be disappointed."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East County San Diego, CA
Date:March 6, 2010

Truly excellent and especially for the price

Pros: really gets the dirt and hair out of carpets
Cons: a bit noisey and it has no hose with attachments
Model Number: HVRC1415
"This Hoover works well, picks up dirt that other vacuums didn't, and the beater bar is so powerful that it moves the machine forward. Cleans carpets much better than our other expensive, top-of-the-line upright, beater vacuum. You can buy the Hoover-style Type "A" bags online cheaply. The bags hold a lot of debris."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ridgefield, CT
Date:February 26, 2011

Great Product

Pros: light, powerful, price
Cons: no tools
Model Number: C1404
"Vacuum does exactly as described. Light weight, powerful. Very large bags last a long time. Bags are inexpensive and are available as normal filter bags and alergy/odor removal bags. No filters to clean or change. Has no trouble with hair from thick coat dog on carpets or wood/tile floors."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:November 21, 2010

Even better than expected

Pros: easy ordering & quick delivery
Model Number: Hoover 727311
"Best vacuum I've had in twenty years! Why it took me so long to discover this one, I'll never know. Suction is terrific ("Goodbye fluffy cat fur") and it's light weight. The really long cord means that you don't have to go hunting and moving furniture in every room to plug it in.
I wondered what made this one "commercial," when it was less expensive than some other Hoovers, and I've decided that maybe it is its lack of beauty, - as in the cord being orange. But the cord is heavy-duty, as is the suction.
(Much better than the last two Orecks we had - I'll never go back!)
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:February 4, 2010

Excellent Product and Value

Pros: no overly complex technology/design, performance, weight
Cons: no tools but can accept tools from older models
"I have gone through two vacuums in the past year. They don't make 'em like they used has been taken to a new level.
This model reminds me of the sturdier models hoover used to make for residential use. I had one for almost 20 years.
Also, it's almost impossible to find a bagged vacuum anymore or one without unnecessary filters. This vacuum delivers on all of those fronts.
Plus it is lightweight and it works great. I also bought one for my mother."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:February 21, 2012

Commercial machine for home use

Pros: strong suction, light weight, looong cord
Cons: noisy, only one bag included
"Arrived quickly, assembly a no brainer, and works as advertised. Yes, it is loud. Yes, it is powerful. Used on rugs and floors, with a slider adjustment on the front to change brush height.
Super long cord is a big plus.
I am 4' 10" and 85#, yet I can lift and carry it, unlike my tank type behemoth.
Only reason for lack of 5th star - no additional bags included.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:vermont
Date:August 9, 2010

It Really Sucks...In a GOOD Way !

Pros: works great
Cons: a bit noisy
Model Number: Hoover Commercial Lightweight Upright
"Great machine, good price. Delivered in 2 days. Easy to put together. I vacuum a large BINGO hall and this Hoover is far better than the 15+ year old Oreck that it replaces. Pushes and maneuvers easily. Suction is great. A bit loud but no big deal. Heavy duty long cord is a plus. Easy height adjustment lever.I highly recommend this vacuum."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2010

Great purchase

"After buying another vac 2 months ago and having it break twice in that time... I wanted another vac. I made my decision on the reviews already left and yes, it is a wonderful vacuum! Very powerful. Light. Noisy but not a deal breaker. Even my kids like to use it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 11, 2011

Good Upright Vacuum, Good Value

Pros: good suction, lightweight, long cord, bagged
Model Number: HVRC1404
"This is a good vacuum at a good price. The suction is very good and it picks up particles and human hair on both carpet and bare floors. It is loud but no more than any other vacuum. I like the long cord so I don't have to move the plug to do each room. I also like that it is a bagged vacuum so I don't have to deal with emptying it and having dirt and dust fly all over the place, and the bags are inexpensive.
I decided on a basic vacuum without attachments after reading reviews of other vacuums with attachments. I didn't want to deal with attachments and/or the hose falling off while vacuuming. I never used the them anyways when I had a vacuum with the attachments. Besides I have a hand vacuum for small jobs or other situations where a tool might be needed. From what I understand, you can purchase attachments for this vacuum though.
I like that the vacuum is lightweight since I am a small person. My boyfriend's initial impression was that it would not be good vacuum, because he thought it was too light and cheap due to the plastic. He changed his mind though after he tried it on his high pile carpet."
Review 14 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2011

Really great purchase for the price!

Pros: powerful brush and suction, cord length, cleans hard floors as well as carpet!
"It might be a little louder than the new Oreck I just sent back, but it's SO nice to see the carpet actually clean when I go over it. The super long cord is awesome, not having to play fetch and plug every half a room is nicer than I'd realized. I found it easy to put together, I just had to read and follow the instructions exactly but I'm sure there are easier units too.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it sometimes gives a little kickback instead of sucking up everything. Biggest test was a handful of small, round kitty food on the floor, it got 90%+ of it, but kicked some forward and or back but still, such a great cleaner.
I'd definitely buy it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:southern california
Date:October 25, 2011

pretty easy!

Pros: light!
Cons: no attachments
"I had been unhappy with my vacumn a long time and wanted something new but didn't want to spend a lot of money. I totally confused myself trying to do research on-line because the reviews were all mixed. I needed something light weight and this had a ton of reviews with a really high average rating. I ordered this on a Monday afternoon and when I got home from work Tuesday it was already there! My husband put it together and it works great- HUGE improvement to only have to vacumn areas once and not have to lug a huge heavy vacumn up and down the stairs!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
Date:March 10, 2011

Great Vac for the $$$/exactly as advertized

Pros: great value, great suction
Cons: loud, can't get under furniture very well
Model Number: HVRC1404 lightweight commercial
"In looking for a new vac I wasn't sure if I wanted another canister vac. or if I wanted to switch to an upright. I have both carpet and hardwood and have lots of pets and like a bag type vac. I was concerned with reviews on both types... seemed like folks didn't have good things to say about any of the models I was looking at. I love this "no frills" upright. It works great on the carpet. Has great suction. Can't beat the price. I also bought a small hand vac (also from costco). and still use my older canister for the hardwoods and to get under the beds."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:April 2, 2011

Even my kids can use it !!!

Pros: lightweight, great price, powerful, delivered next day !!
Cons: a bit loud but you can survive the noice, no nozzle
Model Number: HVRC1404
"First of all, I have to praise Costco for the quick delivery to my door. The assembly took me just minutes.The vaccum is lightweight, even my kids can use it to help me vacuum. It picks up everything in its path. The long cord saves me a lot of time, I simply love that!!! Even though it is a bit loud, it is worth the money and would definitely recommend it to anyone who has to pick up after kids (cookie crumbs, bits of paper, dirt, sand, cereal, baby powder)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2011

Best of Both Worlds

"I was surprised that this lightweight vacuum works equally well on hardwood floors/ceramic tile as it does on carpet--In my opinion, it is hard to find an upright vacuum that works well on hardwood floors. The fact that I do not have to go over the same area more than once is amazing! It is easy to carry from floor to floor and is relatively narrow making it easier to vacuum around furniture. The only negative so far is its lack of cleaning attachments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westminster, CA
Date:November 3, 2010

Love It!

"First time I shopped Costco online and was really impressed with the service. I received the vacuum within 2 days.
The vacuum is lightweight and I love the extra long cord. It works really well on my new shag carpet. It doesn't appear to be any louder than any of my other vacuums. I have an old Hoover that looks exactly like this one and it still works.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoover Bagged Commercial Lightweight Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:February 17, 2012

Great Vacuum

Pros: very easy assembly
Model Number: HVRC1404
"We have thrown away two different "tunnel" type vacuums in the last three years. To many problems and would constantly clog. Finally went back to this bagged model and am amazed how well it cleans. Also very light weight and 30 ft. cord is a plus. Was delivered in less than 24hrs. from the time ordered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>