Customer Reviews for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670

X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670

X-ACTO hardened Carbon steel helical cutter for maximum precision and durability Patented fly-away cutter stops sharpening when pencil point reaches ideal sharpness SafeStart® prevents cutters from operating when receptacle is removed Features quiet operation for less classroom disruption No electrical draw when not in use Additional Details: Heavy-duty motor Multiple size pencil selector Extra-large see-through receptacle Suction cup feet for safety UL/cUL approved   Blue/Gray Accents   4 1/2"W x 7"D x 6 3/8"H Each Model: EPI1670
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 of 15(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Review 1 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:January 11, 2014

Breaks down easily Chews up pencils

Pros: did not find one
Cons: breaks too easily
"I bought this model and had it break down 3 times. We did not use it heavily. It is not easy to clean and the debris makes its way into the gear/motor area. After 3 repairs, now it just chews the wood off but does not sharpen the pencil lead. IF it gets to the pencil lead it bites it off. Not sure if I got a bad one or if they are all bad. Last pencil electric pencil sharpener lasted 14 years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:September 27, 2013

Good Pencil Sharpener

Pros: large shavings hopper, strong motor
Cons: none yet
Model Number: EPI 1670
"This thing is built like a tank. Bought another $20 sharpener and the motor died in a year. You can tell this one is built well and will last, especially for home use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montclair, VA
Date:March 27, 2013

Great Sharpener

Pros: quick and sharpens every time. hasn't overheated.
Model Number: EPI1670
"I bought this to help out my son's school teacher. He brings home the pencils and I sharpen them and he takes them back to school the next day. I have used different sharpeners and this one sharpens faster and better than the rest. Love it!"
Review 4 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:April 21, 2012

X-ACTO sharpener

"I've been using this sharpener for many years in my classroom. It works well and holds up better than any other sharpener I have ever purchased. With that said they DO NOT last long, I always buy the extra warrantee or keep my reciept. I would say I get about 1 1/2 years out of it, we sharpen pencils EVERYDAY in second grade!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:February 21, 2012

Great Sharpener, Great Service

"I am thoroughly enjoying my pencil sharpener in my classroom. It sharpens pencils in seconds to a very sharp and reliable point and it is very durable when I have to do multiple sets of them at once. Also, I was very pleased to have received it in the time frame that was promised."
Review 6 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Loveland, OH
Date:January 3, 2012

Works great!

"This will last and last. I can see why it is called , "School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener". Perfect for many sized pencils."
Review 7 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:October 19, 2011

did I receive an used/broken sharpener?

"bought this after reading reviews and had high expection. However this one failed on the very first job! It got stuck, it made strange noise. After pull out then push the pencil back in, the pencil came out with a flower top!"
Review 8 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 12, 2011

Great value

Pros: you can see the shavings
Model Number: Xacto School Pro Pencil Sharpener
"Bought for grandchild use. Different holes for various pencil widths is what drew me to this one."
Review 9 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:September 1, 2010

Great Sharpener, very good value

Pros: price, heavy duty, name brand
Cons: a little noisy
"I have purchased slightly less expensive sharpeners in the past that just couldn't hold up and didn't perform like this one. I am very satisfied with this one. It has a very robust motor and very efficient sharpening mechanism. It even sounds like good quality. I like the different sizes it can accomodate. I bought three more for friends and my children's teachers. Costco has the best price around!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:September 1, 2010

Works Great

Model Number: Costco Item #627948
"The X-ACTO School Pro sharpener sharpens pencils perfectly; the blades pull away when it is finished so it doesn't over-sharpen. The huge "shavings catcher" is perfect for heavy classroom use. I can go a whole week before emptying it. It's quiet enough so it doesn't bother me while I'm lecturing during classes."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northglenn, CO
Date:August 31, 2010

Much better than a simple machine!

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: #1670
"So far, best pencil sharpener I have purchased, and with 9 kids I have purchased a few. Works as well as can be expected. Sharpens great, quickly, and while it's not the quietest, what electric pencil sharpener is?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2010

Withstands 1st graders 3+ yrs

Pros: durable, auto "stop", multi-size
Cons: not the strongest
"This has survived 3 years of 1st graders so far and going strong. Handles all sizes and types but occasionally clogs only on the cheap pencils where the lead is way off-center or with soft colored pencils that break easily. Very easy to unclog. Large shavings basket. All sharpeners are noisy. Sharpens fast (not fastest) but sometimes kids don't know it's done and keep it spinning. Can't oversharpen (eat pencils); pencils last longer. Considering 2nd for home use even tho I don't need it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:July 22, 2010

2 3/4 Years With Fifth Graders

Pros: sturdy motor, prevents oversharpening, strong blades
Cons: loud, occasional "clogs"
"This pencil sharpener has served almost three school years. I invested my own money into this "workhorse" and it has lasted WAY longer than other cheaper ones. It doesn't handle colored pencils very well, and every once in a while I'll need to dig out a lead, but it sharpens quickly and will stop sharpening when your pencil is sharp (it's impossible to stick a pencil in and sharpen it to a nub in one sharpening). I noticed that many "crooked sharpenings" were actually really cheap pencils with uncentered leads! I would definitely buy it again (but at this rate, it doesn't look like I'll have to)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2010

DO NOT BUY

"I have owned 2 of these. Both of them have broken after less than 2 monthsin my classroom...not ideal for school use. Would never own one again."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-ACTO School Pro Electric Pencil Sharpener Blue/Gray EPI 1670
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Matthews, NC
Date:March 30, 2010

NOISY! Takes too long and does not sharpen.

Pros: large shavings receptacle
Cons: does not sharpen. shaves down one side at best, noisy, takes too long to do anything.
"I bought this for the "powerhouse" engine.
Horrible. It is very noisy but does not sharpen. If it does manage to grind down the wood, it only sharpens one side and it takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R-!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.