Customer Reviews for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer

Features Bio Shield Antimicrobial Protection
Average Customer Rating:
2.809 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
5
9 of 21(43%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Review 1 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 6, 2009

A constant irritation

Model Number: T960
"The disposal works OK on most food and is fairly quiet when everything is in place - except for the "removable" splash guard and the plumbing. The splash guard comes off whenever it wants to, whether flying up into the sink or getting sucked down into the grinding chamber. I have had to clean food residue off of me, the sink, counter and floor way too many times. If I have something (like a pan) to cover the hole but let the water in, fine. Most of the time I just hold my hand over the sink hole and hit the power switch - great for getting shocked.
Right now I'm cleaning the inside of the cabinet and the throw rug after the last fiasco - the disposal didn't grind up the onion waste from four onions and they clogged the drain. I also have to keep a plastic tub (the tub didn't catch the clog mess) under it because the drain pipe will not stay tightly screwed on. This is clean? You think I'll buy another one? Give me a GE (hard to find) or maybe a Waste King (passable), but I'll never buy another "unknown" brand of any plumbing device from Costco, a home store, or wherever else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2008

2nd one installed-This time for Mom!

Pros: power cord was included in price., nice package
Cons: nice package not needed--mail order!
"We were so pleased with this disposer we installed one in the home of my mother-in-law. Much quieter then our old one and plenty of power. The removable splash guard does it job by not letting splash up but we do use the handy disposer tool (free by mail) to push the food waste thru. Installation was easy. I like the anti microbial feature that helps keep the odor down--never heard of that in other disposers."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

Cheap but servicable

Pros: cheap
Cons: feels cheap
"I am currently quite price sensative so the price on this unit was very attractive and the 3/4 HP was sufficient power for what I had in mind. I have installed a number of disposals before this and this unit installed easy enough and the unit works well on the scraps it has been used for so far. I have not used it on potato peelings or any really hard grind items to date. . The only issue I had was that the collar and locking ring are made out of plastic and I am wondering how they will wear. Once it was installed you really could not tell that it was plastic but I know it is there. I did not tell my wife about the plastic collar so that she will not treat it with kid gloves and we will see if it holds up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle,WA
Date:December 1, 2008

Don't let the plastic fool you

Pros: great for the price, powerful
Cons: splash guard falls in from vibration, damaged splash guard
"I too was skeptical about the plastic body but I thought for the price and Costco carried it I would give it a try. My budget was already blown with a new stainless sink. I have to say I made a good choice. My neighbor purchased an Insinkerator and the Titan 3/4 horse Deluxe out performs the noise level of the Insinkerator and the grinding blades are safer. I am not happy with the removable splash guard. A few times it has fell in and now is damaged. and I need a replacement. I have had this installed since July 08. I have to say it's a very powerfull disposer and well worth the $ I spent on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Subruban Chicago
Date:October 28, 2008

No Problems So Far

Pros: my wife likes the quietness of the unit, is more powerful than our previous unit
Cons: overall size is larger than previous unit, upper neck is slightly narrower than previous unit
"Well this was certainly less expensive than the $150-$200 models I could have purchased at Home DePo. This product is working fine for us so far, but then again, my wife hasn't made any wild salads or whatever since we put it in. It was also my first attempt at replacing a disposer.
Much quieter than the old unit despite being 3/4 HP over 1/2 HP. Some plastic parts may aid in the noise suppression. The neck from the sink bottom down to the top of the grinding chamber is slightly narrower than our old unit (by maybe the thickness of a penny).
So far, no problems with leaks, although you have to follow their instructions and not assume that their unit installs the opposite of how the old unit came out. There is a point in the process where you have to make sure that threads that connect the next and the disposer are not damaged or stripped.
"
Review 6 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chelmsford, MA
Date:June 7, 2009

Broke after a year

Pros: seemed powerful
Cons: loud, vibrates, broke after a year of use
Model Number: Titan 1¼ HP Deluxe Food Waste Disposer - Item# 264007
"Pros - It seemed powerful
Cons
- VERY loud and vibrates like crazy
- Platic mount prone to leaking. All the vibration makes it become loose as well
- After over a year of use, makes a horrible grinding noise and when turned on and does not do anything. We believe it is dead
- Note that we never put any real stuff to be ground like bones etc. We are vegetarians and the worst we have thrown is rice and minuscule amount of veggies down the drain
We had a kenmore for over 12 years and may buy those again"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:June 24, 2009

Strong disposer, poor mount

Pros: strong grinding action, easy to clean, can be easily mounted in any direction
Cons: prone to leakage from mount, vibration, plastic neck is chrome: will ding
Model Number: Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe
"As a residential mgr, I've used this as a test case in my home. It worked well for 1/2of a year until the plastic mount started leaking (This is common with waste king gds also).The plastic nut easily gives & loosen up due to vibration. The plastic thread also easily gives & the chrome dinged from the start. Yes its painted plastic which bubbles. Will be contacting the manufacture for a new mounting assembly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:April 30, 2009

Junk

Pros: really grinds up food
Cons: noisy, shakes entire countertop, breaks easily
"Installed about 2 mos ago. Makes a lot of noise and shakes the entire island when it's on. That's a minor problem; the big problem is that a paring knife accidentally fell into the disposal and broke the disposal when we turned it on. A cheap, little paring knife destroyed this big disposal--and it is big, it takes up an entire side under the sink. The knife was just fine though. It's going back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

Poor splash guard design

"I didn't have any leaking problems like the previous reviewer, but I'm not overly impressed with the design.
My biggest gripe is the splash guard. They tout the removability of it as a feature, but the extra area taken up by the outer ring that keeps it in place makes the garbage disposal throat noticably smaller than other designs. Plus the splash guard material is too thick, too stiff, and the hole in the middle too small. Nothing larger than a kernal of corn will make it through the splash guard without being pushed through with something. Even water drains slowly due to the small opening.
The grind chamber is metal, but immediately above it is plastic. That's probably good for non-stick, but it makes me wonder how long it'll last.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:whittier, ca
Date:October 25, 2008
"This is the 3rd pruchase of this item in two months, I've returned 2 and on my way to return the 3rd, and purchasing another brand. these models screw in without screws and following the instructions none of them have worked properly, they all leak water."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Burbank, CA
Date:October 29, 2008

Great Disposer--Love the Mr. Scrappy Tool!

Pros: comes with a free food scrapper/plunger, powerful grind, can take out the splash guard to clean it, which keeps the sink hole from smelling
Cons: a little larger than i expected, but still fits fine under the sink
"This disposer is more powerful than I expected. And i haven't had any leaking problems. But I understand about the splash guard hole being a little small. That's what i thought at first. But my last disposer had the same size opening. To get food thorugh the hole i just got one of the Mr. Scrappy plungers and it really helps. I use it to scrap food off the plate and push it down the sink hole. with it, nothing gets stuck in the splash guard and i don't have to touch the left over food or push my hand down into the sink hole. overall, the disposer has been a great product."
Review 12 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

10 months new just broke

Model Number: Titan 3/4 hp
"This machine was suspect from the get go. Professionally installed in our new home by the plumbers , I felt sure this device would be ideal. Not so much. Whenever one would start the unit it would make a 'klink ' like noise, amost every time . It seemed to have no trouble emacerating the contents but the vibration was considerable. Yesterday I turned it on and it sounded like it was coming apart under the sink. I immediately shut it off and after inspection of the interior chamber found the metal chopper like blade had broke in half. I will be returning it today."
Review 13 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009

Not satisfied with this product

"I purchased this product because it was a great price for a 3/4 HP disposal. In the pictures the unit looks like it is metal, but it is silver painted plastic. I could not install the unit because the sink flange's threads (the part that you see in the sink that connects to the unit underneath the sink) were not long enough; also because the part is plastic the threads can easily strip. This part should be metal. The manufacturer was willing to sell me an extended flange, not give it to me like some other posts here."
Review 14 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:az
Date:October 28, 2008

lemon?

Pros: inexpensive, decent package
Cons: plastic collar, failed in a day
"I bought it from a warehouse 2 months ago. I finally installed it the other night. Yes, I did not like the plastic collar. Well, it must have been engineered, I guesses. Installation was not a big deal. It took 20min. In fact I spent more than 1 hour to remove my over 10 years old Kenmore one. This Titan worked for a day and stopped working. Well when it was working, it seemed fine... I'm getting a Waste King one and returning Titan..."
Review 15 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2008

Customer service beyond excellent

Model Number: Titan 960 Deluxe
"I'm worried about the plastic neck that connects to the sink. The support ring did not tighten; like it ran out of threads or the top threads were stripped. I called the toll free number, the lady that answered the phone (on the 2nd ring!) took care of the problem, sending me a new connection assembly.
If the disposal is half as good as the customer service, it will be a good investment.
"
Review 16 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:October 29, 2008

Easy to Install -- Great Customer Service!!

Pros: great customer service, very quiet
"I have had my disposer for a few months now and have had no problems so far. It is quiet and was so easy to intall. I did run into one small question while putting it in. But i called the manufacturer for help and they were so nice. I would totally recommend this to a friend. The great customer service alone is something you don't see from a lot of companies these days."
Review 17 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, CA
Date:April 24, 2009

regretable purchase

Pros: works fine
Cons: looks terrible
"The thing that bothers me most about this disposer is the chrome insert that goes into the sink that you have to look at all the time is cheap. In no time it is more dented and scratched than any old sink metal drain you have ever seen. Not exactly something you can fix by removing once the thing is in!"
Review 18 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 28, 2009

Poor mounting assembly

"Installed this in November. Discovered recently that the plastic neck connecting the disposer to the sink had stripped threads and water was leaking. Removed it and replaced it with a Insinkerator that has much better mouting assembly. Costco was good to take it back but lost some money on the install"
Review 19 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009

Strong, Quiet Disposer

Pros: great price., power cord is included and attached.
"We had two years experience for our first Titan and bought one for our mother-in-law. Now we have gifted a friend who is delighted with her new disposer which is quieter and stronger then the one which just gave out on her."
Review 20 for Titan 3/4 HP Deluxe Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, Washington
Date:January 8, 2009

Great product

Pros: easy installation, quiet, quality of product
Model Number: Titan 3/4 hp disposal
"I just installed this and it is amazing. Its quiet it has low vibration easy to install. I would recommend this product to anyone needing a quality disposer. Great buy"
1 2 next>>