Customer Reviews for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®

One Delivery • One Box • One Day to Build The Pond & Waterfall in a Box™ kit makes installing a professional quality pond and waterfall a quick and easy one-day project for the do-it-yourself landscaper.  Kit contains complete building materials including the natural stone and all pond and waterfall components and detailed step-by-step instructions. Kit includes: Detailed step-by-step instructions   Natural Stone: Flagstone, Small Boulders, Pebbles & Cobblestone   Pond & Waterfall liner   Submersible Pump   PVC Hose and clamp   Marking Paint   Spray Foam   Mortar   Shaping Cord   Shape: Customize using the 20’ shaping cord included   Size: Materials accommodate a 20’ inside circumference pond & waterfall contour. Actual dimensions of completed pond and waterfall depend on the shape you design. But for example, a completed kit could make a 5’x8’ water feature holding approximately 55 gallons.   NOT MEANT FOR KOI OR LARGE FISH Furnished by Homeowner: Tools: Wheel barrow, shovel, gloves, tape measure, level, trowel   Labor: Will need 1 or 2 people able to lift up to 60-90lbs in order to assemble this kit   Plants and greenery     All kits must be built per manufacturer's instructions.   Package: Pond & Waterfall in a Box is packaged in a single shrink-wrapped box that sits on a pallet   Box dimensions: 42” D x 42” W x 28” H   Weight: approx. 1,800lbs – components unloaded individually as you build. Weight of individual components can vary due to natural stone variances, but the average pieces of flagstone weigh approximately 30lbs and there are a few bags of pebbles & cobble that if lifted out singly weigh up to 90lbs. You can avoid lifting heavier items by opening bags and pulling out smaller portions at a time.   Natural Stone water feature kits delivered west of the Mississippi River will feature Three Rivers Stone® Flagstone. Customers in the Eastern U.S. will receive kits featuring Bluestone. To learn which stone is available in your state refer to our map. L&W Stone Corporation is one of the largest nationwide wholesale producers of high-quality natural stone products—quarried, sourced, fabricated and delivered—including its proprietary Three Rivers Stone®. For questions regarding this item, please email ultimatepondproducts@lwstone.com or call 1-800-346-9739. Model: pond kit
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Review 1 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:November 16, 2012

Definitely not easy!!

Pros: comes with good stones and river rock., free delivery.
Cons: liner is much too small., takes much more than a day., needs several bags of mortar., pump needs more volume., what kind of soil you have makes a huge difference, a preformed pond liner would work better.
Model Number: Three Rivers 700052
"The rock material is adequate for small project. If you do it right you'll need at least 4 or 5 bags of mortar. Rubber liner is too small and difficult to form. The pump at full volume is under powered. The mound of dirt they show in the video must be great dirt. My adobe and rock couldn't be compacted enough to sculpt. Had to build the waterfall portion with blocks and then add the stone with mortar. Took a friend who is a mason and myself 4 days to design construct and build while taking many trips to the supply house. Happy with the results but not the kit."
Review 2 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Benicia, CA
Date:October 3, 2012

NOT a "1-day build"

Pros: looks good, price
Cons: takes more than a day, needed more large flat stones
"Got this a while back and finally started building it a few weekends ago. I made it a little larger than specified, but had no problem getting additional 3 Rivers Rocks locally. Pond/waterfall turned out nice.
Warning: This is advertised as a "1 Day Build". Don't buy it. The mortar alone takes a day to dry. Between digging the hole, building the mound, moving the rocks, placing the rocks, mortaring, it took me about 2 weekends. Finding and patching the areas where water is seeping through will take you a couple more (locate leaks, patch, let mortar dry). One last note, the expandable foam that comes with the kit to plug little leaks is worthless. Stick with mortar."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 11, 2010

Great addition to our backyard

Pros: all in one kit, looks great in the backyard, love the water fall and the sound
Cons: none
Model Number: Natural Stone Pond and Waterfall Kit Three Rivers Stone® Flagstone Item # 234322
"We just finished landscaping our backyard. The pond was not part of the plan, but while browsing costco.com we thought it would be a great focal point to the corner of our back yard and boy am I glad we did. Shipment arrived earlier than anticipated and I received a call from the delivery company to arrange a date for delivery which was done curbside. As advertised, everything is included in the box and as listed in the descriptions. Since we had a landscaper on site, we decided to have the pond installed by a professional. Watching the installation, I can say it is definitely a DIY project, but plan on at least 2 days. Finished product looks better than the pictured one after we added few personal touches ( plants wise) and landscape spot lights. This is a nice pond/waterfall that requires little maintenance. The only thing that might go wrong in the future would be the pump which I can not attest to its durability."
Review 4 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, Co
Date:September 5, 2010

Great pond/waterfall

Pros: very well thought out kit, well worth the price, quality kit components
Cons: water leaks hard to find and seal, kit needs to add retaining wall
Model Number: 234322
"While I highly recommend this product, it definetly takes more than a day to construct. Instructions are good enough but could be better where sizing is addressed. Recommend using wood retaining walls around waterfall mound and steps to be sure cave in does not occur. I almost lost mine due to loose soil type. Rubber liner is plenty big enough to cover retaining wall. Figure on needing a few more flag stones to complete the job. In a dry climate a lot of water is lost to evaporation and/or leaks. Must add about 20 gal water each day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, Calif.
Date:August 14, 2010

Beautiful addition to back yard

Pros: a beautiful soothing addition to our backyard, would look great in the front yard too!
Cons: can not be built in a day, needs a couple of extra things to complete
Model Number: 11149885
"At first I was a little nervous about beginning the project. It seemed to me the instructions were a little vague. Once I got started, everything fell into place. Of course I used a little of my own personal preferences and imagination, such as pond lights and 1 water slide and 1 waterfall. I added a prefab basin at the top to collect and let the water spill naturally into the slide. My wife LOVES it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:August 4, 2010
Pros: beautiful addition to the yard..peaceful!
Cons: more than one day of work but thats okay!
"I love the finished product, but it was a great deal of work to get it the way I wanted it. I completed 99% of this on my own, only needing help with lifting a few of the HUGE stones. It took several days.
First be aware that there are two kits for this product. The one you receive depends on where you live. I am on the east side of the country and got the Bluestone kit. They do have different looks.
I did add a retaining wall behind the waterfall because I did not have a corner to build in. I also added the waterfall spill box/ biological filter at the top. My pond is now the home to happy koi and pond plants.
Check out the manufacturers website for additional pictures of ponds to help inspire your build.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:June 28, 2010

Great Kit, Not Quite Complete

Pros: nearly complete kit, great value
Cons: should include a waterfall weir, needs instructions on connecting hose to falls
"I left a long review before the price was dropped, but for some reason, those didn't carry over. Here were the key points:
1. Kit is 90% complete. A few items were needed to get proper flow. a) my pump did not have a proper attachment to the hose. I called and they offered to ship the attachment for free, referencing a change in pump manufacturers and a few kits went out without the attachment. b) Use more mortar. It's cheap to buy, so use more than the DVD recommends, particularly on the vertical supports of the middle tier. c) Buy a waterfall weir. This is a bucket looking thing that you connect your hose to at the top of the waterfall. The bucket fills and has a nice shelf that the water falls out of and onto your top tier. If you want a pretty even flow over the top ledge, you'll need one of these. They're $50 - $150, but I bit the bullet in the end at it made a huge difference. This should be included in the kit.
2. Leaks. This is not a negative for this product, but something you'll deal with for any waterfall. I found the solution in Quikcrete Hydraulic Water Stop. It sets in 3 min and stops leaks. Completely line the middle level with this as this was where I had the majority of the leaks.
3. This is not a 1 day project. It took my wife, father-in-law, and I 1.5 days to complete. That was followed with hours each day for the next couple weeks working on the cracks and adding the waterfall weir I finally bought.
4. More dirt. We dug a 5' x 2' x 1' deep hole and there was not nearly enough dirt for the mounding to have two 1' waterfall levels. The problem is do it yourself stores don't sell dirt, just top soil, which does not stick. I just used top soil and I'm hoping the mound doesn't slowly sink over time. I'd recommend finding actual dirt, but I think the only way to get it is via large scoops into a pickup truck (which we don't have)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 8, 2010

Beautiful and Soothing

"Once assembled, the pond and waterfall are beautiful. Contains all pieces necessary, and even had more than enough rock. Just make sure you don't make it bigger than the specs because then you will run out of rock, and you won't have enough liner. I would avoid watching the video unless you need a visual - the step by steps are confusing and don't give you the full story. Read the manual inside and out. We constructed it well enough so that we didn't even need to use the spray foam. Also, if you live in an area where the sand is rocky or fine, consider using cinder blocks to support the waterfall mounds. Otherwise, at the first instance of rain, the mounds will wash away. So happy with it though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:June 4, 2010

Product Exceeds Expectations

Cons: the instructions not updated. required a call
Model Number: 234322
"This product exceeded our expectations. Our finished water feature looks very similar to the picture. The construction took slightly longer than the one day indicated, but we expanded our project slightly. The kit contained everything necessary for the installation."
Review 10 for L & W Stone Pond and Waterfall in a Box®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 29, 2010

Complete and Perfect

Pros: everything you need, looks great, easy instructions, flexibility to customize to your installation
"Installed this in our back yard at the end of last summer. Costco delivered the large pallet directly to our driveway. Most difficult part was carrying all the pieces to the backyard where the fountain was to be built. The kit comes with more than enough rocks to do a decent size fountain and if you wanted to make it bigger it would be simple to add more rocks. The pump produces more than enough waterflow for out pond which has a 3' by 3' pond with a two stage waterfall covering about 3 vertical feet. Definitely recommended!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.