Customer Reviews for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy

Powered By BLUEWAVE®
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
23 of 31(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Review 1 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 23, 2008

Fabulous product

Pros: highly portable convenient compact effective
Cons: haven't found one yet
"This product is spectacular in its effectiveness. Before I started using this I was living on 3 hours of sleep each night and getting severely sleep deprived, irritable, blood pressure going up, and becoming disfunctional from the lack of sleep. I would wake up at 2:00 in the morning and never get back to sleep. The first day I used this I still woke up at 2, but was able to go right back to sleep until the alarm blasted me out of the bed. The second night I slept straight through. By the fifth day my blood pressure had dropped 25 points and was back to normal. This product saved me my job since I was becoming so disfunctional at work due to lack of sleep and also saved my sanity. I can't say enough good things about it. I have had no problems with durability and the three other people that I know that have them have not had any problems either--those that have had a problem should have returned them if the damage was not due to abuse. This product deserves 10 stars!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte NC
Date:December 4, 2008

You can't go wrong - worth every cent!

Pros: tons
Cons: none
"This is my third Apollo lightbox; however, I've had it for going on three years now. I keep buying Apollo's better technology everytime it comes out even though my two other Apollo boxes have treated my depression and SAD symptoms just fine (and still work great). This Go-Lite is *fantastic* - much smaller and easier to handle than the ones before it. And, contrary to what one other reviewer said, you do not 'have' to use it for 15 minutes to get results. I use mine for 10 minutes and sometimes 5 minutes. It will depend on the individual person; if you also take antidepressants, and what condition you are using it for. As I said, I've had this Go-Lite for about three years and it's still every bit as strong as it was on day one. I bought this lightbox for its blue-light technology that is much better on your eyes than using the white-light boxes (which are more bright and intense). I even use it while I'm driving if I have to get out early and don't have time to use it before leaving - it has never compromised my driving. I've talked quite a few people into buying this Go-Lite for its effectiveness and ease of handling (the other reviewers who had issues must have gotten lemons b/c Apollo makes great lightboxes) -- none of my family/friends have ever had any negative issues with their boxes. Incidentally, this is an Apollo product... I'm not sure why Philips has its name on the box now. Anyway, this is one great box - the proof is in the pudding! (10 stars)"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 25, 2008

Works for Me

Pros: portable, easy to use
Cons: charge could last longer, small shrill sound when charging
"For years I have struggled with winter blues in the Seattle area and restless sleep during our dark days of winter. After hearing positive remarks from many co-workers about this type of light and surmounting my skepticism, I purchased one. I give this light high marks (whether this is voodoo or simply belief it is working) I am in a better mood and am getting more solid sleep. I've used it each morning for about a month. Feel a bit like I'm in a tractor beam of an alien light, but it's worth it. Charge doesn't work as long as they say, but I think if you completely power it down the charge lasts longer. Charging it creates a minor high pitched sound (annoying to a noise freak like me, but tolerable). Can't figure out how to turn off the dang alarm reminder in the morning for when I sleep in and get my dose of light later in the morning. All in all... I'm very happy I purchased and will replace if it breaks down. December 2008 in Seattle has been a lengthy "indoor" time with a lengthy snow storm... so this has been a mental life ring for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, Or
Date:November 1, 2008

Great for SAD and Sleep

"I have been using this light for two years and can only say, without it all the anti-depressants in the world cannot do better! My Doctor at the sleep clinic even said this was a good product, and easy to travel with, use while eating breakfast, doing dishes at least for 10 minutes though more is better I do 20 minutes in am when no sun~Fantastic!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 9, 2009

Thoroughly impressed

Model Number: P-2
"I normally don't take the time to write these sort of reviews but I am ABSOLUTELY THRILLED with this light! Meaning I'm thrilled with the quality of the product itself (especially for the price). And I'm convinced of the medical benefits of this also for "winter blues." I've suffered from mild to pretty significant "winter blues" for a number of winters (yes even here in California). At times I also work nights and sleep days so this helps even more! My Medical Doctor HIGHLY recommends light therapy as well.
P.S. Although this light is intended for Seasonal Affective Disorder, there is very convincing legitimate medical studies you can read online that light therapy also helps "regular blues." A.K.A.- Depression. And guess what, some very preliminary medical research indicates the blue lights may be in a range that also helps clear up some acne (kills the bacteria that causes some types of acne)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2008

incredibly reliable & effective

Pros: helps me feel like myself all winter long, love the portability of the rechargeable battery
Cons: none
"I've been using Apollo golites for almost 6 years. My first light worked perfectly for 5 years--what a bargain for feeling great for 5 winters! So I bought a new one at the end of last winter, and it continues to be just as reliable & effective. The rechargeable battery is a big plus for convenience."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:November 6, 2008

No more winter blues!!

Pros: small/compact, easy to use, does not require a lot of time
"I bought this for my husband who has difficulty adjusting to short winter days. We used to joke about the "Northern Exposure" episode where all the characters wore lighted head lamps (they looked a little like miners) and one got "hooked" on the light. When I saw at Costco I had to buy it to see if it really worked. And, to our surprise, it did. Just a few minutes a day works wonders. No more moody days in the winter. This will be our third season using this light."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:December 2, 2008

Highly Recommended

Pros: small & convenient, inexpensive
Cons: none
"So much better than the big light box. So small! And convenient! I have one & my sister has one. No problems or issues at all. We both have had it for over a year. She uses it for her winter depression and I use it to regulate my sleep cycles. LOVE IT!! With Costco's return policy no reason for less than 5 stars.."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 6, 2008

Fabulous for depression!

Pros: portable - can be used while doing pretty much any
Cons: must use for about 15 min.
"Amazingly effective! I purchased this for depression and it really helped - especially in the winter!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:October 20, 2008

goLITE made a difference in my life!

Pros: effectiveness, portable easy to use
Cons: cost
"I currently own the first generation of goLite and was looking for a rechargeable unit. I was happy to find that Costco sells them now. This light has made such a difference in my life. I have suffered from seasonal mood and sleep problems for many years. I begin using my light sometime in October and after a week or so, I feel like my usual self. There are no side effects and the small size of the light makes it highly portable. This item is worth every penny!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:January 31, 2009

Light therapy changed my life

"It took me years to figure out I suffer from extreme SAD. So many years wasted, feeling sad, hopeless, unable to concentrate in the winter, and not even realizing something was wrong. Or that I could do something about it.
One day I finally put two and two together and bought a large white-light light box. Using it completely changed my winters, which I used to dread. Now I am focused, productive, and not cranky or irritable as I used to be.
This past winter of 2008, a friend who's a neurologist sent me a link for the Costco Golite. I figured I would try it, since the glare on the white light is occasionally annoying. My review: the blue light is AMAZING. It works even better than the white light, and is much easier on the eyes.
I read on the Mayo Clinic site that light therapy is now being used not just for SAD (winter blues), but for other types of depression as well. So I got one for my mother for Christmas. My mother does not have SAD, but does suffer from bouts of depression. She uses the light every morning for a half hour. From about the third day on, we all noticed the difference. She had not set foot in the yard in over a year. Now she's spending hours a day puttering around, planting flowers, tending to her bonsai, and being remarkably cheerful about life in general.
I know how much I have suffered through my winter and other depressions. I know it sounds like an exaggeration, but light therapy has changed my life; I heartily recommend it to all.
And yes, as odd as it may sound, it IS possible to have SAD even as far south as Miami, Florida! (I lived in NY for many years, and that's where it started. I thought living in Miami it would subside, but it didn't. My only relief has been light therapy)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 17, 2008

There might be some quality control issues

"I purchased the goLITE P2 for my wife, and so far she has appreciated the benefits it offers - She has noticed improved alertness and energy from using it. Over all, we feel the product is easy to use, and reasonably well made. Unfortunately, there seems there may be a quality control problem with these units - a prior reviewer here stated that the battery in their unit will not hold a proper charge, and I have seen a few references to the same problem in other reviews around the web. Our goLITE P2 exhibits the same issue. According to the manufacturer, the battery should power the unit at 100% brightness for 2 hours and ten minutes, while ours depletes a full charge in fifteen minutes. Despite this issue, I would still recommend this product to anyone looking for a light therapy device."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2008

Love it!

Pros: portability; price; effectiveness; quality
Cons: none
Model Number: goLITE P2
"I've had my goLITE P2 for 2 years and really love it. It works -- even using it just 10 minutes a day. I use mine first thing in the morning during the gray winter months. In addition to helping those winter blues, it really boosts my energy level. Mine is still working fine, but at this price, I plan to buy another!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:October 21, 2008

Cheap price, cheap result!

Cons: does not work after summer hiatus!
"This light was very helpful me and functioned fine for several months (hence the "2" rating). Living in the South, I did not need this during the summer due to an abundance of daylight. When I plugged it in in the fall, the clock and light no longer worked. I took it apart and discovered that a fine wire had come disconnected from the secondary C2025 battery circuit board. Even upon reconnect of the wire, the unit still failed to show the clock or turn on the light. Unless you must have the rechargeable battery, get a wall outlet powered unit. At least most somewhat handy people could repair that if it quit working."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Canton, MI
Date:January 17, 2009

Effective but problematic

Pros: effective, pleasant to use
Cons: clock loses time
Model Number: P2
"My husband and I each own one of these lights and we both find them to be effective in terms of preventing the winter blues. Also, it feels pleasant to use the light. However, the integral clock does not keep accurate time on either of our goLITEs, so I would not recommend using the unit as an alarm clock. For example, my light has lost 49 minutes over the past month. Also, I need to exchange my light because it doesn't turn off completely - even when the unit is turned off, the lights glow at a low intensity, so the battery charge doesn't last long. My husband's light doesn't have this problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 7, 2009

Battery Problem Solved

Pros: company cares for customers backs product 100%
Model Number: Golite P2 portable light
"Decided to try the Golite despite warnings from others that they tend to have battery problems. Sure enough, the one that arrived from Costco had the same problem not taking a proper charge. Contacted the company via email. They apologized for the failure of the first unit and within a week, our replacement arrived. They even paid for return postage by mailing us a Fed Ex label. The new light charged perfectly. They are an honest company with excellent public relations/troubleshooting staff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach SC
Date:December 19, 2008

LOVE IT!!

Pros: size is great for travel., easy to operate., easy to follow instructions.
Cons: cant find one!
Model Number: P2
"For the first time in 3 years I have not had to take some sort of sleep aid. I am truely amazed. I was not expecting anything more than a mood lift and am so excited to throw out my melatonin! This unit is the perfect size. I use it when I am checking my morning email for about 15 mins. As a nurse I have heard co workers rave anout these units,but was always aprehensive. Why oh why did I wait so long!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:dreary cleveland
Date:January 30, 2009

high praise from a skeptic

Pros: delivers on its promise
Cons: as mentioned - battery life
"come on - light therapy?" That was my initial reaction. With some research and the benefit of Costco's return policy I figured all I had to lose was irritability, mood swings, and seasonal depression. Glad I did it!! Looking back, I wish I paid for expedited shipping.
On my 8th day of use now. Around day 4, I felt a drastic difference in my overall mood and general "outlook" for doing things. Changes started occuring on day 2. These are definitely not minor changes, nor are they placebo effect.
To give you an idea of the conditions outside while I have been using this Go Lite, we've seen sunshine for about 4 hours in the last 2 weeks, and even that was filtered through clouds. There has been a cumulative of about 12 inches of snow here in the last 10 days. The Go Lite has assisted greatly in keeping my seasonal depression at bay. I wish I had this unit while I worked night shift in a warehouse.
Also, around day 6 I was waking up at 3 in the morning wide awake like I could run a marathon. In following the directions, I began to use the go-lite in the afternoon as well as the morning. My circadian rythyms came back into balance in a couple of nights and last night slept like a baby. Once you find the percentage intensity and durations you will be set. This is a very easy process. I am very, very happy about this purchase.
The only con is well discussed already - battery life isn't great, but average. I don't care, I just recharge right after I use it. You can also use while plugged in. This known minor flaw didn't stop me nor should it stop you from purchasing.
Good luck!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008

No Good

"Battery doesnt hold charge - 3 Lights went out in less than two weeks. Its something I need but not if it doesnt work"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2008

Third time might be a charm

"The battery in the first light we purchased did not hold its charge. We need a light that runs on battery. I called the company and they said to return it to Costco.
I did that and ordered a second light. The second one has a battery that holds its charge but it makes a loud, high pitched noise while charging.
We are returning this light and ordering a third.
My daughter uses the light to get her sleep cycles in sync with her school schedule. The light is working well for that purpose. We just need to purchase one that is free of any defects.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>