Customer Reviews for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy

Powered By BLUEWAVE®
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
23 of 31(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Review 1 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Date:March 7, 2009

Excellent results

Pros: very portable
"For the first winter in probably eight years, I am not taking a prescription antidepressant thanks to my GoLite. I noticed a big improvement after only a couple days and now I'm addicted. I keep it plugged in and stowed under my recliner, using it once or twice a day while I watch TV. I have no concerns about its reliability. My primary care physician had recommended light therapy years ago but the price was prohibitive. GoLite is very reasonably priced and worth every penny and then some!"
Review 2 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 9, 2009

Thoroughly impressed

Model Number: P-2
"I normally don't take the time to write these sort of reviews but I am ABSOLUTELY THRILLED with this light! Meaning I'm thrilled with the quality of the product itself (especially for the price). And I'm convinced of the medical benefits of this also for "winter blues." I've suffered from mild to pretty significant "winter blues" for a number of winters (yes even here in California). At times I also work nights and sleep days so this helps even more! My Medical Doctor HIGHLY recommends light therapy as well.
P.S. Although this light is intended for Seasonal Affective Disorder, there is very convincing legitimate medical studies you can read online that light therapy also helps "regular blues." A.K.A.- Depression. And guess what, some very preliminary medical research indicates the blue lights may be in a range that also helps clear up some acne (kills the bacteria that causes some types of acne)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 7, 2009

Battery Problem Solved

Pros: company cares for customers backs product 100%
Model Number: Golite P2 portable light
"Decided to try the Golite despite warnings from others that they tend to have battery problems. Sure enough, the one that arrived from Costco had the same problem not taking a proper charge. Contacted the company via email. They apologized for the failure of the first unit and within a week, our replacement arrived. They even paid for return postage by mailing us a Fed Ex label. The new light charged perfectly. They are an honest company with excellent public relations/troubleshooting staff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:January 31, 2009

Light therapy changed my life

"It took me years to figure out I suffer from extreme SAD. So many years wasted, feeling sad, hopeless, unable to concentrate in the winter, and not even realizing something was wrong. Or that I could do something about it.
One day I finally put two and two together and bought a large white-light light box. Using it completely changed my winters, which I used to dread. Now I am focused, productive, and not cranky or irritable as I used to be.
This past winter of 2008, a friend who's a neurologist sent me a link for the Costco Golite. I figured I would try it, since the glare on the white light is occasionally annoying. My review: the blue light is AMAZING. It works even better than the white light, and is much easier on the eyes.
I read on the Mayo Clinic site that light therapy is now being used not just for SAD (winter blues), but for other types of depression as well. So I got one for my mother for Christmas. My mother does not have SAD, but does suffer from bouts of depression. She uses the light every morning for a half hour. From about the third day on, we all noticed the difference. She had not set foot in the yard in over a year. Now she's spending hours a day puttering around, planting flowers, tending to her bonsai, and being remarkably cheerful about life in general.
I know how much I have suffered through my winter and other depressions. I know it sounds like an exaggeration, but light therapy has changed my life; I heartily recommend it to all.
And yes, as odd as it may sound, it IS possible to have SAD even as far south as Miami, Florida! (I lived in NY for many years, and that's where it started. I thought living in Miami it would subside, but it didn't. My only relief has been light therapy)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:dreary cleveland
Date:January 30, 2009

high praise from a skeptic

Pros: delivers on its promise
Cons: as mentioned - battery life
"come on - light therapy?" That was my initial reaction. With some research and the benefit of Costco's return policy I figured all I had to lose was irritability, mood swings, and seasonal depression. Glad I did it!! Looking back, I wish I paid for expedited shipping.
On my 8th day of use now. Around day 4, I felt a drastic difference in my overall mood and general "outlook" for doing things. Changes started occuring on day 2. These are definitely not minor changes, nor are they placebo effect.
To give you an idea of the conditions outside while I have been using this Go Lite, we've seen sunshine for about 4 hours in the last 2 weeks, and even that was filtered through clouds. There has been a cumulative of about 12 inches of snow here in the last 10 days. The Go Lite has assisted greatly in keeping my seasonal depression at bay. I wish I had this unit while I worked night shift in a warehouse.
Also, around day 6 I was waking up at 3 in the morning wide awake like I could run a marathon. In following the directions, I began to use the go-lite in the afternoon as well as the morning. My circadian rythyms came back into balance in a couple of nights and last night slept like a baby. Once you find the percentage intensity and durations you will be set. This is a very easy process. I am very, very happy about this purchase.
The only con is well discussed already - battery life isn't great, but average. I don't care, I just recharge right after I use it. You can also use while plugged in. This known minor flaw didn't stop me nor should it stop you from purchasing.
Good luck!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Stanwood, WA
Date:January 24, 2009

Inconsistent Product

Pros: i did start sleeping better.
Cons: inconsistent performance
"When it worked, it was great. However sometimes it wouldn't come on and sometimes it flickered out. I ended up having to take it back."
Review 7 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Canton, MI
Date:January 17, 2009

Effective but problematic

Pros: effective, pleasant to use
Cons: clock loses time
Model Number: P2
"My husband and I each own one of these lights and we both find them to be effective in terms of preventing the winter blues. Also, it feels pleasant to use the light. However, the integral clock does not keep accurate time on either of our goLITEs, so I would not recommend using the unit as an alarm clock. For example, my light has lost 49 minutes over the past month. Also, I need to exchange my light because it doesn't turn off completely - even when the unit is turned off, the lights glow at a low intensity, so the battery charge doesn't last long. My husband's light doesn't have this problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central washington
Date:January 12, 2009

surprisingly effective

Pros: small effective
Cons: can't complain
"I have to back up all claims Philips has made for this modest yet very effective light. I mounted on my bed frame so it shines down on me we the alarm goes off. Expensive for a alarm clock yes, but very effective and pleasant to wake to."
Review 9 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2009

Solid Purchase

Pros: portability
"Sorry to hear that others have not had a positive experience with the light. I think it works well. I definitely feel better this winter. I sit and read for about a 1/2 hour in the morning each day."
Review 10 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 25, 2008

Works for Me

Pros: portable, easy to use
Cons: charge could last longer, small shrill sound when charging
"For years I have struggled with winter blues in the Seattle area and restless sleep during our dark days of winter. After hearing positive remarks from many co-workers about this type of light and surmounting my skepticism, I purchased one. I give this light high marks (whether this is voodoo or simply belief it is working) I am in a better mood and am getting more solid sleep. I've used it each morning for about a month. Feel a bit like I'm in a tractor beam of an alien light, but it's worth it. Charge doesn't work as long as they say, but I think if you completely power it down the charge lasts longer. Charging it creates a minor high pitched sound (annoying to a noise freak like me, but tolerable). Can't figure out how to turn off the dang alarm reminder in the morning for when I sleep in and get my dose of light later in the morning. All in all... I'm very happy I purchased and will replace if it breaks down. December 2008 in Seattle has been a lengthy "indoor" time with a lengthy snow storm... so this has been a mental life ring for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008

No Good

"Battery doesnt hold charge - 3 Lights went out in less than two weeks. Its something I need but not if it doesnt work"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008

Seemed to be effective but

Cons: poor quality
Model Number: goLite P2
"it seems the Light button is broken after only 3 days. The LED's now just flash when the button is pressed and they don't come on at all using the timer.."
Review 13 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach SC
Date:December 19, 2008

LOVE IT!!

Pros: size is great for travel., easy to operate., easy to follow instructions.
Cons: cant find one!
Model Number: P2
"For the first time in 3 years I have not had to take some sort of sleep aid. I am truely amazed. I was not expecting anything more than a mood lift and am so excited to throw out my melatonin! This unit is the perfect size. I use it when I am checking my morning email for about 15 mins. As a nurse I have heard co workers rave anout these units,but was always aprehensive. Why oh why did I wait so long!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 19, 2008

Battery would not charge

Model Number: goLITE P2
"I followed the instructions to charge the battery overnight. The unit made a hissing noise when charging - which was a little scary. The next morning it would not work unless plugged in. I will try ordering another unit one more time only because Costco is so good about returns."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 17, 2008

There might be some quality control issues

"I purchased the goLITE P2 for my wife, and so far she has appreciated the benefits it offers - She has noticed improved alertness and energy from using it. Over all, we feel the product is easy to use, and reasonably well made. Unfortunately, there seems there may be a quality control problem with these units - a prior reviewer here stated that the battery in their unit will not hold a proper charge, and I have seen a few references to the same problem in other reviews around the web. Our goLITE P2 exhibits the same issue. According to the manufacturer, the battery should power the unit at 100% brightness for 2 hours and ten minutes, while ours depletes a full charge in fifteen minutes. Despite this issue, I would still recommend this product to anyone looking for a light therapy device."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:December 14, 2008

Amazing!

Pros: effectiveness, portability
Cons: battery wouldn't hold a charge
Model Number: goLite P2
"I was amazed by the effectiveness of this product. I am torn about the rating because the battery wouldn't charge. I have returned my original unit and am purchasing another in hopes that the battery will hold a charge. The unit worked while plugged into an outlet. I am usually resistant to any kind of treatment so I started out rather aggressively on the intensity and duration. I was nauseated the first two days. I cut back and then left town for four days and didn't have it. I was amazed to find that I woke every day before my alarm went off and was not groggy or drowsy. I'm hoping the effects continue with an enhanced mood and energy level. Even if my next unit won't hold a charge, I will probably keep it."
Review 17 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2008

It Never Worked

"I was very excited about trying this product out, but when I plugged it in it was dead. The battery charging light never came on. I tried leaving it plugged in overnight, but it appears to be worthless."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2008

Love it!

Pros: portability; price; effectiveness; quality
Cons: none
Model Number: goLITE P2
"I've had my goLITE P2 for 2 years and really love it. It works -- even using it just 10 minutes a day. I use mine first thing in the morning during the gray winter months. In addition to helping those winter blues, it really boosts my energy level. Mine is still working fine, but at this price, I plan to buy another!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque New Mexico
Date:December 9, 2008

Very disappointed

Model Number: goLITE P2
"I was so excited about this product. After a full charge, the light button does not function. It breifly flashes, then goes off. This item is defective. I plan to return it."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for goLITE® P2 Portable Light Therapy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte NC
Date:December 4, 2008

You can't go wrong - worth every cent!

Pros: tons
Cons: none
"This is my third Apollo lightbox; however, I've had it for going on three years now. I keep buying Apollo's better technology everytime it comes out even though my two other Apollo boxes have treated my depression and SAD symptoms just fine (and still work great). This Go-Lite is *fantastic* - much smaller and easier to handle than the ones before it. And, contrary to what one other reviewer said, you do not 'have' to use it for 15 minutes to get results. I use mine for 10 minutes and sometimes 5 minutes. It will depend on the individual person; if you also take antidepressants, and what condition you are using it for. As I said, I've had this Go-Lite for about three years and it's still every bit as strong as it was on day one. I bought this lightbox for its blue-light technology that is much better on your eyes than using the white-light boxes (which are more bright and intense). I even use it while I'm driving if I have to get out early and don't have time to use it before leaving - it has never compromised my driving. I've talked quite a few people into buying this Go-Lite for its effectiveness and ease of handling (the other reviewers who had issues must have gotten lemons b/c Apollo makes great lightboxes) -- none of my family/friends have ever had any negative issues with their boxes. Incidentally, this is an Apollo product... I'm not sure why Philips has its name on the box now. Anyway, this is one great box - the proof is in the pudding! (10 stars)"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>