Customer Reviews for Basic On-stand Set-up

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Basic On-stand Set-up

Home Theater Set-up Program Remotes, Recycle Old TV
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
54 of 64(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basic On-stand Set-up
Review 1 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:February 26, 2010

Very Positive Experience!

Pros: personable professional, tech well versed on current products
Cons: none
Model Number: LG 47SL80 and OPPO BDP-83
"Neither my husband nor I felt up to hooking up our new 46" LED HDTV nor Blue Ray DVD , much less combining with our 'old school' (big) speakers and amp.
Within 2 business days we were contacted by Installs and a 4 hour window assigned on a date of our choosing. My husband received a call the day before to confirm, and the tech offered to come at an earlier time if it were more convenient. Wow!
Derek arrived right on time and was polite, professional yet friendly and did all the unpacking, set up and hauling away of debris. He spend adequate time explaining the new remotes and basic features of each unit.
I peeked behind the entertainment stand and it was great to see all the various wires so neatly bundled, as well as the new surge protector in place.
All in all, this was a very positive install experience, fairly priced and completely without hassle. Would use this service again and heartly recommend without reservation!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 17, 2009

Basic TV Setup Item #126032

"Installs, Inc. sent a young gentleman named Eric to set up a Samsung TV and a Samsung Audio Visual unit, replacing my existing equipment. Eric arrived promptly and did an excellent installation job. He left written instructions on how to access everything. We were exceptionally pleased with his workmanship and attention to detail. We were entirely pleased with his service."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2011

Mixed experience

"My initial impressions of Installs.Inc (the contractor company performing the installation) was positive (courtesy, phone manners), then things got worse. My appointment was rescheduled for much later because Installs "did not have a technician available" in my city (I do not not live in the middle of nowhere, by the way). Eventually, they sent a subcontractor who was professional and courteous but was not familiar with my particular model of TV. The installer was a subcontractor, not an Installs employee. He was also alone (not a team of two, as promised) and I ended up assisting in the process of attaching the TV to the stand. The TV I purchased was defective, so the installer could not finish the set up. I had to exchange the TV in store later (major hassle, arranging transportation for a big screen TV). The new TV seems to work (I reconnected the cables myself, following the pattern set by the installer), but I am now on my own figuring out all of the advanced features of my new SmartTV (I bought a Samsung Smart 3D TV)."
Review 4 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clarkston, WA.
Date:June 16, 2010

Disappointed

"We purchased a newer home where the previous owners had installed a wall mounted TV. We hired install to set up the new TV and various components. The guy showed up on time but did not have any tools. He received at least two personel phone calls while at the house. Due to the move we had stacked four components on top of each other. He was asked to place them on the various shelves on the stand. He did not. He did say he would assist placing the TV on the existing wall mount but decalred this was a "favor." It was easier than moving the components and placing on the shelves. He was asked to connect the speakers but he said he was not required to do so. It was pointed out the brochure indicated they would attach a "home theatre". He then connected the back speakers. He did not seem confident in his abilities to connect the components. Was this his first assignment? I had to loan him the tools to cut the wire, screwdriver, etc."
Review 5 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2011

left short

"The installation was ok. There wasn't that much to do. Programming of the remotes was good and the explanation was adequate. The DVD player was hooked-up and the wi-fi was enabled. The installer was not able to install the Wi- fi to the TV although the manual clearly states it should be available. The installer claimed he was only allowed to spend 10 minutes on it. The wi-fi TV was one of the reasons we bought this model. I guess I'll have to figure it out myself or call tech support. I think the price is a little high for the service provided."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:September 25, 2010

Still trying to get them to take our TV

Cons: they have been unable to take our old tv
"We purchased this service to have a convenient (and green!) way to dispose of our old TV, which was large and took up a lot of space - we weren't even looking for a lot of help in setting up our new TV
After three phone calls in which we described the TV and set up a service appointment, when the serviceman came to the house, he said they were unable to take the TV, and apparently the dispatch service didn't pass along any of the information we'd given them.
We are still waiting for a reschedule time, but at this point, it's been over two weeks since we placed our order, and our old TV is STILL sitting in the middle of the living room. If they end up finally taking the TV, we might update this to two stars, but in the end, for a paid service, it's not worth the hassle."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Aurora Colorado
Date:January 9, 2012

Basin On-stand Set-up

"The service guys called that they were on their way and arrived as scheduled.
Setting up the Viera 60 in. plasma and Blu ray went without a hitch and both units are operating well.
They didn't have to take our old TV and, as had been agreed by phone with a service rep., helped roll that TV into our bedroom although they did point out that they were not supposed to do that.
They suggested strongly that I kept the carton which I agreed to but .......
the vehicle that they drove here would not have been able to take our 53in. rear projection SONY TV and they would also have had to cut up the new TV's shipping carton; The vehicle was too small and dripped oil on our driveway which I wasn't aware of until I cleared the snow off the driveway.
Also ... the Blu-ray player was new. The senior rep said that he did not have to set up a new unit even though it was in a compartment immediately below the TV. I pointed to the existing home stereo components on the far side of the room. He decided to hook up the Blu-ray which took all of 5 minutes. I did not ask him to hook up the other components for I had already plugged in the HDMI cable to the Directv receiver and run it to the TV location.
However they did a reasonable job.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 7, 2010

Superior and Helpful

Pros: thorough & helpful, tv has unnecessary 'energy savings' display.
Model Number: Sharp Aquos LC-C6077UN
"Yes, anyone 'can' plug in a TV and most of us 'can' (usually) correctly connect our various toys (DVD, etc.) to it.
That's the (ahem) easy part.
Then our installers got the TV to recognize each external device, made one remote run the volume for everything and clearly explained why we still had to use a second controller to run one thing (but made it easy to understand why).
They wanted to help. They did help. They were patient, cooperative, thoughtful. Oh, and they did a great job.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 30, 2011

Worth Every Penny!

Pros: a deal at twice the price!
Cons: absolutely nothing!
Model Number: XVT3D650SV Vision
"Although my son set up the new 65-inch 3-D Visio T.V., everything was not working correctly. Time Warner helped a little, but there was still so many things I had no idea how to program. Called Costco's Set-Up team and two brothers came out and did a fantastic job of setting up everything including the cable box, new blu ray DVD player, adding labels, showing me some tricks, etc. Fabulous!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Prescott. Az
Date:June 7, 2011

Great Service

Pros: costco excellent customer service
"I had a scheduling issue(with Install Company)and the supervisor
was able to get a tech. to my home as promised. Install went smoothly once tech arrived.
The supervisor at Costco followed thru with my issue and continued to call/email me until the issue was resolved. Costco's customer service is excellent.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florissant, Mo.
Date:October 22, 2010

Definitely worth the money

Model Number: EA21VA 42 inch TV
"We purchased the set up package for our new flat panel TV and it was great. There are so many wires to connect and disconnect we were overwhelmed. Doing this took the worry and frustration out of the mix. We love our new TV. Installer was very informative and helpful."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2011

Met Expectations

Pros: very professional
Model Number: 950340
"Both installation people were very helpful. I am technology handicapped and they were extremely patient educating me on how the system worked, answering questions all along the way. They worked quickly and efficiently and recycled the old plasma as promised"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Englewood, CO
Date:July 31, 2012

Key word here is "Basic"

"I purchased this because I was utterly clueless as to how to begin to set up my brand new TV with it's "smart" features. In hindsight I realized, "I didn't know what I didn't know" as far as having available all the necessary cables, or the correct type of Universal Remote. After the technician arrived, we determined I needed a FiberOptic cable for the speaker system, an Ethernet cable or a "dongle cable" for the wireless system,and an HDMI cord (like the joke goes, I don't even know how to spell it) for the new DVD player. The technician took one look at the Universal Remote I had purchased, shook his head and said it had to be programmed on line. It ended up that for $90 I (Basically) had my TV set plugged in for me.
I felt like I couldn't justify asking for a refund because technically, it was my responsibility to have all the necessary cables and wires that were needed, and that I must have purchased a "learning" remote (I still don't exactly know what that means)....... I just feel like I should warn some of you that you won't get much value out of this if you don't know something about what exactly you need to get it all hooked up.
I would suggest if you purchase this Set Up, contact Costco's concierge service first. When I did so, the technician really did try to persuade me that he could easily assist me in hooking things up and save me the money for this set up.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Date:February 23, 2012

Great Service

"The company called three hours after I purchased the service to set up a date with a 4 hour window. The tech. on the day called me to say that it would be closer to the end of the window and he arrived and got to work. It took him several hours to assemble, remove the old TV and to set up all the extras like the DVD and VCR. Then because the included cables for the soundbar were the wrong ones, he told me to get the right one the next day and call him and he would come back and finish which he did when I got the cable. I would recommend this to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 15, 2010

Excellent!

"Could we have plugged it in ourselves? Maybe, but it would have taken at least 4 days and 7 arguments. However, we wouldn't have had a clue about calibrating our new TV's picture, sound, remote control & other options. Patrick, our installer, arrived on time, was very well mannered, professional and knowledgeable. He patiently explained all the details of our system, had us write down any important details and made sure we could turn it on, off, play dvd's etc before he left. We couldn't be more pleased! We highly recommend Installs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:greenville sc
Date:May 7, 2012

Follow up needed

"Purchased the tv set up problem with 4 hr. block and no one showed up and no one called to advise being late or to even ask for a new appt.Having owned a service business I know the importance of scheduled appts or at least a phone call to advise being late with a new expected arrival time. Costco did send out a new company the next day and very satisfied at this point and also gave this company an additional project at a future date."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:May 17, 2010

Outstanding Value

Model Number: Vizio VF552XVT
"I purchased tall items at Costco...the HDTV stand set up with hanging of the 55" HDTV on the stand and basic set up of all...HDTV, sound bar, blu-ray. Outstanding value to have experts put stand together and all componets. They took 5 hours total...no rushing and taught me how everything worked post set-up. I am sure this would have taken me significantly longer to do this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2010

Great service!

"I could probably have set my TV up by myself, but I am so glad that I went with the installation service instead. Joe, the installer, was very helpful and efficient about setting up my TV. In addition, he helped me figure out what additional components I needed in order to connect my computer to my TV. Overall, I thought the service was great for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, California
Date:October 5, 2010

Great install

Pros: fast, efficient, helpful
Model Number: Sony Bravia 55 inch
"Bruce, our installer, did an excellent job with the TV installation. He then explained how to use everything. He was very thorough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:March 30, 2011

Great value

Pros: perfect
Cons: none
Model Number: 46 inch Panasonic plasma 3D
"Appointment was on time. Great communication before hand. Very professional tech. who knew what he was doing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>