Customer Reviews for Basic On-stand Set-up

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Basic On-stand Set-up

Home Theater Set-up Program Remotes, Recycle Old TV
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
54 of 64(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basic On-stand Set-up
Review 1 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Englewood, CO
Date:July 31, 2012

Key word here is "Basic"

"I purchased this because I was utterly clueless as to how to begin to set up my brand new TV with it's "smart" features. In hindsight I realized, "I didn't know what I didn't know" as far as having available all the necessary cables, or the correct type of Universal Remote. After the technician arrived, we determined I needed a FiberOptic cable for the speaker system, an Ethernet cable or a "dongle cable" for the wireless system,and an HDMI cord (like the joke goes, I don't even know how to spell it) for the new DVD player. The technician took one look at the Universal Remote I had purchased, shook his head and said it had to be programmed on line. It ended up that for $90 I (Basically) had my TV set plugged in for me.
I felt like I couldn't justify asking for a refund because technically, it was my responsibility to have all the necessary cables and wires that were needed, and that I must have purchased a "learning" remote (I still don't exactly know what that means)....... I just feel like I should warn some of you that you won't get much value out of this if you don't know something about what exactly you need to get it all hooked up.
I would suggest if you purchase this Set Up, contact Costco's concierge service first. When I did so, the technician really did try to persuade me that he could easily assist me in hooking things up and save me the money for this set up.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Camano Island, WA
Date:July 10, 2012

Poor Scheduling

Model Number: Samsung 46" TV and BluRay disc player
"It took an additional 7 days, after my initial schedule was cancelled by Installs,Inc, to get back on schedule. That occcurred only after at least two COSTCO managers intervened. I give a ONE star rating to Installs for poor scheduling; I give a FIVE star rating to the installers after arriving at 9pm from a city about 140 miles from my home; I give a TEN star rating to the COSTCO managers for their commitment to customer satisfaction."
Review 3 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:June 25, 2012

Simplify the Big Screen TV Installation

Pros: value for money
Model Number: 55PFL5706
"This service was ordered because the TV was heavy and awkward size. The Technician was very adept at handling these units without risking damage to me or the unit. The set up was fast and efficient and covered many issues that would have taken any customer time and frustration to accomplish such as programming the cable remote, connecting additional equipment including a dvd player and wireless headphones. The whole set up was fast, well within the scheduled time, and the technician uncomplicated the whole process."
Review 4 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Clemente, CA
Date:May 7, 2012

So Glad I Did This!

"The company that installed my new TV (Installs) saved me a lot of time and aggravation. First, they hooked up my new TV to all of my components--stereo, game, cable box, blu ray, and did it all correctly! Then, they removed my huge old TV (must have been 200 lbs), which was my major concern--actually getting it out of my house. The two technicians were very nice and highly professional, and they made sure I knew how to operate my TV before they left. I would absolutely use this company for the installation of my next TV!"
Review 5 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:greenville sc
Date:May 7, 2012

Follow up needed

"Purchased the tv set up problem with 4 hr. block and no one showed up and no one called to advise being late or to even ask for a new appt.Having owned a service business I know the importance of scheduled appts or at least a phone call to advise being late with a new expected arrival time. Costco did send out a new company the next day and very satisfied at this point and also gave this company an additional project at a future date."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central FL
Date:April 24, 2012

Not Costco Excellence

Model Number: VizzioM3D550SR
"Experience was missing in the programing the remotes. Not the comfort with the product that I expected.
Good effort and within time lines.
Not as familiar with this TV and how to setup WIFI and etc.
Good guy willing to make it work.
Peddler p
"
Review 7 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago suburb, IL
Date:April 19, 2012

Professional and Timely

"Technician was very helpful, came on time and answered all my questions."
Review 8 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 9, 2012

BEST SERVICE EVER

Model Number: n/a
"TV installation was perfect including remote and surround sound components. Installer was very informative and patient. BIG problem recycling my old TV as it weighted 200 pounds and the installer and I could barely lift it as well as the installer not being able to fit it in his van. Installation company went out of their way to get the TV recycled. One out of ten?? I give them a 12 !!"
Review 9 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buckingham, PA
Date:March 31, 2012

Glad We Spent the Money

Pros: removal & safe disposal of old tv, courteous patient knowledgeable technicians
Cons: price; but not really when you think about it
Model Number: Costco Item # 126032
"The TV I was replacing was an old, heavy 32" CRT type - largest of its type when bought. I barely managed to install it myself years ago. Now, disabled and facing the TV's environmental disposal issues, I had no idea what I was going to do. For us, it was worth the money just to have the TV removed from the stand and disposed of safely. The two young men that did the work were polite, careful, courteous, and patient. They hooked up the existing Satellite Controller/DVR, add the DVD player and reprogrammed the satellite's universal remote. Then, they patiently reviewed the operation of everything with us."
Review 10 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Valley, California
Date:March 28, 2012

Worth the cost

"Very convenient service. Scheduling was easy, technician called in advance and arrived on time. (Which is always appreciated.) He was friendly, polite, and through and explained everything to me while he setup the TV. He was even great with my dog!"
Review 11 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southlake, Texas
Date:March 16, 2012

TV Install

"Classic case of overpromising and underdelivering. We purchased the above service which, in our case, involved a relatively basic installation. As promised, Installs Corporation called us within 24 hours of our purchase from Costco and scheduled the visit for 2 days later and somewhere between the time window of 8:00 a.m. and noon.
The installer arrived at 12:50 p.m. and based on my conversations with this person, it became immediately apparent that from the time of the initial appointment with Installs there was no way he was going to make the stated window of time. The installation was fine, but it didn't offset the late arrival.
Definitely a buyer beware scenario and one for which I'm disappointed that Costco supports."
Review 12 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2012

Worth the price

Model Number: Vizio
"Great product. New 3-D TV. Old, out of date receiver. No manual for old receiver. Technician showed us how we could get surround sound out of our old receiver, programmed our remotes to control all devices. Made suggestions on how to improve the system at our pace."
Review 13 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:February 28, 2012

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Pros: very satisfied
Model Number: Vizio 42 inch
"The installers were on time, very friendly and courteous. They unpacked the new Vizio TV assembled the stand and programmed it in a very professional manner. The instructions I reveived were direct and clear."
Review 14 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Date:February 23, 2012

Great Service

"The company called three hours after I purchased the service to set up a date with a 4 hour window. The tech. on the day called me to say that it would be closer to the end of the window and he arrived and got to work. It took him several hours to assemble, remove the old TV and to set up all the extras like the DVD and VCR. Then because the included cables for the soundbar were the wrong ones, he told me to get the right one the next day and call him and he would come back and finish which he did when I got the cable. I would recommend this to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:February 8, 2012

Half a loaf is better?

Model Number: 126032
"I bought a 40" Philips TV from Costco and also ordered the Basic On Stand Set-up, which included recycling the old TV. The TV was great. The Set-up was great. But, no recycle of the old TV. It is so heavy that I will probably have to hire someone else...an additional cost!
In this case, half --- isn't better.
"
Review 16 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Aurora Colorado
Date:January 9, 2012

Basin On-stand Set-up

"The service guys called that they were on their way and arrived as scheduled.
Setting up the Viera 60 in. plasma and Blu ray went without a hitch and both units are operating well.
They didn't have to take our old TV and, as had been agreed by phone with a service rep., helped roll that TV into our bedroom although they did point out that they were not supposed to do that.
They suggested strongly that I kept the carton which I agreed to but .......
the vehicle that they drove here would not have been able to take our 53in. rear projection SONY TV and they would also have had to cut up the new TV's shipping carton; The vehicle was too small and dripped oil on our driveway which I wasn't aware of until I cleared the snow off the driveway.
Also ... the Blu-ray player was new. The senior rep said that he did not have to set up a new unit even though it was in a compartment immediately below the TV. I pointed to the existing home stereo components on the far side of the room. He decided to hook up the Blu-ray which took all of 5 minutes. I did not ask him to hook up the other components for I had already plugged in the HDMI cable to the Directv receiver and run it to the TV location.
However they did a reasonable job.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012

Good service

Model Number: Vizio E3D320VX
"Had 9 units to tie into TV plus cable .Setup and all worked.Well worth the $ as I would still be hooking up.Good guys and informative.I recyled the TV etc.
Would use again
"
Review 18 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 30, 2011

Worth Every Penny!

Pros: a deal at twice the price!
Cons: absolutely nothing!
Model Number: XVT3D650SV Vision
"Although my son set up the new 65-inch 3-D Visio T.V., everything was not working correctly. Time Warner helped a little, but there was still so many things I had no idea how to program. Called Costco's Set-Up team and two brothers came out and did a fantastic job of setting up everything including the cable box, new blu ray DVD player, adding labels, showing me some tricks, etc. Fabulous!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2011
"nd hit input twice. Then the system starts up. You then have to hit CBL on thge remote to get full use of all the system. It is about as labor intensive to turn it off."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Basic On-stand Set-up
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011

INSTALLATION

"The service was excellent and on time once I got a new Company to come out when the first one cancelled twice. The new installer spent ample time to explain the ins and outs of my new Television. I would recommend their services."
1 2 3 4 next>>