Customer Reviews for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

$749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified

Uses 60% Less Water and 67% Less Energy* Full Two Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
2.308 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
5 of 13(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Review 1 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:November 7, 2008

1st time front load user

Pros: saved 12.00 on 1st water bill, uses a lot less detergent
Cons: disappointed in load compacity, will not wash 10 towels and 10 wash clothes at a t
"Uses a lot less water and detergent/bleach/fabric softener. does not wash as many clothes as I would have hoped. Washes less than my 3.2 large compacity washer I had before this one. It will shut down in the middle of a cycle if the load is too heavy. So, you have to start the load all over again when the cycles are 2 to 3 times longer than a top load washer. There should be a sensor that weighs the clothes before or shortly after the load starts so you can still open the door during the 7 minute (add a garment) time limit. Other wise you can't get the door open until you cancel the entire cycle. This would also mean you lose your laundry detergent in the drain water during cancel. Which is not a big deal due to the very low amount of detergent, etc and water that is used. I find that some of my daughter's clothes that are really soiled even with stain remover on the clothes and soaked before do not come as clean as with top washer. I also really hate the fact I have to dry the inside and the rubber gasket on the drum to prevent mold/mildew. The reviews you read online about this issue will freak you out. So, I did do my homework before purchasing. You do need to purchase the pedastal if you are short. I am 5'4 and it is really low for me. Also, I would like for it to have a light inside to see if clothes are sticking to the top. Also, people say it get's clothes a lot dryer due to the spinning... I do not find this. I think some are if you have a small load. But, if you have a normal size load; they come out the same as my top load washer. The drying time is the same for me or maybe a little less time. But, not cut into half. It does squeek on the spin cycle, too. Quite loud. It is on cement floor and leveled. Hope all this helps."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 18, 2008

All-Time Worst Service Experience

Pros: soap efficient, large capacity, handwash cycle, water efficient
Cons: loud, heavy vibration, unreliable, whirlpool service
Model Number: WFW8410SW02
"The washer failed (no power) after two weeks of use. Now, 6 weeks later, we are still waiting for Whirlpool to send the correct part. Whirlpool has sent the wrong part twice and seems unable to determine the correct one. Even after installation of this mysterious part, will the problem be solved? We have yet to know. We purchased the washer locally and Costco will let us return it. Since there are no washers in stock, we would have to order a new one on line. After seeing how Whirlpool handles their repairs, we’re not sure the washer is worth this much hassle."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 27, 2008

Great Product and Great Installation

"Even though my old washer was still working, I wanted to get a front load energy saving machine so I used my Costco rebate to buy this model. Not only does it get my clothes cleaner, it takes much more water out of the clothes and cut my drying time in half.
The crew that delivered and installed it made the challenging trip down my basement stairs, installed the washer and the pedestal I bought separately and removed the old washer as well. They were friendly and efficient. Thanks Costco.
"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 10, 2008
"Too much noise in the spin cycle, saves gas and water , but when it operates it makes so much noise that we get scared."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Aurora Il
Date:January 23, 2009

3 strikes and I'm out

Model Number: vfw8410sw
"My 3rd washer was delivered yesterday
(I returned the first 2 because They were noisy in the spin cycle and walked all over) Technicians who came out said
that they are all like that. The 3rd one is
just as bad as the other 2. Costco is geat. I'm going to return everything, including the dryer, which is fine, and
get a top loader.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 24, 2008

Stay with Top Loaders (for now)

"Not sure if all the hype is worth it:
1) bigger cu ft, yet cannot load as much as a 3.4 cu ft top loader
2) mold issue around the seal
3) costs 2x the price of top loader
I don't think they are ready for prime time yet. hopefully a next generation will follow in a few years.
Recommend staying with top loaders
New generation should also dry the clothes (hey it's already in front-load postion, just add the gas heating system).
bottomline: live with top loaders until front loaders are perfected"
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Frisco, Texas
Date:February 5, 2009

DO NOT BUY THIS Washer

Cons: loud, possible mold issue, incredibly heavy
Model Number: WFW8410SW02
"We purchased this washer about 3 months ago and have tried everything to quiet it down. Its slightly (not by much) quieter without the pedestal however it makes it very inconvenient to add/remove clothes, thus defeating its purpose. The spin cycles sound as if it's a helicopter that's going to take flight ! Its incredibly loud! I was VERY disappointed especially after reading its review from Consumer Reports. Apparently you cant believe everything you read. It does a fair job of cleaning the clothes, however the seal around the door seems to collect a lot of junk and never really dries even after leaving the door "ajar" as recommended. In addition to all this it took 5 full grown men to lift this thing, it's unusually heavy.
I will be returning this to Costco, because they have GREAT customer service and buying a top loading machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whirlpool Duet Washing Machine
Date:January 26, 2009

What a hassle

"Our Duet frontloader was very noisy as well. Turns out that all that shaking pulled the bolt out of the housing that held the motor intact. The motor ended up on the floor and the all the water that was in the machine flowed out on the floor as well. This is supposed to be a good washing machine, but I have my doubts at this point. I won't buy another one."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mukilteo, WA
Date:November 29, 2008

A Good Front Loader for the $

"I have owned this washer for about a year now. I knew when purchasing this that it wouldn't hold as much as the 4.0 size but it does hold an adequate amount. I did expect that the clothes would come out dryer with the spin cycle but have found it is about the same as my old top loader. My only other complaint is that if you don't leave the door open on occasion (which I don't do often since it is always in use) then you do get a mildew smell. I think you need to truly use the clean washer cycle monthly with bleach to take care of that problem. I was also impressed with the quick arrival from time of order. By purchasing this from costco you will get an xtra 1 yr warranty and a little larger size than the other stores offer for the duet and the excellent return policy if something goes wrong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Alamitos, CA
Date:February 4, 2009

worst purchase ever!!!!

"Whirlpool missed the boat on this one. Not to mention that their customer service/warranty is horrible. Takes forever and rude customer service. I will never purchase whirlpool again. Think twice before buying this. pump goes out really fast. It is extremely noisy and I refuse to spend my hard earned money on merchandise where companies do not support their products. Costco however, is the best and will take back a defective product. No questions asked!!!! Thank you Costco for caring about the product working!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Date:November 6, 2008

Awsome Washer!

Pros: great energy savings on water.
"I love my new washer! It gets my clothes cleaner than my top loader and saves me some money on my gas dryer. It spins the clothes out dryer. I also love the way it flufs the clothes in the last cycle of the washer. This causes less wrinkles in the dryer.
I'm using Tide HE and so far there are no odor issues.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:January 6, 2009

Great value

Pros: uses less soap and water, cleans very well, cleans wool and cashmere, spins to almost dry, quite, greener, saves you money
Cons: none
Model Number: GHW1950PW0
"This is a great washer set that we bought in th Costco store years ago.Whirlpool Duet"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for $749.99 after $50 OFF Whirlpool Duet Sport 3.7 CuFt Washer Energy Star Qualified
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009

Awful machine

Model Number: Duet SportWFW84105W02
"This was a very loud, banging, moving machine. I would never recommend it. I had it repaired 2x and it did not fix any of it's problems."