Customer Reviews for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight

Feels Like 3 Times the Heat, Costs 1/3 Less to Operate than Ordinary Electric Heaters
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 19(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Review 1 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Braselton, GA
Date:January 25, 2009

My bedroom is not longer chilly!

Model Number: Presto Heat Dish plus Footlight
"I purchased the heater to keep the upstairs master bedroom bathroom warm. This bathroom is directly over the garage and has little insulation. I do not want the bathroom toasty so I keep the temperature of my new heater on low and it works wonderfully. It comes on periodically and emits just enough heat to keep the temperature at a comfortable level. Until now I would have to leave the door to the bathroom closed because it chilled my bedroom. Now the temperature is just right! Another feature of the heat dish is the footlight at the base of the heater. This lets me know that the heater is pluged in and also serves at a night light when the lights are out. Just one more thing ... it also makes a buzzing noise if it tilts while it is pluged in ... this acts as a warning sound and alerts you if someone accidentally knocks it over or bumps into it."
Review 2 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Columbus, Ohio
Date:January 20, 2009

Not so good

"I bought the Presto Heat Dish a year ago. It looked and worked great till a couple of weeks ago. The heat generated from the dish is not as much as it used to be. So now in this really cold weather, it looks ineffective. Besides, the foot light is gone. I am not sure what is wrong. I am going to take it back to Costco and see if they would replace it"
Review 3 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:January 18, 2009

suprising results so far

Pros: not too pricey and very effective
Cons: the build quality seems pretty skimpy
"I have a 700 sq' apartment in Memphis. The central heat is rather underpowered, and on cold days (below 35 degrees or so) the heat will have to run almost continually to keep a temp of about 68 degrees. So, I bought the Presto to see what it would do. I put it to the acid test: Memphis winter weather has wild temperature swings. It got down to 10 degrees the other night, so I turned the Presto on high, and turned the apartment heat on 60 degrees. No problemo! The immediate area stayed at 70 degrees, and the back bedroom was at about 62. I just moved the Presto to the bedroom when I went to bed, and stayed warm all night.
When its warmer, say 40 degrees, I just leave the heat off and set the Presto to medium.
It should be interesting to see the next utility bill.
"
Review 4 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis metro, MO
Date:January 15, 2009

4 winters and still going strong!

"I love the way this heater works-we use it as an extra heat source in our 20X20 bedroom and it keeps it nice & toasty in there! My only complaint is it has 3 settings-low, med & high but mine seems to kick off and on and off and on on low so I always keep it on high. I've seen some people say stuff about blowing fuses, never happened to me but I have noticed the cord gets hot when used for long periods of time. I bought a surge protector to plug it into--problem solved.
Definately recommend to anyone looking for a good space heater
"
Review 5 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:December 29, 2008

I love this heater

"I have been using this heater for about two winters now. I just purchased another one. We don't use our central heat only these heaters. We move them to the rooms that we will be in. Our heating bill has stayed resonable even though this has been a very cold winter for us!! I thoroughly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:December 23, 2008

This little gadget is amazing!

"I never rate stuff on the net, but this product screamed to be reviewed by me. I live in a really cute 2-room basement apartment whose only drawback is the bitter cold it weathers in the winter. And I do mean bitter. If there was a word more descriptive or imagination-provoking, I'd use it. At times my lips would be blue and my feet so frighteningly cold they hurt. A couple really bad nights I literally was afraid to fall asleep for fear of what would happen when my body temperature dropped any further. All this was going on while using baseboard heating my landlord paid thousands of dollars to have installed, but that must have been a rip-off because it barely kicked out any warmth even when it was on 80! Anyway, my brother who works for Costco in Florida told me how everyone is raving about this heater. So my landlord, primarily out of concern for me and secondarily because of the unwarranted sky-high electric bill, bought me 2 of these heaters for a Christmas present! The plan was to turn off the regular heat and try using just these. I did it, holding my breath because if it didn't work I would then be stuck in dangerously low 10-degree New York temperatures. I would have had to wait all over again for the regular heat to crank out the precious little it had been once I turned it back on. Well guess what? I never had to! The second, and I mean the SECOND I put the Presto heater on, I felt INSTANTANEOUS heat! My cheeks were rosy in 60 seconds. Blue lips... gone. I didn't even need to put the second one on. We had assumed the two would need to work in unison to heat the 2 rooms. Having just the one heater beside me is adequate. With the revolutionary way this thing spot-heats, if the rest of the house is cold I don't even know it! Because of the complex way I had to wind the plug of that first Presto around the back of my refrigerator, it would be impossible to tote from room to room. So in the interest of not having to move it I'll use the bedroom heater for sleeping. But the point is, I only need to run one at a time. Speaking of plugs, I read a couple things online saying people were blowing fuses with the Presto. That's strange because the jack I plugged mine into shares the space with 2 cordless phones, my laptop, and my modem all plugged in together without even a surge strip and it's been uneventful. The one thing that would make the product better is if the neck were pliable and I could point the dish a little lower. But even with that, it still gets a 10 out of 10. All I have to say is this cute little dish heater, in mere seconds, did what my traditional heat could not. I recommend it wholeheartedly! :)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sacramento, ca
Date:December 18, 2008

Great person warmer

Pros: instant heat, quiet.
Cons: no timer, no tilt
Model Number: 284457
"Instant heat you can feel, even without really turning it up to high. I can leave the door open on a chilly night and still feel warm when the dish is pointed at me.
The "nightight" not an issue--take out the bulb or change bulb color--blue contrasts well with the orange glow of the dish
Lack of features that keep it from getting a perfect score in my book are not being able to tilt of the dish--because if you place it far from you, it only heats your head. No timer on it to shut off--that would save on electricity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:December 18, 2008

Puts out A LOT of heat

"Bought one for small business office a few years ago and bought 2 more for our new offices last year. All 3 still work great. At high setting you could almost cook a hot dog in front of it - no joke. It is VERY directional heat like a laser beam and you cannot sit close in front of it on high, but if you point it away to the middle of the room it WILL heat up the room. Otherwise, it is very comfortable at low settings if pointed directly at you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Buckley, WA
Date:December 17, 2008

Poor thermostat design

Pros: great heat output
Cons: common thermostat problem, no parts available
"Worked great the first season. Tried to use it this season and nothing. Found the power supply jumper on the thermostat had broken and they don't offer parts. The jumper is so tiny it looks like it was designed to fail."
Review 10 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:December 16, 2008

VERY USEFUL PRODUCT

Pros: nice direction heat with overall room warmth, safety tip-over warning sound that is loud, great instant warmth standing in front of it
"I have owned two of these heaters. The older one that I purchased at least six years ago worked great until it developed a problem in the sensing device and the heater could not be used above "medium" because the alarm would sound, indicating an overheating of the device when there really was no overheating. I have owned the new and improved model for two years now and it is functioning nicely. It not only does not have the irritating buzzing noise associated with the first purchase, but it really does the job of heating up our bed room, which is 20 feet by 20 feet. It fact, it does such a nice job, that I have to turn down the heat after a few hours. Of course, the insulation in my attic is R-44."
Review 11 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 10, 2008

Outstanding performance

Model Number: Heatdish
"Best "new" purchase this season. Perfect for home office and in bathroom after shower. I have 3-4 heaters in garage and only use the 2 HeatDish I own. I purchased one for daughter to use in the AM, great help getter her out of bed on cool/cold mornings."
Review 12 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 7, 2008

Okay for certain conditions

Pros: good for immediate directional heat
Cons: not great for heating a room
"Own 2 units for 2 yrs. Works great for directional heat only. Not great for heating an entire room (15 x 20)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:December 6, 2008

Makes Horrible Loud Buzzing Noise

"I bought the older version about 5 years back. It worked great at first, I loved how you could control how warm you wanted it. After a few months it started making this shocking loud buzzing out of nowhere and would shock me out of my seat. I started having to play with it; I couldn't turn it up too high or it would start with the noise right away...later I could barely turn it on for 5 minutes with the temp between low and medum before the noise would start and I'd have to spring out of my seat to turn the dish off. Then I'd have to wait until the dish turned cold and then I could turn it on for another 5 minutes before the loud buzzing started. It was more than infuriating.
A friend of mine just bought this new model recently and IT'S STARTING TO DO THE SAME THING.
I have a Korean brand heat dish right now which a friend gave me and even though it doesn't have the adjustable temp (it has just high and low) it's been 2 years now and still going strong. I don't have to freak out every 5 minutes! Hooray for warmth!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:December 6, 2008

Love this heater!

Pros: reliable durable, focused heat, cost efficient
Cons: don't like the light at the base
"I had purchased two Presto Heatdishes several years ago from Costco when they were first sold there and I love them! Not only do the original ones still work without any problems, I went out today and bought my 4th one to put in my basement. The heat is nice b/c it doesnt radiate upward, but rather wherever you aim the dish. My heating bills are about 40% lower! Would highly recommend!"
Review 15 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BERGEN COUNTY,NJ
Date:December 1, 2008

POOR PRODUCT

Pros: works great when new
Cons: no service from presto
"HEAT DISH HAS MAJOR PROBLEM WITH ITS THERMOSTAT!! IT FAILS ALOT.JUST DO A SEARCH ON-LINE.ALSO,PRESTO,THE MANUFACTURER HAS NO REPAIR PARTS."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chester, VA
Date:November 13, 2008

Great for high ceilings and large rooms!

Pros: very efficient
Cons: cost (but it paid for itself)
"My house has several rooms that are two stories high (almost 19 feet) and have open floor plans between rooms. I use to have to run ceiling fans to keep the heat distributed throughout the house. My heat pump, and fans were making my electric bills outrageous. I tried ceramic heaters, and convection heaters, but all they did was heat the second floor, and I was still cold. Somehow this little number only heats objects in front of it, and not the air in between. I just point it in my direction, and in no time cozy comfort! The upstairs does not get the heat."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marysville, Washington
Date:November 12, 2008

Awesome Heat

"It's just a great little heater for those really cold nights. I can relax in my recliner with the heat down low and yet stay nice and comfy in my seat with this Presto heater on me. That way the cold people can stay cold while I'm nice and warm!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2008

GREAT Product!

"I bought this last year and will be buying another one tomorrow, for my husband's office. It works great and we just love this! I use it to heat up my LR, DR, Kit combo., over 1000 sq. ft. This AM it was 66 in here and now it is 73, my heat has not had to come on at all. I find it very helpful to zone heat. I do not need my BRs this warm when no one is in them all day. This heater does a great job and I and my family highly recommend this product. I have used ceramic heaters but find that they don't always last. We used this heater all of last year and it still is working great!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Presto HeatDish Parabolic Heater Plus Footlight
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston WA
Date:October 24, 2008

Great heater

"This heater is awesome. It only uses 1000 watts but puts out an amazing amount of heat. It gives you the feel of standing in front of a fireplace, very warm, very comfortable heat. The night light or foot light as they call it is a bit bright at night but it is not a big deal and you can just take the bulb out if it bothers you. Costco is always great to do business with and their shipping is always very fast"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.