Customer Reviews for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card

Minutes Never Expire Instantly Rechargeable
Average Customer Rating:
2.4 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
5 of 15(33%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Review 1 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 19, 2011

Worked great from China

Pros: no problems connecting
Cons: lots of #'s to dial
"Using this card was effortless from China to US, even with all the #'s I had to dial."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:August 28, 2009

Best way to call home..

"This is the best international calling card ever. It works as introduced, NO extra or hidden fees.. You can call Palestine (land line) for 300 Minutes (10cents/Min)"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2009

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

"this phone card is a total joke. the connection is not all that great. and if you make a call the rounding time is like 5 mins. stay away"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:April 25, 2009

Recharge Fees Broke the Deal

Pros: the card works fine.
Cons: total cost when compared with other cards., 15% fee to recharge over the phone.
"This used to be a very convenient card to use. I used mine at home and overseas. However, the 15% recharge fee coupled with paying local sales tax killled the value. Buying a new card to avoid the recharge fee requires setting up calling features again. The calling features made the card, as the calling cost was never the lowest around."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque
Date:March 13, 2009

watch out for recharge fees

"The recharge fees make you want to buy another card when you run out of minutes (instead of recharging), but then you have to carry or memorize the numbers all over again.
It seems less expensive to buy local phone cards, but sometimes stores are closed when you arrive at international destinations.
I carry it for emergencies. In various countries I couldn't get through when I dialed the country's access numbers. Some countries block calling cards.
Haven't found a better option yet, though."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Date:January 27, 2009

Love this card

Pros: need to pay attention to the remaining balance
Cons: know how much you are spending
"I have been using these pre-paid cards for a few years now. I just make sure that I buy a new one before I run out of the current one to avoid recharge fee. I like the fact that everything is included unlike phone companies that advvertise 8 cents a minute but it's 12 cents a minute by the time you pay all the feels and taxes. Highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bloomington, IL
Date:January 4, 2009

Overall good value

Pros: reception; overall value
Cons: recharge fee
"I have to disagree with the negative reviews below. It’s true that the 15% recharge fee is hard to justify and obviously I don’t use this feature, but instead get a new, physical card in the mail. With the pinless dial feature it’s easy to activate the balance of the new card. The main reason why I like this card is because it’s overall a good value. I have used several other phone cards (some of which had slightly lower rates) but the quality was horrible (static, long delays which made conversations awkward). This card has great reception and no expiration date (or monthly rates as some other cards do). Overall a good deal."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2008

Bad deal!

Pros: clarity and consistency of connection
Cons: recharge fee
"I too have had this card for many years. With the new 15% recharge fee I will no longer use it. The only good thing about it is that I have the code memorized. I won't buy a new one every month or so and have to always look up my code. So....so long MCI/Verizon. I've found better deals online anyway."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 29, 2008

Int'l Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card

"I have used my Prepaid card for many, many years--when it was still MCI. It was a good value then and still a better value than most other prepaid cards that are available, even with the 15% surcharge.
I make about 30 - 40 int'l calls per year. My calls last anywhere from 5 minutes to 1 hour. The phone lines are very clear and I've only had a few dropped calls over the years, which is much less than I can say for my local cell phone providers, percentage wise.
The fact that the minutes never expire is a big plus because with many other providers, the minutes expire within a few months after activation, provided there was no fraudulent activity where someone has not already stolen the pin number and used up all the minutes--then trying to get a refund is almost impossible, if not impractical.
I like the convenience of having my prepaid card for int'l calls--I don't have to authorize my c-phone provider to allow int'l calls, which, if my phone is ever lost/stolen, I don't have to worry about int'l call charges.
My main beef is the additional 15% recharge fee, this is ridiculous! What do they have to do? Its all computerized anyway. Additionally, the per call connection charges seem too be high. As the consumer, I haven't been able to figure out how much it costs per call, even when I always call the same numbers. If it was not for the convenience of being able to make an int'l call from any phone and the perceived safety of not being charged for unauthorized int'l calls from my cell phone, I would shop around for a better value."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Bernardino, CA
Date:November 24, 2008

Costco-Loose this card.

"Good value when it was an MCI card.
Calls from overseas are now much higher than local phone cards.
Now as Verizon the rates are way up plus the counterintuitive 15% recharge fee. Bad value!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Honolulu
Date:November 18, 2008

Nice with a hook

"I've been enjoying the card and the service for years although I never understood why the card could not be recharged online. Now with the 15% surcharge and high payphone connection fee it is getting to ridicules. Knowing Costco,I don't think they will offer this much longer....."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vienna, Virginia
Date:November 13, 2008

Look elsewhere

"Long time user of this card until the 15% recharge fee. After this card runs out so will I. MCI now Verizon, Customer Service rude and as ridiculous as the recharge fee. Looking elsewhere you can find a much better deal.
Only good thing about this card is phone line service but this does not overcome the fees and rudeness of Verizon Customer Service. Good Bye Verizon."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:USA/Europe
Date:November 2, 2008

I agree...

"International rates are okay but not terrific. The 15% surcharge is ridiculous plus I've yet to even find a way to recharge online. The good part is that after learning all this, I was driven to search online for alternatives and found quite a few."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 2, 2008

Expensive Int calling

"I have been using this card for 4 years, but rates (esp to int cell phones) increased dramatically about 18 mos ago. Now that Verizon just bought MCI the rate per minute is the same, but there is a 15% fee to recharge an existing card - BUT if you buy a new card from Costco; no fee. WEIRD. Why do we have to buy another piece of plastic since these are "rechargeable"??!!?? I have been recharging mine for 4 years!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Verizon International Prepaid Long Distance Phone Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 17, 2008

Excessive recharge Fee !

"This is a graet phone card and works well, good value for the money. EXCEPT FOR THE RECHARGE FEE...It is $4.50 to recharge the $30 card by phone if you use up all your minutes. This is TOO MUCH"
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.