Customer Reviews for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater

Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater

Heat a room silently and efficiently with the Bionaire MicaThermic console heater. Features natural convection heat, fast warm up, and an adjustable thermostat.    Features:   Innovative Heating Technology: Micathermic heating elements provide fast, silent whole room heating   Fan-free heat:  natural convection heat is silent and doesn't blow air throughout the room   Ultra lightweight design: Weighs up to 50% less than oil-filled heaters   Adjustable thermostat:  efficiently maintains your desired comfort level   2 heat settings: High (1500 watts) and Low (750 watts)   Fast heat up time    Eight-level safety protection:   Tip-over protection: Shuts-off heater if accidentally knocked over   Auto shutoff safety feature: Turns off heater if an overheat situation occurs   Manual user reset: Heater stays off until user resets the unit   Flame-resistant V2 rated plastics   High-visibility power light   Tested beyond UL standards   Cool-touch plastic housing   Carry handle & smooth rolling wheels: For safe & easy portability Flame-resistant V2 rated plastics 1-year warranty   ETL Listed   Specifications: Dimensions: 25.75" H x 9" W x 18" L; Weight: 12 lbs   Made in China For additional product related information please call 1-800-557-4825 option 3.
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
(out of 82 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
7
69 of 82(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Review 1 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood TN
Date:November 17, 2014

Excellent Heater

Pros: heats quick
Cons: none
"We have bought 3 of these heaters and have used them for the last 2 years with no issues or problems. They augment our existing heat source and do so very well. Our Master bath is above the garage and will get cool to cold : with the addition of one of these heaters, it stays warm. Basement and sunroom, works the same way , stays warm. Never had one problem with any of the heaters. Highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 29, 2014

Disappointed in Bionaire

Pros: quiet excellent heat output easy set up, nice length cord easy controls.
Cons: suddenly stopped working after five days, intermittent use.
Model Number: BH3954-U
"Bought the Bionaire BH3954-U and for first week worked perfect. Heated room to perfection. Then stopped working. Troubleshot the product but just stopped working. Disappointed as the look, the initial efficiency, the value seemed perfect. So, back to Costco we go."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:April 29, 2014

Good Value

"This space heater works well. Heats quickly, radiates through the room very well. Overall good value. It does have a humm when it is running that is a little irritating when the room is quiet. If there is activity in the room you would not notice."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Keene, NH
Date:April 14, 2014

Warranty confusion keep it from a 5 star...

Pros: for a micathermatic heater it is pretty compact, thermostat works better than most, easy to move around, i like the built in cord storage, light shows when it kicks on and off, pets can get close with out being burned.
Cons: the confusion of packaged 1 year warranty, and advertised 5 year.
Model Number: BH3950
"The heater itself is very good. I was happily surprised at the heat it produced and how quickly it heated up our living room. The thermostat works better than most which is a nice change. Another plus is that it is open on both sides unlike the DeLongi's I purchased in the past.
What I did not care for is every retailer advertises it having a 5 year warranty, you call Boniaire and they tell you 5 years, you open the box and it has a 1 year. Boniaire did e-mail me a copy of the manual that has the 5 year warranty in it so it may have been changed after my unit was produced. Costco was very quick getting back to me about the warranty issue, Boniaire was a bit slower and they even managed to confuse the Costco CS rep. If not for the warranty issue that is still not 100% figured out I'd have given a 5 star."
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 28, 2014

Not silent!

Pros: puts out plenty of heat
Cons: noisy!
"Every time the thermostat goes on or off, a loud click is heard. Also has an annoying frequency hum. Returning for refund."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:February 13, 2014

Efficient for small area/room

Pros: when plugged in to an outlet a light is on.
"True, this unit is quiet. I use it mainly to heat the area in which I am sitting and not a whole room. The thermostat seems to work well for this purpose as I keep it about 3 feet from where I am sitting in front of the computer. It probably would be sufficient for a small room. My dog likes to sit next to it and because the casing does not become too hot to the touch, I don't worry about her burning herself. The unit is lightweight enough that I can move it around easily. The heater was more expensive than others I looked at but I am pleased that I spent the money for this model."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New york, ny
Date:January 28, 2014

worst product ever

Cons: cheaply made already doesnt work
"HAve had it for less than two weeks and already does not work"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:December 30, 2013

EXCELLENT

"I don't know why anyone would rate this less than 5 stars unless they have never used space heaters before. I live in the mountains, where it regularly dips below zero. When I close off a guest room in the winter and it is very cold, this little unit will heat it up to a toasty warm temperature fairly quickly. It will stay at a nice temp for as long as I want, without a sound. I have also used it in a cold bathroom in the winter, and the room is heated by the time I'm out of the shower. And my master bath is a very large room.
I have no complaints...only rave reviews.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:December 19, 2013

Heats Up Quickly

Pros: heats up quickly, lightweight for size
Cons: does not retain heat once turned off (minor con)
Model Number: BH3950
"This is my second one of these heaters. I bought the first one about five years ago. I also have a portable electric oil-filled radiator heater. I like both types but this heater has a distinct advantage of heating up much faster than the oil-filled heater. I have it in two connected rooms that are about 400 SF combined and this heater heats up the rooms efficiently to about 67 degrees with the outside temperature around 15 degrees.
It is also very lightweight compared to the oil-filled heater. The oil-filled heater has the advantage of retaining heat significantly longer after it is turned off. So both types of heaters have their advantages. But I definitely recommend this heater and would buy it again.
My guess is MNair who left their review on 12/6/2013 had a defective heater because I have never experienced the issues they wrote about, and it appears most other purchasers of this product have not had similar issues either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Stevenson Ranch CA
Date:December 6, 2013

Not great as reviews say

Pros: silent
Cons: doesn't warm flimsy and cheap plastic knobs.
"I bought this about 1 month back. Even if I put it on Max heat, it doesn't really heat up my daughters bedroom which is not more than 300 sq ft. You have to be near the heater to feel anything. The knobs are all flimsy and cheap. I moved it to my kitchen which is open and bigger and we hardly felt an warmth. Not sure why this heater has so many 4 stars plus as I bought it after checking the reviews. I am returning it today.."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 30, 2013

Great Product

Pros: a lot of heat without a fan!, silent.
Model Number: Bionaire Micathermatic Heater BH3950-U
"This heater exceeds all of our expectations! We had been using a dish radiant heater, but were never satisfied with heating our family room. The Bionaire heater keeps the entire room nice and comfortable. Would recommend over a radiant heater."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2013

not worth it

Cons: broke easily
"Bought this heater and it stopped working after 6 months. Is NOT energy efficient.
I will say that when it was working, it did heat up my large room.
"
Review 13 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, CT
Date:October 28, 2013

Great choice

Pros: doesn't impose itself in the room well designed., whisper quiet., takes no time to provide warmth.
Cons: can't think of one!
Model Number: BH3950-U
"After owning an oil filled portable heater for several years we noted that the quality of the products now being manufactured had deteriorated and so when we needed to replace it we did a lot of research and changed to the MicaThermic. The Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater was highly rated. We have not been disappointed. It heats up much more quickly than the oil radiators and it's absolutely soundless. Following directions carefully we actually found that the recommended "high" setting was producing much more heat than we needed and now leave it on low and it's doing a good job. It's not really the dead of winter yet, but we live in the frigid northeast so that is saying a heck of a lot about the warmth it provides! That said, we don't like overheated rooms so someone else might find it delightful to have it on fully. We've only had it for two+ weeks so have yet to get an electric bill and can't speak to the issue of the cost of running it, but we're fairly certain that it will be less than raising the thermostat, burning oil and heating 2700 square feet when we're only sitting in one room!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Date:October 27, 2013

Great Product

Pros: silent heats fast
Cons: none
"I have a 1800 square foot house with hard wood floors. I have one of these on each side of the house and it warms the whole house. I ordered 2 from costco and had to return one that would not heat. Probably damaged in shipping, Rapid heating, silent operation. Great product. Very very powerful. Works great, will buy more for the guest house :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central NJ
Date:October 3, 2013

Great Heater

Pros: quite and efficient
"I've had this heater for five years (this is my second one). Its warm and simple. It just stands there quietly and emits this nice heat. The reason I am buying a new one is that unfortunately, my cat who was ill last year and has since left us, peed on it and it now smells but still works fine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:February 25, 2013

Perfect Little Heater

Pros: quiet
"This is my 2nd Bionaire heater. The 1st one wore out after 6 years. I think it would have lasted longer buy I use often. It is quiet, which I love and heats the entire room and surrounding open area."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:York, PA
Date:February 21, 2013

The Perfect Space Heater

Cons: none .
Model Number: BH3950
"After reading mostly positive reviews I decided to give space heater a try. Much to my delight the reviews confirmed my hope this heater would do the job. We spend a great deal of time at our daughter's baby sitting and our bedroom is in a finished basement but has always been too cold for our comfort. After the first night of use we had to keep the bedroom door open because of the heat building up in the room. I have since made minor adjustments to regulate the heat,
now it's toastie warm. The room must be well insulated to retain the heat so well. No more cold nights buried in blankets. My wife & I are happy campers now.
,
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 13, 2012

great purchase! saves $$$$

Pros: silent, saves money, pet safe, furniture safe, easily moved from room to room
Cons: a wheel broke (we move it alot!)
"We got this so that we could cut down on our electric bill. It worked! We love that you can just wheel it into whatever room you are in. The dogs love it! One lays on each side when its on. (one actually lays against it!) Safe for pets. We have it pretty close to furniture and not problems. Completely silent-no annoying fan. Got this 3 winters back. Just broke the wheel off so were ordering a new one and returning this one to Costco."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 22, 2011

Great heater

Model Number: Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater - Item# 211169
"I was hesitant to purchase this heater because of the negative reviews. However, I decided to give it a try because I like the brand and know Costco has a great return policy. I was concerned about odors. Yes, the parts smelled when I removed the plastic wrap. I put the components outside for an evening. By morning, they didn't smell anymore. I assembled the heater and it works great. I prefer it to my gas heater inside the apartment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 21, 2011

excellent heater

"Bought for a bedroom on 1st floor and is great, quiet, dust free and heats up the room quite quickly. Going to buy another for a bedroom upstairs. Beats running the furnace for the whole house. Haven't seen the electric bill yet but hoping for a savings."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>