Customer Reviews for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater

Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater

Heat a room silently and efficiently with the Bionaire MicaThermic console heater. Features natural convection heat, fast warm up, and an adjustable thermostat.    Features:   Innovative Heating Technology: Micathermic heating elements provide fast, silent whole room heating   Fan-free heat:  natural convection heat is silent and doesn't blow air throughout the room   Ultra lightweight design: Weighs up to 50% less than oil-filled heaters   Adjustable thermostat:  efficiently maintains your desired comfort level   2 heat settings: High (1500 watts) and Low (750 watts)   Fast heat up time    Eight-level safety protection:   Tip-over protection: Shuts-off heater if accidentally knocked over   Auto shutoff safety feature: Turns off heater if an overheat situation occurs   Manual user reset: Heater stays off until user resets the unit   Flame-resistant V2 rated plastics   High-visibility power light   Tested beyond UL standards   Cool-touch plastic housing   Carry handle & smooth rolling wheels: For safe & easy portability Flame-resistant V2 rated plastics 1-year warranty   UL Listed   Specifications: Dimensions: 25.75" H x 9" W x 18" L; Weight: 12 lbs   Made in China For additional product related information please call 1-800-557-4825 option 3.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
(out of 81 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
8
67 of 81(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Review 1 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Keene, NH
Date:April 14, 2014

Warranty confusion keep it from a 5 star...

Pros: for a micathermatic heater it is pretty compact, thermostat works better than most, easy to move around, i like the built in cord storage, light shows when it kicks on and off, pets can get close with out being burned.
Cons: the confusion of packaged 1 year warranty, and advertised 5 year.
Model Number: BH3950
"The heater itself is very good. I was happily surprised at the heat it produced and how quickly it heated up our living room. The thermostat works better than most which is a nice change. Another plus is that it is open on both sides unlike the DeLongi's I purchased in the past.
What I did not care for is every retailer advertises it having a 5 year warranty, you call Boniaire and they tell you 5 years, you open the box and it has a 1 year. Boniaire did e-mail me a copy of the manual that has the 5 year warranty in it so it may have been changed after my unit was produced. Costco was very quick getting back to me about the warranty issue, Boniaire was a bit slower and they even managed to confuse the Costco CS rep. If not for the warranty issue that is still not 100% figured out I'd have given a 5 star."
Review 2 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, CT
Date:October 28, 2013

Great choice

Pros: doesn't impose itself in the room well designed., whisper quiet., takes no time to provide warmth.
Cons: can't think of one!
Model Number: BH3950-U
"After owning an oil filled portable heater for several years we noted that the quality of the products now being manufactured had deteriorated and so when we needed to replace it we did a lot of research and changed to the MicaThermic. The Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater was highly rated. We have not been disappointed. It heats up much more quickly than the oil radiators and it's absolutely soundless. Following directions carefully we actually found that the recommended "high" setting was producing much more heat than we needed and now leave it on low and it's doing a good job. It's not really the dead of winter yet, but we live in the frigid northeast so that is saying a heck of a lot about the warmth it provides! That said, we don't like overheated rooms so someone else might find it delightful to have it on fully. We've only had it for two+ weeks so have yet to get an electric bill and can't speak to the issue of the cost of running it, but we're fairly certain that it will be less than raising the thermostat, burning oil and heating 2700 square feet when we're only sitting in one room!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:December 19, 2013

Heats Up Quickly

Pros: heats up quickly, lightweight for size
Cons: does not retain heat once turned off (minor con)
Model Number: BH3950
"This is my second one of these heaters. I bought the first one about five years ago. I also have a portable electric oil-filled radiator heater. I like both types but this heater has a distinct advantage of heating up much faster than the oil-filled heater. I have it in two connected rooms that are about 400 SF combined and this heater heats up the rooms efficiently to about 67 degrees with the outside temperature around 15 degrees.
It is also very lightweight compared to the oil-filled heater. The oil-filled heater has the advantage of retaining heat significantly longer after it is turned off. So both types of heaters have their advantages. But I definitely recommend this heater and would buy it again.
My guess is MNair who left their review on 12/6/2013 had a defective heater because I have never experienced the issues they wrote about, and it appears most other purchasers of this product have not had similar issues either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:February 13, 2014

Efficient for small area/room

Pros: when plugged in to an outlet a light is on.
"True, this unit is quiet. I use it mainly to heat the area in which I am sitting and not a whole room. The thermostat seems to work well for this purpose as I keep it about 3 feet from where I am sitting in front of the computer. It probably would be sufficient for a small room. My dog likes to sit next to it and because the casing does not become too hot to the touch, I don't worry about her burning herself. The unit is lightweight enough that I can move it around easily. The heater was more expensive than others I looked at but I am pleased that I spent the money for this model."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:November 6, 2009

Excellent Choice

Pros: smple controls, power cycle green indicator light, dual power 750 / 1500 watts
Cons: could use an on/off light
Model Number: BH3950
"The Bionaire micathermic is a price-effective heater, when purchased from Costco and when compared to other heaters of similar power consumption.
The Bionaire looks somewhat like a radiator: Although not as sleek looking as the micathermal panel units sold elsewhere, the Bionaire (by Sunbeam) has better functionality and heat distribution, because the heat convects from bottom to top and through either of the sides.
The Bionaire is quick to heat and radiates warmth efficiently. No fans, therefore no noise: The Bionaire is silent - heat is convected by natural air movement.
Controls are simple and easy to use. At 1500 watts max and 750 watts min, dual power settings will help regulate the usage and heat requirements.
Side note: Keep in mind that trying to heat a whole room (larger than 12'x 12') without residual centralized heat, electric space heaters will probably not be sufficient at 1500 watts: A 120 volt wall socket rated at 15 amps will deliver limited power and therefore limited heat from the device connected to it. Electric consumption for a 1500watt device ranges somewhere between 10 and 17 cents per hour, depending on your area. If run 24/7, expect your electric bill to increase by about $70 minimum per month. In many cases, it could easily double your current electric bill to "help" heat one room all the time. Use a common sense approach, that is, only when necessary, and electric heaters can help ward off the chills without breaking the bank."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:December 9, 2009

I LOVE THESE HEATERS!

Pros: heats up room fast and quietly, no dry heat blowing at you
Cons: plastic wheels seem a little cheap
"I purchased this heater last season and it worked so well for our master bedroom, I purchased an additional one for the other bedroom. I love the fact that the heat just exudes from the heater. It is virtually noise-free since there is no hot air blowing out of it...just an ever so slight click when it turns on. The temperature knob is easy to adjust and is steady. You know how some types of cheap knobs you turn, but it doesn't catch/adjust until an 1/8th in turn (it wobbles). This one is great!
I loved it so much I bought a 3rd bionaire, but my third one is a digital Bionaire (same style, just digital). It's even better because you can see the actual temperature of the room and set the temperature by number, but if you are looking to save a little money, this manual one is super!
TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT! GET RID OF ALL YOUR HOT AIR BLOWING HEATERS THAT DRY OUT THE AIR AROUND YOU AND SWITCH TO THIS ONE!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:December 30, 2013

EXCELLENT

"I don't know why anyone would rate this less than 5 stars unless they have never used space heaters before. I live in the mountains, where it regularly dips below zero. When I close off a guest room in the winter and it is very cold, this little unit will heat it up to a toasty warm temperature fairly quickly. It will stay at a nice temp for as long as I want, without a sound. I have also used it in a cold bathroom in the winter, and the room is heated by the time I'm out of the shower. And my master bath is a very large room.
I have no complaints...only rave reviews.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:October 7, 2009

Unit works great.

Pros: unit has 1500 & 750 wattage
Cons: try not to use extension cord. read instructions.
"I bought this unit for the bedroom to avoid using the central heater to heat up the entire home. The unit seems to work as specified. No big deal with assembly, i.e., the two wheels, the handle, etc. Caveat: for the handle, you have to snap it in hard or else the handle will not catch the little knot that prevents it from slipping off. That's all. All the other items are very easy to assemble.
One more thing: do not forget to turn the unit off when you leave the home. Unit does not have any kind of timer at all. I hope the manufacture reads my review and introduces the timer for the upgraded version, if there is one.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2009

Absolutely the best!

Pros: energy efficient, easy to move, unobtrusive slim line design
Cons: none
"Our home is located in the mountains, at high altitude. In the fall (with lower temparatures of 30 degrees) we depend on this Bionaire heater to heat a huge, minimally insulated, 30X40 square foot room, with 20 foot high cathedral ceilings and large, non-energy efficiant, single pane windows. I imagine we will have to use two of these heaters in this large space with winter temperatures as low as 20 degress. Item is an attractive, unobtrusive design, less expensive than heating with a wood pellet stove, or electric baseboards in this massive space. The unit is light weight, easy to move and totally silent. Simple, adjustable, temperature knob makes it ideal for comfortably heating average size rooms regardless of outside temperature."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2009

Don't let it's small size fool ya!

Pros: cheaper in the store by 10 bucks
"This little space heater works far better than expected but only the electric bill will tell the whole truth. Actually, I am so tired of being cold, this is like a dream come true. I live in a 60 yr old ranch house with a fireplace which had to be retired. I had been looking for the "right" heater, wishing it could be green. Well, for all of the last hour that I have been WARM, boy, am I sold. Green or not this is the heater for me and my three pugs who seem to love it as much as I do! They are sprawled out in front of it looking like Santa is about to arrive. Well, for me this is Christmas in Nov. just in time for the cold weather. I read other reviews of people living in houses w/o heaters but I have no insulation in my bedroom which can reach 30 degrees in Jan. This little heater will take the chill off and then some! A very good night to you all, in the peace of the season."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 28, 2014

Not silent!

Pros: puts out plenty of heat
Cons: noisy!
"Every time the thermostat goes on or off, a loud click is heard. Also has an annoying frequency hum. Returning for refund."
Review 12 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Flushing, NY
Date:December 19, 2010

Surprisingly Disappointed...

Cons: heat rises doesn't travel horizontally
Model Number: BH3950-U
"We were looking to purchasing our second mica thermic heater. Our first one is the Kenwood HHP1500K - similar specs to this one, so we thought this Bionaire would be a good buy.
Unfortunately, it took a long time for it to remotely heat our Florida room (which there's no heating). In 30 minutes, our Kenwood heater was able to heat the ambient space, while this one heated only about a foot away.
I think the reason is that because all the heat I felt was coming from the top of the Bionaire, not from the panels on the side. I think this design makes this heater take a lot more time to heat a room, when all I just really wanted was to heat a small area in front of the heater.
As usual, Costco was awesome about returning this item. But I was disappointed - I usually wholeheartedly trust and buy Costco appliances. Guess it was just me! I highly recommend the Kenwood HHP1500K if you can find one... I can't!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:March 9, 2010

Quietly keeps our room warm

Pros: quiet, works, "cool" to the touch
"We have used this heater all winter to keep our DC area bedroom warm ( ~220 square feet). Over ~16 day period (380 hours) in February, it used 217 KWH that breaks down to about 13.7 KWH/day. For us, this is about $2.17 per day. We felt that it was totally worth it. Also, it is "cool" to the touch so our toddler doesn't accidentally get burned."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Stevenson Ranch CA
Date:December 6, 2013

Not great as reviews say

Pros: silent
Cons: doesn't warm flimsy and cheap plastic knobs.
"I bought this about 1 month back. Even if I put it on Max heat, it doesn't really heat up my daughters bedroom which is not more than 300 sq ft. You have to be near the heater to feel anything. The knobs are all flimsy and cheap. I moved it to my kitchen which is open and bigger and we hardly felt an warmth. Not sure why this heater has so many 4 stars plus as I bought it after checking the reviews. I am returning it today.."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Louis, MO
Date:October 18, 2009

GREAT HEATER!

"We have experienced a bit of a cold spell for October here in the St Louis area and rather than lighting the piot for our furnace we purchased this heater to assist in maintaining a comfortable temp in our 1200 sf ranch style home. We have had temps down in the low 30's @ night and in the 40-50's with little to no sun in the day. We have the heater on the low setting and the dial set to about the 10 o'clock position and turn off during the day time and our home has not gotten below 65 degrees. We lov it, works great and nice and quiet. Automatically turns itself on and off when heat is needed. Great investment!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central NJ
Date:October 3, 2013

Great Heater

Pros: quite and efficient
"I've had this heater for five years (this is my second one). Its warm and simple. It just stands there quietly and emits this nice heat. The reason I am buying a new one is that unfortunately, my cat who was ill last year and has since left us, peed on it and it now smells but still works fine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 13, 2012

great purchase! saves $$$$

Pros: silent, saves money, pet safe, furniture safe, easily moved from room to room
Cons: a wheel broke (we move it alot!)
"We got this so that we could cut down on our electric bill. It worked! We love that you can just wheel it into whatever room you are in. The dogs love it! One lays on each side when its on. (one actually lays against it!) Safe for pets. We have it pretty close to furniture and not problems. Completely silent-no annoying fan. Got this 3 winters back. Just broke the wheel off so were ordering a new one and returning this one to Costco."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 30, 2013

Great Product

Pros: a lot of heat without a fan!, silent.
Model Number: Bionaire Micathermatic Heater BH3950-U
"This heater exceeds all of our expectations! We had been using a dish radiant heater, but were never satisfied with heating our family room. The Bionaire heater keeps the entire room nice and comfortable. Would recommend over a radiant heater."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York ny
Date:November 9, 2011
"best purchase ever warms the room very well i have a room that is 16x20 and it heats up the room perfect."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 12, 2009

Excellent purchase

Pros: good for large room, affordable
Cons: no programmable timer
"I have several different space heaters, and this is the only one that heats a large area. There is no fan and, thus, no noise. The heater has a narrow profile, rolls around easily without scuffing the hardwood floors. Radiant heaters heat a small area of the room, but this heater fills a large family room with warmth. I am delighted with this heater."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>