Customer Reviews for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater

Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater

Heat a room silently and efficiently with the Bionaire MicaThermic console heater. Features natural convection heat, fast warm up, and an adjustable thermostat.    Features:   Innovative Heating Technology: Micathermic heating elements provide fast, silent whole room heating   Fan-free heat:  natural convection heat is silent and doesn't blow air throughout the room   Ultra lightweight design: Weighs up to 50% less than oil-filled heaters   Adjustable thermostat:  efficiently maintains your desired comfort level   2 heat settings: High (1500 watts) and Low (750 watts)   Fast heat up time    Eight-level safety protection:   Tip-over protection: Shuts-off heater if accidentally knocked over   Auto shutoff safety feature: Turns off heater if an overheat situation occurs   Manual user reset: Heater stays off until user resets the unit   Flame-resistant V2 rated plastics   High-visibility power light   Tested beyond UL standards   Cool-touch plastic housing   Carry handle & smooth rolling wheels: For safe & easy portability Flame-resistant V2 rated plastics 1-year warranty   ETL Listed   Specifications: Dimensions: 25.75" H x 9" W x 18" L; Weight: 12 lbs   Made in China For additional product related information please call 1-800-557-4825 option 3.
Average Customer Rating:
4.223 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
(out of 94 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
9
78 of 94(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Review 1 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:March 16, 2015

Great Heater - Very Pleased

Pros: heats quickly, exterior stays cool, light weight easy to move, easy to operate controls
Cons: wheels were difficult to install, wheels don't actually turn, wish cord were longer
" I'm really pleased with this heater. It responds quickly and supplies a lot of warmth. I use it and an older oil-filled model to heat my studio - it's working out very well! "
Review 2 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glenview, Illinois
Date:March 11, 2015

Good buy

Pros: heats quickly and quietly.
" Bought this to replace an oil filled radiator that stopped working. This heater heats up our 12x15 family room quickly even on low settings. Very quiet. "
Review 3 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Strasburg, Va.
Date:March 3, 2015

Heats well but maybe not for long

Pros: heats well and quiet
Cons: mine has a loose wire or somthing causing intermit
" I bought this heater two weeks ago. It heats very nicely and is quiet but after less than a week it stopped working. It cuts off completely sometimes not due to the thermostat. If I let it cool off it will work again for a while. I am returning this heater but since I like everything else about it, I will try ordering another one and hopefully I just got a defective one. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, Il
Date:February 25, 2015

Works best when it's -20

Pros: whisper quiet
Cons: none thus far
" Our 20-yo furnace went out unexpectedly in the middle of Chicago artic blast. The firm replacing out unit was swamped and we were left with a week with no heat. Bought on-line,came standard in 2-days...this wonderful unit heated our entire 3-level townhouse! "
Review 5 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Newark, DE
Date:February 23, 2015

Eats my electric bill up

Pros: customer service, very quiet
Cons: inefficient
" I have another bionaire I love very much. Don't see it in the electric bill at all. But this one, it was left on for 3 weeks straight, and it is in a room where people come and go alot, so cold air was a constant coming into the room, but when I got my bill we turned it off immediately. That first day, the electric usage dropped by a third. The next day, it was down 75%, and has been since I turned if off. It cost me about $8 a day to run.(bill went up from $9.35 a day, to $17.30 a day roughly). My other, less expensive one, does not cause this when used in the same room. "
Review 6 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Coast, California
Date:January 20, 2015

Works very well! Good Value. Silent heat

Pros: no forced air fan., silent!, warmth out the top and sides.
Cons: no timer., thermostat dial lacking-- very basic.
" Here in Central Ca near the water, it can get bitingly cold in the winter. I've been searching for a space heater that can warm my open plan tri-level house for a few years, that won't bring with it a jaw-dropping PG&E bill. I have a forced air furnace that doesn't work well- always cold on the lowest level, hot on the 3rd level and cold again as soon as it cycles off. Plus using it causes my monthly bill to double or triple, no joke. I've tried other space heaters the past 2 years- none have met my expectation and/or cost to much to run on a regular basis. Electric is very high here in Ca, especially in the winter- the baseline is SO low. So I broke down this year and bought a Bionaire. First placed it in a bedroom which is partially below ground level. Not a basement- but cold in the winter and cool year round. This Bionaire did a fantastic job heating up the room , keeping it warm when reducing the setting to "low" and keeping the thermostat set to 3-4. It's not specifically numbered- that's just counting the marks on the dial. Below the half way point. The room size is about 12x12. Obviously it should be able to heat a room of this size with no problem. Moving on... the positive thus far prompted me to buy another one to try and heat a much more difficult spot- the open plan living room, which is on the middle level of the house. The living room is not big- but it is open to both a hallway with 2 stair cases, (1 up, 1 down) and a large arched opening to the dining room and beyond that, the kitchen.Adding to the problem of heating this room- there is a sliding glass door which as I recently discovered is VERY drafty. On an exceptionally windy night about 2 months ago- I watched the vertical blind covering the slider- sway due to the air that apparently was coming into the house around the slider. The next day I got another Bionaire to try out in this room as it was so very cold. Due to the open plan it didn't by any means make it toasty- but it worked well enough that I decided to return another heater- an infrared box that sat on the floor and seemed to blow cool air mostly, while I envisioned dollar bills flying out the window. The Bionaire takes awhile to heat up-in my open plan living area, it did take a couple hours to noticeably feel the difference- but once it kicked in, I was able to confirm that it has raised the ambient temperature on the this level of the house by 5-6 degrees over the course of the evening- taking the temp from about 60-61 when I turned it on, to 67 when I turned it off approx 5-6 hours later. That may sound cold to some of you- but it is quite warm enough here in Central Ca and I am very very happy with the results. As an added bonus- my cat discovered it right away and promptly planted herself next to it for the night making her a very happy kitty. I did not realize heat would come out the sides, but it does. It's just warm, not hot- and for those of you with small children- it will not burn them if they touch it or bump into it. The only real cons I can list are lack of a timer (must physically turn the unit off/on) and thermostat dial which just has slashes on it, rather than numbers. A digital read out would be nice but even without that- a numbered dial so you can set it to "5" for example, would be nice and make it easier to remember what setting you prefer to use and works for the particular space you wish to heat. A huge plus is the ability to lower the watts from 1500 to 750 after the heater has been running on high for awhile, and lower the overall cost to run. That has been my biggest obstacle finding a space heater over the past 2-3 years- can I actually afford to run it? Granted I'm not using it daily- so you mileage may vary. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:January 17, 2015

Good Space Heater, Gets the Job Done!

Pros: actually works quiet stable portable.
Cons: none so far.
" I live in a 1960's apartment that has fairly thin walls and my bedroom has three walls facing the exterior while underneath much of area of the bedroom is an open to the elements carport and above me is just the roof of the building, soooo, all of that exposure can create a very cold room. Add to this that the gas heater I do have is in a hallway and does a terrible job heating the apartment and there must be very little insulation in the building.
I had a small heater with a fan that would blast moderately hot air straight ahead, but it didn't do very well in heating half let alone the whole room. I researched radiant space heaters and while they seemed to emit a very hot stream, it seemed limited to only a few feet straight in front. So, I gave this heater a try figuring I'd just return it if it didn't work out. Well, so far it has performed quite admirably! It takes a little while, maybe 20 mins or so to generate perceivable warmth within a 5-10 foot diameter, but it does a fine job heating the half and even the whole room. My bedroom is quite long, about 11' by 21' so that's a fair amount of space.
I do not bother to heat the rest of the apartment, just the bedroom during the coldest hours (I live in N. California, so it doesn't get below 30 very often), so I have been able to notice moving from my sitting room to the bedroom a drastic difference in cold to warmth as the heater is warming the bedroom. With a warm bed spread I even get too warm sometimes if I leave the heater on and it only goes to 40 degrees overnight.
Another great pro to this heater is that it is basically sound free. When the thermostat goes off it makes a low click, and the mica filaments may make a little noise (perhaps due to expansion/contraction-just guessing), most importantly, it is by no means noisy. I'm very happy with it, having had it about a month; I hope it is durable and performs this well for years to come. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baltimore
Date:December 22, 2014

Space you are using it in is important

Pros: quiet and takes only small space
Cons: no blower
" I think it is a good product but I think I bought it for the wrong space. I had it in my open floor plan row house living and kitchen space. It is too much open space. I moved it to my bedroom. (16X14 or so space with high ceiling). It works fine and is quiet. It is a little pricy for this space. But we will see how the power bill is. I only run it for a few hours and then shut if off. Until I get my outlets back from Christmas decorations I cannot plug directly into the wall. So I am think this is the best for now. In other words I have not tried the auto feature out yet. "
Review 9 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverdale, GA
Date:December 15, 2014

Great product

Cons: none
" Bought one 6 years ago and still work like new except it's look old :-)
Highly recommended
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2014

never worked right out of the box

Model Number: item # 211169 Bionaire® MicaThermic
" I read the instruction precisely and spent a lot time trying to make it work. I since read other reviews that it stopped working for them in 5 days.
Perhaps i I got something some one returned?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:December 7, 2014

A different concept

Pros: generates directionally like a radiator, makes no noise except to click quietly off and on, the initial odor goes away quickly
Cons: not designed to throw heat laterally
Model Number: BH3954-U
" I was very interested in the technology of this heater and wanted it to work for me as supplemental heat in a large great room with 15 ft ceilings. I didn't realize that most of the heat rises, hence "gentle warming" and there is no fan to move the heat through the fins of the heater. Similar to the radiators in northern homes, except not run by a furnace.
It would very likely work for a smaller room with normal 8 ft. ceilings.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:November 29, 2014

This is a great product

Pros: quiet, lightweight, great value, energy efficient setting
Cons: plastic case, no timer
" I bought one of these and now I'm getting another. We live in Northern Vermont and keep our house nice and chilly so pipes don't freeze, then close rooms and heat only where we are located. I bought one of these for our son's room to ward off the chill at night -- for some reason it's not heated at all -- but we like it in the living room so we're going to get another, that way we have one for each level of the house. It's great because it's lightweight so you can move it to whatever room you're in. It's really quiet (yes, there may be a VERY quiet click when it switches on), just a slight hum to let you know it's running. The low setting is low energy, it has an adjustable thermostat to keep it just above chilly all the way up to toasty. It's exactly what we were looking for and we're happy! We bought one, but it arrived damaged, so I took it back to Costco -- they said the easiest thing would be to take it back and get a refund at the warehouse and re-order online if they weren't stocked at our local store (they weren't). It was, as usual, Costco's great return policy that keeps us coming back for their deals. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood TN
Date:November 17, 2014

Excellent Heater

Pros: heats quick
Cons: none
" We have bought 3 of these heaters and have used them for the last 2 years with no issues or problems. They augment our existing heat source and do so very well. Our Master bath is above the garage and will get cool to cold : with the addition of one of these heaters, it stays warm. Basement and sunroom, works the same way , stays warm. Never had one problem with any of the heaters. Highly recommend. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 29, 2014

Disappointed in Bionaire

Pros: quiet excellent heat output easy set up, nice length cord easy controls.
Cons: suddenly stopped working after five days, intermittent use.
Model Number: BH3954-U
" Bought the Bionaire BH3954-U and for first week worked perfect. Heated room to perfection. Then stopped working. Troubleshot the product but just stopped working. Disappointed as the look, the initial efficiency, the value seemed perfect. So, back to Costco we go. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:April 29, 2014

Good Value

" This space heater works well. Heats quickly, radiates through the room very well. Overall good value. It does have a humm when it is running that is a little irritating when the room is quiet. If there is activity in the room you would not notice. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Keene, NH
Date:April 14, 2014

Warranty confusion keep it from a 5 star...

Pros: for a micathermatic heater it is pretty compact, thermostat works better than most, easy to move around, i like the built in cord storage, light shows when it kicks on and off, pets can get close with out being burned.
Cons: the confusion of packaged 1 year warranty, and advertised 5 year.
Model Number: BH3950
" The heater itself is very good. I was happily surprised at the heat it produced and how quickly it heated up our living room. The thermostat works better than most which is a nice change. Another plus is that it is open on both sides unlike the DeLongi's I purchased in the past.
What I did not care for is every retailer advertises it having a 5 year warranty, you call Boniaire and they tell you 5 years, you open the box and it has a 1 year. Boniaire did e-mail me a copy of the manual that has the 5 year warranty in it so it may have been changed after my unit was produced. Costco was very quick getting back to me about the warranty issue, Boniaire was a bit slower and they even managed to confuse the Costco CS rep. If not for the warranty issue that is still not 100% figured out I'd have given a 5 star. "
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 28, 2014

Not silent!

Pros: puts out plenty of heat
Cons: noisy!
" Every time the thermostat goes on or off, a loud click is heard. Also has an annoying frequency hum. Returning for refund. "
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:February 13, 2014

Efficient for small area/room

Pros: when plugged in to an outlet a light is on.
" True, this unit is quiet. I use it mainly to heat the area in which I am sitting and not a whole room. The thermostat seems to work well for this purpose as I keep it about 3 feet from where I am sitting in front of the computer. It probably would be sufficient for a small room. My dog likes to sit next to it and because the casing does not become too hot to the touch, I don't worry about her burning herself. The unit is lightweight enough that I can move it around easily. The heater was more expensive than others I looked at but I am pleased that I spent the money for this model. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New york, ny
Date:January 28, 2014

worst product ever

Cons: cheaply made already doesnt work
" HAve had it for less than two weeks and already does not work "
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bionaire® MicaThermic Convection Console Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:December 30, 2013

EXCELLENT

" I don't know why anyone would rate this less than 5 stars unless they have never used space heaters before. I live in the mountains, where it regularly dips below zero. When I close off a guest room in the winter and it is very cold, this little unit will heat it up to a toasty warm temperature fairly quickly. It will stay at a nice temp for as long as I want, without a sound. I have also used it in a cold bathroom in the winter, and the room is heated by the time I'm out of the shower. And my master bath is a very large room.
I have no complaints...only rave reviews.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>