Customer Reviews for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim

Reversible Door 5 Vinyl Coated Wire Shelves
Average Customer Rating:
1.9 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
2 of 10(20%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Review 1 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:August 20, 2009

DON'T BUY THIS REFRIG...

Cons: does not go above 50 degrees
"I wish the reviews on this product were here when I purchased this "wine" frig because I would not have bought it knowing it does not keep temperature. I bought a thermometer a month ago becasue I could tell my wine was WAY too cold. Yep, indeed it is. This frig sits at around 50 degrees on the lowest setting. Scared to see what the max temp would be - freezing? This is a horrible "wine" frig. If I had known it was like this, then I would have spent my money on a better quality frig that actaully keeps temperature."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:August 18, 2009

Good for white wine only

Pros: inexpensive quiet (if lucky)
Cons: max temp is 49 degrees
Model Number: DWC350BLP
"Inexpensive but can't get temp above 49 degrees. And if you turn the temp control knob too far to raise the temp, the unit turns off, but there is no indication that it happened, unless you adjust the temp while the unit is running.
The second unit I purchased (same temp problem) has a noisy vibration that comes and goes that I can stop if I press on the exterior; but, that's an impractical solution.
Danby C/S is very difficult to get hold of--must call early in the day ET. Response was that the temp problem can't be fixed--the unit just runs cold!!! Kind of defeats the purpose of a red wine cooler.
I'm returning both units (we drink very little white wine); maybe I'll try the Vinotemp 58 bottle unit, but reviews indicate it's noisy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:August 16, 2009

Just a fridge

"The temperature is way too cold for red wine even at the lowest colling setting. It is basically a mini fridge, so OK for storing white wine."
Review 4 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:new york
Date:July 20, 2009

good wine cooler for the price

Pros: great price, nice look
Cons: keeps the wine a little cold
"it looks nice, it keeps the wine a bit cold but functions well as a wine cooler, great price, i have had no problems with the unit. i keep red wine in it, you just need to take it out a few hours before you drink it unless you dont mind it cold."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009

Lousy cooler

"Purchased 9 months ago. Temp always to cold the adjustment knob didnt lower temp. Started making loud noises and is leaking water all over the place. Plan on returning to store today."
Review 6 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Riverside, CA
Date:July 7, 2009

Way too cold-

"Even on the lowest setting it keeps wine WAY to cold. Maybe good for all whites but not good for reds. I am returning this."
Review 7 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 29, 2009

A good solid wine cooler

Pros: compact size, good price
Cons: does not have a temperature gauge
"I've had this for several years, nice size and keeps the wind at a constant temperature, no issues at all. While the temp in not exact, its a whole lot better then wide swings from hot to cold."
Review 8 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:June 16, 2009

Temperature not controllable

"Like the design and size. But the fact that one can not set the temperature is a big disappointment. The temperature controller is a little knob that allows one to keep it between high and low. One has no idea what temperature one will get, one needs to put in their own termostat to find out the actual temperature. EVen if i keep the knob at low, the highest temp is 48 degrees. If keep it at high, I get 45 degrees or lower. It is much too cold for both red and white. The humidity level is also too low at around 45 to 48."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 1, 2009

I returned two of these to Costco

"Thank goodness I purchased these from Costco.com;my local Costco took them back and gave me a full refund. Problem with the first purchase was the seal around the door as it did not seal. Danby provided the name & # of a local dealer to correct/fix, but they didn't even return phone calls. After returning it to Costco I purchased another on line with hopes of a better result. Six months after the purchase it simply quit running. Once again Costco took it back without question but I'm finished with this cheap brand.
While the manufacturer lost a customer my loyalty to Costco and recommendation to always buy from them was reinforced.
"
Review 10 for Hot Buy Danby 35-Bottle Wine Cooler Black Cabinet and Trim
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:January 15, 2009

Too Cold; not for wine

Pros: looks sleek and cool in the living room
Cons: won't reach ideal wine storage temperature.
Model Number: DWC310BL 185102
"I just recently purchased this wine cellar and sad to say i am not that impressed. It is equivalent to a mini dorm fridge i had in college, which is bad since the temperature of a refridgerator should be different than that of a wine fridge. I have it set on the absolute minimum setting for cooling and the temperature still won't go above 49 degrees. I've heard the ideal temperature is just under 60 degrees, around 58 degrees. So it upsets me that I'm basically putting all my great bottles of wine into a normal fridge. Frost/ice forms at the top back of the fridge because it is so cold in there.
I will carefully research the fridge next time before i make a purchase like this.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.