Customer Reviews for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener

Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener

This professional, three stage Diamond Hone® knife sharpener uses 100% diamond abrasives in stages 1 and 2, and an ultra-fine diamond polishing disk in stage 3, to create, in seconds, an edge of unprecedented sharpness and durability on fine edge and serrated knives. Safe for all your high quality kitchen knives, pocket knives, hunting and fishing knives.  High precision angle guides guarantee arched-shaped Trizor-Plus™ edges that stay sharp longer and eliminates all of the guesswork. Features: Designed to sharpen fine/straight edge & serrated knives   Unique, patented sharpening & polishing stage   3-stage sharpening for stronger, longer-lasting edges   100% diamond abrasives - guaranteed to never detemper   High precision angle guides hold the blade at the proper angle, eliminating guesswork 125 watts   UL listed   Dimensions:  10" L x 4" H x 4" D   Weight: 4.1 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Assembled in the U.S.A. For product related questions please call Edgecraft / Chef's Choice toll free at 1-800-342-3255. Model: 115
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
39 of 42(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 6, 2013

Excellent, but not perfect, sharpener

Pros: fast easy to use, extremely good results in a short time
Cons: does not sharpen asian knives, difficult to use to sharpen speciality knives, does not sharpen scissors
"After reading reviews for this product, it appears that some people are confused about this product and what it can or cannot do. I have owned this product for five years now, and have gotten good results from it - when it is used as intended on the proper knives.
First, people need a very basic understanding of knives and sharp tools. All sharp tools come with a specific cutting edge - also known as a "bevel". Sharpness comes from making the bevel as precise as possible over the entire length of the blade. It is difficult to achieve this precision manually, so most knife sharpeners have guides that hold the blade to the sharpening element at an exact angle. American knives typically have a 20 degree cutting angle. Asian knives have a 15 degree cutting angle. Scissors have a wider angle - typically 45 degrees but it varies depending on the type of scissor. Additionally, some knives do not have uniform edges (ie scalloped or serrated blades) and some have curved edges (hook or draw knives or other specialty knives). You need to use the proper sharpener for the proper blade, or you will not get good results and may even dull the blade rather than sharpen it.
This produce is specifically designed for sharpening a 20 degree bevel. It cannot sharpen any other angle. Therefore if you use it for standard American kitchen knives, you will achieve good to excellent results. It will not sharpen Asian knives, scissors, or blades that require a different bevel. People who use this product on the wrong blade will not be happy with the results (as some of these reviews point out).
This sharpener comes with three stages. In the instructions it is pointed out that the first stage should only be used sparingly - on virgin unsharpened knives (people RARELY have these) or on heavily pitted or notched blades. Stage 1 removes a lot of metal - as appropriate - because it is designed to create an entirely new cutting bevel by removing steel down to a fresh surface. If you use Stage 1 excessively (say more often than once per five years), you will grind away too much metal. This is pointed out in the instructions - but it appears from these reviews that some people don't understand this. For the majority of knives - those kitchen knives that are slightly dull from normal use - you will ONLY want to use Stages 2 and 3. These two stages will hone a new edge, and will buff the bevel to a high degree of sharpness, but will not remove too much metal and can be used frequently (monthly) to maintain your kitchen knives in a high degree of sharpness.
How sharp? That depends on how well you do YOUR job. Even though this is an electric knife sharpener, you still have to draw the blade through the sharpener manually. This requires you to seat the knife properly in the guide, and draw it towards you slowly and uniformly. Too fast, or inconsistent, or wobbly, and you will get less than perfect results. Used properly I can easily get "razor" sharpness for my knives. I own an expensive set of Japanese wet stones that I use to sharpen hand tools for very precise wood working tasks (chisels, etc). This electric sharpener will get to somewhere between 80% to 90% as sharp as what I can achieve with a set of expensive stones. Blades will certainly "cut hair" and will be dangerously sharp for people who are not used to sharp knives - ie you can cut yourself without even knowing you've been cut. However, results will depend on the time and attention you put into the sharpening process.
Though this product says it will sharpen serrated blades, it is really not designed for that purpose. You will be able to buff a moderately good new edge on a serrated blade, but the results will not be perfect. However the alternative for serrated blades is to have them sharpened professionally which is inconvenient and expensive. Once you get used to using this product on standard kitchen knives, you can sometimes use it on knives with custom curves (concave blades, etc) but it will depend entirely upon the nature of the blade and your skill in drawing the blade through the sharpener accurately and consistently. This sharpener (and guides) work best on relatively standard, straight or mildly curved blades.
In summary, as long as you use this sharpener on 20 degree blades and use it properly, you will achieve excellent results with minimal time and effort. After five years my machine continues to operate well - motor and sharpening wheels continue to deliver good results."
47 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, California
Date:December 7, 2010
Pros: there is nothing available as good.
Cons: my old unit slightly scollops knife edges
Model Number: 100
"More than 20 years ago I purchased the top model of the Chef's Choice series knife sharpener because it was highly praised by Consumer Reports magazine. In my model, stage 1, to be seldom used, is a rotary grinding wheel that produces the principal angle on both left and right sides. The second stage comprises a pair of oscillating ceramic blocks with a medium grit of diamond abrasive to provide the second left and right angles. The third stage is the same as stage 2 except with an even more acute angle and a very fine diamond grit for creating or honing the final cutting edge. For all three stages, magnetic strips retaine the knife at the proper angle as it isdrawn through the slot while the motor is running. A few strokes with a steel will finish the job. The unit presently sold at Costco appears to be a significant improvement over the sharpener that retained my respect and loyalty over the years. Purchasing this one would make sense; then the old one could take up residence in our motor home. My understanding is that some professional chefs also use the Chef's Choice in addition to a steel."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:September 6, 2013

Worth it for the most part but....

Pros: easy to use, seems fine with regular bladed knives
Cons: instructions aren't clear on all types of blades, ruined my food (cutlery) scissors
"Bought this to instill life into my Chicago Cutlery set that was well used and dull. Read alll the instructions carefully before proceeding.Took more stage "honing" then recommended due to their dullness but they seem to be much better than before. Perfect? Not really, but better. However, I made the mistake of sharpening my "food" scissors with this set and I basically dulled the scissors to uselessness. Was unsure of the "type" of blade it was based on instructions and treated it as a serrated one, the safer choice apparently (but still wrong). I suppose I can now give it to my 5 year old nephew and tell him to run around the house with them because they can't be useful in the kitchen or really anywhere now. I did my whole set of knives (18) including some steak knives and had to clean the magnetic shavings tray but it should be good to go for normal use now. I have not tried my serrated blades yet."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Driftwood Texas
Date:December 22, 2010

Great item

Pros: great sharpener in a short amout of time
Cons: no cons
"My wife saw a display of this type of knife sharpener at a retail store in the area and thought it would be right her knives. She does a lot of cooking and uses knives all the time. She is always complaining about dull knifes. We saw the sharpener advertised at Costco at a good price and decided to get it. We are glad we did. It sharpened all of her knives to a very sharp edge. Even the knives she had put away because they were too dull to use. She now has knives for every use that have a sharp edge on them. I would recommend this item to anyone that want to have sharp kitchen knives."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2011

Great sharpener but not perfect

Pros: the plastic guides are far better than magnets., very sharp knives
Cons: filing collecting magnet hard to clean
Model Number: model 115
"I have about 60 kitchen knives and this sharpener is the best ever at sharpening quality straight edge knives. Very sharp and easy to resharpen. Serrated knives do not really sharpen, but can be touched up by using the sharpener only on the non-serrated side and then use a diamond steel to true them up. The instructions say to use the rough grinding wheel (number 1) sparingly. However, if the knife has not been sharpened on this machine already, then the rough grind is required get the correct 20 degree edge angle before the knife can be sharpened by the other finer grinding wheels."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:April 13, 2014

Good bang for buck

Pros: good value for money., quick results
Cons: stropping(newer) vs fine diamonds(this) final disc
"This is an older model than the one currently in market.
Key difference is that the final blade here is fine diamonds while the newer one has stropping. Both are good in their own regards. The outside one is nearly 20-30$ more so you can take your pick.
If you believe it is expensive think about the $2-$7 that one spends on getting their knives sharp. This is a good one time investment since it replaces several stones and carbide sharpeners that I had invested in over the ages.
Yes, you can achieve even better results with some more expensive systems however this does the job."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washingto,DC
Date:October 14, 2013

PURCHASED IN STORE

Pros: works well
Cons: more expensive on line than in store by a lot!
"I purchased this knife sharpener in a Costco store several months ago, for significantly less money (around $40). The sharpener works, but you really must follow the instructions in the manual to see good results. The knife cannot be "forced" or too much pressure maintained while sharpening otherwise you will get less than perfect results. Just ease up on the pressure and take several passes and you will be able to shave your arm hair (although not sure why you would want to use a knife to do that!) This unit also sharpens serrated edged knives and can be used on scissors."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:February 10, 2009

Met expectations

Pros: quickly resharpens knives.
Cons: can be noisy at times while sharpening.
Model Number: 115
"I've owned this product for about three weeks and had used it on two occasions. I sharpened a variety of knives (chef, boning, fillet, etc) of various lengths and widths. On the second occasion I only resharpened a few of the knives previously sharpened on this machine. The results where excellent. The only exception I noted was that the Santoku knifes that were very thin (width) seemed to get scratched on the sides. I haven't attempted to sharpen any serrated yet. I've come to expect quality from Costco and I wasn't disappointed."
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maui, Hawaii
Date:February 23, 2010

Great Kitchen Tool

Pros: easy to use; compact
"I was reluctant to purchase this product because of the cost however I was failing at keeping my knives sharp doing it by hand. Just couldnt get the edge angle right. This product is so easy to use and (drum roll) it does everything that is advertised i.e. easy to use and puts a nice edge on all the knives. I was real impressed with how it works on serrated knives.
My only CON and truly it is understandable is that I had a difficult time getting an edge on a cleaver. I think the cleaver is just too thick."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:April 17, 2010

Should have bought it sooner

Pros: price, value, ease of use, compact size
Cons: a little noisey
Model Number: Chefs Choice 3-Stage Sharpener M115
"I had a collection of used formerly sharp knives. In the past year I bought my 3rd knife block with brand new sharp knives. Had I bought this first I would not have needed the 3rd. I've had manual sharpeners and whet stones that took much effort but didn't get the nicks out or the knives sharp. I suspect user error. Now I have a collage of knives and every last one is perfectly sharp without knicks thanks to this product. I'll be making Christmas gifts out of this one."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Palm Harbor, FL
Date:December 13, 2011

Not Razor Sharp 2!!

Pros: easy to use
Cons: mediocre results
Model Number: Chef's Choice Model 115
"I purchased this after reading all of the stellar reviews here & have to agree with Mike1963. Sure the knives can cut through paper, but even semi-sharp knives will do the same once the cut in paper is made. The true test of "razor" sharp is splitting/cutting hair & slicing with minimal pressure on blade. I tried it on a couple of my mid-range knives & none of them reached the level I expected from this machine. Will be taking it back to my local Costco for a refund."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Palma, California
Date:December 22, 2010

Excellent Knife Sharpener

Pros: the instructions are clear and easy to understand., the sharpener is very easy to use.
Model Number: 115
"My favorite santoku knife had been dulled by someone mistakenly using it to cut vegetables on a glass cutting board. Using my manual sharpener helped somewhat, but the knife still wasn't nearly as sharp as it should be. So, I ordered the Chefs Choice electric knife sharpener hoping it could do what my manual sharpener had failed to do.
The sharpener was very easy to use and it produced excellent results. Happily, my santoku knife is usable once more."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:May 22, 2010

Good product

Pros: much sharper knives in just few minutes
Cons: none so far
"I have a set of Cuisineart knives and the most favorite of all - a Japanese Shun knife. All of the Cuisineart knives got dull and I decided to give this sharpener a try. It did a great job revitalizing my dull knives. As I found out, this sharpener is not to be used on Japanese knives for it will change their angle which will defeat the whole purpose of it being what it is. There's nothing worse than dull knives for a cook!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Graham, WA
Date:July 5, 2012

Chef's Choice® Electric Knife Sharpener

Model Number: Model #115
"This has been on my wish list for some time before I discovered it to be available at Costco Online. Over the past few weeks I've used it to sharpen most of my kitchen knives as well as a pocket knife. It's an excellent sharpener.
Many home kitchens now have Japanese Santoku knives that should have a 15° edge vs the 20° found on traditional home knives. I wish the Model 1520 would have been available at Costco."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 15, 2011

Buy this instead of new knives!

Pros: easy to use, very effective
"I was considering a new knife set to replace my (very nice) kitchen knives that had become dull over the years -- but the knives I was considering were hundreds of dollars. I decided to buy this sharpener to try sharpening my current knives, instead of buying replacement knives, and I'm delighted that I did so. This sharpener is incredibly easy to use, and my knives are now VERY sharp -- better than new!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:February 14, 2012

Scratches sides of knives

Pros: sharpens quickly
Cons: scratches sides of knives, knives not that sharp
"I tried these on my "cheap" Henckels steak knives before using on my good ones. It scratched the sides of the knives. Could not find any info on the mfr website as to how to avoid scratching the knives so I must assume this is a feature. The only thing this sharpener would work on maybe is types of knives that don't have a smooth finish on the sides like Chicago cutlery. Went back to Costco!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood,TN
Date:December 22, 2009

For the record, since the specs don't say

Model Number: 115
"Just now ordering this product, but after researching all the webblogs on this model 115, could not determine if the guides in this sharperner were magnetic or spring loaded. I called Edgecraft this morning, and customer service confirmed the guides to be spring loaded. All indications are that is better than magnetic. Ordering today and will add another review after using it."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanwood, WA
Date:April 14, 2010

Just what the chef ordered

Model Number: 115
"My wife's knives were sorely in need of sharpening so I reviewed a lot of sharpeners and chose this one. It is wonderful. In about a half hour I sharpened 5 of her knives as they've never been sharpened before. If I'd had the sharpening done by someone else this would have cost me $100 or more and the next time they needed sharpening I'd have to spend a like amount or more."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:BFL, CA
Date:January 23, 2011

Good sharpener, good price

Pros: good value
"Hand sharpening is best, but time consuming. This machine cleans up rough blades and puts a nice edge on knives quickly. Use low end (cheap) knives and master the machine before using it to sharpen expensive high end knives, and use the 1st stage only on very dull pieces. The only comparable sharpener around is about $170, and that's without the legendary Costco guarantee!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chef's Choice® M115 Electric Knife Sharpener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:December 23, 2010

Have professionally sharpened knives always!

Pros: fun and easy to use!
Cons: absolutely none.
Model Number: 115
"This knife sharpener is easy to use with easy to read instructions. Literally, in just minutes, your dull knives will become professionally sharpened knives The product performs 100% as advertised and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Sharpen your knives with this product and then maintain the edge witha steel and you'll always have a sharp knife at your fingertips"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>