Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer

Added Value: Tripplite Surge Protector
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(424 Reviews) 423
(out of 424 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (424 reviews)
5 stars
228
4 stars
129
3 stars
34
2 stars
14
1 star
19
356 of 416(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Review 1 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SF Bay CA
Date:December 9, 2008

Not for home use

Pros: good for high volume printing
Cons: not a good choice for low volume printing
Model Number: Xerox 8560 solid ink
"Found on the web:
Solid ink is not for occasional printing - the cleaning cycles from under-use will cost a lot in ink and printer repair.
If you are printing 1000s of copies per month it appears to be a good choice.
This is something that you should have been warned about in Xerox's
guidelines for appropriate printer choice. The solid ink color
printers are designed for workgroups with a certain minimum threshold
of printing. I remember the literature giving the range of copies
per month. It's the technology, not the brand.
My recollection is that the solid ink is continually being heated,
and if it isn't used in printing, the system is prompted to do a
cleaning cycle to clear the ink feeding paths and waste ink recycles
into a bin. Printing a certain number of copies every day keeps
those paths clear, and so you don't have a cleaning cycle that dumps
way too much waste--and the waste ink does cost a lot. Also the
printers break down because they are not being used enough. Again
those repair charges are an onerous cost burden.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:October 28, 2008

Thank you, Xerox!

Pros: inexpensive ink, environmentally friendly ink, beautiful color or b/w printing, tiny network driver that work flawlessly, fast printing
Cons: a bit expensive up front but worth it in long run, takes 5-10min to warm up after turning on
"Best printer I've ever owned or seen! No comparison. I was originally put off by the price tag; however, it's worth every penny. I can't believe I put up with inkjets for so long. I'm cured. This printer is such a relief: fast printing, easy network installation, inexpensive ink, no ink-cartridges to throw away, and amazing glossy color. In fact, the dry ink technology (it's almost like a wax) allows you to print on low quality paper and have a pristine glossy output. Sorry if I'm gushing, but I love this thing. The software does not bog the computer and there's virtually no lag between pressing print and the printing--even using the printer via the network port. Compare that to HP printers that require cumbersome, buggy software that bogs the computer, crashes regularly, and takes 30 seconds to a minute before it even thinks about printing.
This printer is a breeze and the results are beautiful. I'm telling everyone about these things.
Our only problem was with tray selection when printing from MS Word. It was fixed by changing the paper selection for tray 1 to "dynamic". That's more of a Word problem though.
I wish now that I'd gone with the full copier/fax/scanner/printer version of this. I would have loved to have replaced everything in our office with a Xerox Phaser 8560MFP/N dry-ink multi-function (although multi-function units don't always work as well as dedicated units--but Xerox has earned my trust). Instead, I just replaced our fax machine (an old crummy Sharp inkjet) with a Brother MFP with "PC Fax" that can send our faxes to the Xerox.
Buy this (or maybe the 8560MFP/N) now and thank yourself later!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 27, 2009

Horrible.

"I've purchased two of these printers over the past year. Initially, I might have said this is a great printer, but right now, I have two sitting here, neither work properly. I do not think I have been abusive in anyway to these printers. I have a small office and we used them lightly. They do not print color consistently, and we have wasted a lot of paper just trying to get one to print a photo without it being two different colors. The first printer prints fuzzy more often then not.
Don't waste your money.
"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SF Bay CA
Date:January 17, 2009

Tried it at home

Pros: fast, beautiful colors, seamless setup on network, easy to add ink, has a zillion options
Cons: not durable - wax image easily scratches off, exhaust stinks - hot wax, not as good print resolution as drugstore prints, the installation poster was like playing charades, heavy - 2 man lift
Model Number: Xerox Phasor 8560N
"I returned this printer after trying it at home. To their credit, Xerox support service recommended against it for home use, but based on some of the reviews I decided to try it.
Biggest reason for return - for the price, the print resolution was disappointing. The Xerox support pages point out that the dry wax technology is not capable of obtaining the print resolution of inkjets or laser, but didn't give any quantitative comparison. In a photo developed at a local drugstore, 4x6" the print on a shopping bag in the picture was clearly legible. The Xerox 8560 at it's highest quality (one minute print setup time) was unable to print a legible copy unless I printed it in 8.5x11.
Print setup time is much faster at lower resolutions and once it is set up, it can crank out multiple copies of the same image very fast.
Wax image is fragile. Removing a stack of loose prints from the trunk of my car I noticed some of the wax ink had scraped off. You need to treat the images with care.
At initial turn-on, there is about a 30 minute warmup to melt the wax ink to about the boiling point of water. During initial warmup the fan is on high and emits a disagreeable hot wax odor that might be compatible with an office environment with good air circulation but fills a house room with an intolerable odor. I had to air out the house. After initial warmup the fan slows down or shuts off and the odor is greatly reduced but I wouldn't want it in a room that I would be living in. In standby mode it consumes about 40 watts but is able to warm up so it is ready to print in about 5 minutes."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:S. Florida
Date:December 11, 2008

Excellent printer

Model Number: 8560N
"I have had this printer well over a year now and it is strictly home use.
I certainly wouldn't call the ink expensive, especially when compared to the cost of inkjet cartridges. In one year, I have only added sticks once.
As far as it using a lot of ink while recycling, don't turn the printer off. There is no need to, just set it to go to sleep mode when it is not in use.
The quality of the print is superb and I would highly recommend this printer to anyone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:December 31, 2009

Great...when it works

Model Number: 8560N
"This machine provided great printing for over a year, when it suddenly failed. The reason has to do with some quirks Xerox has with the solid state ink they use. Based on reviews over the internet, this is a common problem with this model. The challenge is that they do not provide an easy way to resolve it, without having a tech come over. When this occurs it almost cost as much as the machine. If you extended the warranty, this too costs more than the machine itself.
So what you are getting is a very nice machine for a great price, which will then require one to two times as much later on to keep running. My recommendation, buy something else with a better reputation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor
Date:December 11, 2008

Very nice printer

Pros: fast, low waste with consumables, handles big files
Cons: loud, uses lots of power to warm up
Model Number: 8560DN
"I have this printer - actually an 8560DN (built-in duplexer).
It is loud when printing
it does use a lot of power when heating up the wax however has a power saving mode and tries to learn your usage pattern and warm up and cool down automatically.
This is a great office printer if you print several times a day. I have it as a home printer as it's a very reliable printer if you use the proper supplies. IT also has VERY little waste as the ink comes in cardboard boxes, there is no toner dust (in case you have allergies), and the waste is just some unused wax.
Drivers work great for Mac, Windows, and Linux/CUPS. It is large as it's a workgroup printer but for your office I highly recommend. The output is shinny and crisp, and it handles big files quickly (much much quicker than HP models). The drawback is the output is a little waxy so sometimes drawing on top of it with some markers causes the marker to smear."
Review 8 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 1, 2008

Very Good Color Printer

"Pros: Fast output; brillant color; no toner waste (nothing to throw away when toner is depleted); toner is clean to handle (the sticks have the same feel as crayons); printer and software was easy to setup
Cons: Nothing significant.
FYI: To conserve toner, we rarely turn the printer off. It seems the cooling and, subsequent, warming of the toner increases toner consumption. The printer goes into sleep mode when not in use to conserve energy. That said, it's a good idea to "wake up" the printer before printing a large color job. If you don't, the printer may print pages and pages of jibberish,
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern Calif
Date:June 26, 2009

Pretty Good - but Different

Pros: sharp b/w print (really sharp), small size for office easily networked, simple to add 'toner'
Cons: expensive toner, very expensive service after warranty is over, in effect - a disposable printer., no simple operator service allowed
Model Number: 8560dn
"the print output is great - for black and white and highlights of color. It is NOT a photo printer - the definition is not adequate. And, due to the wax print media, I am not able to write over (with pen or pencil) the print - as a CPA, that sometimes is annoying. But the print is sharp.
The solid ink is expensive through the manufacturer and Costco, in my opinion, but I feel it is a bit green due to the lack of packaging.
the only problem I have had is with a stuck ink. Before the tech guy got here I got it straightened out with a bent paperclip -- and cancelled the tech call.
I have had it for 11 months now and facing the issue of extending the warranty. I got an email from Xero saying that it will cost over $300 for the first half hour of a service call (before parts and travel costs) and 219 per year for a service contract - which is void if you use third party ink. Major threats from Xerox on using third party ink -
Sounds like a disposable printer to me. Shame - that's not very green, now is it.
my plan - no extended service; buy third party ink and then buy a new printer when necessary with what I would have paid for Xerox service and ink. Sad.
Note - would recommend for friend to consider - with eyes open as to after purchase costs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 3, 2008

Nice

Pros: great toner management, simple network setup
Cons: may not plug and play with vista, long delivery time
"I received this printer two days ago after a long wait but one phone call and Costco customer service took care of the problem and I received it 3 days after the call.
Mine is the DN model, which allows automated two sided printing. Nice feature: It spits the single side printed page out, sucks it back in, and prints the second side.
The printer has excellent quality graphics and great speed. Installation on our Windows Vista computers was not simple because the install program didn't auto start when I inserted the CD. I had to dig around on the supplied CD-ROM to find the correct install program (Drive:>Windows Utilities>Installer32>Install.exe).
I would have rated excellent except for the install.
I expect the high initial cost to be compensated over the lifetime of the printer by the savings on toner over the lifetime of the printer.
I very much like how I can open the top and see exactly how much toner I have left.
I have the printer set up on a network router and it works great and everyone in the lab can use it. Network setup is no problem except for the install issue noted above.
Nice printer. Best I have owned so far.
"
Review 11 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:February 11, 2010

Very disappointed with this printer

Pros: very quick to spool
Cons: color adjusting not intuitive, ink is expensive, tray usage cumbersome even after setting default, resetting ink "jets" is a major pain
Model Number: 8560N
"I am a professional graphic designer, have had other Phasers in the past and was pretty happy with them so looked forward to using this one because it is a bit greener. I have problems from the get-go. Plugging "jets" (which isn't that big of a deal, but you have to scroll, one numeral at a time, through hundreds of numbers to reset particular jets; color isn't that great; and the latest thing is that the display has gone totally blank with occasional pale blinks. I have owned this printer over a year so have given it a good try."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:May 11, 2009

Worked great for awhile....Now DEAD!

Pros: worked very well printing both ms xp and vista, no smearing out of the printer, easy to add ink products with little waste
Cons: the solid ink gets stuck easily, difficult to remove solid ink
Model Number: 8660N
"The solid ink is great in theory but does not stand up in time. An ink removal ability would allow one to remove any broken pieces without having to turn a heavy machine upside-down and shake, and use a bent paperclip as the Xerox Tech help folks recommend.
I would have liked to keep the printer IF it worked."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 20, 2010

Not worth the headache!

Pros: prints look great- at first.
Cons: expensive disposable printer
Model Number: Phaser 8560N
"We purchased two of these, six months apart. The ink is expensive, they use a lot of energy (they have to stay on all the time or the ink jets will get clogged and it dumps a lot of unused ink when it is shut off), exhaust a lot of heat and there is no fix for a print head with clogged jets. The first one lasted about a year (11,000 prints) before unfixable light stripes set in and the other about 15 months (10,000 prints) before the same thing happened. We used the Xerox brand ink in both. Xerox repair tech said the 8560 has always had a lot of problems and usually just recommends the purchase of a new 8560 because a service call and print head replacement will cost about the same. Big waste of money and time!"
Review 14 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 10, 2008

Don't Use 3rd Party Ink!

Pros: great colors
Cons: ink is costly machine is noisy
Model Number: 8560DN
"This is overall a good printer, however the solid ink is pricey. It also makes a considerable amount of noise when working. I started purchasing non-Xerox ink and I have apparently ruined my machine. (The tech said the other ink is not as "Clean" and it has ruined the printer head.) It is only 18 months old, it is too costly to fix and of course it is out of warranty."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2008

Don't waste your money

"I purchased the Phaser 8560 14 monrths ago and it started arbitraily printing wihtout any print jobs in the queue. It would print rubbish and waste alot of paper. I purchased a 2nd unit 3 days ago. It was DOA out of the box. I called Xerox customer service and they were going to send a tech. I told them not to bother. I was returning it and purchasing a different model/manufacturer. I would not recommend this printer to anyone."
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xerox Phaser 8560N Color Solid Ink Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2009

excellent printer

"I purchased one for the office and we have been using it, heavily, for more than a year. We have more than 9 people using this machine and it's been flawless. The ink is expensive but no more than a comparable HP printer. I'd buy another one."