Customer Reviews for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker

4 oz. Kettle with Built-in Stirring System
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 of 23(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Review 1 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Date:February 6, 2010

Not very happy!!

Model Number: cant find it
"I was so excited to get this popcorn maker but it does not pop the corn very well. Many of the kernels do not get popped and the popcorn has a hard time coming out of the kettle therefore it gets stuck and i have to pry the popped corn out with a butter knife. the popcorn is dry and not appealing. I was trying to get away from using the bagged popcorn but I guess I have no choice since this is not working well."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, California
Date:November 13, 2009

Dang, I get to say bad things about it....

"I was so excited about this machine, based on the glowing reviews. But, sadly, it did not work out for me. After several tries, and two different types of popcorn, only about half the kernels popped. And those that did pop were tough and chewy. Not not not pleasant.
Oh, I'm disappointed. I just knew we were going to love this thing and enjoy using it because frankly, I think I could LIVE on popcorn. But I can say some good things, despite the disappointing popping results. First, I was pleased to find that the door was already installed on the unit when it arrived, saving me that chore. (Or did I get a used machine??) Other parts were very easy to put together. Also, the unit included the lamp and it too was already installed. (I could have done that, tho.) Again, just wish I could said it works great and that I'm eating myself sick of popcorn. But that's just not the case. Oh, and delivery was fast!!! I hope Costco is as quick to respond to my return request as they were to get it shipped to me.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:northern california
Date:March 12, 2009

Arrived damaged

"This machine really makes great popcorn and Costco now has the bulk popcorn on the shelf. Unfortunately, after unpacking (ordered it online) and using it for 1 day, we noticed a sizeable dent on the back top of the frame, & returned it to the store for a full refund. We want to order it again since we really enjoyed it, just for a day. Also unable to contact the manufacturer by phone."
Review 4 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grafton, WI
Date:March 26, 2010

A lot of fun!

Pros: easy to use, easy to clean, keeps popcorn warm, fun to use
"We bought some sunflower oil and special kernals from a popcorn shop nearby and it pops well, but I have to say the white popcorn from the grocery store with canola oil tastes just a good. I love not having to clean our Stir Crazy popper anymore. That was a big pain. This one you just wipe out it is ready to go. Our family really enjoys it!"
Review 5 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:December 19, 2009

Good Value

Pros: easy to clean, shipped promptly
Model Number: EPM-450
"Well made, easy to clean, works perfectly. Good size for counter top, (too tall to fit under cabinets), perfect home size unit, or small office. I'm glad we deciced to buy this one from Costco.
We are excited to try different popcorn recipies......Great Popcorn Popper.
"
Review 6 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hanford, CA
Date:November 24, 2009

Great popper

Pros: easy to use, easy to clean, small size
Cons: none we have found
"We have had this popper for a little over a year now and it is perfect for our home. It has worked perfectly since day one and the popcorn it produces is as good as the popcorn from the movie theatres. I highly recommend it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:November 14, 2009

Tabletop Popcorn maker

Model Number: EPM-450
"We bought our machine on April 30, 2008,...and have never gone through as much popcorn as we do now.
We do tend to get somewhat of a "large" amount of unpopped kernels, but the popcorn is great and this machine is used at least once every week...frequently much more often than that.
In short, we love it. I read, in one of the other reviews, that using peanut oil tends to result in fewer unpopped kernels. We're going to give that a try the next time we use it."
Review 8 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009

buy it

Pros: consistent quality, convenience
Cons: addictive fun
"I have been making popcorn on the stove top for 40 years. I wanted a popcorn machine for the home theatre room for nostalgic reasons. After playing around with different recipies and seeing the reaction of my guests, I could not be happier with this purchase. Popcorn is really good and consistent in this popper and a must have for your home theatre. Having the smell and hearing the popcorn pop during the opening of a movie and not having to do it in the kitchen is priceless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2009

Very nice popcorn maker

Pros: good popcorn!
Cons: it was a little hard to put together
"We bought it last Christmas. It is very solid and reliable. After some experimentation, I started using peanut oil to make the popcorn. It has a high smoke point so the oil can get very hot and more popcorn gets popped. it also gives the popcorn a subtle, nice flavor so I don't have to use any butter or topping.
It was a little hard to put together. I accidentally installed the lid upside down so it was clumsy to use at first and so that I didn't realize that the lid of the pot stays up by itself with a magnet, which is a nice feature."
Review 10 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009

perfect

Pros: just like at the movies
Cons: there are no cons
Model Number: EPM-450
"cute, nostaligic, perfect family size, works great, everyone should own one"
Review 11 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, Tx
Date:August 11, 2009

Very Happy

Pros: bang for buck cannot be beaten
"Purchased the product a few weeks ago and it's been great so far. We used to use the Whirley Pop, but I find the popcorn from this machine to be less dry (even with the same amount of oil and seeds). My wife and I are popcorn fiends and actually make two batches at once. If you eat a lot of popcorn, you may want to consider a 6 or 8oz model. However, for this price point, the machine works great. I'm happy with the quality of the machine and the popcorn it produces. There are much inferior machines (smaller, poor quality) that are selling for around $100."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norwich CT
Date:July 6, 2009

This was a hit!

Pros: does a great job, easy to use
Model Number: 178552
"I purchased this popcorn maker for a family reunion. We had a lot of children as well as adults who loved this product. It was easy to use and did a fantastic job popping the corn. The light kept the popcorn warm, and in the evening it was nice to see the machine pop the corn. After hours of on line shopping looking for a machine this one truly is the best buy and best quality. I would highly recommend this popcorn machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:June 12, 2009

How to make movie corn

"I bought this to replace the less-than-stellar $75 model that was mass marketed at Christmas at other stores. This thing is a beauty and has paid for itself more than once over already (compared to buying $7 bucket of corn @ theater). It makes a large mixing bowl size amount of popped corn. So here's my recipe for success:
3.5-4 tablespoons popcorn oil
1 tsp Flavocol butter salt
1/2 cup of popcorn
Top popcorn with Orville Red. butter topping (just like the squirt bucket at the theater).
Buying the items individually in bulk is WAY cheaper than the premeasured packets! I bought the oil and salt at a bulk food store....they had hydrogenated and partially-hydrogenated oil, so I went partial for my cholesterol's sake. I'm sure the real deal tastes better, but we eat way too much popcorn and it would clog my arteries.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009

Great Machine

Pros: easy to clean
"I purchased this about a month ago and bought a variety of the 4oz packs from different online sites. The popcorn is awesome and the machine is great. Very easy to clean! Family and friends love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:April 4, 2009

We just made a batch tonight!

"We bought this several months ago from Costco and have made popcorn several times with it. And it does make very tasty popcorn, just like at the movies, but much cheaper. It has been a great hit with our family and friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockaway,NJ
Date:April 2, 2009

Great for Snacks, Kids Love it!

"Our teenage son loves to make the popcorn. It's great entertainment for the kids as well as a good snack. The heating light keeps it warm too. Easy to use and clean. We're going to use poolside this summer!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PUERTO RICO
Date:February 19, 2009

Excellent product

"I purchased this product and it is excellent. Popcorn is like a typical concession at movies. Nice to clean and to operate."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:February 5, 2009

Great entertainment addition

Pros: great coversation piece, makes great popcon
Cons: none
"I purchased this popcorn maker for our "Movie Nights" at home. We received it in time for our super bowl party. It was a big hit and everyone thought it made the popcorn taste just like at the real movie theater. My husband originally thought this was just another novelty item, but has since taken over the popcorn making and really enjoys the process as well as the taste. We just buy inexpensive popcorn by the bag and season with a variety of popcorn flavorings (butter, cheese, ranch, cajun etc). I would recommend this anyone interested. We love it.!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA (Home of the Steelers!!)
Date:February 3, 2009

Perfect Popcorn Every Time

"I received this popcorn maker as a gift and it is absolutely wonderful. Makes perfect popcorn every time. I purchased the 4 oz. pre-measured popcorn/oil packets on line from a concession supplier. No measuring involved and the popcorn comes out perfect every time. A small price to pay for convenience. One tip to follow, if you use the pre-measured packets is to add the oil first and let it melt and then add the popcorn."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elite Tabletop Popcorn Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert AZ
Date:December 24, 2008

WE LOVE POPCORN!

"And this makes some great popcorn. We used a Westbend Stir Crazy popper but it can't keep up with our growing family, you have to wait for it to cool down between batches.
This thing keeps the popcorn coming. One tip my friend showed me is you put some of that popcorn butter flavored salt in with the oil and it gets popped into the corn. It tastes GREAT!
Costco used to sell popcorn but the stopped. If Costco is reading this please return it to your shelves."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>