Customer Reviews for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router

"Winner - Editors' Choice" PC Magazine
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
12
20 of 33(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Review 1 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 24, 2009

Very impressed

Model Number: DIR-655
"I have set up many wireless routers. The first thing I do is NOT use the vendors setup disk. If you need to use the vendors disk this may be to powerul of a router for you. Most vendor disks make to many assumptions about your computer setup that are not necessariy correct. It is much cleaner to just use IE to log into the router and go thru the manual setup process. I have setup two of these, one for a friend and one for a commercial customer. I keep wishing my home router would die so I could buy one of these for myself. There are a lot more features in this router than some others and I admit that can be confusing, but you don't have to use all the features. One particular one that I like is that it has a system management interface which will be useful in the future as ISP start limiting your bandwidth usage. It is one thing to track it for a single PC, but if you have multiple PCs then you need to monitor it via the router and that will most likely require system mangement access."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 8, 2009

My Best Purchase in 5 Years

Pros: range features stability form factor, lowest price gigabit router, 3-antennas
Cons: i haven't found any after several weeks
Model Number: DIR-655
"For 5 years, I've been dealing with short range, drop outs, network hangs, and stability issues. I blamed it all my wi-fi devices (i.e. computers & printers). I decided to try this router after it went on sale.
To my amazement, this DIR-655 router has solved every issue. Issues that bothered my computers & printers have disappeared. I finally use my iPhone's wi-fi reliably. Wow, I can hardly believe I was putting up bad equipment in the past
Not only am I getting a great value at gigabit speeds, but the product has twice the range.
I scraped all my other gear, and purchased 4 of these things to put in different places (my home and office). Everything flawless for weeks.
Networking may still be difficult to setup and use, but it should never be unreliable.
Thank you Costco for carrying D-Link."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 13, 2009

D-Link Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router DIR-655

Pros: best wireless router
Model Number: DIR-655
"the best router so far; installation and configuration took 10 minutes. Recently tried two linksys's and a Belkin that is available at this store. WLAN is faster then same speed linksys, and it doesnt drop wireless connection every now and then! Will recommend 655 to anyone! USB connection is a plus, but slower then direct usb connection."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area, WA
Date:December 18, 2009

Almost installs itself with CD setup

Pros: simple setup with cd install wizard, good range, responsive tech support
Cons: none
Model Number: DIR-655
"I picked the DIR 655 based on ratings, particularly its higher prospect of being easy to install and maintain (although, it, like most routers, certainly has its share of complaints and bad customer reviews). I only had to make one call to Tech Support before I began the install -- to confirm a specific, simple protocol at the first step -- and then I was off. It only took about 10 minutes at most to run through the CD install wizard routine, and everything went as programmed. Within 20-30 minutes, I had one wireless laptop, two wired desktops, an Xbox 360 and a ROKU media device all working and recognized in the Windows 7 Homegroup I had set up earlier. It could only have been easier if D-Link had come to the house to do it for me.
I immediately took the laptop outside to test its range. I got about 100' when it dropped to two bars, and that was perpendicular to the antennae array and through an outside wall sheathed in corrugated metal. At an upper-floor office location inside the house where it is often in use (about 30' away), it held a full 5 bars, one-two more than the old router.
It appears to be much faster in delivering media . . . e.g., online videos no longer stop for buffering. Browsing and other online activities seem to be as fast as my desktop with similar tech specs.
Two more comments: 1) Tech Support answered immediately and fully clarified the first installation step with a helpful demeanor, and 2) the install manual that comes as a PDF on the CD will scare the willies out of any novice attempting to install this router. It is nearly 100 pages of perfect "geek" instructions -- probably great for tweekers, but I'm sure glad the Setup CD worked as designed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waxahachie, TX
Date:March 12, 2009

Best Router I've Seen

Model Number: DIR-655
"As a professional web designer / network consultant, I found this to be a superb router at an unbelieveable price. I've had it for 6 months -- no problems, good range, seldom has to be reset, easy set-up, and the speed on "N" is great."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Union City, CA
Date:October 23, 2008

Great range and performance

"This Gigabit Wireless router is awesome. I'm getting much better range and signal strength than my previous Linksys Wireless-G router. Got it for $95 at local Costco store."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:April 3, 2009

Reliable and Fast

Pros: great range and reliability
Cons: none
"I bought this from Costco when it first came out, and to date (over 18 months now) has never failed or given any problems.
It is smart at pushing the signal through doors / hall ways. I have it in my basement and my wife uses a computer in the 2nd floor with no problems at all.
The Web admin tool is great, and although has a lot of features to choose from, most are optional in case you really want to dig in and customize it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago metro
Date:October 27, 2008

Great product, great price

"Works great, I have SBC DSL so it didn't set up correctly through the wizard but one call to D-Link and a couple of edits and everything was fixed. Excellent signal strength, WPA setup was a snap and it is priced at $79.99 in store right now. I paid $94.99 last week but saw it with the instant coupon so I got a refund of $15."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:July 11, 2009

Best router I've ever had

"First was DOA as determined by Dlink tech support within minutes of calling (Costco has special 800 # that connects directly to tier 2 support). Second one was up and working in minutes and hasn't gone down since then (over 1 year now). Great range and great speed. Lots of controls for those who like to tweak."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waipio, Hawaii
Date:December 7, 2008

Nightmare

Pros: price was good at store.
Cons: worst customer service i've ever experiences., product was very difficult to setup.
Model Number: DIR-655
"I recently purchased a new laptop from Costco and decided to upgrade my router from a 802.11g to the 802.11n. Same brand (D-Link). I decided to stay with the same brand due to the good performance of my old system. Tried to install the new router following all instructions provided and the installation CD and wireless computer could not recognize the wireless signal. That same computer recognized every other wireless system in the neighborhood. The only connection recognized was the direct wired from the router. Worked with the D-Link tech support with no success. In fact the first guy I worked with was very impatient and finally told me to just keep rebooting my router and it should work eventually and he just hung up. Of course that didn't work. I called again and this guy made me make all kinds of changes to my system and it still didn't work. He told me that I needed to download the firmware and it will work and then said he was through with me because he's positive it would work. I did download, installed it and it didn't. After about 8 hours of trying to make this all work, I decided to pack it up and reinstall my old router. It works slow but fine on both computers. Terrible experience. I'm returning this router to Costco today and will never buy another D-Link product due to it's very poor customer service. By the way, I consider myself an intermediate level computer geek so it's not like I didn't understand what I was doing when told."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:January 10, 2009

D-Link DIR-655

Pros: once setup no problems
Cons: more complicated installation
Model Number: DIR-655
"I purchased this unit from Costco (in store) over a year ago. It took me approximately 1/2 hour to get the unit running, but after getting the password protocols setup on all of the computers, everything runs well. The setup was more complicated than I was hoping for, but overall I'm pleased with our purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nv
Date:January 23, 2009

Poor Product & Poorer Customer Service

Model Number: D-Link DIR-655
"I have built several computers and have setup several networks. I have mostly used Netgear products; however, decided to try the D-Link wireless router. I am not very fond of installation software, but decided to use the installation disk. The D-Link installation software is very poor and I was unable to get the wireless router working through the installation software. I contacted D-Link for the hardware IP number so I could access directly into the wireless router itself. I got the run around from their product specialists most of who could not speak English. I got so frustrated with their product services operator who could not even answer a simple question I decided to just return the product. I will never try a D-Link product again."
4 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbia MD
Date:December 23, 2008

Easy to use

Pros: easy installation, tons of features
Cons: might intimidate due to feature set
Model Number: DIR-655
"I had a Dlink DI-624 that died and bought this router and had it up and running in 15 minutes. It fired right up, all my "G" wireless connections came right up (except one, and that required reinstallation of the client software on the laptop). The network printer, print server, and other direct connects (my cable boxes) came up fine and my Verizon FIOS connection has been rock steady.
For what it's worth, my network is both XP and Vista and hardwired computers as well as wireless.
Also, all of my wireless is "G" so I've no input on "N" wireless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando,Fl
Date:November 22, 2009

A MUST FOR ANY WIRELESS HOME

Pros: next genration technology fast secure and easy, with d-link quality and security
Cons: absolutely none
Model Number: DIR-655
"I've been using D-Link for years, because of their awesome technology and awards in security features. This router set sup very easily, you just have to literally follow the prompts from the included CD. There is also a manual on the disc in case one might get stuck.
Since hooking the DIR-655 to my home network, it's like I received a whole new network. This system is much faster, downloads are incredible, security is better & the range has no limits.
This unit far exceeds my expectations!!!
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:February 2, 2009

Excellent Router, Easy to use

Pros: gigabit ethernet switch, automatic checking of wan link for optimum speed, initial setup a breeze with included software cd, easily customizable after initial install
Cons: web-based mgmt takes a little getting used to
Model Number: DIR-655
"I hadn't purchased a D-Link product before. This was on sale at my local Costco and I decided to try it. It works great and is easy to use. You can get as complex as you want or need to... plenty of options to customize your network environment and security features. Nice Web-based management. Remember your wireless pass-phrase... I have not found a way to have it displayed for me after setting... you would need to change it if you need to know what it is."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:October 6, 2009

Very good n fast router

Model Number: DIR-655
"I got this Dlink 655, it's very good one, easy setup by following the CD instructions, when I upgrade FW to 1.32NA and Share Port version 1.15, it can not see the network printer or HD etc which plugs to USB on the back of router, I talk to Dlink support and find out there is a glitch on the new Share port version, the latest FW 1.32NA will work with share port V1.10. I install V1.10 instead of 1,15 the lastest and it works."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:May 12, 2009

Buy the Belkin

Pros: none
Cons: bad support won't install
"I got to step 3 on the set-up and received an error message that my computer did not recognize the modem. Customer support stated the problem must be in my laptop (even though it worked fine in other wireless locations), then attempted a manual set-up. After an hour of changing various numbers and downloading manual patches the tech guy said I would now be supported at "tier 2," and put me into another waiting list. After 15 minutes of hold I gave up, restored my previous settings and took the unit back to Costco. I exchanged it for the Belkin N-plus and it was installed and working on all my computers in five minutes."
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:December 14, 2009

Great for three months

"I was very happy with the router for about three months.
Now, I have to reset the router almost everyday to get it wroking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009

Bad Product and Tech Support

Pros: bad set up, bad tech support, $32.99 for tech support!!!
Cons: looks nice
Model Number: DIR-655
"I got this today from Costco. I went to hook it up following the directions perfectly. I was told to call tech support. Luckily I was within the brief warrenty period or I would have been charged 32.99 per call according to the message. The tech didn' t know what was wrong and directed me to contact the maker of my modem even though I hadn't even reached the point in the instructions where I was supposed to connect the modem.
I'm returning it which makes me so grateful to Costco. If I would have bought this from any other store I would have been stuck with this useless product. Costco will take it back with no hassle then I can by one that works. I love Costco"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland Oregon
Date:November 7, 2009

Had to return to Costco

Model Number: DIR-655
"It looks like a nice package. There is no manual included but it's supposed to be easy to set up.
My ISP uses a static address so I am not sure if this was the issue but I could not get it to connect to my DSL connection.
The status looked good so I called tech support. They answered right away and I was happy with the process.
I stopped after about 40 minutes with them on the phone changing DHCP scope, etc. when they wanted me to download and update the BIOS.
I bought this so I wouldnt have to spend a lot of time on configuration.
All and all, I put about 5 hours into this and decided it was time to return it when I could not connect.
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>