Customer Reviews for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router

"Winner - Editors' Choice" PC Magazine
Average Customer Rating:
4.137 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 68
(out of 73 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
57 of 73(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Review 1 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 23, 2010

Excellant Router

Pros: dlinks best and strongest router
Model Number: DIR-655
"Bought 2 of these from Costco. Contains excellant management and features. Can easily be used and configured to Host WebSites (with some knowledge) IP Forwarding for Remote PC's and much more. Owned many other brands, this is definitely the strongest and best router I've owned."
Review 2 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Naperville, Il
Date:January 19, 2010

Not a good experience

Pros: easy setup install, runs fast if it runs at all
Cons: terrible support from d-link, bad firmware
Model Number: D-Link DIR-655
"I have lived with 4 Dlink Routers...all good. This one installed easier than all the others. I was up quickly and running great for 3 days. Then it just quit. When I logged on to reset, it would not save any settings. Would not factory reset or accept new firmware. Would not even save time, password, date, etc. I tried Dlink support. They are clueless despite their forums being loaded wtih people having this same problem. Dlink wanted to blame my PC's, my browser, Windows 7, etc. But not their precious router. Sent this puppy back. Will try another brand."
Review 3 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 22, 2009

Great product and support

Pros: quick install, easy administration, great range, good support
Cons: usb set up for network sharing is not easy
Model Number: Dir-655
"I have had this product for close to a year now. I found the product to be easy to set up even using wireless laptop, which they do not recommend. Their support is excellent and I found the agents knowledgeable in trouble shooting.
I connected this to DAP-1522 and then to several other media devices such as X-Box, HD streaming, Internet Radios etc. They are all working perfectly and the router does excellent job in prioritizing the network traffic with multicast streams. I also have VOIP phones which are working just fine in addition to the media devices.
I am very happy that I bought this product."
Review 4 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area, WA
Date:December 18, 2009

Almost installs itself with CD setup

Pros: simple setup with cd install wizard, good range, responsive tech support
Cons: none
Model Number: DIR-655
"I picked the DIR 655 based on ratings, particularly its higher prospect of being easy to install and maintain (although, it, like most routers, certainly has its share of complaints and bad customer reviews). I only had to make one call to Tech Support before I began the install -- to confirm a specific, simple protocol at the first step -- and then I was off. It only took about 10 minutes at most to run through the CD install wizard routine, and everything went as programmed. Within 20-30 minutes, I had one wireless laptop, two wired desktops, an Xbox 360 and a ROKU media device all working and recognized in the Windows 7 Homegroup I had set up earlier. It could only have been easier if D-Link had come to the house to do it for me.
I immediately took the laptop outside to test its range. I got about 100' when it dropped to two bars, and that was perpendicular to the antennae array and through an outside wall sheathed in corrugated metal. At an upper-floor office location inside the house where it is often in use (about 30' away), it held a full 5 bars, one-two more than the old router.
It appears to be much faster in delivering media . . . e.g., online videos no longer stop for buffering. Browsing and other online activities seem to be as fast as my desktop with similar tech specs.
Two more comments: 1) Tech Support answered immediately and fully clarified the first installation step with a helpful demeanor, and 2) the install manual that comes as a PDF on the CD will scare the willies out of any novice attempting to install this router. It is nearly 100 pages of perfect "geek" instructions -- probably great for tweekers, but I'm sure glad the Setup CD worked as designed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:December 14, 2009

Great for three months

"I was very happy with the router for about three months.
Now, I have to reset the router almost everyday to get it wroking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:December 9, 2009

Worst router

Model Number: DIR-655
"Very disappointing router. I wish I had returned it within 90 days but I thought I would get it to work. Some of its quirks -
1) "Forgets" the settings;
2) Drops signal frequently;
3) Slows down my 8Mbps internet connection significantly;
4) USB port has not worked so far after spending numerous hours playing with it.
"
Review 7 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando,Fl
Date:November 22, 2009

A MUST FOR ANY WIRELESS HOME

Pros: next genration technology fast secure and easy, with d-link quality and security
Cons: absolutely none
Model Number: DIR-655
"I've been using D-Link for years, because of their awesome technology and awards in security features. This router set sup very easily, you just have to literally follow the prompts from the included CD. There is also a manual on the disc in case one might get stuck.
Since hooking the DIR-655 to my home network, it's like I received a whole new network. This system is much faster, downloads are incredible, security is better & the range has no limits.
This unit far exceeds my expectations!!!
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland Oregon
Date:November 7, 2009

Had to return to Costco

Model Number: DIR-655
"It looks like a nice package. There is no manual included but it's supposed to be easy to set up.
My ISP uses a static address so I am not sure if this was the issue but I could not get it to connect to my DSL connection.
The status looked good so I called tech support. They answered right away and I was happy with the process.
I stopped after about 40 minutes with them on the phone changing DHCP scope, etc. when they wanted me to download and update the BIOS.
I bought this so I wouldnt have to spend a lot of time on configuration.
All and all, I put about 5 hours into this and decided it was time to return it when I could not connect.
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:October 6, 2009

Very good n fast router

Model Number: DIR-655
"I got this Dlink 655, it's very good one, easy setup by following the CD instructions, when I upgrade FW to 1.32NA and Share Port version 1.15, it can not see the network printer or HD etc which plugs to USB on the back of router, I talk to Dlink support and find out there is a glitch on the new Share port version, the latest FW 1.32NA will work with share port V1.10. I install V1.10 instead of 1,15 the lastest and it works."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:September 3, 2009

Horrible for network wireless printing

Model Number: D-Link DIR-655
"The wireless router itself was not that hard to hook up, but could not figure out how to wirelessly print from multiple laptops in our home. I spent four hours min. with customer support yesterday. There is no way for this product to automatically hook up to your laptop to print without physically going to your main computer to switch it over. Very complicated. Had to download multiple updates. Finally got it to work yesterday. Went to print from my pc today, and nothing works. I can't say how frustrated I am. I would not recommend this to anyone who wants to wireless print from other computers."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:July 11, 2009

Best router I've ever had

"First was DOA as determined by Dlink tech support within minutes of calling (Costco has special 800 # that connects directly to tier 2 support). Second one was up and working in minutes and hasn't gone down since then (over 1 year now). Great range and great speed. Lots of controls for those who like to tweak."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wixom, MI
Date:June 14, 2009

Easy Plug and Play

Model Number: DIR-655
"This router was easy to install. The range on it is outstanding. The setup was no problem. This is a good price for this unit."
Review 13 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 13, 2009

D-Link Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router DIR-655

Pros: best wireless router
Model Number: DIR-655
"the best router so far; installation and configuration took 10 minutes. Recently tried two linksys's and a Belkin that is available at this store. WLAN is faster then same speed linksys, and it doesnt drop wireless connection every now and then! Will recommend 655 to anyone! USB connection is a plus, but slower then direct usb connection."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:May 12, 2009

Buy the Belkin

Pros: none
Cons: bad support won't install
"I got to step 3 on the set-up and received an error message that my computer did not recognize the modem. Customer support stated the problem must be in my laptop (even though it worked fine in other wireless locations), then attempted a manual set-up. After an hour of changing various numbers and downloading manual patches the tech guy said I would now be supported at "tier 2," and put me into another waiting list. After 15 minutes of hold I gave up, restored my previous settings and took the unit back to Costco. I exchanged it for the Belkin N-plus and it was installed and working on all my computers in five minutes."
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009

Bad Product and Tech Support

Pros: bad set up, bad tech support, $32.99 for tech support!!!
Cons: looks nice
Model Number: DIR-655
"I got this today from Costco. I went to hook it up following the directions perfectly. I was told to call tech support. Luckily I was within the brief warrenty period or I would have been charged 32.99 per call according to the message. The tech didn' t know what was wrong and directed me to contact the maker of my modem even though I hadn't even reached the point in the instructions where I was supposed to connect the modem.
I'm returning it which makes me so grateful to Costco. If I would have bought this from any other store I would have been stuck with this useless product. Costco will take it back with no hassle then I can by one that works. I love Costco"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sun Valley, CA
Date:April 22, 2009

Same As The Other Guy

"I connected everything through the CD setup Wizard, everything successful, with all lights flashing, but no connection..."
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:April 3, 2009

Reliable and Fast

Pros: great range and reliability
Cons: none
"I bought this from Costco when it first came out, and to date (over 18 months now) has never failed or given any problems.
It is smart at pushing the signal through doors / hall ways. I have it in my basement and my wife uses a computer in the 2nd floor with no problems at all.
The Web admin tool is great, and although has a lot of features to choose from, most are optional in case you really want to dig in and customize it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:March 28, 2009

Terrible product

Model Number: DIR-655
"I bought this product at the local Costco store last night, came home and set it up using the CD that came with it. I connected through my cable modem excatly the same way as my older D-link product. Set up took long but was successful per the Wizard. However, no signal. Called tech support who could not get it to work. Am returning product to store today. No more D-Link."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waxahachie, TX
Date:March 12, 2009

Best Router I've Seen

Model Number: DIR-655
"As a professional web designer / network consultant, I found this to be a superb router at an unbelieveable price. I've had it for 6 months -- no problems, good range, seldom has to be reset, easy set-up, and the speed on "N" is great."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Router
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 8, 2009

My Best Purchase in 5 Years

Pros: range features stability form factor, lowest price gigabit router, 3-antennas
Cons: i haven't found any after several weeks
Model Number: DIR-655
"For 5 years, I've been dealing with short range, drop outs, network hangs, and stability issues. I blamed it all my wi-fi devices (i.e. computers & printers). I decided to try this router after it went on sale.
To my amazement, this DIR-655 router has solved every issue. Issues that bothered my computers & printers have disappeared. I finally use my iPhone's wi-fi reliably. Wow, I can hardly believe I was putting up bad equipment in the past
Not only am I getting a great value at gigabit speeds, but the product has twice the range.
I scraped all my other gear, and purchased 4 of these things to put in different places (my home and office). Everything flawless for weeks.
Networking may still be difficult to setup and use, but it should never be unreliable.
Thank you Costco for carrying D-Link."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>