Customer Reviews for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake

Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake

Enjoying the savory taste of the coast of Maine is easy and convenient with our Maine Clambake. This hearty portion of succulent Maine lobster tails, large shrimp, sweet mussels, hard-shell clams and baby potatoes is drenched in lemon herb butter. Ready to bake in your oven or on your outdoor grill -just heat and eat! In less than thirty minutes you have an authentic Maine Clambake - and you will feel like you are on the wharf by the water in Maine.   Enjoying the savory taste of the coast of Maine is easy and convenient with our Maine Clambake. This hearty portion of succulent Maine lobster tails, large shrimp, sweet mussels, hard-shell clams and baby potatoes is drenched in lemon herb butter. Ready to bake in your oven or on your outdoor grill -just heat and eat! In less than thirty minutes you have an authentic Maine Clambake - and you will feel like you are on the wharf by the water in Maine.    Serves Two, Generously   2-5 oz. Certified Maine Lobster Tails   8 Tiger Shrimp   12 Sweet Mussels   12 Hard-Shell Clams   10 Baby Russet Potatoes   Lemon and Butter   Ready To Heat & Eat in large foil cooking bag   Total Food Weight: 2 lbs 12 oz. Country of Origin:  USA Note: The bottom two layers of the foil bag contain a small amount of Alder chips which will add a mild smokey "cooked outside" flavor to the seafood. You may smell these chips if the Clam Bake is cooked inside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.092 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
(out of 76 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
6
60 of 76(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Review 1 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Greater Seattle, WA area
Date:February 12, 2014

Tasty smoked flavor

Pros: easy tasty
Cons: pricey but s&h is included
Model Number: Maine Clambake
"Costco product description says ready in less than 30 minutes. Actual box says to thaw in refrigerator overnight or for several hours and bake in 450 degree oven for 50-55 minutes. Can grill outdoors for 35-40 min. Refrigerator life is 2 days; frozen shelf life is 9 months. Like the taste. Agree that the lobster is small but the description does say 5 oz. tails. It's our 3rd time ordering this product. First for ourselves, then as a gift, then for ourselves again. We usually have a salad with it and have 4 meals Note: Potatoes may need extra time for some people."
Review 2 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Terrell, TX
Date:October 28, 2008

A definite

"Our expectations were more than met. A perfect meal for two and it couldn't have been easier to prepare. We are completely satisfied knowing the only way it would have been better would to be there when it was caught fresh and eaten immediately."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hollis NH
Date:February 27, 2009

disappointing

"I bought two of these for my mothers birthday and the lobster tails were very mushy. I have bought several lobster products from costco before and have never been disappointed. this was a real let down."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

Sweetest Lobster Tails

"I ordered this item for Valentines day rather than go out for an overpriced valentine dinner. I served it with corn-on-the-cob and a nice dry white wine. We both enjoyed this with one exception. Several of the clams were not opened and had to be tossed. I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the need for better quality control since these things are sent pre-cooked. The packaging kept everything solid frozen and the ease of preparation made my valentines day."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northfield, CT
Date:November 30, 2008

Very Easy Gift

"This gift was well recieved "down south" where Maine lobster is hard to find. Easy preperation and delivered fresh and completely prepared. This is a great gift for any seafood lover!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 7, 2009

Great Gift for the person that has everything!

Pros: fresh
"We ordered this for my husband's dad as a Father's Day gift. He is from the East Coast originally and really enjoyed this! He said the package was delivered in a reusable styrofoam cooler and everything was fresh and tasty. If you have a seafood lover in your circle, this is a great option."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glenview, IL
Date:January 2, 2011

Bad stuff.

Pros: none
Cons: yuk
"Clambake arrived with no ice which made the contents suspect. When opening package to inspect, found a hole in inner heating pan. I tracked down the mfg. to ask if product was safe to eat. They said it was.
Contents contained two tiny lobster tails which were in their shells making it difficult to eat. When finally opened, found one of the tails contained black stuff which I assumed to be lobster waste. Lobster was discarded. The rest of the meal had poor flavor. Will not purchase again.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marco Island, FL
Date:August 24, 2010

So, So Product

Pros: excellent seafood product
Cons: product dimished by heavy smokey flavor
"The clambake was as adverstised. Shipped quickly, easy to heat and delicious seafood. But, I think they used liquid smoke on the product and the flavor it gave the dish was not very pleasant.
I would rather have had this dish w/o the overpowering smokey flavor which I did not like. It lingered around my mouth for hours."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2011

Outstanding, Beware cooking instructions

Pros: great sauce
Cons: bad cooking instructions
"In a word---Outstanding!! I'd buy it in a minute.
We baked it at 450 for 30 minutes (versus the recommended 50-55 stove or 35-40 grill). Probably 25 minutes would have done well also--particularly in a "robust" oven.
The lobster tails were perfectly done, and of exceptionally fine quality---i.e., right out of the water! Likewise the shrimp! And, as a benchmark, the small golden potatoes were done just right. The clams and mussels were likewise fine quality, but slightly chewy as they often are. Whether 5 minutes less cooking time would have changed any of that remains to be seen.
The herbed lemon butter sauce was a definite winner, and was suitably soaked up by some thick slabs of crusty, french-type bread.
We highly recommend it!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, Ca.
Date:August 3, 2011

Great buy

"I received this 3 days after I ordered. I live in a very hot area so there was very little dry ice left but all was still frozen. I BBQ'd it the next evening and everything was delicious. All the clams and mussels opened and lobster was very sweet and tender. I did not cook under direct coals and took off the grill 8 minutes before recommended cooking time and let sit for 10 minutes. Turned out great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ocean Shores, WA
Date:April 27, 2010

A Seafood Lovers Delite

Pros: a very good value, comes in a good styrofoam container, and reusable ice packs great for my shopping, it contains mussels not availabe where i live???
Cons: for me to many potatoes
Model Number: Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
"I eat a lot of seafood each week. Pork maybe once, chicken maybe twice and beef, maybe two or three times a month.
I usually make up my own menu but for a special treat when I don't want to make up my own meal (birthday, anniversary, etc) this can not be beat. Easy to prepare and very delicious.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:January 18, 2009

Outstanding

Pros: taste is incredible
Cons: can't think of anything
"My wife ordered this for my birthday and let me tell you it was better than any fine restaurant would serve. Easy to prepare, no mess or dirty pans, no shopping for the seafood and more than the two of us could eat. We are going to be giving this as a gift to family and friends."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:August 10, 2011

Excellent Clambake

Pros: excellent packaging, great price, fast shipping
Cons: none
"I am now living in Los Angeles but transported from Boston and a New England lobster and clam guy.
. I could not imagine a frozen meal could taste as good as this cxlambake!
Heated it at 400 degrees for 35 minutes and it was perfect!
Way to go Costco!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, Florida
Date:December 20, 2012

Not quite a real Maine Clambake!

Pros: fast preparation and quick clean-up!
Cons: expensive
"Received as a Xmas gift from our daughter. Came nicely packed in dry ice. Aluminum bag was cut in two places so I covered entirely with more aluminum foil. Clams were small, but very tasty. The lobsters were nice sized, but a little mushy due to cooking for so long. I actually cut down the bake time to 45 (in the oven). Mussels were tasty, but also mushy (due to too much time cooking). Shrimp were certainly large enough, but not much taste. I think if the potatoes were eliminated, or if you don't care if they're cooked completely through it would be much better to cut the baking time down to 30 minutes rather than overcooking (normally a 5 oz. lobster tail comes out perfect for 18 min. at 385 degrees. This would be for the box after sitting in the refrigerator overnight as mine was. If it's still frozen then you would need to use the 50-55 min. bake time."
Review 15 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northfield, CT
Date:November 13, 2008

Very Nice Presentation

"This item was sent where this food is hard to purchase. the quality was 100% and ease of prep was appreciated. Thia was a first class item and I will send it again for special occasions."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pomona Ca
Date:July 6, 2011

Maine Clambake

"I sent the Clambake to my Dad for Father's
Day. He said he just loved it.It was tasty and plentiful.He said it was a 5 star! Now I have to try one for myself!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wallingford, CT
Date:May 18, 2009

Worst purchase ever

"After following the heating instructions to the letter I was very dissapointed to find the texture and consistency of the shrimp and the lobster tails to be beyond strange. Flavor was lacking throughout . The lobster tails were the smallest I have ever seen. The nicest thing I have to offer is the potatoes were adequate. This was extremely dissapointing."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Stay far FAR away!!!

"Though the pictures and text do not make it clear, this product arrives frozen and is not as fresh can be. Once you cook it following the directions, food is overcooked and overpowered by liquid smoke taste.
Would not send this as gift to my worst enemy."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:July 3, 2009

Superb Seafood Dinner!!!

Pros: no mess easy clean up.
Cons: it was gone too quickly.
"What you see is what you get. I ordered this product for my husband and myself and let me say that we were so pleased with this meal. The portions were generous and more than comparable to anything you'd expect at a very expensive seafood restaurant.
The meal arrived on time. It was packaged very nicely with plenty of ice packs to ensure that the seafood remained cold.
All you had to do was put it into the oven and voila...an authentic, fresh Maine seafood dinner in the privacy of your home.
I would recommend it to other members and I will definitely not hesitate to purchase this item again in the future."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. Maine Coast Gourmet Seafood Lobster Clambake
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
Date:December 15, 2012

Would Give as Gift - Tasty but...

Pros: delicious and easy to make
Cons: not that much food
"not really that much food. Clams and potatoes - the smallest I've ever seen - were miniscule. As it's wrapped in foil I couldn't see how much there was and didn't add any side dishes.
I bought this for my husband and myself. Perhaps we're spoiled living in LA with so many good and reasonably priced restaurants, but we didn't see the value - even at this substantially reduced price versus the company website."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>