Customer Reviews for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit

275 Servings Weather Proof Bucket
Average Customer Rating:
4.087 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
40 of 46(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Review 1 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:March 4, 2011

have tried most of the food and am pleased

Pros: long shelf life, easy storage, good price, will not go to waste if no emergency, easy to doll up and make into a tastey meal, we have water source/fuel so cook time is no issue, a good part of emergency plan
Cons: many items require planning for 1/2 hour of fuel, requires added ingredients if taste is important, requires adding protein if nutrition is important, requires common sense planning
"In a horrible disaster we probably wont care about taste but it is good to know we can still have it with a little effort and planning. Common sense tells us that water comes first, many of us can afford to miss a few meals. But, Especially if you have children, food helps to calm the situation and improves comfort for all. Right now we have the time to plan and talk about the taste and nutrition of the food and ways to improve emergency preparedness. It should be okay NOW to talk about the taste and nutrition and cost of the food we store for emergencies. If you have heart disease or food allergies or diabetes it is better to obtain items best for your health, if you are vegetarian it is okay to purchase accordingly, also if you have children stock up on foods they will enjoy if you can. If you have pets it is okay to get extra dog food and emergency supplies for them. No whining though if the disaster hits tomorrow and you have nothing prepared.
I am not vegetarian and know nothing about the oils or different kinds of milk, soy vs whey vs whatever and am working on this and also balanced nutrition and calories needed. We prefer real milk but this whey milk tastes fine when cold and I think most children would drink it or use it on cereal. I don't plan to use this all the time but wanted to try it and figure out an emergency food storage plan. it keeps for a long time in the package. I feel this is a good start. Never tried whey milk before and it would be nice to have around, if there is a milk supply shortage and I think it tastes much better than powdered milk you can buy in a box I added instant breakfast mixes to it for extra calories and vitamins or could be used to make some sort of shake. The pancake mix is good. You can actually make it thicker and roll it like a snake, twist it in a cork screw shape around a stick and and cook it on the stick over a fire, this would keep the older kids busy. A bottle of picante sauce or spiced up canned tomatoes to add to many of the soups or dishes for improving flavor. Use freeze dried meats or canned chicken to add to the protein content to many of the dishes. Use the soups for a base for a large pot cook it add more water and fresh or canned or freeze dried garden items. You have enough food in the bucket to play with the ingredients prior to any emergency. Figure out how to make it work for your family and don't let it go to waste. The serving sizes don't always mean that 5 servings feeds 5 people so figure out what you might really need. If sodium content is too high for your diet add more water and more ingredients. I am happy with this purchase and hope it sits on my shelf for a very long time and not needed for an emergency. It makes me feel good to at least attempt to be prepared and very glad to be able to read the opinions and hints from others on this topic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

emergency food

"I thought this emergency food kit was a great value. It is great to have on hand in case of emergency. The price is great, and the shelf life of 20 years is great. Everyone should stock up for emergencies."
Review 3 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:February 6, 2011

The Purpose of the Product

Pros: relatively cheap.
"1) This is EMERGENCY food, not gourmet meals.
2) If someone complains about hydrogenated oil in this product, they need to rearrange their priorities. If you don't survive, it won't matter what happens to your arteries in 20 years.
3) This is PART of an emergency food plan, and you need to have a way to include proteins. This could be from other products or from shooting a squirrel or a moose.
4) Emergency food is only part of your plan.
5) It's dehydrated food! Thus there is no water. You have to plan how you are going to get safe water.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:February 3, 2011

Vegetarians do not wat hydrogenated fats

Cons: f
"I purchased and sent back as it all contains hydrogenated oils which is 1000 times worse than animal fats"
2 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:chicago, il
Date:January 25, 2011

easiest emergency starter kit

Pros: easy to store, best bang for the buck
Cons: need additional food items, not for people with sodium restrictions
"this is the best way to start an emergency food system. Yes, it's a basic start but with the addition of dehydrated or freeze dried fruits and vegtables it will keep you fed in an emergency. I would also recommend a variety of meat items and a really good water filtration system"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:January 12, 2011

Great Addition to your long term food storage

Pros: lasts for up to 25years.
Model Number: 275 Vedg. food supply
"A++++++. great price, and yes we checked all over.Nice selection of food. We are lucky we have an ample supply of water and ways to cook during a blackout or other emergency. Be sure to have water stored and a way to cook in a blackout! I have added this to my existing food storage. It is a good idea to store all kinds of food,not just freeze dried and or dehydrated. You can store most food you normally use. Just be sure to rotate it. I have many canned goods that last for 4-6 years. pink salmon is a good one-6 years. I would NOT buy any short term food you do not normally eat. you will end up not using it and throwing it away."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CO
Date:January 8, 2011

Use a little common sense

"No, this bucket doesn't contain the water you need, or a heat source. Neither does it contain a pot, or a spoon, or bowls, or toilet paper. It doesn't contain a tent or sleeping bags either. It is PART of what you need to feed you and yours, which is PART of what you need to survive a potential disaster or emergency.
"Servings" are not "meals" either, they are PARTS of meals. This is an outstanding product to supplement other food storage. It should not be your ONLY storage, and it should not be purchased and stuck in a corner of the basement and forgotten. It should be PART of a food storage plan."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Evansville, IN
Date:January 7, 2011

Must have for every household

Pros: best price easy preparation long shelf life, good assortment best for home use
Cons: none to speak of
Model Number: 104893
"This is one of the best base products for emergency preparedness I have come across considering 1) cost 2) ease of use 3) storage/compact 4) longevity 5) flavor-to-cost ratio. Like some others, I occasionally use a package for a quick meal when I don't feel like cooking. Yes, it needs some spice according to personal taste.
For singles or couples, the cooking portions are individually packaged so the rest of the products won't expire before you use them, which can be the case for some bulk emergency foods if there's a long-term power outage unless a whole family is eating them.
Remember it's 275 "servings" - not "meals". One pouch as a meal feeds about two, plus you'll want a snack. Canned meats and veggies make good additives to up the meal content, protein, and calories.
As in all emergency plans and with this product, you must plan for water, specifically water filtration. We have a Berkey Light, although there are many options on the market - do the research and be informed. In case of power outtage, you'll also need some sort of cooking source - like a camp stove or something similar. These are very basic emergency supplies, so have them on hand. In an emergency, you don't want to be the person panicking, and stores run out of supplies quickly.
This product is best for home use, not to throw in the car."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010

Beware of Sodium

Cons: high sodium
"We've now tried two of these, and while they would be ok (assuming you had fire and water) be aware that they are very high in sodium. The Western Stew racks up 4100 mg. of sodium in the packet (5 servings) and the Caccatori was just slightly less."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010

Looks God

"I haven't used it yet but it looks real good for any emergency that comes up. I trust the other reviews on the taste."
Review 11 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Princeton
Date:November 13, 2010

Best for Emergency Preparedness

"Quick and easy to prepare. Tasty and very nutricious. Will store for 20 years in cool storage area and still retains its nutritional value of vitamins and minerals because of micro-encapsulation. Each adult serving is as low as 31 cents per serving. Best product for BEING PREPARED! To enhance survival, recommend having water storage as well as water filtration such as a Crown Berky System and water filtration bottles to remove contaminents from water in ponds, rivers, creeks, puddles, etc. Also, basic cookware for camping."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010
"I have to agree with many other reviewers, that this is not the emergency food you maybe thinking of. You need to add 5 cups of water and simmer it for 20-25 minutes. In an event of natural disaster, let's assume you have access to water (otherwise it is all moot point), more than likely you will have very limited or even no heat source available. So, what are you going to do with this bucket load of "emergency food"?
Okay, if my wife is not at home, it is an "emergency" of sorts. I will eat this if I have to, though I will not say it is tasty."
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:November 3, 2010

survival @ it's best

Pros: easy to store
Model Number: 275 servings
"This is what every american should have on hand @ this time in our economy! Get enough to have on hand for times of trouble and enough to help your neighbors!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:October 23, 2010

Nice Usable Package

Pros: nice package
"The bucket that it is packed in is really nice and white. Most likely can double as a water carrier or a small step stool if needed. You could also store your goldfish in it as an emergency shelter. Then with any luck you could make sushi later with the rice and goldfish.
If we ever really use this stuff there most likely will not be internet to report back to you. So keep a smile on your face and nice packages in your basement stash."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, MI
Date:October 18, 2010

Great Supplement to Emergency Food Plan

Pros: nutritious tasty, easy to prpare, lasts a long time
Cons: low in calories and protein, needs supplement from other food
"This product is great for an emergency food plan. I have tasted each of the packets and found them flavorful and filling. They are very nutritious as well as described on the label. Due to their low calorie and protein content you may want to supplement this food with some other brand of freeze-dried or dehydrated foods. Check out the Thrive products also carried by CostCo. These are top quality as well."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 15, 2010

Important Purchase

Pros: good price, long shelf life
"This is a quick and easy way to get emergency rations ready in the event of any kind of disaster.
We decided to actually try some of the meals as we figured the food wouldn't do us any good if we couldn't stomach it. So we popped open the bucket and picked out two to try. They tasted pretty good. We definitely would eat the meals, though I will probably store up something to add in to get some protein in there.
I have a big guy so the serving sizes are not very realistic. 1 pouch was 5 servings and realistically it was probably 2 to 3."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2010

Worth the purchase.

Pros: add a pro
"I have purchsed two buckets and plan on buying a few more. They are great for long term storage and taste great! You will not harm the product by opening up your bucket. I did not observe any opened or unsealed serving packets."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:August 11, 2010

so-so, but what choice do we have

"I opened the container and found the 1st item sitting there, 'potato soup' had a faulty seal and has spilled out onto the other packets. Kind of a mess. Some of the other packets were not vacuum sealed (air tight), while most were. I had opened the container just for this reason, to see the quality of packing. I have friends whom I would like to recommend making a similar purchase, but this was a let down. None the less, what choice do we have in today's world? I guess quality can no longer be expected perfect. I checked 'yes' that I would recommend this product, as this type item is vital, even with a few faulty packages. Oh, I have not even tried eating anything yet...if and when I really need this I will probably be happy as can be I am not eating shoe leather instead."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puget Sound metro area, WA
Date:July 31, 2010

Bought 2, 1 for me, 1 for my daughter

Pros: very convenient for storage, long (20 year) shelf life
"I haven't tasted this yet (plan to get a sample to try -- don't want to open the bucket), but am very satisfied that it will serve the intended purpose. After getting one for my wife and myself, I bought one for my daughter and son-in-law. Being a vegetarian, he was thrilled that it is all vegetarian foods."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:July 23, 2010

DON'T FORGET WATER!!!

Pros: compact cheap easy to store
Cons: not the best tasting
"Don't forget in a major disaster -- WATER IS KING.
You can survive for 40 days without food, but only a few days without water. Have clean water packets (expensive) or read up on survival methods of making clean water. It will be very difficult to prepare and eat this product without water.
If you don't have clean water you might be better off not eating in some situations.
Furthermore, in an emergency you will likely find yourself in a situation where you need to expend a lot of energy (building shelter, assisting others, etc.) and your body will require a lot of water.
Remember, WATER IS KING!"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>