Customer Reviews for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit

275 Servings Weather Proof Bucket
Average Customer Rating:
4.087 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
40 of 46(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Review 1 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ramona, CA
Date:May 23, 2010

Good emergency food base

"I tried a couple items to make sure we would like it if we needed it. I like the whey milk. After mixing I let it get cold and I thought it tasted great.
Tried the Country Noodle because I wanted to test the high salt item first. Since I knew it was high sodium I separated the flavoring powder from the noodles and freeze dried chicken and veggies. I used about 1/3 of the powder for flavor and reduced salt, not bad for "emergency food". I would augment it with canned chicken pieces and veg if possible. It is a bit bland without out the powder but in an emergency you can live with it. Directions say 5 cups of water, I think that is too much so I would cut that then add as needed.
Overall I think these buckets are a good base to your supplies. I would not depend on these alone for long term food needs unless you have other items like canned meats, vegetables. Also remember you will need heat to cook and water. Think about your worse case emergency and plan backward from there.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:October 17, 2009

Inappropiate for actual emergencies

Pros: sounds like a good idea, might be good if you are dieting
Cons: low in protein, low in calorie, low in fat, needs a lot of water, needs a reliable heat source, high in sodium content and can induce thirst, useless in an emergency
"The food is low in calories, protein, fat and overall nutritional content. You need a lot of water to cook these foods, and a reliable heat source. In what kind of emergency would you have ample supply of fresh water and heat?? With almost all natural disasters the water supply will be contaminated with sewage, making it unsuitable to drink unless boiled for 10 minutes... but heat sources to boil water is also limited in emergencies like that. If you buy this make sure you have an ample stockpile of fuel and water to "cook" these rations.
In my opinion, boxes of high calorie power bars would be better for emergencies than this and you can save any fresh water for actual drinking instead of cooking.
If you are going to spend money for an actual stockpile of emergency food, buy USCG approved rations, or military rations, you can buy them in bulk online easily. At least with those rations you won't need water, heat, and won't induce thirst. They also contain tons of calories and nutrients that people in high stress environments needs."
53 of 57 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:March 5, 2009

A Good Start to Emergency Supplies

Pros: cheap and a good start
Cons: need to keep some staples on hand to spice it up
"This is a good start to your emergency supply inventory. Keep in mind that these are vegetarian and pretty cheap, but I keep a lot of staples in my emergency supply inventory: bullion, dehydrated mik, veggies, potato flakes, canned soups. You can really "spruce" up the flavor and consistency by adding some canned or dry veggies or potato flakes to this. Also, a few shakes of some dry (or fresh) herbs will help. Example: for the bacon potato soup, you could add some dried bacon bits and potato flakes or fresh potato, a little dehydraded milk and a can of broth and you now have a pretty darn good bowl of soup. This would also extend the amount you get per serving. It's also a good idea to try to have a small "victory garden" for fresh veggies. If you don't have much space, try "Square Foot Hardening" where you can reap a much larger harvest from a relatively small space. We have 2 8' X 4' gardens and 1- 2' X 6' garden and we're growing: green beans, potatoes, tomatoes, carrots, squash, lettuce, broccoli, spinach, onions, collard greens and strawberries along with basil, parsley and oregano. It's amazing how much you can grow in a small space with proper soil and planning."
37 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, TN
Date:October 27, 2008

Great Emergency Food Source

Pros: taste, value, storability, reusable containers for emergency use
Cons: low calorie servings, texture is a bit grainy
"I bought 20 buckets of the e-food after I had tested it it in the Store. I am glad that I did, however, I consider it simply supplemental to other foods that I have such as vegetable seeds, rabbits, and other stored food. The texture is a bit grainy, but the taste is certainly above average for this type of product. It does leave a little after taste and tends to be bland. I went a period of time where all I ate was what was in the bucket. It was tiresome after only a few days, but doable, nevertheless. Beware that serving sizes average a little less than 200 calories each. I also like being able to use the buckets again for water storage, a toilet or simply general storage. Overall, this is a great value."
41 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008

Food for month-plus long scenarios

"My fiancee and I ordered a sample meal pack and tried the Rice Lentil Soup today.
The product is exactly as advertised -- emergency meals that are cheap, easy to store for long term, and easy to make. The meals come in 5-serving packets of vitamin-fortified and pre-flavored dried beans/vegetables/etc. -- all you do is get some water boiling, pour in the packet, let it simmer for 20-25 minutes, let it sit for 5 minutes more, serve, and eat. The taste was perfectly fine -- not haute cuisine, but as good as my usual Typical Guy Cooking and much better than lots of other emergency food rations I've had.
A few notes:
- When they say 275 meals, they mean 275 rationed one-cup meals just big enough to keep you going in a survival situation, not 275 fill-you-up meals.
- As others have noted, you need to have a source of cooking heat -- a wood fire, propane stove, something -- and a source for water that will also last the duration of the emergency. Plan accordingly.
- The nutrition is decent. A bit high on sodium, very low on fat.
- It contains no meat products and is listed as vegetarian, but is "produced on equipment that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, wheat, sesame, shellfish."
Bottom line: I'm buying the full tub to act as my family's food supply for month-and-longer survival situations -- it's much cheaper, more compact, and longer-lasting than trying to get that many meals using canned goods, MREs, or the usual camping foods which are my week-or-two-long scenario options. It'll get stored with a big container of vitamins and a metal cup for rationing. May we never need them.
"
70 of 70 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:phoenix, AZ
Date:June 13, 2010

great product and price

Pros: great assortment of foods, low price, long shelf life
Cons: probably want to supplement with other foods
"I have purchased several of these buckets. I opened one to try the products after reading other reviews.
All of the packages I tried were excellent. I supplemented some of them with things I normally keep on hand such as spices, boullion, meat and fresh veggies. I have health issues and have used several of the selections as a base for a good quick meal on days I didn't feel well enough to cook after work. I intend to finish this first bucket in this manner.
I compared the nutritional and sodium content with similar items available at the grocery. The ones in the bucket had comparable nutrition, were lower in sodium and were a much better price per serving.
At this time I am purchasing additional buckets for my family.
I would recommend these to anyone as part of their emergency provisions as long as they would be supplementing it with other foods. To me, an emergency when these might come in handy would not just be a natural or man made disaster. An emergency could be loss of income, hyperinflation of food prices, pandemic, a disruption of the supply chain, or disabiliy and illness. Many emergencies do not mean a lack of water or heating source. so I gave this product a 5."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hurricane Belt
Date:June 22, 2009

Reassuring, not flawless

Pros: long shelf life, inexpensive, lots of variety
Cons: requires lots of water, very lean servings, high sodium
"I have not tried the food, see the other reviews for how it tastes (I trust them, I'm leaving mine sealed till disaster strikes). But here's some info from the packaging not found in the product description:
* The bucket contains a total of 36,050 calories, making it perhaps a lean 1-month supply for one person.
* Per the directions you will need 15.6 gal. of water to prepare all of the food. That includes 2.8 gal. for the powdered milk.
* Total sodium is 150.2g, the recommended value for 62 days.
"
30 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tarzana, CA
Date:August 4, 2009

Good, but know what you're buying.

Pros: tasty. long shelf life. small footprint.
Cons: low calorie. must be supplemented., impractical for backpacking., takes a long time to cook.
"First of all, I consider myself knowledgeable about emergency, camping and backpacking foods. As a physican and an avid camper, I have the basic understanding of what foods we need to survive and what is appropriate for camping and backpacking.
First, this is dehydrated food, not freeze-dried. There is a big difference. For car camping, this product is really good, for backpacking, it's heavy and must be supplemented with food that has a higher caloric content. From my estimation, this product is easily twice the weight of freeze-dried, and probably closer to three times the weight. To carry enough calories backpacking for even a few days would be difficult. However, adding other, lighter, freeze-dried food is practical.
Second, dehydrated foods take a long time to cook. This product averaged at least twenty minutes to soften the larger pieces of food. Impractical for backpacking unless you're into carrying LOTS of fuel on your back.
Third, because I need to know how much stuff weighs in a backpack, I weighed these packets and was very surprised at the variability of package weights. Example: six packages of corn chowder labeled six ounces weighed 4.2, 9.5, 7.75, 6.5, 7.0,and 8.2 ounces respectively. While not a huge problem, unless you weigh each package, you're likely to end up with either a thin gruel, or a dry paste. A hassle for sure.
Fourth, the taste. For the most part these products are really good. In part it's because they're very high in salt and carbs, two things humans really love. Also, the ingredients are basically good tasting, formulated well, and appealing.
In conclusion, from my perspective, this product is probably very good for home storage and car camping. It lasts a long time, tastes great and has a small footprint. However, it's probably a good idea to store cans of beef or chicken (wet lasts 2-3 years, dry lasts 5-10 years), or bring meat for cooking if you're camping to supplement this product. For backpacking it's impractical: heavy, heat hungry and low calorie."
86 of 88 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Queens, NY
Date:November 11, 2008

Exactly what it says

Pros: the price/value compared to other survival foods, taste
"I tried a few of the items and found it palatable. The taste is a little bit high in sodium. I think it serves it's purpose but I would definitely be mixing it with other available dry foods and grains to give variety.Add some fresh fruits and/or vegetables if available and maybe some rice, dry soy chunks and the like and you could stretch this out for quite some time. This is the one of the best survival foods I have ever tried and can even be used for backpacking in the wilderness for a few days (leave the bucket at home). It only needs water and a heat source as it says in the description."
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:April 11, 2010

Barely edible. Better products out there.

Pros: long shelf life, good back up plan when nothing else is available
Cons: barely edible, bland at best, gritty residue
"I am very disappointed. The main meals are barely edible. They also have a gritty residue. I bought three buckets for my family in case of emergency. We tried out three of the entrees (Western Stew, Corn Chowder, and Barley Vegetable) just to get an idea of what they are like. My kids tasted them and then wouldn't eat it. My wife didn't like it either. I am not a finicky eater and tried to eat it, but I'm afraid I ended up thowing the test items out. I was raised not to thow out food, so I found it very difficult when I was faced with this dilemma---I mean it's gotta be bad. My wife said it would taste better in an emergency when you have nothing else to eat. There are substantially better products out there (like Mountain House) that has a shorter shelf life (7 yrs instead of 20-25 yrs), but at least when those things near expiration, you can eat them instead of thowing them out. My kids have tried two of the Mountain House product (Chicken Teriyaki, Beef Stroganoff) and loved it so much they ate about 15 packages as regular meals. So we are going to get that instead."
12 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wyoming
Date:October 9, 2009

Good variety, light on protein, fat

"This is a good start or supplement to existing supplies in order to add variety, but the protein content isn't very high, especially if you plan to be active. In most products, the fat content is also low. (You get 9 calories of energy per gram of fat and 4 each for protein and carbohydrates. Plus, it is fat in the diet that triggers the part of your brain that tells you you aren't hungry anymore.) I will supplement this product with protein powder and quality fat like that found in nuts."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, California
Date:March 29, 2009

Great Deal in All Ways

"After buying a number of buckets, I opened one to see what to expect in taste, convenience and variety.
The variety was terrific, the taste was great and the "meals" were completely satisfying.
Portions were way too large for one person, but I was able to develop my own portion control through trial and error.
"
32 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 15, 2010

Important Purchase

Pros: good price, long shelf life
"This is a quick and easy way to get emergency rations ready in the event of any kind of disaster.
We decided to actually try some of the meals as we figured the food wouldn't do us any good if we couldn't stomach it. So we popped open the bucket and picked out two to try. They tasted pretty good. We definitely would eat the meals, though I will probably store up something to add in to get some protein in there.
I have a big guy so the serving sizes are not very realistic. 1 pouch was 5 servings and realistically it was probably 2 to 3."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010

Try it First

"Before I decided to purchase this product I ordered the sampler box from the home company and tried it first. We were not disappointed Yes it's a bit blan but that was before we added seasoning. Using it for what it’s sold for, emergency use, it will be just fine.. Try the sampler first.. Rated it a 4 only because I've only tried the four samples."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2009

Just Add

Model Number: 801504778001
"Excellant storage choice. Just add an order for The THRIVE Premium Meat Essentials Package or THRIVE deluxe meats variety pack that costco has at the best price I have found to add the protien and fats you need."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kenmore, WA
Date:April 20, 2009

Solid addition or a good start

"A great value for what you get. Just keep an eye on the storage tempature as heat is the enemy of all of your stored foods."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2009

Insufficient Calories for Survival

Pros: excellent longevity, minimal storage space used, great waterproof packaging, variety for your emergency supplies
Cons: high in sodium, 20 servings per day needed for necessary calories
"Buyer should be aware that the calorie content is insufficient for human survival. The product specifies that an adult would consume 5 servings per day. Unfortunately, that would provide about 500 calories. Calorie consumption varies from person to person, but is generally at least 2000 calories per day. So you will definitely want to buy a lot more of this product in order to have an adequate earthquake supply"
28 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, Texas
Date:March 16, 2010

Better Than Ramon or Rice

Pros: easy to store; lasts 20 years
Cons: cook longer than it says
"I have 2 of these food buckets. My family ate the first bucket. It was actually pretty good. We dumped cans of chicken, ham, bacon bits or tuna in them. You have to be sure to let the mix sit in the water long enough to become really soft or you will feel like you are eating rice or noodles that were not cooked long enough. I'd recommend it for emergency storage and recommend eating it every few years and buying another one to take it's place."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:July 23, 2010

DON'T FORGET WATER!!!

Pros: compact cheap easy to store
Cons: not the best tasting
"Don't forget in a major disaster -- WATER IS KING.
You can survive for 40 days without food, but only a few days without water. Have clean water packets (expensive) or read up on survival methods of making clean water. It will be very difficult to prepare and eat this product without water.
If you don't have clean water you might be better off not eating in some situations.
Furthermore, in an emergency you will likely find yourself in a situation where you need to expend a lot of energy (building shelter, assisting others, etc.) and your body will require a lot of water.
Remember, WATER IS KING!"
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Food For Health™ Vegetarian Emergency Food Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, MI
Date:October 18, 2010

Great Supplement to Emergency Food Plan

Pros: nutritious tasty, easy to prpare, lasts a long time
Cons: low in calories and protein, needs supplement from other food
"This product is great for an emergency food plan. I have tasted each of the packets and found them flavorful and filling. They are very nutritious as well as described on the label. Due to their low calorie and protein content you may want to supplement this food with some other brand of freeze-dried or dehydrated foods. Check out the Thrive products also carried by CostCo. These are top quality as well."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>