Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set

Professional Quality
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 39
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
31 of 40(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:November 19, 2008

Excellent Pans, Very Heavy

Pros: attractive, long-lasting, high performing
Cons: heavy, cumbersome
"We have now used these pots and pans every day for three years. The good news is they still look brand new. Easy to clean. Great non-stick surface. Attractive looking.
We have used them on electric coils, electric ceramic cooktop, and now on a gas cooktop. They perform beautifully on all surfaces. The lid handles and small side handle do get hot on both gas and electric surfaces. The long pan handles can get hot, but most of the time I find they are still cool enough to grab with a bare hand.
The bad news is the WEIGHT of the pots and pans. It is difficult to pour out of these. So serving food is done with a ladel instead of pouring. The heavy weight is very noticeable when trying to dump leftovers into a container from the two larger pans. It's IMPOSSIBLE to tilt the pan while using a spoon to scoop the food into a container with the other hand. Also washing the largest pans makes dumping the soapy water into the sink a two-handed chore."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:near Santa Cruz, CA
Date:December 3, 2008

Throw Away Your Old Pans!

Pros: easy clean predictable cooking, super set for the price
Cons: soft tools and hand wash only
"I did a lot of product research before buying these (Consumer Reports, etc). After having them for several days, I packed up all my old stuff, gave some to my daughter to play with, some to the thrift shop, and threw away the rest. The Costco pans hang from my kitchen ceiling and I cook for five with almost nothing else.
The lid handles do get hot but I don't care, everything else about them is so great.
I am a more ambitious cook now because I know the cleanup will be easy. I can now successfully make omelets, melt chocolate, and stir fry without dreading the dishpan later.
They are very similar to the Analon Advanced pans, but Analon is more expensive.
You do need plastic or silicone tools to use in them, they won't stand up to metal, so I changed out all my tools for new, an added expense for me.
Also, you can't wash them in the dishwasher or you'll ruin the finish -- hand wash only.
I love these pans so much I am getting another set for my parents for Christmas -- for my mom, the cook, and my dad, the dishwasher!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2008

Faulty Lid Handles

"I purchased a set of these pots for a Christmas gift for my son in 2007. When he opened the box a lid handle was detached from the large lid. Thinking this was just a fluke, I exchanged the set and he was initally happy with the design, easy to clean, non stick surface etc.
Shortly after (a few months) another lid lost a handle. It seems they are ? glued on ?? He didn't want to complain because they were a gift. I recently found out about this (December 2008) and decided to return the pots to Costco. As a consumer of kitchenware /cookware for the past 32 years I have never lost a lid handle on a set of pots! This couldn't be what Kirkland intended by placing their name on this product.
True to their word "satisfaction guraranteed" Costco refunded my full purchase price.
I bought my son a new set of Kirkland Stainless Steel cookware - with the handles riveted to the lids!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:June 18, 2009

Very Disappointed

Pros: good looking
Cons: handles get way too hot, sauce pans are smaller than stated
"I have had this set about six months. I am a loyal Costco Exec Member. But I have to agree with many of the other reviews that the handles and lid handles get very hot. But that's not what recently upset me.
Last week I was making a dish that called for me to use a 3 qt sauce pan. Ok, so I have one in this set. It said to fill with 2.5 qts of water. Well guess what I found out. The pan said 3 qt on the bottom and I used a measuring cup and 2 qts nearly filled the 3 qt sauce pan. So the 1 and 2 qt are really too small as another review said but the 3 qt isn't even a 3 qt. Go figure. I think the Costco buyer bought a pig in a poke! I'm taking my set back tomorrow and looking for another brand. But I am still a loyal Costco member. I love Costco."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, NY
Date:July 29, 2009

Consumer Reports was right!

Pros: very good value for the price
Cons: stainless steel tops do get hot to the touch
"I saw a review for this product in Consumer Reports last year. This was the ONLY place I could still find the pans at a reasonable price. Everyone else charged more.
I got my set in Dec 2008. This set has the most pieces I have seen at this price. I previously had purchased a small set of anodized pans and they are a bit heavier but they wore very well compared to cheaper pieces I had. The non-stick surface seems to last longer if the pans are anodized. These pans are a bit lighter in weight than my other anondized pans so I liked that.
The true test of cookware is taking it camping. I took the big frypan since all my other camp fry pans were worn out and no longer non-stick. I was worried it would get burned up on the outside due to the sometimes intense and uneven heat on a camp stove. We fried fish in the pan and some of the oil burned on the outside and left stains. But to my surprise the stains came right off with a bit of scrubbing and you couldn't even tell anything had burned on it.
I am very happy with this purchase! The only regret I had is there were so many pieces, I couldn't fit them all in my drawers together -- LOL! I don't think I'll ever have to buy new pans for a while!! Also I wish there was silicone on the handles of the the tops (and maybe the pan handles too) since stainless steel will get hot to the touch. I also miss the see-through glass tops but some of my other glass tops do fit these pans. Believe me you will love these pans."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:December 31, 2008

Great pots but not the best sizes

Pros: high quality, easy to clean, nice design, lifetime guarantee
Cons: handwash recommended, sizes of items
"I had an older version of this cookware that I got 7 years ago. One of the pots in that set warped somehow so I took it back and got a whole new set thanks to the lifetime guarantee (wow!).
I already miss my old set however, as the pieces and sizes have changed. This new set comes with 2 items that, in my opinion, are pretty much worthless: a 1qt saucepan and a tiny frying pan. The small fryer you can literally fit just one egg in. Maybe great occasionally but I know I'm not going to get much use out of it.
I also miss the old 5 qt saucepan. The new set has 3 smaller ones including the tiny 1 qt. It's like they took out the big saucepan and replaced it with the 1 qt one.
Besides the sizes of the pots and pans, I do really think these non-stick pots and pans are of a very high quality and will last forever (especially with the lifetime guarantee). They are still a good buy and I would still recommend them to friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, AL
Date:October 27, 2008

Best Cookware I've ever owned!

Pros: non-stick, cooks evenly, boils water quickly, beautiful, better than the more expensive sets
"I have owned two other sets of cookware in the past, but this set far exceeded my expectations! Following in the footsteps of my sister, I wanted the hard anondized cookware. She paid 3 times as much for hers, and hers isn't non-stick. The food cooks evenly, water boils more quickly, and the non-stick makes clean up easy. I have used every pot and pan in this set. My only regret is that I didn't find this set earlier. I also wish that I had 2 of each of the saucepans, but that is just wishful thinking.
Don't think twice about purchasing this set. It lives up to every promise. I have used this set for about 6-8 months on a regular basis, and they still look brand new."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Humboldt County, California
Date:December 13, 2008

Buy these now!

Pros: very easy to clean, stands up well to the dishwasher, distributes heat evenly
Cons: heavy (but who cares?), takes some space to store them
"I've never purchased any kitchen ware that didn't come from Williams-Sonoma, Macy's Cellar or other expensive store. I got these as a gift and was blown away by the quality and even distribution of heat throughout the bottom of the pans/pots. Also, the steamer for the stock pot is great for artichokes! I recommend this set 100%."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, San Francisco, California
Date:October 23, 2008

Excellent Value

Pros: very even and fast cooking. handles stay cool., quality made., easy cleaning., great value.
Cons: not dishwasher safe.
"Purchased this after review by Consumers Union as Best Buy. I agree that this is an excellent value. Heat distribution is very even and pans heat quickly. If you don't exceed a medium temperature, foods will not burn and the non-stick coating will not be harmed. Clean up is fast and easy. The weights of the larger pans are tolerable, but for small or older persons, you may need some help lifting the casserole or large skillet. Only hand washing is possible if you don't want to discolor the anodizing on the outside of the cookware. This is excellent cookware at half the price of the "professional" ware."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2008

I shopped around alot...

"The value on these pans are incredible. Great selection of sizes and super easy to clean."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 24, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

"Have had this Kirkland set for approximately one year, really like it the first few months. I followed the instructions-no metal contact, don't wash when hot, etc. but a couple of the frying pans lost the nonstick coating and everything sticks. Even after soaking with warm water, food crusts remain. Makes it difficult to wash when you can't use abrasive on it though it can get very tempting when you get frustrated. Wished the warranty still cover it."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 28, 2008

The Best Ever

"We, too, did our homework before purchasing new cookwear. I had every intention of going to a high end dept store, or specialty store, and shelling out much more that I did. This cookwear is fabulous! If you can stand to hand wash these babies after using you'll be so pleased. They cook evenly, quickly, and the clean up - even if by hand, is so easy.
We are so happy with them, we are buying a set for each of our daughters for Christmas. This set will certainly last them a good long time!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:November 10, 2008

Earned Consumers Reports top rating

"We bought a set of these for my Daughter several years ago because we couldn't see spending $400 for the name brand set. She loves them. They cook all types of food well and clean up very easily. I have an old set of Calphalon that I spent much more on and they are now warped. After researching Consumers Reports, I'll be buying a set of the Kirkland Brand for myself. They got the well deserved top rating and CR Best Buy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison Heights, MI
Date:January 7, 2009

Excellent Cookwear

Pros: lots of useful pieces, sturdy and strong, can transfer from oven to cooktop
Cons: slightly bulky to store, tops can get hot when cooking long periods
"I've had this set for almost a year and it's the best cookwear I've ever owned. It distributes heat evenly. The skillets cook as well as cast iron. The nonstick surface is quite resilient. The pieces are very easy to clean. I especially love the ability to transfer the pieces from oven to cooktop. I'd recommend them to anyone looking for a good, versatile, and long lasting set of cookwear."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009

Very nice set of cookware

Pros: narrow profile several pots fit stove top nicely, deep deep large skillet, set stacks & stores well in cupboards
Cons: handles stay cool but are a little bulky
"I do most of the cooking at home. This is a very nice set. I have used it for a few weeks now and enjoy it very much. I had to learn to cook all over again. Even, steady heat gets to temperature fast. This set seems to be very durable, lids are heavy and made of quality stainless. I would recommend this set for any average to serious cook.
The main reason I bought this set was the variety of sizes in one set. It had everything I wanted. Other brands offered nice combinations of sizes but I would have to buy either a larger skillet, kettle or pot separately. This has it all.
I was sad to give my old set away to my son in college. After the first week I totally forgot about that. It has revived my enjoyment in cooking again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:January 15, 2009

The best of the best

"As you know by now, I am a Kirkland freak. This cookware is certainly comarable to sets costing over $1000. Many pieces, for every task, and the non stick coating is superb. You can also bang these pots and pans around without any chipping. Don't forget t always use non stick utensils with this cookware. Handles stay cool, covers fit tight, and oven cooking is a breeze. REMEMBER when taking the pot out of the over, the handle is burning hot. It is so easy to forget to wear oven mitts as i have done as we never wear oven mitts while cooking on the stove, but the right brain does not always work that quickly when taking it out of the oven. This is a 5 star in my opinion and with the lifetime guarantee how could you go wrong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:February 28, 2009

phenomenal buy

"You can't beat these pans for the price. They cook very well and clean up so easily. You will need some other pans (we find that we need another large pot often). We kept a few of our old pans to fill in. You will also need utensils for non-stick surfaces, if you don't have them. You can't go wrong with this set for the price--the quality is great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Date:February 27, 2009

The absolute BEST

"These are seriously the best set of cookware we've ever purchased! We always read Consumer's Report before major purchases and Kirkland was rated the best, so we trusted that report and are not sorry! They will last the rest of my cooking years! The price was very reasonable also. Thanks for making a good product!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:san jose, ca
Date:January 14, 2009

Item not as described

Pros: good variety of pans
Cons: substituting lower cost materials
"Be aware that this item is not as described. The handles and the lids are supposed to be 18-10 stainless steel which is a high grade and is non magnetic. My set has a mixed batch of magnetic and non magnetic handles and lids. The magnetic type of stainless steel is a lower grade than 18-10. I contacted customer service and they told me the factory started substituting the handles and lids with something they call CCSS which is magnetic. The non stick coating works fine but I wonder about the durability and shine of the lower grade stainless steel over time."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 14-piece Hard Anodized Cookware Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 17, 2009

Nice set but small pots too small

Pros: easy cleanup
Cons: hot lid handles, tiny pots not too useful
"This is a great set for the price. I love the flared edges on the pots, which let you pour out soups and sauces easily. But the two small pots are smaller in diameter than our small electric burners, so we can't use them without wasting energy. (Yes we would prefer a gas stove, but for now this is what we have.) I would prefer to have another mid-size pot instead of the two small pots. Also, the lid handles get hot. I can't remember the last set of cookware I had with this problem! Poor design there."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>