Customer Reviews for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy

Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy

This Item may also be available at your Costco Wholesale warehouse for a cash and carry price. The AlumaShade II combines superior lightweight grade aluminum with patented pull pin functioning design to create true canopy protection. Built with a lightweight aluminum frame, full truss ceiling design and a durable polyester canopy top, this canopy provides strength, stability and ease of use for any sun worshiper. AlumaShade II comes equipped with four zippered sidewalls, stakes, ropes and a reinforced roller bag. This complete kit sets the standard for lightweight and multifunctional canopy performance.   Includes: 4 Zippered Sidewalls, Stakes, Ropes and a Reinforced Roller Bag   10'x 10' Powder Coated Aluminum Frame   Hammertone textured finish   Color: White   600 denier heavy duty polyester top is water resistant, fire retardant and UV protected   No tools needed for set-up   Patented pull pin technology   Multiple height settings   Water and flame resistant fabric top   Dimensions: 10' x 10'   Weight: 54 lbs.   Ships in one carton   2 year limited warranty   For more information regarding this item please contact Caravan Canopy toll free at (877) 9-CANOPY Warning: Keep all flame and heat sources away from this canopy. The fabric may burn if left in continuous contact with any flame. Model:689215440100
Average Customer Rating:
3.52 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
18 of 25(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Review 1 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:August 31, 2012

Beautiful

"We used 2 of these for a garden wedding...beautiful!"
Review 2 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:August 11, 2012

Fell apart after one use

Cons: plastic and cheep
"Worked one time on a very calm day. Next day the wind picked up a little and since we weighted down the sides, the whole thing collapsed in on itself. Will be taking back to Costco soon."
Review 3 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:June 25, 2012

Horrible Product

Cons: poor quality
"I gave this item 1 star because I could not give it zero. I bought this canopy thinking it was the same as the caravan shade I have had for 10+ years that finally broke. This canopy would not stay up. The legs kept collapsing and it was impossible to get them to engage properly so for an entire week at the lake everyone was huddled under a shade that was only 3 feet tall.
The shade also will not fit in the bag with the top on it. It has to be completely disassembled to put the frame in the bag and the cover still does not fit in the bag. We had to strap it to the outside of the bag.
We immediately returned it to buy the better quality caravan shade
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:March 25, 2012

Good canopy, bad bag

Pros: canopy is easy to put up and take down.
Cons: bag rips easily.
Model Number: 954328
"Canopy is sturdy and resilient, even in windy weather, provided it is anchored securely to the ground. Bag ripped the first time we tried to get the folded canopy back into it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:October 20, 2011

you need to know a secret

"I have bought fifty or more of these for my college. They are the best for size and strenght in my opinion. However, they need to be held down even in the lightest of breeze and they should be set up and broken down by one person only. Everyone always wants to jump in and help and they end up crushing the frame because of a hangup somewhere, whereas with one person, they have to find out the hangup and correct it to be able to bring it up or down on their own."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rowlett, TX
Date:July 19, 2011

Great canopy!

Pros: great value, quality canvas
Cons: a little heavy
"I researched and researched and I finally came to the decision to pick this canopy.
1. excellent canopy - 600 denier canvas is superb
2. includes 3 walls and 1 middle zipper wall - great value
3. THE BAG!! best canopy bag ever!! no struggling to get it in and everything fits perfectly. After dealing with all the other canopies (had to set up 10 canopies everyday for 5 days)...this bag was the easiest hands down.
I bought this to use for vacation bible school. Everyone wanted to be in our canopy.
I have no regrets on this purchase...however I am definitely considering the weight bags because for two day we had to set up on the concrete. Fantastic choice for the oppressive Texas heat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:July 7, 2011

why bother

Pros: looks nice; easy up
Cons: flimsy; overpriced
"initially easy to use. But, flimsy in rain / wind. very expensive to get fixed; Caravan overcharges for parts and customer service is poor."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis
Date:July 4, 2011

Caravan AlumaShade II

"This item arrived with several broken and missing parts of the frame. The frame is surprisingly flimsy. I have owned prior models from this manufacturer that were solid & sturdy. This one is being returned. After this experience, I will look for other brands."
Review 9 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2011

Better than umbrellas

Cons: must be taken down in heavy rain -
Model Number: Caravan AlumaShade II
"We use the caravan canopy all summer on our deck and love all the shade it gives us. We couldn't use the deck without it."
Review 10 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2011

Not Recommended for Beach

"Set up canopy twice at home to learn proper procedures; experienced no problems and was pleased with ease of setup. However, during first attempt at setup on beach, wind blowing against canopy bent two of the legs before setup could be completed. Was able to easily bend legs back straight enough to take frame down. Strength of frame seems adequate for vertical (compression) loads, but inadequate for horizontal (sideways) loads. Canopy and frame should be good for use in low wind conditions and where terrain allows for proper anchoring, but would not recommend for the beach."
Review 11 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:June 8, 2011

Just Bad Luck

Model Number: wlt-yz-1100260052
"Purchased in April for use at vendor events in the CA sun. First one shipped with 2 canopies and no side walls. Was able to set up with some difficulty with my 5 year old, but went up quite well with 2 adults. Returned and reordered another with side walls. The second one did not seem to be the same model, but had the same Costco item #. It seemed moree flimsey and it had a cracked bracket that we noticed during our first trial set up. We did not have time to return it for another before its first scheduled use. The maiden voyage was a vendor event in June. We were expecting 100+ degree weather, but it rained and was very windy. One of the pins on the telescoping legs broke during set up making it difficult to adjust. The velcro sides took some work to adjust properly, but provided excellent wind and rain protection. We used some extra stakes (4 are provided) to anchor our tent, which was a good thing as other vendors tents were literally blowing away. The roof did begin to bead up with water on the interior, so it is not completely waterproof, but we tied a tarp to the top and that did the trick.
This one is also going back due to the defects, but all said, I think that it stood the test of some pretty harsh and unexpected weather. We were thankful to have the protection, although we spent much effort keeping it secured. Under the conditions, any tent would have required some work to secure. I am going to try a couple of other models to compare quality and ease of set up, but I would not be opposed to ordering this one again. Maybe I will have better luck next time!"
Review 12 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SALEM, OR
Date:May 20, 2011

Easy set up

"Very easy set up. I actually set this up by myself out of the box no help, so will be really easy to set up with another person. For the price I can say this thing is very well built."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:memphis tn
Date:March 22, 2011

syrbulldog

Model Number: Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
"Good canopy! But the legs are more flimsy than the previous version sold by Costco only a few years ago. It flexes significantly in light breezes. The top cover tension cannot be adjusted with the center support as it was previously. Yet it is the same price. It is no longer the value it was. Now, except for the quality cover, it is just average"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa CA
Date:November 16, 2010

Good tent

Pros: waterproof, light for size, easy to put up, good bag
Cons: white, longer than other pop ups when folded
"We bought this tent with wall after a wet swim meet under a low quality pop up with no walls. Haven't have the same bad weather to test yet, but did well is lesser rain. My only question is why is it white?
Bag is good sized with a pocket for the walls. Weight is mostly in the cover the frame is surprisingly light."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:September 29, 2010

Good purchase for price

Pros: good easy up for the price, bag is nice & big for entire piece.
Cons: include a picture or instructions for sides, warranty for product needs to be changed., would have liked another zippered side for opening, .during show
"We purchased this canopy because of need for a festival in late Sept. We didn't want to make a huge investment in a pop up that will be used only a few times a year. In our area this would be used for occasional use for anyone. Since it was delivered a couple of days before the festival we weren't able to put up until the set up night of the festival. My teenage son & I set up the frame fine. The sides were very confusing. The first time we put them up, they were wrong. They had to come down & then were correctly placed.
We were on blacktop, so only the addtional wts. that we use were placed on the corners. We had 20+ winds with gusts up to 40 mph. the day of the festival. Even with the sides taken off, the additional wts. on the corners, the frame & top had to be taken down after a few hrs. I got tired of holding the corner so it wouldn't blow into other vendors.
Warrenty is ridiculous since many people use it in wind, rain & inclement weather. That's one of the reasons we buy them to protect us from the weather.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bishop, CA
Date:September 29, 2010

Excellent design and construction

Pros: good construction and design., light & strong aluminum frame., tightly-woven canvas top block sun keeps cool., good service for replacement parts if needed.
Cons: somwhat expensive but totally worth the quality.
"This is the second AlumaShade that I've bought. Very good quality of materials and workmanship. The cross-bracing in the frame makes it a lot sturdier than models without it. Trust me, I've watched unbraced models fold-up in moderate but persistent wind. The white canvas blocks the sun and reflects the heat, making it very comfortable underneath. On my first AlumaShade, I hadn't anchored it properly during a strong wind storm and it blew over, damaging one of the legs. I contacted the company and bought a replacement part and which I received promptly. It was pretty easy to replace the broken leg. Now I secure that pop-up more effectively."
Review 17 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:April 25, 2010

Better then expected

Pros: sturdy, handles wind, stay dry
Cons: walls hard to zip
"I bought this tent for an art show. It was excellent. The canopy fits really well so there isn't any sagging for water to collect. I had looked at EZ ups, and saw many at the show but they did not hold up as well or look as nice. I really put this tent to the test. We had high winds (tornado warnings) hail, flooding rain and one really sunny day. There wasn't a single leak. No problems with the wind. When I left the tent over night I, and everyone else at the show, weren't sure what would be left for all the vendors in the morning with the overnight severe storms passing through. My tent was perfectly fine with no water inside and the tent looked great the next morning. The set up is easy but difficult for one person, easy fast with two. Actually all I needed was me and my 7 year old to do it. The canopy is made out of very nice canvas. The walls are not but are good enough. It is a pain to zip the sides but there is penty of velcro to secure the corners. The roller bad is extra big, so easy to get the tent back into the bad, big plus. I like the different heights you can have. And all of the buttons and pulls are easy to do."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:February 18, 2010

Nice to have around.

Model Number: Caravan 10x10
"I bought mine some seven years ago for use with my NW contracting service and it came in handy rain or shine. I couldn't begin to count the number of times I've set this canopy up and tore it down in just a few minutes. Staked down properly it has withstood very strong winds and protected the equipment and toys below it. In scalding sunlight it provides shade, in the rain a dry place to work or play. The canopy cover is sturdy and the frame is ample the only short coming I saw with it was the side bars, the plastic end pieces/latches snap off very easily, fixed mine with epoxy and a machine screw.
The side panels can be hard to mount if the upright cornor post arn't squared prior to staking them. Use the cross bars to insure a 90 deg corner as the sides panels are put in place. The cornors can be squared prior to staking the unit down after it's popped up. Otherwise install panels while the corners are loose.
The real trick to setting it up alone is to tack down the opposing corner while pulling it open least it just drags along. Otherwise a second person is nice to have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:February 28, 2009

Not as bad as the naysayers make it out to be

Pros: best canopy and accessory package for the price.
"I road race motorcycles, have for 20+ years. I've owned this Caravan canopy now for 5 years and it will carry me again into this upcoming season. I have two other 10x10 canopies of different brand names; Easy Up and Super Shade. The Caravan is by far the lightest and easiest to get in and out of my trailer.
I set up and break down my canopies by myself, it's soooo easy once you know the trick: spread the legs as far as possible and then push up on the upper frame corners once each corner as this spreads the legs out to the point of being able to click the upper frame into the top of the leg. Now raise the legs to your desired height one side at a time.
True, the sides are not as durable as the top, however, the cheaper side of canopies have a 250 D top with the average top of the line tops being 500 D. This Caravan has a 600 D top. Find me a lesser denier top with all the added accessories for the same price or lower and then maybe you'll have a complaint.
I don't know of ANY 10x10 canopy that doesn't collect water during a rain fall. I race no matter the weather and I've had my fair share of rain races, poke the underside of the canopy with a broom stick or whatever to get rid of the build up.
I did incurr some damage to two cross members of the upper frame due to water build up during the night but that was because two of my concerned race buddies tried lifting the canopy to dump the water instead of poking it from under, rookies. I called Caravan and had the replacement parts sent out, two rods and hardware and fixed it myself, I'm no mechanic but this wasn't brain surgery.
The only malfunction of this canopy is after 5 years of use, I have to duct tape the push pins in the adjustment holes in the legs. The spring retention still works but they have a tendency to pop out from time to time so I just tape 'em in place and all is well."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Caravan AlumaShade II 10' x 10' Pop Up Canopy
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 9, 2009

Fair Weather Canopy Only!

"This is great for the money--as long as you only need it for good weather. I had the exact same experience as the other reviewer--the top collects rain in the corners and the entire canopy collapsed. Worse, everything it was supposed to be protecting got wet. The company states that it doesn't warranty against weather related damage, but honestly, if your product should never be used in rain, SAY SO!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>