Customer Reviews for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets

Best Pet Health Hip & Joint Support Plus provides all the benefits of glucosamine plus MSM and chondroitin to support healthy joint function and connective tissue to help your dog stay active and enjoy life. 100% Guaranteed Easy to give liver flavored chewables For active adults, dogs 7 years and older, large and giant breeds and working, competing and hunting dogs Product Facts Active Ingredients per Chewable: Glucosamine Hydrochloride:500 mg Chondroitin Sulfate:200 mg Methylsulfonyimethane (MSM):50 mg Zinc (Oxide):15 mg Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C):50 mg Manganese:5 mg Copper (Gluconate):2 mg Inactive Ingredients: Brewers dried yeast, cellulose, liver meal, magnesium silicate, magnesium stearate, natural flavor, silicon dioxide, stearic acid. Cautions: Safe use in pregnant animals or animals intended for breeding has not been proven. Consult with your veterinarian before using this product in animals with clotting disorders, being treated with anticoagulant medications, diabetes, or any metabolic disorder causing hyperglycemia, history of urinary tract stones, known allergies to shellfish
Average Customer Rating:
4.803 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 178
(out of 178 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (178 reviews)
5 stars
155
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
171 of 178(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Review 1 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 9, 2008

Great Product

Pros: doggie loves them, way cheaper than the vet's med
"Our husky was diagnosed with severe arthrits and hip dysplasia at 10 months old. Our vet put her on a similar medicine at a cost of $102 month. When I saw these at costco after a few years, I bought these (exact same ingredients). My beloved husky is almost 8 years old and moves as good as she did at 10 months. The vet had predicted she'd need a hip replacement by 5 years old. I totally credit this med and daily walks to keep her hips moving."
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Encinitas, CA
Date:December 6, 2008

Needs (Feta) cheese for palatability

Pros: comparatively inexpensive, works great
Cons: dog spits it out; squish feta cheese on it!
"Works great. Free shipping, and arrives quickly means it is really not necessary to stock it at the warehouse...
I did a cost analysis and this product is cheaper than the Trader Joe's product I had been buying on a dosage basis. (Looks the same; smells the same) It is also a better balance and easier to give (because it is a better dosage I don't have to cut pills). To get up to what the vet recommends for my 50 lb, 11 year old English Springer Spaniel I give him 4 of these pills a day.
PROBLEM: he spits them out.
SOLUTION: I buy the crumbled President Feta cheese in the big tub at Costco. (Not just for him-- I love it on salads, etc...) I portion some of it out into a little bowl, labeled "Charlie's cheese." Every morning I squish and paste some cheese onto each pill and he wolfs them down.
Yeah, he's got me trained...
Deducting one star for the fact that I have to get cheesy fingers every morning!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010

Increased my dog's quality of life

"Three years ago our dog had to have ACL knee surgery. At the time, the vet told us to make sure he was on Glucosamine/Chondroitin for the rest of his life to keep the arthritis under control. I looked around for the cheapest supplement and found it here.
I faithfully fed my dog his daily pill and didn't give it much thought. He eats them like candy. Then, I ran out of pills. Forgot to order them online in time. Within a week, I noticed Gus didn't want to get up in the morning. And he was limping. And depressed. So, I ordered his pills; they came in a few days and I started him on them again. Within ten days, he was back to his old self. Happy, sound and running around like a puppy.
This product is such a good value and has made such a difference in my dog's well being and quality of life. If you have an older dog, or a working dog who is hard on their body, think about adding this pill to their daily food. It can't hurt."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:October 28, 2008

Excellent results

"Our golden retriever put on too much weight so his hips were the first to give out. He had trouble going up the stairs. After i started to give him this product about a month or so later, he could leap on to our bed again plus he started to run and seeing him leap and bound like he used to has made me a life-long follower of this product!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wild and Wonderful, WV
Date:November 10, 2012

Best Purchase Ever!

"I don't know where my dog would be without this product. He is an Old English Sheep dog and has bad hips. He is 11 years old already and we were at the point of having to help him stand up. Lifting him was a lot for us because he was 100lbs. We started to give him these tablets every single day. 2 in the morning with breakfast and 2 in the evening for dinner. It has worked miracles for us and don't know where we would be without this product. He no longer suffers and is able to get up without us helping. The product started kicking in for him in a matter of 5 days we noticed a difference. I highly recommend this product for your loved one. Thanks for reading!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orygun
Date:February 26, 2009

Seems to help 12yr PUG

Pros: appears to help
Cons: taste can be an issue so just trick your beast
"Product seems to help our 12 year old Pug with hind leg issues. Initially would spit them out but is now more or less used to them. Found that by rubbing them on chicken gristle or cooked steak fat, etc. he would down them with no problem."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2009
Pros: make sure you order the product with the white cap
"Our dog is a different dog after using this product, agile instead of lethargic as he used to be. We also use the salmon oil listed on this site. PLEASE NOTE this product has a WHITE CAP. Our local Costco store sells a product from the same co. with a red cap, it doesn't have all the ingredients as the white cap"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:November 8, 2010

JAVA

Pros: quality & price
Cons: none
"These pills have done wonders for my 11 year old lab. She was groaning very loud when laying down or getting up and really was slowing down on her walks. After three weeks on the Hip & Joint tablets she hardlly makes a peep and is eager to walk and run again. She has more energy and is more like her old self. Please note that my lab is not the typical overweight lab she is a very lean 65 pounds so her joint issue was due to her weight. It was really all of the years of jumping in and out of my F-150 4X4. I can not recommend these enough and you can not beat the Costco price. The dosage is 1 pill twice a day for every 50lbs. I give her a total of three pills a day and it really works. Just make sure you don't skip a dose and give it at least three weeks to notice a diference. As for the taste, she loves them and eats them like they are a treat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Culver City, CA
Date:May 8, 2010

Geat Supplement seems to work

Pros: cost effective solution, easy to break tablets for proper dosage
Cons: dogs seem to not like taste, read my trick on taste and it's no issue.
"Great supplement. After my dog had to go to the vet due to hip dysplasia pain, she recovered with some pain meds and they gave her some Glucosamine, Chondroitin.
We continued with this to try since we couldn't lose at the price.
***If you have issues with your dogs eating this, check this out. The dogs liked it at first, now they spit it out. The tablet is very breakable. So I break it in half per serving dosage for my dog, then I put it in with their food. It's always gone. My small dog gets a 1/4 tablet which I crumble into powder of his food. He eats it clean.
I think it works since my dog doesn't limp anymore and she hasn't yelped. It works! At this price, what a deal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East County, Oregon
Date:January 4, 2012

Here's to your pet's health!

"Although studies have stated that glucosamine tablets for humans are not effective, I would suggest it would be the contrary for our canine friends.
I have a 13+ year old American Eskimo, 2 - Goldendoodles and a Yellow Lab. All four of my dogs take this daily. The results are: I'm very pleased.
My American Eskimo has been slowing down obviously, for age reasons. I have to admit though, since she's been on these tablets, she's almost like a frisky pup again. She, like the rest, LOVE these tablets and chew them right up.
Our veterinarian has stated that what we are doing is GREAT. She also stated that we need to make sure it includes MSM, which this does.
We will continue to buy this product over and over! It's WELL worth the money and it's worth it, for our pet's sake."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 3, 2012

Excellent supplement

Pros: works!
Cons: can't think of any
"I have three dogs over the age of 10. Each of them gets this twice a day and it has helped them tremendously with arthritis. In addition to this supplement, a chiropratic vet suggested using heat twice a day when they are in obvious pain. I filled two men's socks with uncooked oatmeal and pop them in the microwave for 1 minute. This works really well for them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester Ca.
Date:November 18, 2010
"Almost a miracle. My 110 lb. Lab was develoing hip displasia, the vet wanted $710 just for x-rays and diagnosis. I started giving tablets and within two weeks he stopped limping and standing on three legs.We are both ecstatic. P.S. He now wants to be called a Canine American instead of a dog."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:January 27, 2011

Best product I have found!

"My senior arthritic Boxer has been on Rx and supplements for years with cost not being an option (she is my kid!). I purchased this product after reading the great reviews, and although I am not one who reviews products often, I have to throw in my 2 cents in too! Maggie was recently found to have a torn ACL in her back leg. With her age, it just would not be fair to put her through the surgery- so we have kept her on her same anti-inflammatories as well as supplements (added by me), with these- she runs and plays like she was a pup again! We take it easy of course- but there is no moaning and groaning when she rises...and the "favoring" that she does on her back leg has really improved. I am not just saying this HOPING it to be true....because it really does help her old bones which I am grateful for- as I want to keep her around for as long as she is happy to be here!!"
Review 14 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 9, 2011

Healthy Happy Dog!

Pros: gave my dog a chance to enjoy life without pain
Cons: not always available in stores
"I have been giving these chewable pills to my 10 year old dog for years. Several years ago, she had problems with her back legs and as a result, had to have a surgery. My mom started giving her these and about a couple weeks later, Dakota (my beagle mix) was running around as happy and bouncy as can be. She still cannot get onto furniture without help but her mobility has drastically improved. I never go a day without giving these to her. I just place two pills on top of her food daily and she eats them right up! I think she thinks they're treats! These pills have given my dog new life and my parents now give them to our other pups too. My only complaint is that they're not always available in stores and they are a lot more expensive to order online. Anytime my mom or I see them, we buy several bottles because we sometimes don't see them again for months."
Review 15 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Malden, MA
Date:May 1, 2009

Fantastic Product for joint pain

Pros: best product at the least price., love that shipping & handling are included.
"My vet kept insisting that I purchase Glucosamine and Chondroitin pills for my hip arthritic senior dog. PG (my almost 13 year old 'baby' girl dog) is faithfully chewing two tablets per day and she looks forward to receiving them nightly; she loves them. (She weighs 63 lbs.) PG no longer walks stiffly, she raises and lowers herself with ease now, and she even jumps up onto walls just like in her younger days. These tablets really do work wonders. Give the pills a few weeks to work and never skip a day. Because of how well they worked for PG, I now take Nature Made's brand for myself and it has worked great for me too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:May 10, 2010

Has Helped Our Abby

Pros: really works
Cons: expensive for multi. dog family
"We have been giving our 11 year old Abby and 6 year old Roo this product for about 3 years. Abby was starting to show signs of her age after hiking or chasing critters when she was 8 years old. We saw a dramatic change in her after around 6 weeks or giving her this product. She continues to hike longer and harder than her 6 year old brother and I know this has been helping her. We give Roo these supplements because he had TPLO surgery when he was 1 years old and we want to keep his joints mobile and healthy. This is a great product for our best friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:February 23, 2011

Should be called "Best for Your Pet"

Pros: easy to give, effective
"Used to buy these in the warehouse-- they were cheaper and worked better than the ones from a well-known online pet supplier. One day when I went to pick them up, there were none on the shelves. I almost had a panic attack when the salesperson at the kiosk told me that they no longer carried them. I went home to search for them online, and was thrilled to see they were still available on the website. I stocked up just in case. Months later I saw the more expensive product here on the website, and thought that must be even better. I ordered those instead, and only three days after switching, my 14 year old Lab started having a hard time walking. It was like I'd taken him off his supplements altogether. Immediately switched him back to these, and his improvement was noticeable in about a day. Lesson learned. We'll never switch again!"
Review 18 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:July 16, 2010

It works!

Pros: it works and will be obvious in about 3-6 months, economical--more so in warehouse
Cons: my dog hates the taste.
"My 5 year old golden has dysplasia and a specialist indicated she needs both hips replaced. He recommended she lose a little weigh and take daily glucosomine, chondroitin and MSM. He looked at the ingredients in this product and found them to be what she needs if sufficient tablets are taken. As a large dog, she needs 4 tablets per day and 2 fish oil tablets. This type of supplement must be taken for life. She used to limp daily on both hips. Now, she only limps slightly on one hip depending on her activity level that day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:June 3, 2010

Excellent Product, Great Value

"Like other reviews, this makes a world of difference in our old snooter dog! He was struggling a bit after our usual long daily walk, but now is prancing along, strong, from start to finish.
He is quite suspicious and picky about ANY snacks, etc., so we split his daily pill in half and need to "shove it down." However, the improvement in his health makes it worth the minor discomfort.
I highly recommend this. I bought this at my local Costco, but I am very happy to see I can buy it online which is much more convenient."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Best Pet Health™ Hip & Joint Plus 300 Count Chewable Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NORFOLK, VA
Date:July 1, 2011

BUY THIS IF YOU LOVE YOU DOG

Pros: very economical and very effective
"I have two standard poodles that are up in age now. I first started giving them this a couple years ago just because I know we must protect our big dogs joints. When I ran out of this product & failed to reorder...it didn't take long for me to see just how beneficial it had been for them. After spending hundreds on x-rays trying to determine what was wrong with my boys, along with pain pills to tie them over, I went back to this. Spend a little now or spend a lot later. Don't be foolish like I was. Don't put your dog through unnecessary pain like I did. Don't spend many hundreds of dollars until you absolutely have to. I'm broker but wiser now. I'm happier now because they're doing better now. Remember folks...we can count on Costco to bring us the absolute best for less. Thank you Costco and thank you Best Pet Health"
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>