Customer Reviews for Mountain House® Best Sellers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Mountain House® Best Sellers

Four Entrees, One Breakfast, One Dessert
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Review 1 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valley Village, CA
Date:May 3, 2012

Great for my backpacking trip

Model Number: Mountain House®
"I bought the Mountain House® Best Sellers box for my last backpacking trip to the Grand Canyon. I do regular backpacking trips and I was really happy to see that Costco was offering it for sale again. The food is great and the price even better. I highly recommend Mountain house food."
Review 2 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 15, 2012

Yum!

Pros: delicious, great deal
"We recently hiked to Havasupai Falls, and purchased this pack of Mountain House meals. Everyone in our party of 7 was happy with the lasagna and chicken teriyaki. The beef stroganoff was not a hit with the entire group, but definitely edible. We have not tried the beef stew yet. This is a great deal and I don't think you'll find better food for backpacking at this price anywhere."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2011

Good Deal

"Mountain House is the best freeze dryed food.
You cant go wrong with this purchace from Costco.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Detroit Mi
Date:October 24, 2011
Pros: easy to prepare
Cons: bland taste pricey
"food was easy to prepare and stayed hot throughout the time I was eating it however the taste was bland, chicken chewy and I felt the item was pricey given my comments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Porterville, CA
Date:February 16, 2011

Mountain House deal !!!

Model Number: Mountain House Freeze dried foods
"We tried the pkg of everything Mt. House makes. Liked some, loved some. All are above norms in taste. Have purchased enough for 2 people for 6 months, then we ordered their No. 10 cans of our favorites. You cannot go wrong getting more than you think you need. You can eat them anytime for a quickie meal. Add a salad, and you have a very good meal.
Be prepared.... just wish Costco would carry a Kelly Kettle to heat the water in...... Please :).
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 31, 2011

Get it while you can!

"I have used Mountain House freeze dried food for backpacking and I am glad to now use them for my emergency stock. Their shelf life is 6 years and you just add boiled water to the the package for preparation. Right now,Mountain House Foods bigger cans of dried food (6 lbs each) are ALL sold out.and the word on the internet street is that the gov is buying it up. I am glad costco has a supply to fill that void."
Review 7 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rohnert Park, CA
Date:August 28, 2010

Delicious and Easy!!

"We bought a pack of the entrees at our Costco warehouse for a weekend backpacking trip. Was hoping for "palatable" so was really surprised to find that these are delicious! So easy!! We just boiled water, poured it into the bag, stirred and zipped the bag closed. Let it sit for 9 minutes, stir again and enjoy right out of the bag. We were backpacking so decided to share the meal out of the bag rather than pack in dishes and wash them (family of 4). How easy and convenient! I told my husband that we should take these on every camping trip. We tried the beef stew, lasagna, and terriyaki chicken and rice. I have some picky eaters and they loved these! Compare the prices to outdoor stores who sell these meals individually. At Costco you are paying half to one third the price. A great deal!!!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2010

Great food, wrong size

"Don't be fooled by the 20oz. size. The 20 oz. is not the bag size. It's prepared size. The serving size is only 2 on the main entrees, 4 on the dessert and 1 on the breakfast. It would have been nice for Costco to list how many people each bag serves rather than "prepared size.""
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomingdale, Ohio
Date:June 25, 2010

Excellent Product--Price & Taste

Pros: easy to prepare, tastes great
Cons: nothing negative
Model Number: Sample pack
"The Mountain House freeze dried products taste like homemade and are delicious. The price of this sample pack is the best I could find anywhere. They are easy to prepare and I think they would be a comfort in an emergency situation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Date:December 11, 2008

Good Deal - Very Good Product

Pros: good price, seven year shelf life, great taste
Cons: none i know of
"Freeze-dried "backpacking" food has come a long, long way. I haven't tried everything Mountain House makes, but I've tried enough to know the food is not just palatable, but actually very good. You will need potable water - 2 cups per 10 oz. meal portion is typical - and a way to heat it to boiling. As with any "kit" check calories and serving sizes and decide for yourself how much food is enough for a given time period. Stress and especially physical exertion can greatly increase calorie requirements. Will it keep you from starving if you trust the advertised time period? Sure, but aren't you trying to do a bit better than that? Note that the entrees in this sample pack are, at 20 oz., twice the size of a regular entree. Good for everyone to try some. That's the purpose of this pack. But all three different Mountain House food offerings from Costco are bargains that will save you a great deal of money over buying these meals individually at your local outdoor retailer.
Note: If after adding water, you decide to "shake" rather than "stir," please note that the zip closure at the top will not support the weight of the water and contents if turned upside down. (Or so I've heard.)"
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountain House® Best Sellers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008

Tastes Terriffic! Easy to prepare.

Pros: food tasted great, lots of variety in meals available
Cons: portion sizes were confusing, need water and heat for prep
"The sample pack is an easy way to try a variety of Mountain House meals before purchasing larger assortments.
The food was tasty and relatively filling. The entrees make 2, 10 oz. servings. The egg scramble is 1 serving and the raspberry crumble serves 4.
The meals rehydrated quickly with boiling water. They can also be made with cold water if necessary, but they would have to sit longer.
We plan to order more Mountain House products as part of our emergency supply plan."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.