Customer Reviews for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola

Durable Hardwood Structure & Powder Coated Steel Bases
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Review 1 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coldwater
Date:April 18, 2010

Good Buy

Pros: nice height, quality look, quality hardware
Cons: orange color/stain, minor imperfections ( fit and finish ), number of screws
Model Number: 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
"Looks nice once it is up. The wood is Eucalyptus and it has an orange/brown stain to it. It is a great bargain in comparison with other products. It definitely has a little Asian touch to it..not the robust cabin style look you see with domestic woods. It took a while to get the shipments right..but Costco provided "reasonable" support to get all the issues resolved. And Yes - doesn't line up 100% and instructions are not easy to read - but it is all fairly easy to fix..
The fact that every beam consists of 2 pieces is irritating when you put it together ( probably for shipping reasons ) - but once it is up you forget soon...
"
Review 2 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:April 17, 2010

I want my money back!

"I thought this was great, it came and went up fairly easy with two people in about 6 hours. We put it up in late September and It looked great. However, by February, we noticed it was turning black in places, the main posts have separated and cracked, the brackets at the top are also cracked, and the steel brackets are rusting. Not only do I want my money back, they can send someone to take the dumb thing apart and haul it away. We didn't even have that bad of a winter. How is this going to last for years? It is not. I am so disappointed in this product, my nice patio now looks awful, and I am forced to shop for another pergola."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Camas, WA
Date:October 12, 2009

Outstanding Product

"Product arrived within 4 days of ordering. Boxes were easily marked for identification. All parts were present and in the correct quantity. Diagrams provided could have been more detailed. It referenced Page 4, but I never got it. No directions on how to use the round weights and post anchors. 1 cross member cracked and broke at a knot - on a cut out section. Make sure you find the set of cross members that have the enlarged cut to accomodate the metal brace in the middle of the main cross memeber and the correct cross members that have the holes for the corner braces.. 1 of the top cross members was missing drill holes to screw the top piece down. Use a power drill with a bit to assemble - you will save hours. Use a clamp to pull up the corner braces so they are tight before you insert the screws. I assembled all of the cross pieces using 3 sawhorses to raise it up to my level. Some of the screws stipped when trying to tighten up the wood. I put mine up on a windy day and everything went up very easy. Outstanding product that looks fantastic on my deck."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Date:August 17, 2009

Great Buy

"I shopped price for this product and the Costco price is less than half what it is elsewhere. We did have a few issues with correct hardware, but the company was super nice about fixing it, and quick. Use a POWER drill or be sorry! This looks terrific. The wood is nice and really nicely engineered."
Review 5 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sisters, Oregon
Date:July 22, 2009

Outstanding bargain

Cons: missing a few of the longer screws
"A great buy. "Shorea" wood is another name for eucalyptus---seldom seen as lumber in the US, but an excellent looking wood with tight grain, very similar in appearance and feel to Teak. Kit went together in about 9 hours, including cutting cross-pieces to fit a 12 x 11 foot space. Very good engineering and great precision went into the design and pre-cutting, pre notching and pre-drilling. Everything fit perfectly except 2 holes slightly off. First class stainless steel hardware. Although some of the planks have some natural warping, they all straighten out and lock into place when assembled into the interlocking notches. Very sturdy and looks great. You couldn't even buy the raw lumber and hardware alone for this price--much less have it shipped across the Pacific. A tip: there are more than 200 stainless screws and fittings with allen heads. Use a portable drill with an allen bit (very easy) or else your arms and hands will ache for days and it will take 3 times as long."
Review 6 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 11, 2009

It's OK

"The wood is beautiful and once together it looks good. However, some of the bolts are too short, the slats don't line up and it requires quite a bit of modifications from the plan. Be that as it may, Costco and the manufacturer have provided excellent customer service to resolve any issues that have arisen. I'm not sure I would recommend this pergola but I would highly recommend Costco.com."
Review 7 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2009

Very sturdy & great impression

"Been looking at several Pergola's on the web and garden center, and this one seemed to fit what I was looking for - sturdy, good value and attractive.It is easy to put together and my climbing rose looks beautiful. It looks great and we love it."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Buy 12’ x 12’ Premium Shorea Pergola
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:fresno
Date:January 14, 2009

Great Buy

"After doing alot of shopping around, I settled on this pergola kit, for the money its not bad. The quality of the wood is nice, not alot of imperfections, however alot of the pre-drilled holes did not match up. Very sturdy, I wish the slats were more beefy.
Alot of the pre cut slots needed to be refined a bit, but overall nice product. took about 6 hours to complete the project.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.