Customer Reviews for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box

5 SaniSolution Smart Cartridges & 2 Boxes of Washable Granules
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
15 of 20(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Review 1 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:April 14, 2009

Overrated!

Pros: worked great for a few months.
Cons: malfunctions, time consuming to fix issues
"The Catgenie is overrated.
I bought the Catgenie after reading all the great reviews. For the first 2 months, it worked great; no cat litter to scoop, no cleaning out the litter box, etc. I thought this is it, I love this thing!
Then it all changed when the CG started to beep. First, the bowl did not turn, so we opened up the CG and fixed that problem. The bowl now turns, but water does not dispense! We had to call it quits & can't try to fix it anymore. The inside of the CG is soaked w/urine& stinks like crazy. I can see the cat hair already getting clogged up in the metal spinner. (A potential reg flag for more issues to come!)
I later read that you actually have to open up the CG & clean it twice a year.
The thought of having to open up the CG again makes me sick. I thought the whole point was to not have to clean again?! The idea is good but the product needs to be better.
I think I will go back to the simple and less frustrating litter scooping days.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mount Kisco, NY
Date:October 16, 2008

Must own-The Litter Box is Dead Long Live CatGenie

Pros: no litter to buy, no waste stored in you home, no bacteria
Cons: granules scatter-need to buy the dome and mat
"I purchased the CatGenie when I found out that I was pregnant and knew the risks involved in changing a litter box and the fact that my husband would rather me get rid of my cat than have to change a litter box. I love the CatGenie! It is so much more sanitary, which makes having a cat box in the home safer for my unborn child-and my Asthma (dust from litter). At this point anyone who owns a litter box and not a Catgenie is crazy. Storing cat waste in your home rather than sending it down the drain and knowing the box is clean and bacteria free is the only way to fly. FYI: I did find out that my cat is a "kicker" of granules, so I just purchased the GenieDome and sidewalls."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:March 8, 2009

Total Waste of Money

Cons: clogs easily, cat's don't like the litter, won't run unless you buy their cleaning cartridge, end up with plastic litter pellets all over, needs repair often, have to leave messages when you call customer serv, nasty to clean when it clogs, total waste of money
"I purchased my Cat Genie in hopes it would be a great investment and keep the litter area clean. What a disappointment! Be wary when cleaning doesn't get all the solid, it will smell like baked feeces all over the house. It clogs easily when you leave solid waste to run in the cleaning cycle. Because of this, my husband and I started scooping out the solid and flushing it in the toilet (defeating the purpose of the unit). It still clogged after we did this! Cleaning the clogged bowl is one of the most disgusting things you'll ever have to do. We've had to call customer service many times to get clogging and beeping issues resolved. They have sent out a replacement unit, but from what we can tell it was a refurb and it still malfunctions. Now the cleaning cycle never ends until you unplug the unit. That's when it doesn't clog and end up a pool of waste. The cats can't go in it while the cleaning is going so one of them had an accident on the carpet. I wouldn't dare leave this thing on it's own because it clogs so easily -- and where are the cats to go? We ended up with the cat genie along side the old litter box because of these issues. The cats opted for the old Littermaid and stopped using the cat genie once we did this. I'm now ready to just give the cat genie away to anyone who's dumb enough to take it. It's the worst investment I've ever made. I'd give it 0 stars if they'd let me!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myerstown, PA
Date:November 30, 2008

Paws Down BEST cat sanitation system EVER!

Pros: cleans itself every time it runs, no more hauling litter in and out for the owner, cats love that it's clean all the time, outstanding customer service call center!
Cons: wish i'd known about it sooner
"We have five large Maine Coon cats in our home and two CatGenies to service them. This is simply the most amazing thing ever invented for cat lovers and their cats! I wish I could submit a photo of my one 26 lb. boy who thinks this is literally his "throne."
Our cats adjusted to the granules over litter in about a week. We adjusted overnight ... what a joy to no longer have litter tracked through the house by the snowshoe sized furry paws. Gone are the days of stinky stuck on litter. The Genie granules can scatter, so we recommend the rubber mats by CatGenie. It's pretty simple to dump the overflow granules back into the Genie to be washed in the next run.
We have tried EVERY major brand of automatic litterbox (LM, PM, etc.) and not one of them could hold up to the requirements of our household. Plus, I STILL ended up scraping and unjamming the litter box. And the house stunk like a multiple cat house ... not good. We washed the old automatic units at least every other week.
Since we got our CatGenies in April, our time cleaning litter boxes has been reduced to once per machine every 3-4 months. And a major clean up only takes me about 30 minutes per machine. This is the only major cleaning required because the Genie really does clean itself EVERY TIME it runs! The SaniSolution cartridges have a fresh clean smell and there is no more lingering aroma of cat urine because the CatGenie flushes it all away. It really is amazing.
And in my opinion, one of the BEST things about the CatGenie is the customer service that follows your purchase. They have the most pleasant staff who patiently assist you should you encounter an error beep. There is no charge for customer service and everyone in their office seems to have first-hand knowledge of the unit's construction and operation - they're not just reading from cue cards. You WILL resolve your issue.
We have replaced both of our "hoppers" to accomodate our long haired Maine Coon cats. Those weren't available until a few months after our original purchase so they sent them to us. This was a simple part exchange that I would equate with going from summer tires to snow tires on your car. The old hopper worked, but the new design works better for longer haired cats.
I just can't say enough good about this product. Suffice it to say this will be the LAST sanitation unit you will EVER need to buy. Simply the BEST!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 26, 2008

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: sanitary, saves time, saves space in our landfills, directs waste to sanitary treatment plants, quickly eliminate foul odors, no last minute trips to buy litter, no lugging home heavy litter bags or boxes, supplies bought easily online, can be programmed or used manually, cats appreciate clean litter!
Cons: dome does not fit very large cats
"I have owned mine for one year. I now cannot imagine EVER going back to stinky, smelly, unsanitary litter that fills up our landfills and potentially spreads diseases, bacteria, worms and viruses from one pet to another and to you. Animal waste cannot pollute our water supplies if "processed" in a Cat Genie. After adopting a kitten which had multiple illnesses (two of which are contagious to humans), I was SO glad I bought this.
The company has thought of everything and provides you with detailed instructions on acclimating your cat(s), using and maintaining the Cat Genie. They also have great phone support.The very best thing about this is saving time in the morning before work when I do not have to futz with cleaning the litter box and disposing of the litter.
"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:February 4, 2009

Almost perfect

Pros: it works
Cons: loud, small "business" area, pellets spread around house
"If your cat(s) will use this, it is the best cat accessory ever.
It works very well. It cleans and disposes of the kitty treats remarkably well.
It's loud, so be prepared.
The "business" area is small. I have 2 cats, and the big one isn't fond of standing close to the other cats 'treats'. So he is a bit hesitant to go unless it's clean. I had to change my automatic cleaning to 3 times a day so that he wouldn't have any accidents while waiting for a clean area.
It took my cats a while to get used to it. I had to clean up a number of accidents out of the dining room for a couple of weeks. They eventually got used to it, but every so often, they revolt. I can't blame this on CatGenie but only on the nature of cats.
The specialty litter sticks to paws and gets spread through the house, so you definitely need to get a litter rug to have in front of it. The side rails (additional cost) help cut down on the litter being kicked out. You can get a hood; however, if you have a large cat, it may make it too small for him.
My only wish is that the bowl and hood were larger. I would say I'd like it to be quiter, but if you think about what it is doing, I just don't think that is possible.
Oh, and the supplies are kind of pricey. Consider that when you purchase this unit."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009

Disappointed

"The system works OK and seems well constructed. I thought it was a neat idea and would eliminate an unpleasant chore. However, we are disappointed because (1) it smells worse than the plain old cat box, (2) it cannot possibly be environmentally greener than regular litter if you calculate the water, energy, and disposable plastic cartridges, (3) it's noisy, (4) the "timer" won't let you set actual times corresponding to your cats' routine, but just runs every so many hours, meaning it sometimes cleans an empty box, and (5) the litter goes all over, much worse than regular litter."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:January 16, 2009

Simplify your life

"I have had a Catgenie for 1 year and 3 months now. This is by far the BEST idea for a automated litter box. While at first thinking it was another gimmick, this has been an amazing product to own. I haven't had to clean-dump-scoop or scrape a cat box for 15 months. The cartridges may seem a bit spendy but it is well worth it. With two cats and one cleaning per day, I manage to get about 40 days from each cartridge. The litter media will need to be replenished from time to time usually about every 5 months. The Catgenie has taken a nasty chore and eliminated it. I have not experienced any of the problems others have mentioned with odors and or malfunctions. The odors if present can be eliminated by sitting through a cleaning "cycle" and flushing with a hose or several large buckets of hot water."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Olathe, KS
Date:April 3, 2009

Love this litter box

Pros: constantly clean litter box
Cons: misses tiny bits of poo, gets clogged at times
"I have had my CatGenie for about a year. I purchased it not only for the convenience but because of long-term savings over buying litter every month. It has worked great for us and hadn't had any problems until recently. It has clogged up twice in the past few months and it is admittedly a gross job to clean out a litter box filled with poo-water. But the manufacturer has offered low-cost upgrades to the hopper and scrubber, which I have just purchased. The litter does get everywhere in the basement where the CatGenie is located, but I used a rug to minimize it. My cat loves it and took to it immediately. And in spite of our recent issues I would still recommend it. I do purchase the un-scented cleaning product because I don't like the smell of the other one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:November 16, 2008

Love it!

Pros: easy set up, more sanitary
Cons: i go through a lot of the granules, it is kind of expensive to run, tracking litter is a problem
"I bought mine last February. It has been great. I love the fact that my house doesn't smell like a litter box. I love my cats but have always hated their liiter boxes. So far it seems like a good company to deal with. Recently they made improvements to theGenie and I was able to up grade for 1 penny! Even with my cons I would buy it again. It's expensive to buy and run but well worth it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 14, 2009

Please Don't Buy This

Pros: great idea
Cons: poo soup, baked poo odor, miserable to clean
Model Number: Cat Genie
"Please save yourself the trouble we are going through and do not buy a Cat Genie. I was so excited to get one that we planned a space in our recent remodel for it to reside. I hate cleaning out a litter box and I really liked the idea of not sending used litter to a landfill. I still feel this way, but this product is not the solution.
After about 2 months of flawless performance (our cat adjusted without any issues) we began having problems. The Cat Genie has clogged MANY times, resulting in beeping. It is really hard to figure out what the problem is as it could be many different things at any given time. The smell when it clogs (and essentially makes poo soup) is unbelievable. We had to wear masks and gloves to clean it, outdoors. We've had to do this many times. It also frequently breaks up the 'solids', leaving M&M sized bits of poo to bake in the dry cycle. The fan we installed in the laundry room is no match for the odor. It is awful.
We can't return it since it's past the 90-day return window. I feel like an idiot junking something this expensive. We're to the point where we scoop it manually hoping to avoid the water sensor and clogging issues (or whatever keeps going wrong). This isn't why I bought it.
This is a great idea, but it just doesn't work. Please, avoid our problems and don't get a Cat Genie."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009

Never Again!

"This worked amazingly for about 6 months, as long as we had it clean 3 times per day, for ONE cat! This made us go through a ton of the sanisolution, but was the only way to keep it from stinking up the house. Regardless, I still loved it during that time. Over the last several months, it's gotten clogged, which creates this horrible beeping, every 2-3 weeks. I don't even know you can imagine the smell or horror of cleaning this thing out for 2 hours every 2-3 weeks. It's awful and definitely not worth my time. I'd spend less money, and time, cleaning out a traditional, $5 litter box, than I did with all the problems it has. It's going back to Costco today. Thank you Costco for your wonderful return policy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:March 16, 2009

Wonderful Invention!! Sooooo worth it.

"Like other people, I had doubts about spending so much on a "litter box" but this is seriously a Cat Toilet - waaaay more advanced than the average automatic litter box. It has never gotten clogged, stuck, or broken. It literally flushes the doo-doo down your toilet!! No joke! Then it cleans the "litter" pebbles with a nice-smelling wash. The only trouble that could possibly take place is if a small piece of doo-doo fell through the "comb" and didn't go down the drain ... then it gets "baked" by the hot air vents and you really really smell what's cooking. That doesn't happen often, and the Goods far outweigh the Bads on this product. I seriously am in love with ours and will never go back to any other litter box.
Also - my cats took to it right away and now they don't even flinch when the machine cleans itself (kind of loud if you're close to it)
Yay for CatGenie!!
"
Review 14 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waltham- MA
Date:November 9, 2008

VERY CLEVER SYSTEM!

Pros: no mess-easy to handle-save 99% time-
"THE BEST SYSTEM EVER.
VERY RECOMMENDED.
WE HAVE CATGENIE OVER A YEAR WITHOUT ANY KIND OF PROBLEMS.
VERY GOOD SYSTEM FOR 2-3 ADULT CATS.
WENN YOU HAVE A LITTLE PROBLEM, THERE IS A COSTUMER SERVICE WHO HELPS YOU STEP BY STEP!
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winsted, MN
Date:July 10, 2009

Better than the old litter box

Pros: included 3 sanitation boxes & extra granuals, clean no more smells, happy cat because her litter box is clean
Cons: beeps in the middle of a cycle as it gets cloged
Model Number: The first model that came out
"When we first got the cat genie the parts it came with did not fit with our water pipes. So we went and bought something to make it fit. After it was up and working I feel in love with it.
No more nagging my boyfriend to clean up after his cat. At first the cat didn't use it for a few weeks but after she got over it she likes it because its always clean.
A few months later the cat genie starts beeping. Aparently it gets cloged with my cats stool. eww. So now my b/f has to flush the cat genie so the stool can get through. I'm calling the company about it today.
Other than that the cat genie is awesome! Maybe the newer model will be better.
"
Review 16 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:March 19, 2009

Best litter box ever

"I tell everyone about the cat genie! I have 3 cats and one 2 year old son. The cat genie sanitizes the litter box, it flushes out the waste and all i have to do is change a cartrage once in awhile. Not having to haul cat litter up and down the stairs a few times a week is great. I've owned the cat genie for a little over a year. I love it!"
Review 17 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque
Date:March 30, 2009
Pros: so convenient
"We bought one a year ago and it is fantastic. You can't overfill with pellets, it will clog. It does tend to clog, but once a month I take it apart and clean it. It really beats the daily chore of cleaning the cat box. We run it two or three times a day."
Review 18 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

CatGenie

Cons: granules stick to cat and travel
"What a great product! I just wish that I had gotten it sooner. Easy to set up and operate. The only drawback is the granules seem to cling to the cat's feet and you'll find them all over the place, but I'd rather run a vacuum than scoop!"
Review 19 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:pa
Date:November 28, 2008

awesome ...............

"i have had this litter box for 6 months now , it is awesome .. no more litter box oders .no more changing smelly cat litter i recommend this highly ..i have 2 kitties and they love it ."
Review 20 for CatGenie Self-flushing / Self-washing Cat Box
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 25, 2009

EXCELLENT...cheaper than buying litter!

"Best product ever...pays for itself in now time at all."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.