Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike

Adjustable Seat 1-Touch Resistance™
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
11 of 18(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Review 1 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:October 18, 2009

Not very pleased

Pros: great workout when it works
Cons: does not last long
Model Number: Nordic Track 400
"I am on my second bike and must return it again. First bike had belt issues after about 5 months. Recently lost power to the second bike. Plug it in and nothing. I would of expected a better quality product from Nordic Track. I have the eliptical and love it. Will be returning bike soon but it will be a total pain because the bike is heavy and a truck is needed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Date:October 3, 2009

Worked well but failed over time

Pros: solid feel, decent features and workout plans
Cons: long term durability, tough to return if faulty due to packing
"This was my first home exercise bike and I was happy with the product use and stability the first few weeks. Then the belt started slipping and grinding and I had to take apart the side panels to put it back on. I noticed the plastic wheel was warped which was causing the belt to slip. I continued using it for over a year but it recently failed entirely. It appears the bearings are shot and the pedals now slip and make grinding sounds. Too bad I am out of my warranty.
The price was right and it worked well for a while, but be careful about the long term durability with just normal use (4 times a week).
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:September 22, 2009

Disappointed in the long run (ride)

Model Number: Nordic Track Commercial Recumbent
"Likes: Assembly went well, the bike has a nice solid feel, comfortable to sit (I have back problems) and I liked the program options.
Dislikes: Within two months the belt started slipping on a regular basis, taking apart the panels is a real challenge because the holes are so small you can't easily lift over the pedals, the belt felt very tight and yet it kept slipping. After 8 months of regular use (5 times a week) the peddles totally locked up making it impossible to remove the panels. I did take the bike back, but have no plans of replacing it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:July 1, 2009

Decent....may turn out ok

"I bought this bike for my parents, father just had knee replacement. It went together fine with help from my brothers but when we got on to test it, the plastic casing for the entire main unit ( which comes pre-assembled in the box mind you) was pressing on the band inside and creating a rubbing noise which was intolerable. The only way to stop it was to take out many of the screws holding the case on so there was more room for the band inside by separating the case slightly. Noise stopped.
So.....it works, and you aren't being driven crazy but there was a major flaw and the case is only partially secured. If it wasn't so heavy and painful to return to costco I probably would have. Regardless, they are using it as is and say its working fine."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:June 15, 2009

I'm on my third one!

Pros: good resistance, quiet, tough frame
Cons: short lifespan, mechanical problems, pain to return
"A good bike that fails at about one year with 5 days/week usage. I am on my third one. Thankfully, I buy them at costco and return for full refund before buying a new one. It has rugged external construction, but the belt will start skipping before the year is out. You cannot take the machine apart b/c the cranks don't come off, despite instructions on how to maintain it in the manual.
iFit doesn't work for me. Sample program d/l and loaded to SD card which bike wouldn't recognize. Seems like a good idea but implementation is poor."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009

You Shape The Way You Train

Cons: pedals are way to far apart
"Any personal trainer will tell you: "You Shape The Way You Train".
The problem with this bike is that the pedals are too far apart from each other. When you pedal, both legs are angled out away from the center of your body. This is NOT a good thing because the whole time you're on this machine, your hips will be slightly pulled apart because your feet are too far from each other. If you train this way, you WILL shape this way. Over time, YOUR HIPS WILL SPREAD because of this!
It could also cause knee problems because of the angle of the big toe in relationship to the knee. Again, both legs are angled out away from the center of your body. They should be directly in front of you so that the knee is lined up with the big toe, and so that you can keep the hips in tight.
Shorter, smaller people will be affected more by this problem due to the angle being more extreme for a smaller person. Conversely, taller, larger people will not be affected as much.
Will you get a good cardio workout with this bike? Yes. But at the expense of wider hips and possible knee problems (and maybe others that this flaw will cause), I think not.
I strongly DO NOT recommend this bike and if you've already purchased it, use Costco's liberal return policy and get your money back. Unless of course, you want big hips and knee problems."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 12, 2009

Great puchase

Pros: strurdy, easy to put together (w 2 people), i like the fan
Cons: heavy son of a gun, mine had no instructtions, lots of packing to throw away
"As mentioned it is heavy and you should use two people to do it right. Mine did not come with instructions, but the bolts and screws were pretty self explanitory. I managed to do it by myself in about 2 hrs, but the pain was trying to get it in my basement.
I recommend that once delivered open the box and take out the smaller pieces and bring them in your home first and then get some help to carry in the "core" of the unit."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:January 9, 2009

So far, so good

Model Number: NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
"So far, I can only speak to the ease of putting this thing together and the apparent quality of the parts. Aside from plastic housings, which always seem flimsy, the parts are sturdy, substantial and well engineered; everything fits properly and tightly and holes line up correctly.
The destructions say you need two people to put it together, but I'm old, fat, clumsy, and mechanically declined, as my sons the engineers so love to remind me, and I did it alone. I took my time and made sure I knew what I was supposed to be doing as I went along, and had no real problems assembling it.
It took a little ingenuity here and there--e.g., propping up the front and back so you can attach the stabilizing bars--but nothing major. It took me about two and a half hours, maybe three. People who are handy, young, have a friend with, and/or have strong hands and fingers should have no difficulty at all. :)
I do have a few hints:
--If you're over 45 (i.e., if you wear bifocals), have a younger person with you or a dental mirror or something, because you have to put some screws in blind from underneath, and you won't be able to see a blasted thing unless you can wear your bifocals upside down. I hate that! (It's not practical [at least it wasn't for me] to turn it over.)
--The instructions seem to use the words "screws" and "bolts" interchangeably. If you're looking for a screw and can't find it, check the bolts. You probably need one of those.
--You may need, in addition to the crescent wrench and Phillips screwdriver the instructions tell you about, a rubber hammer. If you have strong fingers, you'll probably be OK, but I don't (cf "old" etc. above). Some things needed a whack or two to seat them properly before I could get the bolts tight.
--Some tape (try painter's or masking) will also be useful for holding things in position while you attach them, and tweezers or long-nosed pliers will help you get the wire harness and connectors positioned more easily.
I have to admit, though, I'm too tired after all that metal wrangling to try out the bike other than plugging it in and doing a few quick revolutions to make sure the flywheel was OK!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:January 5, 2009

Great Price and Features

Pros: price ipod connection cooling fan
Cons: heart rate monitor
Model Number: NordicTrack Commercial 400 Recumbent Bike
"Bought at local Costco store and saved $100.00 over on-line price. Took about two hours to assemble by myself. Seems to work OK, but there is a clicking sound each revolution of the crank ? Otherwise am satisfied with the machine. Heart rate monitor as others have stated is very inaccurate."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maumee,OH
Date:January 4, 2009

Nordic Track Bike

Pros: smooth ride, included programmed workouts, comfort
Cons: pulse meter, no water bottle holder
Model Number: Nordic Track Bike
"Purchased the bike as a supplement to outdoor bicylcing for the Winter months. The bike assembled easily. It has been used for one month by two riders regularly and performs well. It is the equivalent of a club quality bike. The included workouts provide a challenge for varying levels of fitness. We have not used the ifit card. The aux music jack works well and the included fan is a bonus. We are pleased with our purchase and would recommend. Pulse meter is inconsistent. Water bottle holder would be a plus"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Carnation, WA
Date:January 2, 2009

Well Made Great Price

Pros: 20 resistence levels, fan, mp3 dock
Cons: control buttons are cheap
Model Number: NordicTrack Commercial 400
"Bought this at a Costco store. Saved $100. Best deal on the market. I researched online for a comprable deal and couldnt find a better deal with what you get. Assembled in about 90 minutes by myself. Quicker with help. Everything went together easily and works. Only thing I don't like is the buttons do not push in real well, but they work. Great Deal! Have fun."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Murphy, Texas
Date:December 30, 2008

Works okay but not great

Pros: good construction, straight forward instructions, good price
Cons: heart rate monitor doesn't work, no ratcheting for seat position for quick reset
"I wanted something to ride indoors but that my wife could ride as well and was easy on my back. This seemed like the ideal solution especially for the price. After getting it home, it was fairly straight forward to assemble but did take a couple hours start to finish. Once assembled, I struggled with the controller quite a bit and realized that the heart rate feature is inaccurate. When holding my hands on the heart rate sensors built into the bars, I would notice my heart rate jump from 80 to 130 then to 270 then to 90. Its not the change in the monitor screen, its that the heart rate feature appears to be influenced by static electricity which is the only thing I can think of. If I don't use the heart rate monitor, the statistics level out but thats not why I bought one of these. I'm less than impressed with the electronics. The device itself is okay."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 24, 2008

So far, so good

Pros: very quiet, fan is great to keep you cool
Cons: pulse meter/lower handle bar
"I've had the bike about 2 weeks now- used daily-30-55 minutes.
Ordered online, arrived in good shape about a week later. Assembly, best with 2 people. (very nice thing-the small parts/nuts/bolts-assembly, seperate, segmented box with a road map-made it EASY to find what was needed)
Bike is very smooth and silent, You don't even need to turn up the volume on the TV to watch it. The fan is adjustable and works well to keep a steady breeze on your face. It definately adds to being able to comfortably stay on the bike, 'just a little longer'.
Haven't tried the programs yet.. but you do feel the difference between each resistance level. Even at the lower levels. (I've gone up to 5) The bike is comfortable for arthritic knees too.
Only problem is - the pulse meter on lower bar, hard to get a good reading- (I'm short-so have to 'reach' a little to grip) wide variations on the readings.
Did jury rig a water bottle holder on the side, but you can pick up a bike water bottle fairly in expensively.. and it just took a couple of minutes to rig one up."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 23, 2008

Good buy

"I have been using this bike for last few months and it is good. I had some initial problems with the display unit but the Nordic Track customer service replaced it. No issues after that and we are happy with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Redwood City, CA
Date:November 12, 2008

Good Price - Solid machine

Pros: great features to price
Cons: had problems after a few months of light use
"This is a real good bike design. Solidly built. Nice features such as a variable speed fan, and a iPod hook up, and a pulse reader from your hands. We ran into bearing problems about 3 months into using it - and we only used it 2 or 3 times a week for a hour or less. The bearing started making a very squeeky noise that we could not fix - so had to return. Will try another one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moorpark, CA
Date:November 6, 2008

Great buy

Pros: good or better than most health club bikes., fits well in big bedroom with nautilas weights set
Cons: had to add bike water bottle holder useing ties
"Excellent bike for the price. I love the size of the console, easy to read. The IPOD MP3 speaker has a nice stereo sound. The magnetic flywheel is quiet, as advertised. Took about 3 hours to put the bike together. Had to return the backrest, because an insert screw was missing. Still able to use the bike for 3 days until the new backrest was delivered UPS."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Date:November 2, 2008

Could have been good

Pros: lots of features comfortable seat., quiet when working properly
Cons: arrived with bend fly-wheel
"I don't know if it was just bad luck, but my bike came with a BENT fly-wheel. Every time that I pedaled the bike it would rub against the plastic cover!!!. After pedaling about 100 turns the belt fell off the pulley (because is was bent). I took it apart and reattached the drive belt 2x and the problem persisted. Bad luck or bad bike?? I won't order another one to find out."
7 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NordicTrack Commercial Recumbent Bike
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tennessee
Date:October 27, 2008

Great Bike

Pros: comfortable wide seat, easy adjustments for height, sturdy, quiet
Cons: takes more floor space than an upright bike
"I have arthritis, weigh 300 lb, and am 5'2" tall. My daughter is 5'4, 120 lb, and active. My niece is 5'11", 200 lb. All of us use the bike and are comfortable on it. The seat adjustment is easily made. It is sturdy and quiet. Assembly took about 2 hours."
30 of 33 people found this review helpful.