Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical

18" Stride Power Incline
Average Customer Rating:
2.577 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
18
18 of 52(35%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Review 1 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2009

The worst product ever!

Model Number: commercial 1300
"Just over 1 year and the belt has broken 3 times and now the rollers on the ramp have disintegrated. Costco should be ashamed of continuing to sell this product. This is a costly piece of junk!!! I should have returned it as soon as I noticed how unstable the frame was."
Review 2 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington, WA
Date:June 1, 2009

Waste of money and time

Pros: smooth when it works
Cons: clanking noise within a couple days of use, resistance stopped working in a couple of months
"I was really excited about the purchase of this elliptical. The stride length was perfect, it had all the features I was looking for such as incline, resistance, programming and so on.
I brought it home and talked a friend into coming over to help me put it together. I was happy enough with the smoothness and overall perfomance of the machine. The resistance and incline were quick to change with the button. Liked the fan. But within a couple of days, the clanking started. I put up with that for awhile, and then the resistance just stopped working all together. I probably only put about 30 hours on it and it was already hay wire.
Luckily, Costco's return policy is always great. Brought it back today, no questions asked. Just bummed because I just got into the habit of working out every night. Decided I'm going to wait and save up for a Lifefitness, gym model."
Review 3 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009

Thought Nordic Track Had Better Quality

Model Number: 16907
"Nordic Track is a top manufacturer of exercise equipment so we bought the Ellipical but are disappointed with the quality. My husband is very, very mechanical and the machine was difficult to put together and heavy. After are initial troubles, I planned to write to Costco and Nordic Track, but didn't. Now it has been about a year, a year of use that has been very minimal and exercising at a slow place and not using a lot of the functionality. Now I am doing Intervals and running the speed up as high as I can go and the belt broke. It will be over $100 to replace. On the positive side, I do like the comfort of the machine."
Review 4 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kalispell, MT
Date:May 28, 2009

IMPLOSION

Pros: looks cool
Cons: loud and breaks
Model Number: NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
"The machine worked great for about a month and then the noise started everywhere. Sqeaking, knocking, tinging, enough to drive the exerciser nuts. After the third month the roller wheels located underneath the feet disinagrated. Not impressed."
Review 5 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 14, 2009

Excellent Buy

Model Number: XM
"Count me as one more "Costco Nut!" After only one month of use, I'm delighted with my NordicTrack XM Commercial. The XM can be (relatively) easily picked at the store and taken home – rather than entrusted to a low-bid trucker. Also assembly instructions were clear and accomplished in less than one afternoon. Finally, the assembled XM appears well engineered and has several obvious design and cosmetic improvements over my worn-out elliptical that it replaces. The XM works smoothly, quietly and reliably – even at the maximum settings -- without any notable problems.
My only minor "nit piks" are: that the instructions for creating a "Custom Program" should be clearer; there's sometimes minor and intermittent belt "creaking" and, finally, a curious instruction (in the User Manual) to unplug the machine between uses. I'd suggest use of a power strip (with a switch) instead – or better yet, elimination of the cause for the requirement to manually remove power. All "nit piks" are very minor in relation to the machine's easy acquisition, solid construction, quiet operation, attractive appearance and great price."
Review 6 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:May 13, 2009

Two times too many.....

Pros: none.. broke both times
Cons: breaks easily...
"I bought this elliptical and used it for about 2 weeks and all the sudden a clunking noise was coming from behind got on it the next day and the whole right side pedal fell off. A bolt had broke off causing the whole right side to fall off.
We took it back to costco and they exchanged it... Brought it home and put it together first the left handle bar did not match the right and 20 minutes into using the machine the belt fell off. We are returning it and not getting another one.
Good luck if you take a chance on this machine!
"
Review 7 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:April 26, 2009

Awesome

Pros: silent operation, very effective workouts, you can customize workouts as you go., easy assembly and operation
"I recently ordered this elliptical and it was delivered in just one week. My daughter (16) and I put it together in just a few hours. It does weigh a LOT, so my husband helped us get it out of the box, but from there it was easy. Just reading the instructions was a little confusing, so I suggest watching the DVD that comes with it, to see how it is assembled.
The workouts are tough, but effective. You can adjust the ramp and resistance while pedaling, with just a touch. The elliptical is virtually silent when you're on it; it has all the "bells and whistles" of a gym elliptical, including a fan. I love this thing! Buy one!"
Review 8 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 15, 2009

Two strikes

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: everything else
"Returned the first one because the roller was scraping the ramp and the new parts sent from ICON would not fix it. Returned the second one after a bolt sheared off the left pedal assembly."
Review 9 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT.
Date:March 4, 2009

I feel guilty...

"After purchasing this product we had about 3 weeks before the clanking began. After reading the other reviews on the Costco website we realized that it was a common problem. Always do your research and read the reviews. Although it looks great you will likely have issues with this elliptical. I was in Costco the other day and saw someone excitedly purchasing this same elliptical... I chickened out and didn't do the right thing. I didn't tell them what a piece of junk it is. I could have saved them some time and effort (driving it home, putting it together, making phone calls when it breaks, disassebling it to bring it back to Costco). My apologies to those complete strangers. The only saving factor in this story is Costco's amazing return policy!!!! Hopefully someone is reading this review and can avoid going through the pains that so many others have experienced."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 26, 2009

Don't just read what you want to read

Pros: when the belt is on it works great
Cons: belt came off after 4 days - pain to get back on., couldn't get belt on how manual said to
Model Number: Nordic Track Commercial Elliptical
"I wanted an elliptical to get back into shape after having 3 kids. Back in the day, I loved using ellipticals at health clubs. I wanted a health club quality without paying thousands. My husband read all the reviews on the Costco web site. We found it interesting that some people gave this machine great reviews and others rated it poorly. So, I went to the library and looked it up in Consumer Reports. It got the CR best buy award. Guess the belt didn't pop off when they tested it out. 4 days after bringing it home (and using it 20-30min each of those days), the belt popped off. I went back and read all the hassles many other customers had with the belt. My husband just said he got the belt back on in a different configuration than what the manual showed. He said there is good resistance again. If the belt pops off again, it's going back to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central Coast California
Date:February 26, 2009

Happy with my new elliptical

Model Number: Nordic Track Commercial Elliptical
"I couldn't be happier with my new Nordic Track Elliptical. We purchased it from the Costco store. They delivered it that night, even though purchased it after 5. Customer service was exceptional, as always, with Costco.
We followed the instructions carefully, and it took a while, but went smoothly. Ramp didn't work at first, but then we READ THE INSTRUCTIONS, which were very clear, to recalibrate the ramp. I am on it daily for an hour - for two months now, without a single problem. It's perfectly silent.
I use, and love all the different programs, many of which are pretty challenging. Like the fan. Downside is that the time intervals for the workouts are not immediately apparent, but easy to figure out with use.
Guess maybe I'm old (41;)), so I preferentially shop at stores who offer friendly, knowledgeable, and timely customer service - love Costco!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brier, WA
Date:February 21, 2009

Scrap Metal

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: iconfitness
Model Number: Nordic Track 1300
"I find it odd that the only positive reviews are from those that did so immediately upon receiving their machine or those that read the reviews a year after they supposedly had the machine. Icon Fitness charged us to have a repairman come out to say that it was a cracked bearing house and recommended replacing the elliptical. As soon as that was the diagnosis Icon Fitness would not respond to multiple emails, faxes and phone calls. Thankfully we were able to return it to Costco for a full refund but it still wasn't worth the hassle."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central PA
Date:February 18, 2009

Give me the parts!

Pros: best price for the type of elliptical, easy assembly
Cons: i didn't listen to the other reviews.
Model Number: Commercial XM
"I haven't been on it yet. However, I received two left pedal arms. These are actually preassembled. ICON wanted me to pay 5.99 to have a right pedal arm shipped to my house. I argued this point of course.
So, I continued assembly to get as much together as possible. I soon discovered that I was missing a left arm grip! Having guessed that my machine had little to no quality assurance, I'm sure I'll have to take it back.
Given that I hauled it up three flights of stairs with my friend (for a 6-pack), I'm not looking forward to the trip down."
Review 14 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:February 11, 2009

Terrible Product

"Bought this Item about a month ago and had problems with it from day one. There was a thumping sound coming from the left rear with some movement in the rotation, in fact it sheared off one of the bolts on the platform. Also the ramp did not go up or down. Called Nordic Track several times and was given advice on how to fix it. Could not fix it even with new parts they sent out. I could not get some of the old parts off to replace them. Decided then that I paid good money for this and it should work. So I took it back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castlerock, CO
Date:February 9, 2009

Very smooth!

Pros: smooth feel
Model Number: Nordictrack elliptical
"I was surprised how big this was when it arrived. Very well-built and smooth. It feels exactly like the one I use at the gym."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2009

Glad i can take it back

Pros: return policy
Cons: impossible to work on
"I agree with many who said it is impossible to get the belt back on the pully after it comes off. I am taking it back tomorrow, that is why i buy things at Costco."
Review 17 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:February 6, 2009

Disappointed

Pros: costco return policy, very quiet machine
Cons: have to disconnect it from power souce after use.
Model Number: Commercial 1300
"I bought my commercial 1300 in Sep-08.
Use it about 2X/ week, this week it broke when going from reverse to forward. Called Nordic Track and they told me to adjust the belt. That didnt work.
Thank goodness for the Costco return policy.
"
Review 18 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 4, 2009

Very solid, inaccurate HR monitor

Pros: smooth and quiet
Cons: hr monitor
"This thing is a beast and weighs a lot! Very smooth and very quiet. The fan puts off just enough air to keep your your face cool. The heart rate monitor via the metal pads on the grips is not accurate and meassures below what your HR is."
Review 19 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

Good only for 4 months

Pros: works great for first few months
Cons: breaks fast gets louder with months of use
"First 4 months were great. Then its started to clink, clunk, thump etc. The incliner was not working."
Review 20 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mill Creek, WA
Date:January 30, 2009

Bolt broke 3 Months After Purchase

Cons: very heavy, broke very quickly with moderate use
"The elliptical seemed like a terrific piece of equipment until the bolt connecting the arm to the pedal completely broke during use -- leaving one piece jammed in both the arm & pedal unit. Neither piece can now be removed to replace the bolt.
Looks like others have experienced this same problem. We also experienced loud squeaking which could not be fixed.
I will be taking this back to the warehouse & not buying this same brand."
1 2 3 next>>