Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical

18" Stride Power Incline
Average Customer Rating:
2.577 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
18
18 of 52(35%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Review 21 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2009

just like everyone said

Pros: not sure if there are any yet
Cons: clonking and popping noises
Model Number: commercial XM
"I took a chance and bought one and after a week it started making a clonking noise in the rear. I called and they said they haven't had this problem but if you read the reviews you will see I'm not the only one. They are going to send me four bearing and I have to install them. If i want them to do it it will cost me to send someone out. I'm not sure if I'm going to install the bearings or just take it back."
Review 22 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mill Creek, WA
Date:January 30, 2009

Bolt broke 3 Months After Purchase

Cons: very heavy, broke very quickly with moderate use
"The elliptical seemed like a terrific piece of equipment until the bolt connecting the arm to the pedal completely broke during use -- leaving one piece jammed in both the arm & pedal unit. Neither piece can now be removed to replace the bolt.
Looks like others have experienced this same problem. We also experienced loud squeaking which could not be fixed.
I will be taking this back to the warehouse & not buying this same brand."
Review 23 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Folsom
Date:January 30, 2009

Think Again

Pros: great return policy
Cons: poorly designed, tech support in denial
Model Number: XM
"Our story mirrors that of others. Clink, clank, clunk and so it goes until we return it this weekend after two months use. We too called support and were told something must need tightening. OK, we turned every bolt and a few needed it, but it didn't seem to matter, the groans and moans continued. Ours is headed back but after reading these reviews, a different model is in our future. Avoid the problems and consider something else."
Review 24 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Corona, Ca.
Date:October 28, 2008

Don't by this

"This heavy duty eliptical is just that, Heavy. Be prepared to do a workout putting this item together. After putting it together after about a month of workouts on it, the bearing on the right went out and came out of the wheel causing the arm to fall off the track. Be careful with this item. I returned it to Costco and spent a little extra for the treadmill and have been satisfied for the past 3 months. Be prepared when buying this item."
Review 25 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:October 27, 2008

A waste of money

"We got this home from the warehouse, put it together, and one of the control arms was seriously bent. We called and requested a new one, which took 7 months to arrive. Now that it has been replaced, one of the ball bearings is going out so it makes an awful noise. If you can ignore the noise, and live with the display intermittently going out, then it is a good machine to work out on. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend something else."
Review 26 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, Iowa
Date:October 27, 2008

Bad Bearings/Bad Service

Pros: good progams
Cons: bearings should last longer
"I had a roller bearing fail shortly after I started using the machine. I was sent the wrong parts for the repair and you have to pay shipping on warranty parts. Later the internal electro-magnets started to rub the flywheel.Still later it started to make more new noises so I took pulled the rear arms to lube them. I found two more bad bearings in the rear. They cost $20.00 each plus shipping. All in less than one year and with just one180 lbs user."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Date:November 11, 2008

Very dissapointed

"I got my first commercial elliptical begining of the year. It made a knocking noise. I called out a tech and he was not able to fix it. I returned the it and got another one because I really did like the machine.
My 2nd one is worse than the first. The circut board went out. I now have to return THIS one.
I am not happy, I thought I was getting a quality machine. Now I have to find something different because I am NOT making the same mistake a thrid time.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:November 29, 2008

Works if you maintain it

Pros: those folks in saltlake do a good job on providing
"This is the second Nordic Track elliptical machine that I have purchased. As with all machines it is very wise to purchase the extended warranty as they all break - the question is how frequently. I run for an hour on my machine 5 days per week...so maintenance is an issue. You need to use a silicone spray lubricant on the external moving parts...I use it before and midway through the workout. I have researched many machines and believe you really need to spend over $3,000 if you don't want maintenance issues."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008

Thumping sound

Pros: gives a great workout, stong and stable
Cons: makes a clunking noise in rear
Model Number: NordicTrack Commercial 1300
"I have had this elliptical for about 6 weeks and use it to supplement the treadmill at the gym. Have probably used the treadmill no more than 6 times and it has started to make a clunking noise in the rear on each revolution. This sound drives me nuts so I have decided to return it to Costco for an exchange. I also learned last night (was trying the ramp) that the power incline does not work, so another reason to return it. Sounds like about half the reviewers have had good luck so I am willing to give it one more try."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:May 13, 2009

Two times too many.....

Pros: none.. broke both times
Cons: breaks easily...
"I bought this elliptical and used it for about 2 weeks and all the sudden a clunking noise was coming from behind got on it the next day and the whole right side pedal fell off. A bolt had broke off causing the whole right side to fall off.
We took it back to costco and they exchanged it... Brought it home and put it together first the left handle bar did not match the right and 20 minutes into using the machine the belt fell off. We are returning it and not getting another one.
Good luck if you take a chance on this machine!
"
Review 31 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:February 11, 2009

Terrible Product

"Bought this Item about a month ago and had problems with it from day one. There was a thumping sound coming from the left rear with some movement in the rotation, in fact it sheared off one of the bolts on the platform. Also the ramp did not go up or down. Called Nordic Track several times and was given advice on how to fix it. Could not fix it even with new parts they sent out. I could not get some of the old parts off to replace them. Decided then that I paid good money for this and it should work. So I took it back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brier, WA
Date:February 21, 2009

Scrap Metal

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: iconfitness
Model Number: Nordic Track 1300
"I find it odd that the only positive reviews are from those that did so immediately upon receiving their machine or those that read the reviews a year after they supposedly had the machine. Icon Fitness charged us to have a repairman come out to say that it was a cracked bearing house and recommended replacing the elliptical. As soon as that was the diagnosis Icon Fitness would not respond to multiple emails, faxes and phone calls. Thankfully we were able to return it to Costco for a full refund but it still wasn't worth the hassle."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Belfair, Washington
Date:October 27, 2008

The second one is better!

Pros: really sturdy machine
Cons: the first machine broke
"My first one broke within 30 minutes of use! Something to do inside with the resistance motor. And after one failed attempt to have it repaired, I exchanged at COSTCO with a new one. The second one works almost perfectly! The five star ratings are right on money. The only minor item to complain about it is chasing squeeks but just a minor complaint. The various built in programs really work you through the paces and you end up sweating and feeling good! I would reccomend this unit to anyone who is in the market of an ellipticle trainer!!!!"
Review 34 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central PA
Date:February 18, 2009

Give me the parts!

Pros: best price for the type of elliptical, easy assembly
Cons: i didn't listen to the other reviews.
Model Number: Commercial XM
"I haven't been on it yet. However, I received two left pedal arms. These are actually preassembled. ICON wanted me to pay 5.99 to have a right pedal arm shipped to my house. I argued this point of course.
So, I continued assembly to get as much together as possible. I soon discovered that I was missing a left arm grip! Having guessed that my machine had little to no quality assurance, I'm sure I'll have to take it back.
Given that I hauled it up three flights of stairs with my friend (for a 6-pack), I'm not looking forward to the trip down."
Review 35 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

a lot of problems

Pros: nice heavy duty machine
Cons: major defects
"well, i bought this at the local warehouse, and it is heavy duty (and just heavy). it seems like a good deal. however, one of the pieces under the pedal has a loose piece of metal in it, so when you work out it jingles. i called icon fitness, the manufacturer, and explained. they sent out a replacement piece quickly--but with the same defect. and now, even worse, the unit has developed a thumping, every rotation. it is less than a month old. icon is sending a repair person, however, it doesnt bode well with how new the unit is. i do not have high hopes."
Review 36 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:STL
Date:December 17, 2008

It's suposed to be heavy!!

Pros: runs very quiet, it is huge
Cons: it is huge
Model Number: XM Commercial
"For those who are upset by how big and heavy this elliptical is, I have one question -- Would you rather it be small and light. I love the fact that this thing is huge. I weigh 220 and need a strong machine. We have only had this for a few days but it is working great. Also, this thing was easy to put together. I have purchased bookshelves which have given me more headaches during assembly than this elliptical did. Also, buy some teflon lubricant to lube the joints every so often. That little tidbit of info is not in the manual, but a CS rep told me it was a good idea."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009

Thought Nordic Track Had Better Quality

Model Number: 16907
"Nordic Track is a top manufacturer of exercise equipment so we bought the Ellipical but are disappointed with the quality. My husband is very, very mechanical and the machine was difficult to put together and heavy. After are initial troubles, I planned to write to Costco and Nordic Track, but didn't. Now it has been about a year, a year of use that has been very minimal and exercising at a slow place and not using a lot of the functionality. Now I am doing Intervals and running the speed up as high as I can go and the belt broke. It will be over $100 to replace. On the positive side, I do like the comfort of the machine."
Review 38 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:April 26, 2009

Awesome

Pros: silent operation, very effective workouts, you can customize workouts as you go., easy assembly and operation
"I recently ordered this elliptical and it was delivered in just one week. My daughter (16) and I put it together in just a few hours. It does weigh a LOT, so my husband helped us get it out of the box, but from there it was easy. Just reading the instructions was a little confusing, so I suggest watching the DVD that comes with it, to see how it is assembled.
The workouts are tough, but effective. You can adjust the ramp and resistance while pedaling, with just a touch. The elliptical is virtually silent when you're on it; it has all the "bells and whistles" of a gym elliptical, including a fan. I love this thing! Buy one!"
Review 39 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:November 9, 2008

Very happy with purchase

"I purchased the NT Elliptical Commercial 1300 several months ago after carefully researching prices, features, and reviews of other ellipticals. I was looking for a sturdy, quality elliptical similar to the one at my gym. This is it. It takes 1-2 hours to put together, but it is a very solid machine. There is a built-in fan that works great, and multiple programs to work whatever area of your body you want. It is easy to use and I was so happy, I canceled my gym membership. I would strongly recommend this elliptical machine. Comparable ellipticals to this sell for $2-3,000. You will get similar quality here with an unbeatable price."
Review 40 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:PHX, AZ
Date:December 8, 2008

Nice Machine - Junk parts

Pros: nice heavy feel
Cons: junk panels / boards
"I bought this heavy monstrosity.. got it home and had it installed in an hour or so. As soon as I turned it on, the display panel turned off in 5 seconds. It did this over and over... NordicTrack sent me another display panel.. New Panel - SAME PROBLEM...
When I called in for this problem, the tech rep stated she thought it was a small little motor issue. She sent me this little motor w/ wiring harness. As I started to disassemble this thing, I thought.. this isn't my job. I thought I bought a working machine, now I'm a elliptical mechanic? No.. I am not! I called them back and told them to send out a certified technician. They did.. guess what. It was ANOTHER bad panel. The third panel is coming this week. If this one is bad.. the whole fricking thing is going back to Costco!
There.. I'm done venting."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>