Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical

18" Stride Power Incline
Average Customer Rating:
2.577 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
(out of 52 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
18
18 of 52(35%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Review 1 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brier, WA
Date:February 21, 2009

Scrap Metal

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: iconfitness
Model Number: Nordic Track 1300
"I find it odd that the only positive reviews are from those that did so immediately upon receiving their machine or those that read the reviews a year after they supposedly had the machine. Icon Fitness charged us to have a repairman come out to say that it was a cracked bearing house and recommended replacing the elliptical. As soon as that was the diagnosis Icon Fitness would not respond to multiple emails, faxes and phone calls. Thankfully we were able to return it to Costco for a full refund but it still wasn't worth the hassle."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:February 26, 2009

Don't just read what you want to read

Pros: when the belt is on it works great
Cons: belt came off after 4 days - pain to get back on., couldn't get belt on how manual said to
Model Number: Nordic Track Commercial Elliptical
"I wanted an elliptical to get back into shape after having 3 kids. Back in the day, I loved using ellipticals at health clubs. I wanted a health club quality without paying thousands. My husband read all the reviews on the Costco web site. We found it interesting that some people gave this machine great reviews and others rated it poorly. So, I went to the library and looked it up in Consumer Reports. It got the CR best buy award. Guess the belt didn't pop off when they tested it out. 4 days after bringing it home (and using it 20-30min each of those days), the belt popped off. I went back and read all the hassles many other customers had with the belt. My husband just said he got the belt back on in a different configuration than what the manual showed. He said there is good resistance again. If the belt pops off again, it's going back to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT.
Date:March 4, 2009

I feel guilty...

"After purchasing this product we had about 3 weeks before the clanking began. After reading the other reviews on the Costco website we realized that it was a common problem. Always do your research and read the reviews. Although it looks great you will likely have issues with this elliptical. I was in Costco the other day and saw someone excitedly purchasing this same elliptical... I chickened out and didn't do the right thing. I didn't tell them what a piece of junk it is. I could have saved them some time and effort (driving it home, putting it together, making phone calls when it breaks, disassebling it to bring it back to Costco). My apologies to those complete strangers. The only saving factor in this story is Costco's amazing return policy!!!! Hopefully someone is reading this review and can avoid going through the pains that so many others have experienced."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:STL
Date:December 17, 2008

It's suposed to be heavy!!

Pros: runs very quiet, it is huge
Cons: it is huge
Model Number: XM Commercial
"For those who are upset by how big and heavy this elliptical is, I have one question -- Would you rather it be small and light. I love the fact that this thing is huge. I weigh 220 and need a strong machine. We have only had this for a few days but it is working great. Also, this thing was easy to put together. I have purchased bookshelves which have given me more headaches during assembly than this elliptical did. Also, buy some teflon lubricant to lube the joints every so often. That little tidbit of info is not in the manual, but a CS rep told me it was a good idea."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central Coast California
Date:February 26, 2009

Happy with my new elliptical

Model Number: Nordic Track Commercial Elliptical
"I couldn't be happier with my new Nordic Track Elliptical. We purchased it from the Costco store. They delivered it that night, even though purchased it after 5. Customer service was exceptional, as always, with Costco.
We followed the instructions carefully, and it took a while, but went smoothly. Ramp didn't work at first, but then we READ THE INSTRUCTIONS, which were very clear, to recalibrate the ramp. I am on it daily for an hour - for two months now, without a single problem. It's perfectly silent.
I use, and love all the different programs, many of which are pretty challenging. Like the fan. Downside is that the time intervals for the workouts are not immediately apparent, but easy to figure out with use.
Guess maybe I'm old (41;)), so I preferentially shop at stores who offer friendly, knowledgeable, and timely customer service - love Costco!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 27, 2008

Good value but then stopped working

Cons: developed noisy action, erratic heart monitor, poor factory support
"I bought this trainer, without being able to feel its action, after testing many others out first and was initially very pleased with the way it worked.
Although the unit was heavy and required assistance transporting, (even in pieces) to be assembled upstairs (sufficient to be called my workout for that day), I was pleased with the way it worked and have continued to use it almost daily.
Unfortunately I seemed to have found some flaws and will now need to reverse the whole procedure to return the elliptical to Costco and then find something else.
The initial problem was with the irregular performance of the heart rate monitor. I called the factory and they said this was a problem and offered to send me out replacement grips. I found these to be more complicated than expected to replace and decided to live with the flaw until I was prepared to commit a much longer period of time to disassembly of the equipment.
However, now comes the major flaw. The problem is that the machine has now developed a loud creaking in the lower front ramp area. I spoke to the factory when the flaw was first noticed, within 60 days of purchase, and they offered to send a repair person out at considerable expense. Something I didn't consider acceptable.
Now the sound, a creaking, clanking, knocking noise, has become increasing unacceptable (loud enough that the local neighborhood knows when I'm on it) and I'm trying to find the time to schedule an unfortunate disassembly and inconvenient return of the elliptical to my local Costco.
I don't know if this condition is only on my machine but if it had not happened, I would have loved the device, even with it's flawed heart rate monitor. My recommendation to you, is be ready to return it.
Good luck!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Des Moines, Iowa
Date:October 27, 2008

Bad Bearings/Bad Service

Pros: good progams
Cons: bearings should last longer
"I had a roller bearing fail shortly after I started using the machine. I was sent the wrong parts for the repair and you have to pay shipping on warranty parts. Later the internal electro-magnets started to rub the flywheel.Still later it started to make more new noises so I took pulled the rear arms to lube them. I found two more bad bearings in the rear. They cost $20.00 each plus shipping. All in less than one year and with just one180 lbs user."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hershey, PA
Date:November 5, 2008

Big and heavy, but very sturdy

"I have had the elliptical for a week. It was a bit of a pain to carry to my upstairs room and it took 2 hours to assemble, but it has been a very sturdy machine so far. It is far better than the other ellipticals that I tried at Dick's, SportAuthority, etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 10, 2008

U get what u pay for

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: ill-fitting parts loud noises
"I've been through two of these machines. Both had defects and the Iconn customer service is terrible (backordered parts, ill-equipped techs). I returned both units to the store."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:November 1, 2008

Pulse rate counter does not work

"Purchased this machine in the beginning of 2008. A few months later, the pulse rate counter stopped working. When I called Nordic Track, they said they'll ship a new pair of grips, for $5 for shipping; it was outside of the 90 days, so I had to cough it up. When I tied to install them, I found out that the screw pattern is different, and that I had to cut the electrical wiring to route it through the handle tubes. Disappointed, I decided I could not change them. Then I found out that the pulse rate counter started working again - but only a few more days. May be there is a loose connection. Even when it worked, it never showed the correct pulse rate - it varied wildly. The customer rep said you need to hold it for a few seconds, let it go, and hold them again. Doesn't work. The display does not dwell long enough to get a correct rate. There is nothing you can do about it.
I have used elliptical machines from quite a few brands while on travel. The calories burned, varied quite widely as well. The routine that seemed to have burned 400 calories on this machine resulted in burning only 270 on another, and only 160 on a third one. Who knows what the correct burn rate is!
After about 6 months, the handles squeek. May be I have to take the handles apart, put the grease and put them back again.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008

Thumping sound

Pros: gives a great workout, stong and stable
Cons: makes a clunking noise in rear
Model Number: NordicTrack Commercial 1300
"I have had this elliptical for about 6 weeks and use it to supplement the treadmill at the gym. Have probably used the treadmill no more than 6 times and it has started to make a clunking noise in the rear on each revolution. This sound drives me nuts so I have decided to return it to Costco for an exchange. I also learned last night (was trying the ramp) that the power incline does not work, so another reason to return it. Sounds like about half the reviewers have had good luck so I am willing to give it one more try."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:February 11, 2009

Terrible Product

"Bought this Item about a month ago and had problems with it from day one. There was a thumping sound coming from the left rear with some movement in the rotation, in fact it sheared off one of the bolts on the platform. Also the ramp did not go up or down. Called Nordic Track several times and was given advice on how to fix it. Could not fix it even with new parts they sent out. I could not get some of the old parts off to replace them. Decided then that I paid good money for this and it should work. So I took it back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Date:November 11, 2008

Very dissapointed

"I got my first commercial elliptical begining of the year. It made a knocking noise. I called out a tech and he was not able to fix it. I returned the it and got another one because I really did like the machine.
My 2nd one is worse than the first. The circut board went out. I now have to return THIS one.
I am not happy, I thought I was getting a quality machine. Now I have to find something different because I am NOT making the same mistake a thrid time.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:November 16, 2008

A rough start but getting better

Pros: it's smooth easy to use, great console lots of programs and target workout
Cons: it's quite large and heavy takes up lots of room, the fan blows right into my face i'm 5'9
"I compared ellipticals for weeks and decided on this one because it had the features I wanted for much less than I was willing to spend. The reviews are pretty evenly divided with those that hate it and those that love it. Ultimately decided to purchase through Costco because I know that they'll take back anything no matter what, how could I lose then?
The box came quickly, intack, and the driver was friendly, having contacted me earlier about time and location to drop it off. Nice.
Husband immediately put it together without trouble until the end realizing that a major piece was missing. Customer Service the next day was regretful about that but assured us we'd have the part within a few days. They did try to sell me an extended warranty but thankfully hubbs can fix anything if the parts can be found. The frame has a lifetime warranty too.
So far I'm loving it and find that I have no regrets plus it's a great addition to our expanding home gym.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castlerock, CO
Date:February 9, 2009

Very smooth!

Pros: smooth feel
Model Number: Nordictrack elliptical
"I was surprised how big this was when it arrived. Very well-built and smooth. It feels exactly like the one I use at the gym."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:oceanside, Ca
Date:October 23, 2008

Great Product

"Just purchased from the Warehouse. Easy to assemble and the unit is very sturdy and comfortable. Very quiet mechanism. The power ramp feature and programs are challenging and varied to keep you going."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:PHX, AZ
Date:December 8, 2008

Nice Machine - Junk parts

Pros: nice heavy feel
Cons: junk panels / boards
"I bought this heavy monstrosity.. got it home and had it installed in an hour or so. As soon as I turned it on, the display panel turned off in 5 seconds. It did this over and over... NordicTrack sent me another display panel.. New Panel - SAME PROBLEM...
When I called in for this problem, the tech rep stated she thought it was a small little motor issue. She sent me this little motor w/ wiring harness. As I started to disassemble this thing, I thought.. this isn't my job. I thought I bought a working machine, now I'm a elliptical mechanic? No.. I am not! I called them back and told them to send out a certified technician. They did.. guess what. It was ANOTHER bad panel. The third panel is coming this week. If this one is bad.. the whole fricking thing is going back to Costco!
There.. I'm done venting."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:October 21, 2008

Awesome Quality - Smooth workout

"This eliptical is a steal of a deal. Awesome quality for such a great price. Totally satisfied."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomingdale, IL
Date:October 24, 2008

Great Value !!!!

Pros: it keeps challenging you.
Cons: you do need the space for it.
"I did do a great deal of comparing of price and features and could not beat the value that this eliptical gives you. You have to have a ramp on your eliptical to get a good work out and to keep challenging yourself, and it sure does that!!! This machine will take you from a novice to a pro. It is larger than alot of them but that is do to all the options it has on it. Very sturdy."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NordicTrack Commercial Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:November 29, 2008

Works if you maintain it

Pros: those folks in saltlake do a good job on providing
"This is the second Nordic Track elliptical machine that I have purchased. As with all machines it is very wise to purchase the extended warranty as they all break - the question is how frequently. I run for an hour on my machine 5 days per week...so maintenance is an issue. You need to use a silicone spray lubricant on the external moving parts...I use it before and midway through the workout. I have researched many machines and believe you really need to spend over $3,000 if you don't want maintenance issues."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>