Customer Reviews for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress

L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress

This two-sided crib mattress is perfect for the infant/toddler. Firmest side for infant, reverses to firm side for toddler use. Made with, an excellent jacquard mini check, white print. 100% certified organic cotton layers for extra comfort.   Features: Jacquard fabric cover; anti-bacterial & water-resistant   240 heat tempered innerspring coils   Two 100 % Organic Cotton layers inside covering springs   Heavy-duty 15.5-gauge steel innerspring coils   6-gauge border rods   Flex-edge clips for side edge support   Added support layer for extra firmness on infant side   Air vents to keep mattress fresh   Cloth binding holds fabric in place, prevents tearing   Meets all federal & state flammability standards including new Federal Fire Standard 16CFR Part 1633   Dimensions: 52”L x 27.5”W x 5.75"D    25-year warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
49 of 58(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Review 1 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2012

Great mattress for a toddler

"I bought this mattress for my 8-month-old baby, which is the only reason I'm keeping it. The mattress is not firm enough (should be super firm for safety) for a newborn or young infant, as it sinks in wherever my son is laying. My 2-year-old toddler loves bouncing on it since it is so cushy. I realize there is an infant side and separate toddler side, which are both clearly marked, and we are definitely using the infant side. Overall, it's a really nice mattress, leaving no excess space in between the rails, and just barely fits standard crib sheets. No major chemical or plastic/vinyl smells upon opening, although I let it air out overnight for peace of mind. I think it will be very comfortable for my son through toddlerhood."
Review 2 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 7, 2011

Best mattress

Pros: converts to toddler mattress on flipside!, perfect firm/softness, organic, price
"Great mattress. Love that the other side is for toddlers so you don't have to get a new one. Organic at an affordable price is quite nice. Not too soft or too firm. Just right! No smells or issues."
Review 3 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burbank, CA
Date:August 23, 2011

springs felt throughout

"I bought this one thinking it would be better than the the Simmons kids Pampering Sleep Supreme. I was wrong! This mattress did not make it to the crib. It is going back. As we took it out of the plastic, we could feel the springs throughout the mattress. Very disappointed."
Review 4 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westmont, IL
Date:August 1, 2011

Awesome!

"My daughter has been sleeping on this mattress for 14 months now and it is great. She sleeps very well and we can't wait to see how the softer side would work."
Review 5 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pudget Sound, WA
Date:June 23, 2011

Great Buy!

Pros: organic, two-sided, made in usa, great warranty!
"I have been very happy from this mattress from the start. It arrived in perfect condition, without any chemical smells. My son sleeps great on it (has been for over a year). We plan on continuing to use this when we buy him a toddler bed, and buy another one for our little on on the way!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilberts IL
Date:June 8, 2011

crib mattress

"Very nice quality- liked organic feature and double sided use. Quick delivery and packed well."
Review 7 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Windsor, CA
Date:May 31, 2011

Great product!!

"My boy was used to a softer mattress, and I needed him to sleep on his own, but the baby crib mattress was too hard. This is a happy medium. Most of all, it didn't smell .. so I didn't have to air it out like the baby mattress I first bought him."
Review 8 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010

not so good

Pros: organic cotton
Cons: too soft
"This mattress is too soft for a newborn. It gets softer with use and I do not believe it is good for the baby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:October 12, 2010

Really nice mattress

Pros: two sides, organic, made in the usa
"I've had this mattress for over a year. My child has slept on both sides at this point. After being transitioned to a cot at school, we had to switch sides to the toddler side for our child to continue sleeping through the night... but otherwise, it's been just fine.
For the crib that we have (also purchased from Costco), this mattress fits perfectly. It's about as heavy as a single-sided mattress. There were no weird chemical odors, which I noticed with other crib mattresses when we were shopping for one.
I would definitely by this product again."
Review 10 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Garnerville, NY
Date:July 17, 2010

Perfect!

Pros: organic, made in the usa, varying firmness grows with child
"We selected this mattress because it is organic and has both an infant and toddler side. It fits in our crib perfectly and has served us well. When the crib is converted to a toddler bed, it will continue to be used.
My cousin registered for an organic mattress at another store that was the same price, but not nearly the same quality. I bought this one for her instead and she is very happy with it. Well worth the money."
Review 11 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:July 14, 2010

Good quality, but too big

Pros: nice materials, good quality, great price for organic
Cons: too big for my crib, heavy
"I got this mattress several months ago and was excited to use it. I like the material it was made out of - not the yucky vinyl cover - and it seemed well-made. However, when my crib arrived, it didn't fit into the crib. After some investigating I found out the sleigh style of the convertible crib makes it more compatible with a foam mattress than a coil one like this. I returned the mattress and ordered the LA Baby Soy Foam mattress instead. It should arrive this week, so hopefully it fits!"
Review 12 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:June 29, 2010

LA Baby mattress purchase

"Although we had hoped this mattress to be a little bit more firm, from our experience it seems one of the firmest mattresses on the U.S. market. The mattress seems of high quality and overall we are very satisfied. And if you consider the price, it is a very good purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring MD
Date:June 17, 2010

very bumpy

"I was very excited to get this mattress, but was disappointed and returned it. The mattress wasn't breathable. When I tried it out it at first it felt like a balloon, air slowly coming out of it the vent holes in the sides, then you could feel the mattress which felt very lumpy, you could feel the coils right through it.
So glad Costco has a great return policy and they took it right back
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Queen Creek, AZ
Date:June 2, 2010

Very happy with the mattress!

Pros: perfect fit good firmness nice materials, quick delivery
"Today i have received the mattress. It looks very nice, fabric is great and it barely fits in my crib (i guess it's a good thing!) - i have Baby Cache Royale crib. I like the firmness, but not too hard. And it only took a week for delivery! Baby is coming in 3 months, and hopefully will like it as much as i do! Mattress didn't have any weird smell like some others do."
Review 15 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:los angeles, california
Date:April 27, 2010

too soft

Pros: didn't smell
Cons: too soft
"My baby can't really complain too much about the bed, but I think it's too soft. The middle seems to cave in and that's on the baby side. I don't even know how bad it's going to sag by the time we get to the toddler side.
Either way he's sleeping on it though I wish it was firmer."
Review 16 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Alamos, NM
Date:April 16, 2010

Great Mattress!

"Just got our mattress delivered and already, we are very happy with the quality of it. Yes, it is a tight fit in our Stanley Young America crib, but the mattress is within the standards the crib directions recommend. So safety is our priority- so no limbs get stuck between the mattress and crib. The quality is fantastic and we are very happy with the fact it has a 25 year warranty! Having the dual sided mattress option for baby and toddler is great because our crib converts to a toddler bed! Great mattress for such a great price!"
Review 17 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brookline MA
Date:March 25, 2010

Poor Quality

Model Number: Item # 261948
"I was a bit surprised and disappointed when the L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Mattress arrived given some of the great reviews noted here. What turned me off was that the mattress seemed too soft especially for an infant. You could also feel the coils or ridges from the coils lining up as you ran your hand along the surface on both the infant and toddler side. I felt like if I could feel the ridges with the pressure of my hand that I could see it being uncomfortable to sleep on especially when I am all about my baby getting her sleep and it being ideal sleep to keep her asleep!!! I was a little nervous to reorder another L.A. Baby mattress but gave it a shot and exchanged it for the L.A. Baby 2-in-1 Soy Foam Crib Mattress also offered by Costco.com. I am not sure if it’s the Foam style over the coil but this was exactly what I was looking for and I couldn’t be happier with the exchange. So if your looking for firmness and don’t want to worry about your sweet ones comfort I’d recommend trying the Soy Foam mattress. Both were delivered quickly and the process for ordering/exchanging was easy. Also important to note that although the Soy Foam option wasn’t mentioned as ‘organic’ it is environmentally and health friendly with NO toxic chemicals, phthalates or lead."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 18, 2010

Sound sleep, happy baby

Pros: organic and reasonably priced
"After a lot of looking around, we purchased this mattress 2 years ago for our baby. He has slept soundly since day 6 with this mattress. We have had absolutely no problems at all, and just recently flipped the mattress from the harder baby side to the softer toddler side. Our child seems to sleep soundly no matter which side we've used. Great purchase. No regrets."
Review 19 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010

Ok, but too soft

"We put our two month old on this mattress and two months later there was a cavity from where he laid every night. I think we're probably going to return it to get something firmer."
Review 20 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010

Disappointed

Cons: too soft, loose fit
"I really did not like this mattress...first of all it's very soft. I was buying it to replace an older mattress we had that was firm (recommended for babies), this one is completely compressible under my hand, even on the infant side. It did have a slight smell (not bad, but noticeable). I'm sure that would dissipate quickly.
The main reason for the return is that I bought this mattress to be a tighter fit in our crib, but it was actually a looser fit.
Another point, this mattress does not have a waterproof cover. Our other crib mattresses did (even the organic one we own). This is just like an adult mattress with a soft cover, so you will definitely need a waterproof pad with it."
1 2 3 next>>