Customer Reviews for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress

L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress

This two-sided crib mattress is perfect for the infant/toddler. Firmest side for infant, reverses to firm side for toddler use. Made with, an excellent jacquard mini check, white print. 100% certified organic cotton layers for extra comfort.   Features: Jacquard fabric cover; anti-bacterial & water-resistant   240 heat tempered innerspring coils   Two 100 % Organic Cotton layers inside covering springs   Heavy-duty 15.5-gauge steel innerspring coils   6-gauge border rods   Flex-edge clips for side edge support   Added support layer for extra firmness on infant side   Air vents to keep mattress fresh   Cloth binding holds fabric in place, prevents tearing   Meets all federal & state flammability standards including new Federal Fire Standard 16CFR Part 1633   Dimensions: 52”L x 27.5”W x 5.75"D    25-year warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
49 of 58(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Review 1 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 15, 2009

Great Mattress, Great Price

"My husband and I were looking for a new mattress for our baby, we didn't want to re-use our son's. I wanted to get an organic mattress and I had concerns over chemicals in fireproofing, etc.
After considering a mattress that was twice the price of this one, my husband found this one on another site for more. I called the company and spoke to a live human who was extremely helpful in answering my questions about the mattress. He sent me the info I needed and I decided it was the one for us.
The mattress was an excellent price, it came very quickly (made in USA!!) and is a beautiful, well made item.
It is light enough that I was able to carry it upstairs and put it in the crib alone with no problem at all, but heavy enough that it feels sturdy.
The fabric is really nice and rich looking. I like that this mattress breathes and that it has two sides.
The best part is that my daughter will sleep in the crib so much longer now than she did before and the mattress is very supportive.
I can't recommend it highly enough!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 4, 2010

Smell your mattress and check for defects!

Model Number: 261948
"I ordered this mattress because of the great reviews, but I just didn't have any luck with it. I ordered it 3 times... first one, the stitching was bad so I returned it. I went to order it the second time and it was on sale ($20 off) so I thought what luck! Received it and as soon as I opened the plastic bag, there was a bad odor, like something rotted inside the mattress (to be honest, it smelled like feces)! First I thought the odor could've been from the box because the box smelled bad too, but when I smelled the ventilation hole, it was from the inside of the mattress. I called customer service and they advised me to order another one so I decided to give it one last try. Third one had the problems of the 1st and 2nd mattresses. Rotten smell and bad stitching. Stitching was worst than the 1st mattress and it looked like someone had ripped off the piping in several places. Even my husband thought this mattress was very poorly made and he doesn't usually notice these thing. He also said that it smelled like a rat died in the mattress. I could only think that this mattress is on sale because of these problems... Or the manufacturer is selling defects to Costco?? I don't know, but I'm going to give the Simmons mattress a try."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brookline MA
Date:March 25, 2010

Poor Quality

Model Number: Item # 261948
"I was a bit surprised and disappointed when the L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Mattress arrived given some of the great reviews noted here. What turned me off was that the mattress seemed too soft especially for an infant. You could also feel the coils or ridges from the coils lining up as you ran your hand along the surface on both the infant and toddler side. I felt like if I could feel the ridges with the pressure of my hand that I could see it being uncomfortable to sleep on especially when I am all about my baby getting her sleep and it being ideal sleep to keep her asleep!!! I was a little nervous to reorder another L.A. Baby mattress but gave it a shot and exchanged it for the L.A. Baby 2-in-1 Soy Foam Crib Mattress also offered by Costco.com. I am not sure if it’s the Foam style over the coil but this was exactly what I was looking for and I couldn’t be happier with the exchange. So if your looking for firmness and don’t want to worry about your sweet ones comfort I’d recommend trying the Soy Foam mattress. Both were delivered quickly and the process for ordering/exchanging was easy. Also important to note that although the Soy Foam option wasn’t mentioned as ‘organic’ it is environmentally and health friendly with NO toxic chemicals, phthalates or lead."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tempe, AZ
Date:February 22, 2010

Unbeatable deal

"Never thought I could come close to getting a high quality organic mattress at this price. Excellent quality. I would not want to sleep on a plastic mattress so I was thrilled to find this one for my son. We have had it for over a year and still looks and feels brand new. It did not have that new "smell" where all the chemicals are outgassing which was great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:September 18, 2009

I would recommend, as long as it fits.

"I purchased this mattress for my Million Dollar Baby crib. I thought it was a great mattress and was really excited, but it did not fit. It was way too big. I called Million Dollar Baby and they said they have had problems with LA baby mattresses fitting their cribs. Otherwise it is indeed a nice mattress. I ended up getting the Simmons Kids mattress 2 n 1 from Costco and it fits perfectly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:March 2, 2010

great mattress at a great price

"We got this about 8 months ago, and it was and is a super deal. It has held up extremely well and I'm so glad I bought this. I also recommend getting a waterproof mattress cover (also on costco.com) to keep the mattress spot-free."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:September 25, 2009

Getting ready to buy # 2

"I am getting ready to buy another for our new arrival. I bought this mattress 20 months ago for our first baby. It was the only organic mattress that I found that had an infant and toddler side. That made me feel extra safe in case she turned over early. Also, it felt like a real mattress; not a plastic covered piece of foam. The mattress is a tight fit in the crib, but I liked the idea that no baby parts would get caught between the crib and mattress. I do have to take the mattress out of the crib to change the sheets, but that is worth the feeling of safefy that it provides."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:January 6, 2010

Great price, good quality...

"I searched and searched for the best organic mattress at the best price and this is it. If you're a penny pincher like me, don't even waste your time...anything comparable is at least double in price. I love it, kid sleeps 8-10 hours a night at 4 months old...don't know if it's the mattress but mama's a happy lady.
Loved having it delivered to my door and adore that it flips to a softer toddler size. Don't hesitate....really, absolutely no regrets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring MD
Date:June 17, 2010

very bumpy

"I was very excited to get this mattress, but was disappointed and returned it. The mattress wasn't breathable. When I tried it out it at first it felt like a balloon, air slowly coming out of it the vent holes in the sides, then you could feel the mattress which felt very lumpy, you could feel the coils right through it.
So glad Costco has a great return policy and they took it right back
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:April 8, 2009

Great so far...

Pros: no off-gassing smell, great price for costco!
"I haven't used this mattress yet (will update once I give birth) BUT compared with the mattress that I bought 1.5years ago for my first child, this mattress does NOT give off any off-gassing! maybe because it's organic? But we had to air out our much more pricier first-born's mattress for 2 weeks before I let him sleep on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ypsilanti, MI
Date:July 19, 2009

Great mattress, great price

Model Number: LA Baby Organic 2 in 1 mattress
"Just received 2 of these crib mattresses for my baby due in Oct 2009. I am pleasantly surprised by the firmness of the mattress and wonderful padding on both sides. Overall, this mattress is much better quality than any of the others I've seen at the major retailers and was much better priced for an organic mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:November 27, 2009

Fantastic Mattress

"This mattress is absolutely fantastic. It's high quality; firm, but not too firm on the newborn side, and a little softer, but not too soft on the reverse side; organic; and wonderfully priced. We've been using it for about nine months and love it. I don't know why shoppers would buy any other mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:January 31, 2009

Love this mattress

"I love that I was able to get an organic mattress for an amazing price. Thanks Costco!!! The mattress feels great and I love the 2 diff. sides of the mattress. The infant side and the toddler side. My 3 mo old son falls right to sleep..so I guess he loves it too. I also love the warranty. Great purchase"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:March 1, 2009

Great Product

"We are still waiting on our bundle of joy to try out the mattress but we are very satisfied with the quality of the mattress! I love the fact that it is organic! We shopped around quite a bit and this seemed to be the best product, the price was comparable to mattresses with horrible reviews!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pudget Sound, WA
Date:June 23, 2011

Great Buy!

Pros: organic, two-sided, made in usa, great warranty!
"I have been very happy from this mattress from the start. It arrived in perfect condition, without any chemical smells. My son sleeps great on it (has been for over a year). We plan on continuing to use this when we buy him a toddler bed, and buy another one for our little on on the way!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:June 29, 2010

LA Baby mattress purchase

"Although we had hoped this mattress to be a little bit more firm, from our experience it seems one of the firmest mattresses on the U.S. market. The mattress seems of high quality and overall we are very satisfied. And if you consider the price, it is a very good purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 10, 2009

Great mattress!

"Just received this mattress, unbelievable value for an organic mattress. Fits perfectly in my Davinci crib, which required a mattress that was just a little larger than standard. Quick delivery."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas
Date:October 17, 2008

Great Mattress

"Exactly what we were looking for and at a great price! Our son sleeps well, too--couldn't ask for anything better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010

not so good

Pros: organic cotton
Cons: too soft
"This mattress is too soft for a newborn. It gets softer with use and I do not believe it is good for the baby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for L.A. Baby Organic Cotton 2-in-1 Orthopedic Crib Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2008

Great Mattress!

"My wife and I loved the mattress, it's not too firm and not too soft, just right for our new born baby."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>