Customer Reviews for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner

Includes Remote & Caddy, Climbs & Cleans Walls & Waterline, Recommended for Pools up to 50' Long
Average Customer Rating:
3.133 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
8 of 15(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:September 7, 2010

Dolphin Dynamic Robotic Pool Cleaner

"I had this Dolphin for 3 years. This is my 2nd Dophin I bought. The 1st one I ordered at Costco.com that handle was fell out at 1st use, and it was returned. I ordered 2nd from Costco.com again because it was good price. The Caddy rod was bent when I received 2nd order. I called and got replacement. It works well so far for 3 summers. It is very quiet, and most time cleans very well."
Review 2 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010

Not for everyone

"Product arrived a little banged up and I had to contact manufacturer for a replacement propellar/propellar housing that was damaged in shipment. Packing seemed pretty inadequate for a unit this heavy. Once I got my parts the vac worked ok and did a decent job for a few weeks. My pool is an odd shape fiberglass with beaches and curvy steps so I didn't expect perfection. The tough to reach/shallow areas I had to manually sweep out with a brush since the vac could not get at them. I all fairness to the review I expected I would need to do this before I made the purchase. It climbed walls just fine and was good for scrubbing the walls (this was the biggest plus). After a few weeks though, the yellow drive belts constantly popped off the tracks causing the unit to stop. Between that, the setup (fairly easy), the cleanup (not very convenient), and the intermittent repairing of the drive belts, it became quicker and more effective to vacuum the regular manual way. I ended up taking the unit back to Costco and received a refund. Costco is second to none in standing behind it's customers if dissatisfied with a product. I may have just gotten a bad unit, but I would only recommend trying your luck with this if you have a pretty simple pool layout and steps wider than the unit. It would not climb to the next step if the base of the vac unit was overhanging the step it was climbing up from."
Review 3 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Date:August 26, 2010

Love It!

Pros: saves time and electricity
Model Number: Dynamic
"Have used for 3 weeks now. Does a great job as long as you follow the instructions. Love the remote. We usually have one or two small areas to clean after a fast cycle. We use the remote to quickly hit those areas and we're ready to clean the filter pad for next use. On our 15'X30'X52" we have to clean the filter element mid way through the cycle once. We live in a rural area with lots of wind, so that is to be expected. Have asked local suppliers if there are many returns on this item and have found them to be very reliable as to the competition."
Review 4 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:August 25, 2010

Great product so far

Pros: great cleaner covers entire pool
Cons: must clean filter bag after each use, can not leave in pool must remove after each time, should not use with people in pool
Model Number: Dolphin Dynamic
"I purchased this Dolphin pool cleaner because I wanted a unit that really cleans the pool and all the small debris, dirt and sand from the bottom of my pool. The Dolphin Dynamic is working great. I purchased this product about 3 weeks ago and have used it 8-10 times so far. This cleaner is far superior to my last cleaner "phantom" that only picked up large items. This unit actually picks up all the small super fine particles in the pool. My pool is about 22x42' with lots of curves, steps and built in benches. The cleaner covers my entire pool area, and most of my steps and benches.
With Costco's great return policy, the risks or downside of this unit decreased significantly."
Review 5 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:August 13, 2010

Worst purchase ever

Cons: never know what you're gonna get
Model Number: Dolphin Dynamic 2002
"I made the mistake of buying this cleaner despite all the warnings I read about it. Functionally, this cleaner is absolutely useless even in our simple 20’x40’ rectangular pool with no odd features or shapes. The robot repeatedly cleans only a small strip of the pool in a six hour cycle—just like most of the reviews say. BUT, what infuriates me is that the “Dynamic” in this product is actually that its feature-set itself is “dynamic”.
After talking to Maytronics, I found out that they keep changing the product features without changing model or version names, and they don’t have a way to know exactly what is in the “Dynamic” box that customers receive. E.g., I received a new version of the remote with this Dynamic that has less features than the old Dynamic remote. The new remote only allows 2 fixed cycles instead of 4, and has a less ergonomic directional keypad rather than a joystick for manual operation. Also, the power supply I received is neither the old nor the new versions shown in the manual sheets in the box. The version I received has an opaque sticker covering the “full filter bag” indicator light. Maytronics tells me that filter indication is not needed now because they have made the robot “smarter so it knows what to do when the filter is full”. WHAT??
Anyway, the cleaner is useless, and the company making it is completely clueless. Please heed the warnings you see everywhere and avoid this ridiculous product."
Review 6 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:jersey shore
Date:August 7, 2010

poor quality

Cons: add a con
Model Number: dynamic
"worked as stated for about 2 weeks.Then began working intrmittently.Stopped climbing the walls all the way seemed to stay in the same area and went over the same spot repeatedly."
Review 7 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:August 7, 2010

Great product

"We have had several different pool cleaning products over the years. The Dolphin products have been the best over all. We strayed away and tried the AquaBot turbo "C" ant it was totally shot after 1 1/2 seasons. Our previous Dolphin lasted 5 seasons. Costco took our return and we are very happy to have another Dolphin. It isn't perfect but does as well as our kids built in cleaner."
Review 8 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:RIVERSIDE, CA
Date:July 15, 2010
"USED TWO TIMES AND BROKE, RETURNED TO COSTCO FOR FULL REFUND"
Review 9 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, TX
Date:July 1, 2010

A big, heavy lemon

Pros: seems to clean well
Cons: quality control is severely lacking for, such an expensive unit
Model Number: Dynamic
"Ordered the unit and after almost a month of not receiving it, Costco did not know what happened to it but was able to get the company to FedEX two-day to me. Awesome Costco. Three things happened: 1) Caddy did not fit together: screws were too large; 2) inside latch holding handle broke; 3) 2010 Remote Control Unit absolutely NOT what the manual said it supposed to show on screen. Cannot program the unit, had to manually turn it on and off. Called customer service and the nice lady said the remote I have does not go with my unit! The latch must have been broken in shipment, but there was no damage to box. When you pull the unit out of the water per instruction, debris spilled back into the pool. Go up the wall only about a foot, then go back down; I have curve wall and the Polaris did not have a problem. Anyway, we could not troubleshoot it over the phone and she asked me to return the unit to Costco. I was so disappointed b/c I was really looking forward to using it since my Polaris died. Quality control is lacking to say the least. The lady said that they have nothing to do with it here in America, everything is packed and manufactured in Israel. May be I just got "lucky" and was sent a big, expensive lemon. Will try again, and hopefully next time will have better luck."
Review 10 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, California
Date:June 16, 2010

Save $2000 per year in electricity

Pros: costco return policy, energy savings
Cons: price but pays for itself twice the first year.
Model Number: Dolphin Dynamic
"My first review. I live in Bakersfield, California and bought this robotic in May 2010. Our electricity averages .27 cents per KWH. Here in the valley (highest rates in the nation) the average pool owner spends about $2,800 per year in energy costs to clean our pools using the traditional sweeper/suction method.
That is $6.00 to $8.00 per day. This robotic method costs .15 to .30 cents per day to sweep your pool. (depending on the run time you choose.)
I run my pump/filter system only 1 hour each night to run the skimmer. The filter bag in my robotic cleans with the same porosity as the pump/filter. The robotic filters water through the bag at about 4300 gallons per hour.
The proof is in the filter bag, which I clean about once a week. It takes me less than 10 minutes.
This is simply a great product that works as advertised."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wilton, CT
Date:May 25, 2010

Worked Once

Pros: cosco's return policy
Cons: worked once
"Then died. It had a couple hours of fun and did a good job cleaning the one time it worked. Then never worked again. It may have been a lemon, but I guess you can always return it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:May 5, 2010

All pool cleaners break

Pros: very well built and cleans as well as any, has the carrying caddy and remote, costco warranty!!!, seems to be very well made, has a much finer filter bag than any other cleaner
Cons: all robotic cleaners break down
Model Number: Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
"I have had 5 robotic pool cleaners over the past 20 years. My first was an Aqua Queen (now called a Mako Shark I think?) and it was built like a tank. I used that robot for 10 years without a hitch but left it with my house when I sold it and moved. Then I had 2 different Turbo T2s and though they both cleaned reasonably well they clearly weren't built to last. Each one completely wore out in 1 season. When I say wore out I don't just mean that they broke but every bearing ( non-replacable plastic on plastic bushing actually) was worn into a big oval rather than a round hole. The belts were so streatched out that they slipped and the robot wouldn't go. And finally the motor on one of them simply stopped running. At the time the Turbo T2s had a 3 year warranty but to get service you had to pack up the robot and ship it back to the manufacturer and then wait a month to get it back.
The Dolphin Dynamic pool Cleaner seems to be much better built than the Turbo T2 and yet costs considerably less. It cleans at least as well as the Turbo T2 and much better than the Aqua Queen (the Queen didn't climb the walls, only did the bottom). But best of all is the Costco warranty. My first Dolphin Robot worked for about 8 cycles and then just died. I could see no obvious wear, it just wouldn't go. But all I had to do was drive to my local Costco and give it back for a full refund. I ordered another one online and got it in a few days and I am back up and running. My new Dolphin Robot seems well built and cleans very well. Only time will tell how durable it is but if it breaks I will take the 10 minute drive to Costco and return it.
I will try and update this review in a few months to let you know how well it is holding up."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SC
Date:July 18, 2009

Dolphin Dynamic is the best pool cleaner made!

Pros: no belts to break!
Model Number: Dynamic
"I've had 5 pool cleaners of this type since the mid 80's. Four were from a different company and all had serious reliability problems so I switched to Dolphin and the Dynamic Model I have is so vastly superior to all the others I kick myself for not switching before. I got it last September (08) and have run it almost every day since which is probably more cleanings than I got out of any of the others and it doesn't even show any signs of wear. Steering it with the joystick is a breeze since it the brushes are split and it controls the speed of each half for steering. The earlier ones that I had steered by poking a plunger down and dragging it to turn the cleaner which was crude and not something I would do on our new beadcrete surface. The Dolphin is a superb product and does a great job not only cleaning the pool but micro -filtering the water extending the time between backflushing the sand filter which saves water and chemicals too not to mention time."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

It's Great When it Works

Pros: does a great job of cleaning pool and water
Cons: not in the least bit reliable
"We love this pool cleaner, but it clearly has a flaw that is pervasive. We bought our first through Costco and it lasted three months before we had to return it and try again. This second one has lasted less than a year (and that's with a 9-month vacation while the pool was closed for winter). The problem has been the same both times (won't sink, won't work!). Thankfully Costco has been easy to work with so we will take this defective one back, too and try, try again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dolphin Dynamic™ Robotic Pool Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:May 30, 2009

Best purchase ever

Model Number: Dolphin Dynamic Robotic Pool Cleaner
"I've had my pool for eight years and I wish I had this cleaner the whole time! I had the barracuda that works off the filter and all that did was move the dirt around the bottom and when it did clean it clogged my filter and caused me to backwash the filter twice a week. Easy to use just put it in, let it sink to the bottom and this bad boy starts cleaning the pool like a Hoover! Twigs, leaves, sand, bugs and even all the tree pollen that settles to the bottom. It climbs walls and scrubs as it sucks up debris. You wouldn’t believe how this thing cleans the pool down to the smallest micron. Let me tell you about the remote control, it's like a toy it has a joy stick that’s an absolute joy to work. If you have a few spots that need cleaning this allows you to spot clean in a flash. My kids had no interest in maintaining the pool and now love to clean with the remote. The only thing that takes several minutes would be to clean the bag and that’s only because it does such a good job cleaning, it's worth it! Don’t wait this is a package deal and you can’t beat the price"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.